Jefferson City, MO 
Joseph C. Miller DGC Share
Uploaded By: dudiablo Hole #10 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 254ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Very decent course!

1    10/2/2013   10/2/2013
Review By: jjw4ucm
Played: 20  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 1.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety! There's not a ton of wide-open shots, but it's not just tunnel shot after tunnel shot. I loved the variety of range in distance as well.

I like the way they mark which pin position is active, by using a simple wing nut and big red plastic marker. Each sign by the tee box also gives the location of the next tee; I highly reccomend you pay attention to it! (see below)

Course was well mowed and well maintained when I played in early October.

Nice, long, grippy concrete tee pads, with a bit of pea gravel after them which helps with erosion.

Very pretty scenery; there's houses and ball fields visible from a few holes, but I saw tons of squirrels/wildlife milling about and felt like I was taking a nice walk through the woods while playing, without being frustrated.

Although this course is fairly wooded, the trees are avoidable with a good shot and it's not maddeningly frustrating, even for this beginner.

I like how there's steep drop-offs near several of the holes, forcing you to make tough choices about whether to putt for the basket, or just layup rather than risking losing your disc in a dried-up creek bed. Nice touch to the game.

Even the tunnel shots that are there are very thoughtfully laid out, and just generally gorgeous. I think I was most impressed with the scenery on this course; I wasn't expecting it to be this pretty!

The designer generally did a good job using elevation, woods, rough, and everything available to create a wide variety of elevation changes, directional changes, and different "feels" on the holes. Even for someone who has a real affinity for finding trees, the wooded holes weren't boring or monotonous and I thought the trees were used very well as obstacles, instead of just being irritating.

The area is just dedicated for disc golf. I know a few other reviewers had trouble with people milling about; I played on a Wednesday afternoon after work and it was perfectly fine. A couple guys behind me, but other than that, nothing. And nobody wandering around the course either.

I didn't run into any burrs or poison ivy on my trek out here; a nice departure from some of the courses I play back in Kansas City.

Overall, this was just a very fun play for me; I was in town on business and was able to fit in a full round in a little over an hour after meetings. Great variety and fun factor is definitely there!
Cons: The navigation got tricky on parts of the course. Even if you pay attention to the tee signs, it's still very possible to get lost, in particular from 11-12, and 14-15. On 12, the tee box is in the woods directly in front of the basket; on 15, you walk right by 17's tee box on the way, so keep walking and look for the sign a ways up ahead.

Some of the baskets, benches, and signs look a bit worn and tired; doesn't really affect the game play, but it didn't feel as well kept up in this regard as most of my home courses back in KC.

The marking system for the active pin is nice, but on hole 11, it was on the wrong pin position and probably cost me 2 strokes. It's still a very fun hole and I loved the design, but it was aggravating to hurt my game over an incorrect marker.

The baskets for some of the holes are very close to others, especially 11 and 17. Also, on 9, it's easy to mistake the practice basket for the real basket, going off the sign.

The back 9 in particular felt like it zig-zagged across itself quite a bit; it wasn't overly busy when I played, but this could pose a problem if you're not careful. Pay close attention to the numbers on top of the baskets, or you'll end up throwing at the wrong one like I did!

Adding to the navigational woes, there's not a great map at the entry to take a snapshot of on your phone for reference. It's fairly well signed, but keep your eyes peeled and check the alternate pin positions if you get stuck. Sometimes the next hole is by one of those instead.
Other Thoughts: This course is just west of town, near St. Martens. It was about a 15 minute drive from my hotel on the south end of town, so not bad at all.

I wouldn't call this a destination course at all, but it made for a very fun round and is worth stopping at if you're in the area! The scenery is nice and the walk through the woods is a lot of fun without being overly aggravating, even for a less experienced player.

Several of the tees were much farther away from the preceeding pins than most of the courses I've played. This can be both good and bad; if you get lost, look near the other pin positions. There's generally signs up on the trees to let you know where to go.

