Yadkinville, NC 
Yadkin County Park Share
Uploaded By: chainmonkey Hole #13 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 258ft.   3 / 267ft.   3 / 267ft.   3 / 267ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket to Tee

Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Variety Pack

1    9/20/2015   9/20/2015
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 52  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/22/2015
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course starrted out so innocently. 5 holes out in the field that lured me in. I thought I was in for a easy walk in the park, and then the woods happened. For a course whose average hole length doesn't have much variety, this place has a ton of variety in the shots that are required. Some holes are way out in the open and let you grip it and rip, whereas others are deliate tosses through some diabolical woods. The elevation changes are often very dramatic.

It felt like this course really got started on number 6. The throw down that hill into the woods amost seemed symbolic in retrospect, it was like the course designer wanted you to feel like you were taking a trip down to a different place. I loved the transitions from open to woods on this course because it always felt like something new was around the corner.

Tees here are ample concrete. Signs are excellent, and display all of the potential hole positions, which sometimes include A-F! They also clearly mark the position in play on that day. This further expands on the variety here, as it seems this place could play completely differently on different days. Some positions looked like great birdie opportunities, while others on the same hole could play to a completely different location and probably play an entire shot higher vs par.

Surrounding park was surprisingly nice. There was ample parking, a practice basket, a nice course map and kiosk. OB roads were clearly marked on hole signs, and nice wooden arrows either on trees or on the baskets pointed golfers to the next hole. The mando on hole 2, which is a great idea to keep play away from #1's basket, is easily visible and has a permanently marked drop zone. A lot of the little things have been considered here. There are also benches every few holes and bag hooks on most tees.

The terrain is intimidating. A walk around this place is actually a workout with the amount of hills crossed. The course designer made great use of it. Even the small creek is used very thoughtfully to frame some of the green complexes and fairways.

I thought the green on #6 that was up on the hill with the stone wall surrounding it was really fun to play to.

The net up blocking hole 10's tee was really smart considering the blind nature of the teeshot off of 9. It is nice to see courses keeping safety in mind.

There is an extra 9 hole "Outback" loop after hole 8. It plays to tonal poles and is a more tight, technical loop that seems to be a bit of a nature walk. It is a separate course that plays very differently, but is nice to have on site.
Cons: Only a few here. Some of the terrain is a bit rough, and it is easy to get feet snagged on roots so keep an eye out for that.

I noticed a few of the tee boxes, noteably 6 and 7, were shorter than the rest and really kept me from having ample runups on those pads.

The other issue I had with the pads is a lot of them have sharp dropoffs at the front. Most are long enough where that isn't an issue, but a few made me a bit hesitant.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun course. It doesn't get much hype in the region, but it probably deserves a bit more.

Be sure to check out "The Outback," a very different 9 hole course available on site. Look for it just left of the 9th tee.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Perfect mix of Open and Wooded

1    10/13/2014   7/3/2015
Review By: pmay5
Played: 57  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 12.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great tee signs, possibly the best I've seen. Great long tee pads, especially on the long open holes. Lots of variety available with multiple basket positions on all holes. Great elevation variety, the course starts on a ridge, crosses a stream valley to another ridge line, then some holes in the valley and back up to finish on the original ridge line.

Almost a perfect mix of open and wooded holes, also features uphill and downhill holes. #13 is a great hole, in the wooded valley section, tee is partly up the hill, fairway goes down and left around the hillside with the stream guarding the right side. Gave me that "How the hell am I supposed to ..." feeling.

Dedicated part of this multi-use park, does not look like there would be any others on the course, except for an occasional dog walker. It is very easy to get to, off 421 between Boone and Winston-Salem. So if you are in the area playing Ashe County or the Wilkesboro courses, this one is worth your time. Half the holes will give you a chance to air it out.

From the tee signs and great course shape, you can tell the local club takes great care of this course. Even saw a couple of guys moving a basket when I was finishing.
Cons: No restrooms or drinks available at the parking lot, but there is a Community Center building at the entrance and ball fields throughout that probably provide those, when in use.

