Somerset, KY 
Pulaski County Park (Top) Share
Uploaded By: SimonCarr  
#12 basket



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Troll's Review

2-4    6/5/2013   10/5/2013
Review By: Eric troll Biscuits
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 26.2 Years
Pros: Technical layout all around.
Super challenging tight fairways leading to tricky greens that have dire consequences.
Has A "remote" feel, and lot of privacy.
If this course is too wooded and tick infested, there's another 18 hole course on the bottom that's more friendly
Cons: Lack of navigation, If I didn't have a guide, id been lost! could use lots of signs.
Needs more yearly maintenance...
Other Thoughts: Could use an update, and more holes!

 

1    1/6/2012   1/12/2012
Review By: martinyoung
Played: 203  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful location - sitting atop the hill above the lower course - overlooking a finger of Lake Cumberland

Fun - technical - tree threading holes
Since the course plays atop the hill - if you find yourself hitting trees or missing your lines - its quite possible your disc will end up hundreds of feet below

The Back 9 are worth playing again and again
After the front 9 which were mostly blah. The back 9 made made up for it in a most amazing way.
The edge of the hill grows closer, the holes got tighter and with more turns, and some great elevation changes.

Fantastic journey through the woods - great experience - closest thing in Kentucky that I have played that reminds me of North Carolina golf
Cons: Lack of signage - those signs that do still exist are faded and worn
There is a course map near tee 1 - but it also is faded and worn

Is the course maintained year round - I have no idea - played it during the winter, so it was fairly easy to get around

The front 9 are kinda bland - feels like you throw the same shots again and again
Other Thoughts: This course is part of the Pulaski Complex - with upper and lower 18 hole layouts - this is a huge plus

Played the course in the winter - so it was fairly easy to find our way - but I made sure to take some pics of the course map before we got started.

Make sure you have a map - there were at least two long walks between holes, but they followed a fairly easy trail to see

The gate was locked but just parked right next to it and the course started just a few 100 feet away


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/16/2008   11/18/2010
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pulaski Top is one of two 18-hole courses in Pulaski Park. This course is much more difficult than the bottom course. This course is very technical where accuracy and precision are an absolute must. It provides a nice contrast to the Bottom course as this one is all alone from the rest of the park and gives you that "all alone in nature" atmosphere. The challenges of this course are tight bending grassy fairways, very tight paths in the woods, and of course the fact that much of this course plays along the top (hence the name) of the mountain and there is very little room to land a disc. This course will really make you think long and hard about what kind of shot you need to take.

The kiosk, though rundown, was very helpful as it had a map to the course. I would recommend taking the time to make a hand-drawn map to take with you.
Cons: There was not a whole lot of variety from hole to hole. Many times it was like playing the same hole multiple times in a row.
Navigation is tough. There are long walks to a couple of holes, and the course needs to have a lot more signs. We even had trouble finding one hole (went down a mowed path that was not it!) only to find the hole was on land not recently mowed. It is obvious that there is little time spent here doing routine things like mowing, trimming, repairing, improving, etc.

This course is really only playable to experienced and fully-skilled disc golfers. Beginners, families, and even intermediate players will struggle mightily and probably get frustrated. Is this really the type of course needed for this area? Maybe/maybe not, but if you don't like it you still have the option of playing the other course on site!

*If you do not like to lose discs then do not play this course! The rough is super thick, but it is the huge drop-offs that will suck your discs down to the bottom never to be seen again. Story Time - I threw consecutive shots- RHBH-on one hole where I was trying to be conservative with mids and putters and just land safely in the middle, but both times the disc skipped off the extremely narrow landing area never to be seen again. Most people would not dare go down to the bottom, but I went searching anyways only to come up exhausted and empty-handed. Accuracy and finesse are one of my strengths and this course still got the best of me that day- those with an uncontrolled RHBH might run out discs to throw by the end of the round!
Other Thoughts: This is tough course to rate because you will probably either love this course or hate it. It was actually one of the most miserable times I have ever had on a disc golf course, but I respect the ratings of the other reviewers because I know there are people that live to play for extreme courses that offer this type of challenge. I encourage you to read the other reviews as all the previous reviews are excellent and paint an accurate picture of what to expect.

Both courses here could be so much better if some standard improvements could be made. If I had rated the course right after I played it, I probably would have given it a 1.0 at the most. But time has allowed me think back objectively and I feel my 2.0 (a reasonable course) is a fair assessment, but if this type of course is what you are looking for then I do recommend it to fulfill that need of extreme challenge!

