Lorton, VA
Pohick Bay Regional Park Share
Uploaded By: discwombat Hole #9
3 / 282ft.   3 / 282ft. Par / Distance:
Tee 9



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
So So

2-4    2/8/2014   2/16/2014
Review By: chillumz
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 0.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Holes are short and tight, which force you to think a little creatively about how to get through the trees to the basket.

The park is pretty and free (for Fairfax County residents).

The focus here is on curving mid range shots and putts. Good for skill building.

A couple of slight up and down holes but not so much that it is challenging.
Cons: The course is very tight and it is not uncommon to land a disc on one of the other holes if you misfire.

At some points, the trees are obnoxiously dense and a novice could easily become frustrated at the high likelihood of smacking one.

Not a whole lot of variety here. Many are simple pitch-and-putt holes with a slight bend.
Other Thoughts: This park is pretty close to me, and I am kind of disappointed it isn't nicer. I suppose the designer did a pretty good job with very limited space, but nevertheless Pohick Bay leaves you wanting more, especially having played a gem like New Quarter in Williamsburg.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/28/2011   11/18/2011
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pohick Bay is a very entertaining course that although short plays creatively through some thick woods with very little underbrush.

The baskets and tee signs looked pretty new. The signs were accurate and very dscriptive.

Quite a few holes had two tee pads, with the longer tee usually subtlety changing the angle of the hole instead of adding distance only. There are also multiple pin positions that help create a little variety.

The course is very compact but the designer tried to make the most of it. Using all available elevation, obstacles and using some mando's to make it more interesting. There is a good balance of straight, left and right turning holes. The course also starts and finishes very close to the parking lot.

This is a very fun, very fast play. You could easily crank out 18 holes in 35-45 minutes without rushing.

A great place to have an all putter round or to work on your Mids and Putters off the tee.
Cons: Very short and not too challenging. I would imagine this was originally designed for Lids but I am not sure.

Compact. I am not too sure how fun it would be to play when the course is crowded since a lot of the tees and baskets are fairly close to each other.

No other real cons the course is what it is.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course that would be a great beginner course, or a putter course for those more experienced. It will provide a nice technical challenge through the trees without being overly difficult with a couple of ace runs available.

The course itself is located is a nice regional park that has a lot of nice Non-Disc Golf activities. Plus there are two other courses right down the road: Burke Lake and Giles Run!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 There is a reason "hick" is in the name

1    11/26/2010   1/15/2011
Review By: Acid Elvis
Played: 28  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Close parking to 1 and 18
Nice tee pads
Cons:
Other Thoughts: For some reason this course just didn't do it for me. It just had a really old feel to it. Lots of trash on the ground and I just didn't enjoy it. Burke Lake & Giles Run are down the road and I feel are much better courses. It doesn't have that welcoming feel like Burke Lake or Rockburn Branch. I know I am gonna get some backlash for this but it's just how I feel. I won't be going back.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The Putter Course

5+    1/4/2011   1/8/2011
Review By: bboykin
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 21.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete Tee Pads. The fact that the course exists at all is a pro. Nice park.
Cons: Trash. Pohick has the most available trash cans of any course I've seen and unfortunately the most trash. I've personally pulled well over three cases worth of old beer cans/bottles out of this place, not to mention cigarette packs, etc. Unfortunate.

The place can get pretty muddy in wet weather.

Baskets are old and ragged-out...But they work, so only a minor con.
Other Thoughts: I refer to Pohick as the putter course because frankly you could easily play all 18 with your putter and probably do quite well. In fact I would highly recommend you do so.

With it's tight trails this is a great little course to learn to finesse your putters and mids. If you are one of those throwing a high-speed driver out here now is the time to rethink your game!

The tee pads are a little on the small side but they work. The distances here are short so huge run-ups aren't really necessary.

I like this course when I just want to play a quick round and experiment with putters/mids. I can easily get in 18 holes in 35 minutes here.

It's tough to honestly give this old course more than a 2.5 but I really like it for what it is. I got my first and second ace at this course, both on hole #1.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Intro To Tech

2-4    1/16/2010   1/21/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 324  Reviewed: 324  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/19/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Minimal chance to lose a disc. Signs at teepads. Fairly easy to navigate. Mostly away from other park users.
Cons:
Single tee (small)/single basket (old, single chain). $7 to enter park. Short-n-flat - a bit muddy in places.