No other cons for this one!
Other Thoughts: In addition to the great #13, after airing it out on 8 and especially 9, #10 brings another challenge. Mostly open, but with a line of trees that you have to pick a line around. Left, right ? definitely more than one way to play this one. #18 is a real good finishing hole, after the steep uphill #17 (and a steep walk up to 18 tee), you are back up on the ridge, in full view of the basket and parking lot. While mostly open, you can find trouble on this one if you aren't down the middle.

With benches on most tees, great tee pads, great signs, landscaping and multiple basket positions, this would be a very fun everyday course. Plus, it can be lengthened to provide any challenge for a tournament. Throw in the easy to get to factor and this is a must play!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

My favorite course so far

1    4/23/2015   4/29/2015
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 54  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/8/2015
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Great mix of open, wooded, uphill, downhill.

- Truly unique. Some of the holes are unlike anything I've played anywhere else. There's a hole that curves to the left where a creek is the alley you need to throw over. There's a downhill tee shot over the same creek (16th hole) that is incredibly different and fun.

- Beautiful setting. When I played, the grass was green, perfectly manicured, and the whole course was gorgeous. Yadkin County is one of the prettiest areas in North Carolina.

- Lots of pin placements.

- Awesome use of elevation.
Cons: - The only con I have is the drawback to multiple pin locations: you don't always know which pin you're throwing at. Maybe there was a sign that I missed.
Other Thoughts: I've played 20 courses so far. This one is my favorite.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1    8/23/2014   8/26/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 268  Reviewed: 266  Exp: 4.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Yadkin had both so much more elevation than expected and so much more variety. Wooded holes, open holes and almost all of them up and down. The thing about including open holes is that they need to be interesting open holes. For me that usually means elevation change, and that is what you get at Yadkin. It starts out in the open for five holes. 6 presents a tight wooded fairway that heads downhill. 7 is a little bit looser but heads back uphill to the field on the opposite side of the woods, where 8 and 9 provide real opportunities to air it out downfield.
As much as the elevation make the course, two of my favorite holes have virtually none. 12 and 13 play on opposite sides of a creek. Both feature multiple turns as you must navigate trees on both sides of the fairway while avoiding landing in the water.
The best hole here is 16. This one is the counterpart of 6. It's heading back down towards the creek, taking you toward the finish. Only this one is a long way down. A tight thread through the woods that needs to get left at the end and still finds the basket just beyond the creek. Tough hole, unique challenge. The runner-up is 17. You climb back up that slope you just threw down, partially and then throw across the valley and creek and then climb to a basket just on the edge of the woods. Great pair of holes.
Yadkin is very well appointed, with tee signs that indicate all basket positions and clearly marks which is current. Thank you. The tees are great. Perfectly sized cement pads, occasionally decorated with shrubbery or flowers. Benches are ever-present and navigation should cause issues for no one. It's also a very scenic park conveniently located near the highway.
Cons: I wanted to give this course a four pretty badly when I was finished but in calm reflection, the front nine doesn't warrant it. Not that the front nine is bad, in truth while the back nine is a 4.0, the first half of the course is a 3.25. It's mostly open, and though variety is good, and there is solid elevation even here, it's just a little too bland. I might have thought differently if the baskets were in the deep position but they weren't and I just felt I wanted a little more from each hole. Nice hills though and most of them involved throwing up or down something.
It does share the potential flaws of all courses that rotate baskets. They aren't all equal and sometimes you get the worse ones. I have a feeling that if I had encountered this course with all baskets in ideal positions, I would have given it a four. But I don't know for sure since I never saw that layout, if it ever exists.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/27/2014   6/28/2014
Review By: MammalSauce
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: **There is an optional 9 hole deep woods course called "The Outback" located next to the pad of hole 9!!**

Main 18: Well laid out course with pin signs on every hole (except for The Outback).
This challenging course will make you a better player.
Cons: You will become a hiker playing this course.
Other Thoughts: I didn't know "The Outback" 9 hole course existed the first few times I played here; I ran into a park employee playing and he told me about it. It is a great deep woods course with very technical lines and some thick foliage that make it that much harder. Although some of the fairways are slightly overgrown from lack of use, it is still very playable. They use a pin setup called "Tone Poles": hollow metal cylinders open on the bottom with chains hanging from above give a nice *ring* when you strike them.

