Vadito, NM 
Two Gray Hares DGC Share
Uploaded By: ttace Hole #1 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 177ft.   3 / 278ft.   3 / 310ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Played it

1    5/18/2014   5/25/2014
Review By: pimpcapnc
Played: 113  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -played along a river

-easy to find holes

-great for family outing or beginners
Cons: - very short with minimal challenge

- lots of duece or die holes
Other Thoughts: I played it for the first time at the Rio Pueblo Open. I did not care for the course or the wind.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Private Course

1    9/11/2013   9/11/2013
Review By: markmcc
Played: 57  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 2.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great course in a beautiful mountain setting.

Pay-to-Play, $3 for the entire day. This is a big plus for me.

Three teepad positions for each hole (Rec, Advanced, Pro) give players of all abilities a fair course. I played the advanced tees, and will give the pro tees a try next time. All baskets are in excellent condition.

Very good signage at each teepad, with distance and an accurate map showing trees and basket location. Some teeshots are blind, and the maps help greatly with understanding where the basket is. Additional signs at each basket point to the next teepad.

From the first hole, which is a downhill shot to a basket hidden behind a grove of trees, to the final hole which is a wide-open shot across a meadow, this course offers great hole-to-hole variety.

Several holes parallel fencelines which are out-of-bounds and adds challenge to these holes.

Bill and Sue are wonderful hosts, and have added thoughtful touches like strategically placed disc retrieval nets on long poles to aid with discs stuck in trees or drowned in the irrigation canal (I had one of each).

The Pro Shop is fantastic, with an amazing assortment of discs, mini's, bags, and shirts. Also a small assortment of drinks and snacks which is welcome as the course is off of the beaten path.

They have a 550' driving range next to the Pro Shop and will let you throw any of their hundreds of loaner discs if you want to give something a try.
Cons: No huge elevation changes or big bomber holes if that is your thing.

There is some thick rough on this course, and I was glad to have my wife along as a spotter. Playing alone you might spend a bit of time searching for your disc.
Other Thoughts: Bill and Sue were happy to open up the shop and spent quite a bit of time visiting with my wife and I. Great DG ambassadors.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not Bad

1    7/22/2011   10/22/2012
Review By: HarrMarc
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Many challenging placements. Beautiful setting in the mountains yet not too much climbing. A nice place to get disc. Driving range available.
Cons: This is a working farm so sometimes hard to locate discs in field

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Private Course

1    8/26/2012   8/30/2012
Review By: ClayParrot
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful location. The owners did a fantastic job with respects to making this a Golf Course. Complete with a "pro-shop" next to covered tables near two very nicely maintained toilets. Excellent mat tee pads with 3 placement/distances for nearly every hole (I think just one hole shared for beginner, advanced, and pro), each with its own hole layout display and each hole has its own name (all with the same "hare-brained" theme {wink}. Each and every basket is in excellent condition.

The first several holes are awesome, then a couple in the middle of the course (12 & 13?) along a mountain creek.

Cons: Way too much pasture with numerous holes forcing you to plod through deep grass/weeds, which can make it a bit difficult to find your disc. Holes 7, 8, & 9 (?) I didn't care for the requirement to shoot through a small gap in a line of trees, especially the one going up hill, but maybe I'm just being too picky.
Other Thoughts: I wish the owners would have been there while my fiance and I were there, it would have been nice to have met them.

The course only gets a 3, but overall the experience is a 4 for the outstanding work the owners did on making this lovely private course. I guess they did what they could with the land they had.

At just $3/day/player, it is a very good bargin for a private course. I recommend swinging by here if you're in the neighborhood (Santa Fe or Taos) and it is very easy to find!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Course for a Wide Variety of Players

5+    7/30/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: ttace
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 18.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well marked. Good parking. Restrooms and water on course. Excellent pro shop. Loaner discs. Marked driving range. A wide mix of shots needed. Multiple tee pads for all levels of players.
Cons: This is a working farm so sometimes hard to locate discs in field.
Other Thoughts: As owner/designer of course I have a high opinion of the course. We designed this course to accommodate players with varying degrees of expertise. If this course is played properly, i.e. playing OB's, etc. and with the technical shots required, it is a definite challenge to most players. If you are looking to constantly throw as far as you can on every drive, then this course would not be for you. It is a perfect fit for the area, complimenting the great Sipapu course and the high desert, long Picuris course.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Solid course but overrated and outclassed by nearby alternatives

1    6/3/2012   6/3/2012
Review By: jtencer
Played: 50  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a solid layout with a variety of shots required.
3 different pads make it accessible to all skill levels
Owners were very friendly and helpful
The area is extremely beautiful.
Cons: There are a lot of blind shots (especially from the pro tees). It makes playing it for the first time pretty frustrating.

Very windy and grass was quite tall when I played. I normally wouldn't mention it, but it was in some other reviews as well so this is likely the common state of the course rather than a bad day.

