Vadito, NM
Two Gray Hares DGC Share
Uploaded By: ttace Hole #1 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 177ft.   3 / 278ft.   3 / 310ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Private Course

1    9/11/2013   9/11/2013
Review By: markmcc
Played: 45  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great course in a beautiful mountain setting.

Pay-to-Play, $3 for the entire day. This is a big plus for me.

Three teepad positions for each hole (Rec, Advanced, Pro) give players of all abilities a fair course. I played the advanced tees, and will give the pro tees a try next time. All baskets are in excellent condition.

Very good signage at each teepad, with distance and an accurate map showing trees and basket location. Some teeshots are blind, and the maps help greatly with understanding where the basket is. Additional signs at each basket point to the next teepad.

From the first hole, which is a downhill shot to a basket hidden behind a grove of trees, to the final hole which is a wide-open shot across a meadow, this course offers great hole-to-hole variety.

Several holes parallel fencelines which are out-of-bounds and adds challenge to these holes.

Bill and Sue are wonderful hosts, and have added thoughtful touches like strategically placed disc retrieval nets on long poles to aid with discs stuck in trees or drowned in the irrigation canal (I had one of each).

The Pro Shop is fantastic, with an amazing assortment of discs, mini's, bags, and shirts. Also a small assortment of drinks and snacks which is welcome as the course is off of the beaten path.

They have a 550' driving range next to the Pro Shop and will let you throw any of their hundreds of loaner discs if you want to give something a try.
Cons: No huge elevation changes or big bomber holes if that is your thing.

There is some thick rough on this course, and I was glad to have my wife along as a spotter. Playing alone you might spend a bit of time searching for your disc.
Other Thoughts: Bill and Sue were happy to open up the shop and spent quite a bit of time visiting with my wife and I. Great DG ambassadors.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Course for a Wide Variety of Players

5+    7/30/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: ttace
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 18 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well marked. Good parking. Restrooms and water on course. Excellent pro shop. Loaner discs. Marked driving range. A wide mix of shots needed. Multiple tee pads for all levels of players.
Cons: This is a working farm so sometimes hard to locate discs in field.
Other Thoughts: As owner/designer of course I have a high opinion of the course. We designed this course to accommodate players with varying degrees of expertise. If this course is played properly, i.e. playing OB's, etc. and with the technical shots required, it is a definite challenge to most players. If you are looking to constantly throw as far as you can on every drive, then this course would not be for you. It is a perfect fit for the area, complimenting the great Sipapu course and the high desert, long Picuris course.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Experience

1    10/16/2010   1/20/2011
Review By: j0atz
Played: 31  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Private Course (cheap day pass)
- Surprisingly Awesome Pro Shop (accepts credit cards)
- Very Legit course, very well thought out, the owner will be glad to show you around.
- Maps are available
- Teesigns are in place.
- Rec, Int, Pro Teepads!
- Beautiful course on an amazing piece of land right in the middle of the mountains.
- Super close to a cheap resort (Sipapu)
- Every route/shot you can think of is on this course
- Teepads are rubber, but in good condition
- Well laid out course, pretty easy to navigate

Overall, amazing experience at this course...the owners are extremely nice and helpful. I can't wait to go back!
Cons: Seriously can't think of any.
Other Thoughts: I wish I would have had more time to play this course multiple times!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 You must play this course!

1    7/1/2008   12/23/2009
Review By: six30two
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: have you ever wished you owned some land where you could design and build your own disc golf course? I know I have and Bill & Sue have actually done it! This is an awesome course- really creative pin placements and good variety of shots- you will need to bring every shot you throw to play this course effectively. If you can get Bill and/or Sue to play with you, it makes it all the better. Bring some $$ with you as they have an onsite pro shop where you can buy discs and a driving range where you can toss your new disc a couple times to see how you like it.
Cons: None that I can think of...oh wait...no ATM machine. ;)
Other Thoughts: Great course, great scenery and even better people.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.