Overall, if you are looking for some better than average disc golf that does not get played a whole lot and you like having more than one course on site (36 holes) then Pulaski Park is worth a stop. Be sure to hit up Lake Cumberland S.P.'s course as well.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great technical course

1    12/27/2008   1/1/2009
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of technical demand, especially on the back 9. I have played through some fairly tightly wooded fairways, but they seem like 4-lane highways compared to some of these fairways.

What I really enjoyed were several holes that had an "S" designed into the fairway, not just a standard straight shot (like hole 10) at the basket or a hard dogleg right or left (like hole 9 or hole 17, respectively).

What really makes this course fun and challenging is not just the tight alleys you have to throw through, but when you get past hole 11, and until you get back to hole 17, you have to contend with massive drop-offs on the left. Some edges are closer than others, and can wreak havoc for a RHBH who doesn't have great control over their throws. This is the first course I've ever played where I was INTIMIDATED into throwing a RHFH, even though I don't do very well at them. The basket on Hole 13 is on the end of the ridge, where you turn back to head toward the starting point, and the basket is a mere 10-15 feet from a LARGE drop-off. I almost had to play taps for my aviar p&a, but luckily it was saved by a tree.

My favorite hole was number 18. Fairly long, throwing from an elevated area on the left, with a huge drop-off to the right, with a middle ground that starts way below, and meets the path on the left by the basket. Check out the pictures, but believe me it is hard to do this hole justice with just a couple photos. If I'd had more time I would have play this hole several times.

Now I have commented before that a course requires every shot in you bag to do well, but none have shown it as well as this one. With the exception of a roller (which actually would have been beneficial a couple of times), I DID throw every shot. Not because that was the best shot, but because I had to, due to the terrain and natural obstacles.

All tee pads were concrete and in great shape, and all baskets I believe were dual-chain style, and none seem to have been damaged, unlike the lower course.

I love the natural feel of this course, and it doesn't feel like a "park" like most courses do. I like the feel that you're out on a hike on a little used trail, and scenery is awesome, especially looking of the cliffs!

Do I like it as much as the bottom course? I feel they both have equal appeal to me, but for different reasons. I like the elevation changes of the lower course, but the technical aspects of the upper course are what would make me choose it if I had to pick one.
Cons: As with the lower course, navigation could stand to be improved. The map at the parking area would probably be just good enough to where you don't get lost in the woods. I was fortunate enough to have a local to shoot a round with, otherwise it would have been an all day affair. Just knowing which path to take could mean the difference between ready for tee-off, and crap where the heck am I? Be especially attentive when trying to find 17's tee when coming back from 16's basket. On the main path there are a couple steel spikes in the ground that mark where you turn off to go to the tee, but no signs or clear path are evident just looking from the main path. Additionally, be careful going from 17's basket to 18's tee. There is a sign from 17's basket pointing in that direction, but be sure to follow the blue-marked trees or you may need a GPS to find your way out.

Also, only about a third to half of the tees had tee signs that had not be damaged or completely removed. The ones that were there were rudimentary at best.

I suggest taking a local with you if you can, or at least someone who has played the course before.

There are no facilities up there, so you'd have to drive a couple miles to the other part of the park, or go before you get there.

Some "next tee" signs as well as some general directional signs would be a welcome addition.
Other Thoughts: This was a really fun course. It probably would have been a little easier when leaves weren't covering just about every square inch, or if the ground weren't only half solid due to all the recent rain.

I give this course a 3.5 and not higher because it needs a couple of fundamentals addressed that would really make the overall experience much more enjoyable, mostly for visitors, locals probably don't have much problem, but hey the purpose of these reviews is for the benefit of those who've never played the course before.

If I return down the road and they have fixed some of the issues, I will gladly adjust my score.

Take your boots, maybe even a GPS just in case, or a local if you can find one.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Extreme disc golf

5+    5/9/2008   12/9/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 60  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/1/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is extremely challenging and technical. More than half of the holes play dangerously close to the edge of a cliff. It is not a life or death kind of thing, but you are not going to be chasing after a disc unless it is irreplacable.

The first 7 holes are on level ground, with easy to navigate fairways. The baskets are usually protected by groupings of trees. The average drive for these holes is around 200 feet. Get all the birdies you can on these holes, because the remainder of the course is very unforgiving.

Hole 8 plays around 600 feet with a 40 foot wide fairway. The next hole is short, with an extreme dogleg right. Hole 10 requires a good walk - and when you arrive at the teepad, know that you have just come to an entire new course.

The back 9 of this course plays extremely technical with tight fairways that punish errant shots. Many of these holes play along the ridge of a mountain, and the fairways are extremely tight. Many of the holes are in the 200-250 range, and require either a line-drive shot or a hyzer/anyhzer that holds a tight line.

