Lorton, VA 
Pohick Bay Regional Park Share
Uploaded By: discwombat Hole #15
3 / 197ft.   3 / 197ft. Par / Distance:
Tee 15



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A perfect beginner's course!

1    9/3/2014   9/3/2014
Review By: neanderthal85
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/5/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is very compact, which can be a con, but it plays very fast (I did a round by myself in 45 minutes easily) and you won't be hiking for miles.

I loved holes 12-17. Really in the woods, tight turns, shooting tree gaps, etc. Really nice holes that while short, will challenge any level of player.

This is a great place to come if you want some 2's and maybe even an ace or two. Most holes hover around 200'-250'.

Lost discs are not happening here. There is a lot of woods but no undergrowth, so you should easily be able to find discs that go off course.

Cons: There are two tee boxes on some holes, only one on others, so it's fairly inconsistent.

Several of the holes have signs showing two baskets, but only 1 exists. I saw this on 1, 8, 10, 11, and 12 before I stopped counting, but most of the back 9 is like this. All of this inconsistency in tees and baskets means you're playing a mix of short holes and long holes and medium holes, so I don't know how accurate scores will be if you track that.

As others have said, the holes butt against each other, so a stray disc WILL go onto another fairway. The course starts and ends in a big field that has a few baskets and tees, so be careful if others are playing.

On 14, if you don't hit your dogleg left, you will hit camping RVs. There is also a toolshed with fence you could sky on the 14th basket.

If you want a longer course with more challenge, this probably isn't it. I liked it for how short and compact it is, but if you are a monster thrower looking to get some air, probably best to look elsewhere.
Other Thoughts: This is a perfect course for a beginner. There are a few wide open shots, some tight woods shots, but nothing monster or too incredibly impossible. A perfect first course and a perfect course to work on tight shots and putting!

Also, I went at about 11am on a weekday and there was no one at the gate to take money. They suggest a $2/person donation and have little envelopes to put it in. I put in a five as I want to support improvements in the course, but it looks as though most of the time you can play for free.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Pitch & Putt In The Woods!

1    7/18/2013   8/18/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pohick Bay is a short (most holes play around 200') technical course with enough elevation to make the course interesting. There are some interesting and creative basket placements and accuracy is much more important than strength here.

The course is well taken care of with concrete pads, Innova baskets, multiple garbage cans and benches. There's ample shade for those warm Virginia days. Long tees add to the challenge.
Cons: $8 to park seems a little excessive.

There's really only a couple of places to throw anything other than your mid-range. The holes are all fairly similar.

I don't know if this course ever gets too crowded but if it did, I could see discs possibly flying into each others fairways.
Other Thoughts: I played with Carlos, a 75 year old guy. His doctor advised him to get more exercise so now plays four rounds every day at Pohick Bay. He's practicing for the Senior Worlds in Indiana. Don't you just love this about our sport! Some of you guys might be playing 50 or 55 years from now! Getting ready for the 2063 Senior Worlds! Contemplate that for a moment folks! Think about the discs you'll be throwing.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Washinton

5+    5/26/2012   5/20/2013
Review By: owvanguard
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is located in Pohick Bay Park where you can stay in a cabin within walking distance from the course.
Cons: Most of the holes are right next to one another and stray disc often zoom into your fairway.
Also a few of the holes play through an open field and non disc golfers sometimes use this field
Other Thoughts: The mingolf is right next to it.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Midrange Madness

1    6/17/2012   6/17/2012
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice, fun place to play. 18 Good holes with signs and benches and trash cans as needed. A generally short course. You can play the entire thing with a understable middie. Bring a Innova Wedge or an ABS Flying Squirrel and this is a 1 disc course. Tee pads have recently been enlarged. Nice, but not needed based upon the size of the holes here. What land was comitted to this was used very well. A few holes shoot in and out of the forest. Great tree pinball to be played here. Great opporutnities for shot shaping. Many ways to play many holes so as to keep out the boredom if you were a frequuent playing local. Light traffic on a beautiful Sunday kept my round moving fast. Good combination of annie and hyzer shots to play aroound with. perfect noobie/rookie course as nothing to defeat those with very little arm.
Cons: Not much length or hole length variety here. All holes play in a basic, similar length range. The few mandos were fun, but in most cases a bit silly as they are not needed to enhance the experience. But having them is a great way to teach an element of the rules to noobies and rookies.
Other Thoughts: $7 to enter park and $2 to play. I was happy to pay as I always am happy to play where the $ is well spent to provide nice golfing experiences. Well worth my $9. Zero trash. Pads, signs and other elements well maintained.
No hole stood out as a signature hole fo the experience.
the big arm crowd will gripe about the lack of distsnce here... But I would challenge many to come here, play by the rules and shoot a low score. Shot shaping, disc control and precision is king here. Wwant to just let it rip? Go play 16 at Giles meadow.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Tight & short