This course is basically flat and there are very few trees (especially on the back 9). Again, you do the best with the land you have (and they did) but I can play open flat holes anywhere. Unless you happen to live in Taos, this is supposed to be destination golf and this course while fun probably wasn't worth the drive for me.

Water isn't really in play on any of the holes. There's a river off to the left on 1 hole and a couple others others that throw across a drainage ditch, but I never felt like I was at risk of getting wet.
Other Thoughts: Before taking my trip, I was given the advice that I should save the 3 bucks and play Sipapu twice. I ignored that advice because I wanted to see for myself. I don't advise you to skip this course. It's fun to play. However, it isn't nearly the course that the 4+ rating on here would indicate. There are 2 other great courses within 10 miles of this one and while this is a good course, it just wasn't up to the same standard.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Family Course

2-4    9/5/2011   9/6/2011
Review By: Crazy Fast Ford
Played: 26  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well layed out course. The entire family from the 5 year old to the 40 year old had a great time playing. Some short hills to climb but easily done and well layed out. Front nine has some short shots that require both left and right turns. The back nine has some nice long ones if you want to stretch out your arm. Three sets of tee boxes. Water crossings are fun and unsual in New Mexico and if you are a little short there are several disc retrival baskets to help you out. Owner is exceptionally friendly and helpful. Pro Shop on site.
Cons: Small charge to play but really worth it.
Other Thoughts: Great family course the pro shop is small but packed with tons of stuff. Owner will help you get better even if you don't buy anything. I wish this course was closer to home.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Experience

1    10/16/2010   1/20/2011
Review By: j0atz
Played: 31  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Private Course (cheap day pass)
- Surprisingly Awesome Pro Shop (accepts credit cards)
- Very Legit course, very well thought out, the owner will be glad to show you around.
- Maps are available
- Teesigns are in place.
- Rec, Int, Pro Teepads!
- Beautiful course on an amazing piece of land right in the middle of the mountains.
- Super close to a cheap resort (Sipapu)
- Every route/shot you can think of is on this course
- Teepads are rubber, but in good condition
- Well laid out course, pretty easy to navigate

Overall, amazing experience at this course...the owners are extremely nice and helpful. I can't wait to go back!
Cons: Seriously can't think of any.
Other Thoughts: I wish I would have had more time to play this course multiple times!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Best place to learn to play

5+    12/1/2009   4/15/2010
Review By: nightwing
Played: 80  Reviewed: 18
This review was updated on 5/10/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pro Adv. Beginner Pads. Parking/covered benches.
No 'civilians' to throw around like many free courses.
Driving range, putting green, free or pay instruction.
Pro shop. Nice mountain setting.
Good up and down shots with very little climbing.
Good variety of left/right/trick/longer shots.
Cons: Can have a strong wind, mostly from west.
Can lose discs in bushes/trees. (There are disc retrieval poles on 3, 12, and 13 so few lost in water.)
Some very tight O.B., especially on back nine.
Owners usually greet you when you arrive.
Other Thoughts: #s 1-8 all play down below, near the entry drive.

#1 is behind practice basket and doglegs down left.
(Notice #2 basket as you head down to fairway.)
#2 tees along entrance road. From #2,
#3 basket to right, #3 tees are below left by River.
#4 tee is down in a hole by River, beyond #3.
#4 doglegs up and hard right. #5 in same meadow.
#6 tee is up on hilltop and basket is down across the field by the river.
#7 is a right from #6/ plays up into a gap in trees.
#8 is similar, starting below/plays up into tree gap.

#9-18 are all up and around the main field.

#9 plays between big house on right and OB left.
#10 tees across the acequia (water ditch) and plays down into open field left of house.
#11 is up to the water tower, OB long.
#12 has very tight OB water right (AND right long).

(#12a, 12b are long 'tournament only' extra holes.)

#13 has very tight OB left/right/long. Good luck.
(Some casual players do not play the left as OB.)
#14 tees are across bridge and way back to right.
#15 has OB left. #16 is long to the big house.
#17 across driveway, short to the rocky perch.
#18 is back to in front of the smaller house.

The whole place is set up to help you learn to play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not worth the three bucks, go to Sipapu and play for free!

5+    12/25/2009   12/26/2009
Review By: mfcastillo17
Played: 76  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good for beginners. Well marked. Three sets of tee pads. Pro shop (see cons). Driving range (see cons) Open year round. Can ski or snowboard at Sipapu and catch a round of disc golf in the same day.
Cons: Pay to play. Often the grass is so long you can't find your disc, even if it is 5 feet from the basket. Long grass makes finding your discs on the driving range nearly impossible. Extremely overpriced pro shop ($20+ for good plastic)
Other Thoughts: I'm surprised to see this course so highly rated. What disappointed me most is the unmowed grass. Makes you wonder where the green fee goes. Maybe I'm wrong, but pay to play should be held to a higher standard than free courses. If it is summer time and Sipapu is open, just play there.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.