This part of the course favors left handed throwers as there is an extreme drop off on the left side of many of the fairways, and when throwing RHBH, you can easily have a disc go off the edge.

Hole #18 is an awesome disc golf shot!
Cons: Trying to find your way to hole #10 and #17 can be really confusing on your first play. #10 requires a walk down a narrow pathway. You will pass an opening on the left (where the #17 teepad is - don't turn here).

Many of the holes do not have tee signs, which is frustrating when you can not see the basket from the pad. Accurate tee signs with posted lengths would greatly benefit this course.

It is easy to lose plastic here along the ridge playing 10-18. Also, the extremely tight fairways can be frustrating, as there is very little room for error.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the most challenging courses in the state. Holes 10-16 is the hardest stretch of holes I have ever played.

Bring all the shots in your bag. Being able to throw a 250 foot line drive shot is a major asset at this course. Overhand shots (tomahawk, thumbers) are needed to get out of trouble and sidearm drives come in handy as well.

I would recommend this course to anyone - especially skilled players that are looking for a challenge, or just want to try something different.

Overall, this is a great course that will test your nerves. The only real negative is that the layout is confusing when playing for the first time. Walk the course first or try to play with a local.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/26/2008   11/15/2008
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1180  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 26.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Razor sharp accuracy needed for back 9 as the holes we're much longer and thicker (some prunning would be good thing as well as better signage) than the bottom course, thus this course develops a better player, because to score well you need to be accurate.

the top 5 -7 holes we're on flat ground (but if you chunked it off to the extreeme right you could loose your disc) playing along an old path or roadway.
Cons: without a map some of the local routes to and from different holes on the back 9 could be hard to find. (luckily for me the Disc Gods sent me a local Disc Golfer (Dave M.) who was just walking around getting his daily excerise in and showed me the last few holes in or near complete darkness. So I guess it ended up being a PRO more so than a CON, but without his aide I would of been lost in the woods.

some fairways we're just to thick (prunning would be good thing as well as better signage to the next hole. I found that just a simple piece of colored electrical tape with an arrow pointing the direction to the next hole, on the bottom of the baskets well is efficent.

Poor map of course on the kiosk, but without that your really lost without a local guide.

Can't walk to the bottom course. (but it's only a short drive maybe 5 minutes)
Other Thoughts: I would recomend staying down here for the weekend or a whole day as you have 3 really GOOD courses all within an hour's drive of one another

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Needs Upkeep

1    7/16/2008   7/21/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/14/2009
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Concrete Tees and solid baskets. Variety of shots required. Design was adequate. There really wasn't anything that stands out about this course. It was a challenge
Cons: Lots of walking between holes. Large bullet hole through the kiosk makes for a little bit of fear when beginning your round. First off, we were from out of town. Second, there was no one else there. And finally, we were welcomed by a kiosk with a bullet hole the size of my thumb. Tee signs are non existant. Course navigation is a big problem. There is a map at the kiosk...however, it is drawn onto the kiosk so you cannot take it with you.
Other Thoughts: This was an average course for me. There wasn't anything that stood out except for the fact that on 4 or 5 holes on the back, you had better be in the 8 to 10 foot wide fairway. If not, the disc is gone. And I mean gone. The front 9 was basic and played around a grassy field with some trees that is perched on a bluff overlooking a lake. Trees surrounded the field so the views weren't anything majestic.

The front 9 was fairly basic. None of those holes were amazing. The back nine had some really difficult, tight fairways. If you were barely off whether it be side-to-side or long, you're disc is likely gone. The rough areas were very thick. Fairways probably averaged about 8-10 feet in width, some larger, but some much smaller. We got lost multiple times due to lack of signs. One of my buddies actually quit for 4 holes because he lost discs on three consecutive shots. The back was really well designed, but it looked terribly unkept. On the path to hole 18 you must walk down at least 150 feet of the fairway of hole 10.

This course has potential but when we played, the course gave the impression that it had been planted about 3 weeks earlier. This was especially true for the back nine. No maturation had occurred.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 What a course

3/12/2008   3/13/2008
Review By: broken_star
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice mix of shots, course will test you nerves due to huge drop offs, tests every shot you can think of, even though most holes are fairly short many require placement shots instead of runs at the basket
Cons: Downed trees in a few fairways (could easily be a 4.5 if the course was maintained), sacrificial discs are required, hard to follow if you dont have a map, dont play if you have a fear of heights
Other Thoughts: I personally love this course and its in my top 5 in Kentucky. It obvious from being out there for the first time in a few years that it hasn't been heavily played. I would highly recommend this course to anyone that wants to really test there game. (warning: If you throw an errant shot get ready to watch the disc fly down the side of a mountain to never be seen again)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.