Lorton, VA
Pohick Bay Regional Park Share
Uploaded By: discwombat Hole #3
3 / 173ft.   3 / 173ft. Par / Distance:
Tee 3



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Nice Short, Wooded Course

1    5/11/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: dobsonr
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.9 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This short course is a great place to get in a quick game, or enjoy a few rounds without taking the whole day. The course has some variety, but most holes are wooded (only 4 are open). The teepads are cement, which is nice. Most tees have a sign with par, distance, and a diagram of the hole. They also often show the location of the next tee, which makes the course really easy to navigate.

No two holes here are the same - it's a short course, so you won't be airing it out much, but you will get to throw plenty of different shots. The course is short, but technical - a great place to work out the kinks in your short game. It's also only a few minutes from 95, which makes it a convenient stop if you're passing through northern VA.
Cons: The place definitely needs some love. All of the baskets have had chains replaced over the years, and my Aviar bounced right out of them several times. A few of the tees were missing signs, but the holes are short enough that it wasn't much of a problem. Others have mentioned that the tees are short, but the course is so short that I don't think its necessary for them to be any bigger - you really don't need that long of a run-up to play here.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course more than I expected to. I expected to have to pay to get into the park, but there was nobody in the booth at the entrance so I was able to drive right in. There are envelopes for donations at the start of the course, but it didn't seem like a requirement. It's worth making a small donation, though - the course could use some TLC.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Pohick Bay Course

5+    10/25/2008   10/26/2008
Review By: Dannye5
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is excellent for finesse players. it's a small course so you get to play several rounds in a short amount of time, it so fun because of that. You can use EVERY throw in the book, I have a friend who throws tomahawks all day at this course, I throw A Lot of flicks and I've seen folks who Only throw backhand. The course makes for some pretty intricate and challenging putts as well as tight drives through narrow fairways. lots of trees so you're in the shade most of the time. No chance of losing a disc unless it blends in. This is definitely an Acer course, the first 9 can be birdied if you are advanced. A lot of anhyzer, or flick shots and a lot of straight drives, a great course if you're left handed. A great family course, it's challenging if you want to duece every hole and fun if your just learning because you don't have to throw VERY far.
Cons: There are only like 2 or 3 wide open shots, but even then , the basket is well protected. The baskets are incredibly bad, Some have like 14 chains, and an ace or long fast putt can cut right through the chains, unlike with a later Mach Series Basket. Sometimes there is traffic on weekends with families come out and bring all their kids, but they usually know you want to pass through them since you may be a faster player. Discs get dusty because of sand on ground and sometimes deer poop and other crap. The tees are a little short and some are in bad shape. The tee signs don't really help much and because its very wooded some baskets can't even be seen so you have play it at least once to get a feel. No big long open shots, the longest is like 250, at best. There are some horseflies.
Other Thoughts: I love this course because it provides great practice and also because you can Ace SO many holes easily. Eventually the baskets will be replaced and it will retain more shots. Unlike many other courses, your score will vary in this course because of the tight fairways and well protected pins. It is in general a poor course, but I rated it as good because you can practice your finesse shots a lot here and learn how to get out of a really bad spot/situation if you play this course enough. Also, you can throw the same hole, hyzer, anhyzer, flick(both hyzer and anhyzer), tomahawk, thumber, ROLLER(perfect for those), floater, straight, skip shots and aces. This course allows every type of throw and you can probably do well with any of them, given the right hole, but with high frequency.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 You'll find better

2/28/2008   2/28/2008
Review By: Koronin
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.5 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very wooded and tight, a nice change of pace.
Cons: Poorly maintined.
They hope to charge players $2/day to play it (as of summer 2007), laughable.
The park costs several dollars to enter if you don't reside in Fairfax County.

The teepads are small and aged.

The baskets are terrible, the welds are broken in some. Funny to watch a putter fall through the bottom when you do stick one. If you're not dead on, you'll chain/bounce out easily.

Other Thoughts: The course I learned the game on, I did enjoy playing it dispite the less than average rating, a round would take me about 25 minutes solo so you can squeeze in a lot of rounds quickly.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Pohick

1    9/8/2012   1/28/2008
Review By: tom12003
Played: 125  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 20.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/7/2012
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very tight, but short; drives are really like upshots on most other courses but stress accuracy (good practice)
Cons: Very short; dilapidated baskets--good putts can often bounce out which is frustrating (soft putters an advantage). These old baskets were replaced in Jan 2011 (led to update my old rating)
Other Thoughts: Previous review stated hole 18 is a par 5--this is for rec players--I have seen #18 aced. It is about a 250 anhyzer shot with no ability to see the basket from the tee. Advanced players often deuce this hole--not a par 5!

Many adjustments to tees (along with the new baskets) forces me to upgrade from a 1.5 to a 2.5.


6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

10/8/2007   10/8/2007
Review By: lotsill
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.1 Years
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Nice little course with tall pin trees.
Cons: Baskets are old, tee boxs are short.
Other Thoughts: Hole 18 par 5

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.