Main 18: One of only four courses I've played, only been playing for a few months, and it has made me a better player very quickly due to difficult lines and narrow fairways on some holes.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Love this course

2-4    10/12/2014   11/11/2013
Review By: luckless_pedestrian
Played: 20  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 2.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/13/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mix of terrain. Not too many wooded holes, not too many open.

Great signage and navigation

Different pin placements will make it a great place to return to.

EDIT: The Outback! There's a great little 9-hole loop after #9 that goes through some very tight fairways and has tone poles instead of baskets. Super fun.
Cons: The tee signs need to tell you which position the basket is in. A lot of times we had to eliminate the ones that it obviously couldn't be and figure, "it must be B for this hole."

EDIT: Not sure if we missed it last year or what but the signs actually DO tell you the placement. And that's one of the best features of the course, the multiple pin placements on every hole.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course. If you make your shots, you will score well. It's great to see an established course like this that really gets used. We played on a busy, beautiful (though kind of windy) Sunday afternoon and everyone we met was friendly and cool. As we were about to head into the woods on Hole 5 a guy said, the next few holes will blow your mind, man. Not quite true, but I applaud the sentiment. Hole 5 will break your leg if you go off the front of the teepad, though.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

2-4    6/22/2013   6/23/2013
Review By: YoMambaSoFly
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well manicured course, nice tee pads, great scenery, fairly easy to navigate. Had lots of fun playing and was definitely challenging without being absurdly challenging. Shot a 51 first round, not too shabby!!!
Cons: It would be nice if pin placements were posted each time they are changed, don't get me wrong I love the multiple pin placements but maybe if there was a way to mark the signage as to what pins are used at each hole just to make a round flow a little smoother. Like a little magnet on each sign over the used pin placement since some holes have up to five pin placements?
Other Thoughts: Gonna hit it again tomorrow!!!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Worthwhile Stop off US421

1    10/25/2012   10/28/2012
Review By: der Turkey Vulture
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easily accessed from US421.
Dedicated DG area, set apart from the rest of the park.
Solid mix of open and wooded holes.
Elevation plays a role.
With up to 4 pin locations on most holes, it can be a different experience often.
Minor water hazzards.
Well laid out course.
Cons: Would like to see some tee cards available.
Some really long holes for mere par 3.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course but safety issues

1    9/1/2012   9/1/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 304  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The biggest thing this course has going for it is the mix of open and wooded holes. it is well balanced in that way.

It was in no way hard to navigate and it was always pretty obvious where the next tee was or where the basket was.

There are multiple basket locations which means this course can be set up differantly every time(not all sunshine here though see cons)

Very beautiful park.

A nice not too overwelming use of elevation.

Teesigns were very nice as well as the teepad and they were always accurate with which position was being used.

benches on every hole.
Cons: Well as I said in the pros this course has many options to play which can be good if the options are safe ones. several of the new positions (which I assume have been added over the years to add difficulty) seem to mess with the flow of the course and can cause safety isses. For example when hole 1 is in the longest position you must double back down either 1's or 2's fairway to get to 2's teepad. as far as danger hole 5 longs best option is to throw right over the top of hole 3's basket and hole 17's basket is not very far away if you RHBH hyzer out early thus causing many issues.

Several of the holes could use a little high limb trimming

Other Thoughts: This course was fun and I feel that if it were in other set ups than it was when I played it I may have given it a higher review. However with the dangers and issues I saw with those few holes it made me dock it a half point or so.

I feel like the designers may have messed too much with a good thing with some of there positions.

Still I would recommend anyone to go out of there way to play this one as it was very fun. A great 1 2 combo with Highland hills

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/4/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: DC Bombsquad
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/10/2012
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Good Mix of open and wooden holes.
-Elevation changes were ok. Would like a few more.
-Great course to get Hooked on Disc Golf with.
-Starts off easier and gets harder as you go.
-Multiple pin locations make playing it each time a new adventure.
Cons: -Water buckets would be nice.
-Practice basket would be nice to warm up on.
-Watch out for posion ivy, and mosquitos!
Other Thoughts: Great course to get started and hooked on disc golf too. Shaved 6 throws off my score from the first to the second round.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.