Stop by for a super fun round of DG if you're in the area, it's worth it!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice diversity

2-4    3/27/2012   3/27/2012
Review By: cronek
Played: 34  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Excellent variety of shots needed. Good use of the terrain. There are short holes and longs ones, too. Trees in play for many of the holes, but also a few wide open fields.
Cons: I agree with some other reviewers that par is marked too easy on some holes, but this could be due to currently close pin placement. There were some really muddy spots even though it had been several days since last rain. Had to pick carefully around marshy areas. Basket to next tee was sometimes quite a hike and need to watch out for 15 being on past 17 or you'll end up playing out of order.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful scenery all around the course. Even a camp ground right across the street if you want to stay and play a few days in a row.

 First out of town course

1    8/28/2010   10/1/2010
Review By: bigt
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tee pads but they are a little short.

Nice new bridge to get to the back side

Great basket locations that make you pay for a mistake
Cons: Long walk back to the parking lot after 18

Tee pads could be longer
Other Thoughts: Look forward to playing this course again after I get some playing time under my belt

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable, but challenging

1    8/13/2010   8/19/2010
Review By: ukebork
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Really liked the layout. Lots of variety, and easy enough for a beginning hack like me. But not TOO easy, so it gives me an incentive to go back to do better.
Cons: As other reviewers have said, do not like that after 18, there is a little walk to get back to parking, but it really isn't that bad. Don't like trees, or the gully, but I'm just whining.
Other Thoughts: Thanks to Todd for taking me out and showing me the course!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Whoa !

2-4    10/17/2009   11/13/2009
Review By: gwcass
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 26.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Hills, trees, long fairways, blind tee shots. All the things that make disc golf fun and challenging.
Cons: Hills, trees, long fairways, blind tee shots. Uphill in to trees. Downhill into trees. Man I hate trees. Many thanks for champion plastic.
Other Thoughts: Other than Hole 18 not ending by Tee 1 it is an amazing layout. Can't wait for the 2010 Disc Golf Monkey stop there.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/11/2009   9/12/2009
Review By: dajuicej
Played: 60  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 34.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed this course. Being from the St. Louis Mo. area originally it reminded me a lot of Sioux Passage Park DGC. A tighter woodsy front nine with a wide open and long back nine. The Park and course were very well maintained and the course was very easy to follow. You need a good arsenal of shots to play this course. A booming drive doesn`t hurt on the back nine.
Cons: A couple places the course got confusing because it appears they may be in the proccess of redesigning a couple holes. There was orange spray paint near some of the baskets indicating where to go for the next tee, then spray painted tees in the grass. Upon looking further I found the CORRECT concrete tee pads for each of the holes. The spray paint might have just been somebodies idea of a joke, it wasn`t funny.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice Course

5+    10/10/2007   12/3/2007
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 137  Reviewed: 80  Exp: 19.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/22/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very nice course with concrete tee pads, tee signs and good baskets. The design uses the elevation and woods to give the course a nice variety of shots. The course flows fairly well, although 18 doesn't bring you back to the parking lot. The creeks on the property are used to give a few water hazards. It does not have any monster D shots but the holes have some nice distance to them. All in all the design is solid.
Cons: The course is heavily wooded, but the fairways are quite wide and forgiving. The course also has a lot of elevation change, but the holes tend to play across the hills instead of up and down. There are no really difficult uphill shots despite the appropriate terrain for some. You have to cross a particularly rickety homemade bridge to get to the back nine, and when you finish #18 you have to walk across #10's fairway to get back to the bridge. When you cross that bridge you walk right out where people are putting on #9, and due to the trees you really can't tell if someone is there or not. All of the parking is for the softball fields across the street and are a hike from the #1 tee.
Other Thoughts: This is a couple of notches short of a championship course, and that may drive some people nuts since there is definitely the land available for such a layout. However, the course as it is very good. It should do well to support a group of disc golfers in Jeff City. I would not plan a trip to play it, but if you are in the area it is worth your time to play.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.