2-4    6/25/2011   6/25/2011
Review By: FredVegasDGC
Played: 89  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 28.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New innova baskets, new hole signs (not all 18 yet), concrete tees, ace runs, some holes short but tough. The tees are small but you don't need to run up on these holes. Lots of deuces for guys like me is fun for a change.
Cons: The only con for me was some of the tee pads were really close to the previous basket. But most holes are short with lots of trees so the chances of getting hit are slim. Some may not like the short course as too easy but I played 2 rounds of 18 and it was quick & fun.
Other Thoughts: I was impressed. It is apparent they are trying to improve this course and it is paying off. There were a good mix of players on the course today. Families & their kids, experienced players, beginners & first timers. Discs are available at the park.

I was finishing my first 18 and a guy popped an ace on #1 as I was walking towards the #1 tee pad.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Drives me nuts

5+    9/2/2010   1/2/2011
Review By: NovaDiscHead
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 30.6 Years
Pros: Course has nice tee pads, and is fairly well maintained, with little in the way of litter. Some of the baskets have been upgraded, and more are in the plans as the local club raises funds. Additionally, the park manager is a big fan of Disc Golf, and the ranger store stocks an excellent selection of discs.
Cons: Older course, was designed for trash can lids, and not the high end plastic we toss nowadays. There's some speculation that the course may be expanded, which will help!
Other Thoughts: a technical course. If you don't mind trees, this is the place for you. Some decent hills add to the challenge.

 Fun course worth playing

1    6/30/2009   6/30/2009
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.8 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting
Great use of small wooded area
Pitch and putt course with a great twist--very tight fairways on most holes but each wooded hole has at least one very distinct path to the basket
Very easy to navigate
Adequate cement tees
Good signage (when not missing due to vandals)
Forces you to use good strategy and a wide variety of shots
Fast playing course
No danger of losing a disc or needing a spotter
Cons: Given what the course is, not many cons...the baskets are a little in need of some repair, but since it's such a short course, you are not putting over 10-15 feet
Could be a little hazardous if a lot of people were playing since many of the fairways run next to each other
I think the wooded holes could be pretty frustrating for total newbies...I would introduce friends/family to DG at some other courses and let them fall in love with the game before bringing them here.
Other Thoughts: This course is a great way to work on your technical shots if you are not use to playing intensely wooded courses because you won't lose a disc as you hone your skills.
I bumped this course up to a 3 because it is not just "thrown" into the woods, it has been thought out and well designed considering it's such a flat, small space

If you like really launching a drive, this course may frustrate you, but it's worth seeking out

Some of the holes are so unique...I even made up a couple of throws to navigate a couple of radical doglegs...they were almost switchbacks

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Pohick Bay Course

5+    10/25/2008   10/26/2008
Review By: Dannye5
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is excellent for finesse players. it's a small course so you get to play several rounds in a short amount of time, it so fun because of that. You can use EVERY throw in the book, I have a friend who throws tomahawks all day at this course, I throw A Lot of flicks and I've seen folks who Only throw backhand. The course makes for some pretty intricate and challenging putts as well as tight drives through narrow fairways. lots of trees so you're in the shade most of the time. No chance of losing a disc unless it blends in. This is definitely an Acer course, the first 9 can be birdied if you are advanced. A lot of anhyzer, or flick shots and a lot of straight drives, a great course if you're left handed. A great family course, it's challenging if you want to duece every hole and fun if your just learning because you don't have to throw VERY far.
Cons: There are only like 2 or 3 wide open shots, but even then , the basket is well protected. The baskets are incredibly bad, Some have like 14 chains, and an ace or long fast putt can cut right through the chains, unlike with a later Mach Series Basket. Sometimes there is traffic on weekends with families come out and bring all their kids, but they usually know you want to pass through them since you may be a faster player. Discs get dusty because of sand on ground and sometimes deer poop and other crap. The tees are a little short and some are in bad shape. The tee signs don't really help much and because its very wooded some baskets can't even be seen so you have play it at least once to get a feel. No big long open shots, the longest is like 250, at best. There are some horseflies.
Other Thoughts: I love this course because it provides great practice and also because you can Ace SO many holes easily. Eventually the baskets will be replaced and it will retain more shots. Unlike many other courses, your score will vary in this course because of the tight fairways and well protected pins. It is in general a poor course, but I rated it as good because you can practice your finesse shots a lot here and learn how to get out of a really bad spot/situation if you play this course enough. Also, you can throw the same hole, hyzer, anhyzer, flick(both hyzer and anhyzer), tomahawk, thumber, ROLLER(perfect for those), floater, straight, skip shots and aces. This course allows every type of throw and you can probably do well with any of them, given the right hole, but with high frequency.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.