Update 11/19/11: Baskets have been upgraded (Discatchers, yellow-banded, double-chained). Tee pads have been upgraded (5'x10', concrete). Tee signs have been upgraded. Multiple pin-positons per hole. Most holes have multi-tees.
Proximity of neighbouring fairways still an issue on many holes.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays in the mostly-wooded corner of a multi-use park. With only fives holes >200', maxing-out at 250', and most holes having fair throwing lanes defined by moderate-sized trees, this course is good for introducing new players to (and experienced players practicing) shot-shaping. Most holes require some type of turn, with left-turns being about twice as prevalent as right turns, and more extreme in nature. Most of the right-turns are subtle and near to the basket, while most of the left-turns occur early-/mid-flight, and are sharper.

Avoid the fee by coming when the gatehouse isn't manned - visit http://www.nvrpa.org/parks/pohickbay/ for a schedule. This course serves a purpose and you can enjoy yourself here, but nearby Giles will provide much more length, openness, and challenge.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short & Fun

5+    7/25/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: MrDger
Played: 50  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Well laid out for the small space it's located in.
- Good variety of shots between holes if you want to use your whole arsenal.
- Can play multiple rounds in a short amount of time.
- Great course for beginners or rec players.
- Tight fairways on most holes let you practice accurate approach shots.
- Amazing practice for an advanced players short game.
- Multiple ace runs.
- About 15 of the holes are relatively easy deuce runs if you're on, and all 18 are possible deuces.
- Seemed most locals including beginners realize when to let someone play through without any problems.
Cons: - As already stated in other reviews, many baskets are in horrible condition.
- Putts and anything hitting the chains fast has a higher chance of bouncing out.
- In a couple places, errant throws from other holes are a danger.
- Signs on a couple holes (as of 7/25/09) were missing, but even the rest of them are only so-so.
- The listed pars on the course, even though they're meant for rec players are a tad ridiculous. (Hole #18 :: Par 5 :: 261 ft. and it's one of the more open holes on the course)
- Teepads are a bit short, but because of the length of the holes, a big walk-up generally isn't necessary.
- One hole runs parallel to the access road and the basket is located right next to it, so an overshoot could easily end up in the road.
Other Thoughts:
:: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jSTurGcJj6w :: Video of Course

- It's in a great park, there's a huge bay that you can go canoeing and kayaking, a small waterpark for the kids, and plenty of camping (including rentable cabins).
- Really is a short course, I lapped a group of 4 players when playing by myself.
- The park does have a mini-golf course, but it's not well maintained and isn't very large either.
- Definitely a course where you could just bring one disc, I use my putter to drive on most of the holes, but could easily use it on all.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Short, Wooded Course

1    5/11/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: dobsonr
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.9 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This short course is a great place to get in a quick game, or enjoy a few rounds without taking the whole day. The course has some variety, but most holes are wooded (only 4 are open). The teepads are cement, which is nice. Most tees have a sign with par, distance, and a diagram of the hole. They also often show the location of the next tee, which makes the course really easy to navigate.

No two holes here are the same - it's a short course, so you won't be airing it out much, but you will get to throw plenty of different shots. The course is short, but technical - a great place to work out the kinks in your short game. It's also only a few minutes from 95, which makes it a convenient stop if you're passing through northern VA.
Cons: The place definitely needs some love. All of the baskets have had chains replaced over the years, and my Aviar bounced right out of them several times. A few of the tees were missing signs, but the holes are short enough that it wasn't much of a problem. Others have mentioned that the tees are short, but the course is so short that I don't think its necessary for them to be any bigger - you really don't need that long of a run-up to play here.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course more than I expected to. I expected to have to pay to get into the park, but there was nobody in the booth at the entrance so I was able to drive right in. There are envelopes for donations at the start of the course, but it didn't seem like a requirement. It's worth making a small donation, though - the course could use some TLC.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Pohick

1    9/8/2012   1/28/2008
Review By: tom12003
Played: 125  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 20.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/7/2012
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very tight, but short; drives are really like upshots on most other courses but stress accuracy (good practice)
Cons: Very short; dilapidated baskets--good putts can often bounce out which is frustrating (soft putters an advantage). These old baskets were replaced in Jan 2011 (led to update my old rating)
Other Thoughts: Previous review stated hole 18 is a par 5--this is for rec players--I have seen #18 aced. It is about a 250 anhyzer shot with no ability to see the basket from the tee. Advanced players often deuce this hole--not a par 5!

Many adjustments to tees (along with the new baskets) forces me to upgrade from a 1.5 to a 2.5.


6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

10/8/2007   10/8/2007
Review By: lotsill
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.1 Years
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Nice little course with tall pin trees.
Cons: Baskets are old, tee boxs are short.
Other Thoughts: Hole 18 par 5

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.