Yadkinville, NC
Yadkin County Park Share
Uploaded By: heelboycraig Hole #11
3 / 256ft.   3 / 276ft.   3 / 300ft.   3 / 333ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Love this course

2-4    11/10/2013   11/11/2013
Review By: luckless_pedestrian
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mix of terrain. Not too many wooded holes, not too many open.

Great signage and navigation

Different pin placements will make it a great place to return to.
Cons: The tee signs need to tell you which position the basket is in. A lot of times we had to eliminate the ones that it obviously couldn't be and figure, "it must be B for this hole."
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course. If you make your shots, you will score well. It's great to see an established course like this that really gets used. We played on a busy, beautiful (though kind of windy) Sunday afternoon and everyone we met was friendly and cool. As we were about to head into the woods on Hole 5 a guy said, the next few holes will blow your mind, man. Not quite true, but I applaud the sentiment. Hole 5 will break your leg if you go off the front of the teepad, though.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course

2-4    6/22/2013   6/23/2013
Review By: YoMambaSoFly
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well manicured course, nice tee pads, great scenery, fairly easy to navigate. Had lots of fun playing and was definitely challenging without being absurdly challenging. Shot a 51 first round, not too shabby!!!
Cons: It would be nice if pin placements were posted each time they are changed, don't get me wrong I love the multiple pin placements but maybe if there was a way to mark the signage as to what pins are used at each hole just to make a round flow a little smoother. Like a little magnet on each sign over the used pin placement since some holes have up to five pin placements?
Other Thoughts: Gonna hit it again tomorrow!!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Worthwhile Stop off US421

1    10/25/2012   10/28/2012
Review By: der Turkey Vulture
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easily accessed from US421.
Dedicated DG area, set apart from the rest of the park.
Solid mix of open and wooded holes.
Elevation plays a role.
With up to 4 pin locations on most holes, it can be a different experience often.
Minor water hazzards.
Well laid out course.
Cons: Would like to see some tee cards available.
Some really long holes for mere par 3.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun course but safety issues

1    9/1/2012   9/1/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 174  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The biggest thing this course has going for it is the mix of open and wooded holes. it is well balanced in that way.

It was in no way hard to navigate and it was always pretty obvious where the next tee was or where the basket was.

There are multiple basket locations which means this course can be set up differantly every time(not all sunshine here though see cons)

Very beautiful park.

A nice not too overwelming use of elevation.

Teesigns were very nice as well as the teepad and they were always accurate with which position was being used.

benches on every hole.
Cons: Well as I said in the pros this course has many options to play which can be good if the options are safe ones. several of the new positions (which I assume have been added over the years to add difficulty) seem to mess with the flow of the course and can cause safety isses. For example when hole 1 is in the longest position you must double back down either 1's or 2's fairway to get to 2's teepad. as far as danger hole 5 longs best option is to throw right over the top of hole 3's basket and hole 17's basket is not very far away if you RHBH hyzer out early thus causing many issues.

Several of the holes could use a little high limb trimming



Other Thoughts: This course was fun and I feel that if it were in other set ups than it was when I played it I may have given it a higher review. However with the dangers and issues I saw with those few holes it made me dock it a half point or so.

I feel like the designers may have messed too much with a good thing with some of there positions.

Still I would recommend anyone to go out of there way to play this one as it was very fun. A great 1 2 combo with Highland hills

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 FUN START

2-4    8/4/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: DC Bombsquad
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/10/2012
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Good Mix of open and wooden holes.
-Elevation changes were ok. Would like a few more.
-Great course to get Hooked on Disc Golf with.
-Starts off easier and gets harder as you go.
-Multiple pin locations make playing it each time a new adventure.
Cons: -Water buckets would be nice.
-Practice basket would be nice to warm up on.
-Watch out for posion ivy, and mosquitos!
Other Thoughts: Great course to get started and hooked on disc golf too. Shaved 6 throws off my score from the first to the second round.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Glad I played it

1    5/8/2012   5/9/2012
Review By: pfpro
Played: 45  Reviewed: 35
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - great variety (as mentioned is all reviews). More so wooded/open, elevation changes (you cannot tell from the parking lot what you get to experience on the course.
- variety (part II) with multiple possible pin placements. Don't be intimidated by the 60 or so pins on the course map. The signage is good and the pin placement is marked on each sign. I have only played once, but I'm pretty sure many of the holes would play completely different with the pin in an alternate location
- There are good benches at every hole.
- the course is moderately challenging - fair enough that if you throw accurately you should par on every hole. I'm sure with repetition and leading the local lines, you could play for birdie on many holes.
- it is conveniently located off 421.
Cons: - the park is kind of "worn". The wooed holes were fine, I had a little bit of difficulty on the open holes because the "fields" we're slightly overgrown. When looking at them, you think - sweet, open shot, but if your disc lands out of sight, it can take a bit of time.
- more nitpicky, if you play this course regularly I'm sure this is not an issue, but some of the pin placements on blind holes don't quite seem like they correlate with the sign. I was playing behind some locals (which was perfect because I could see where the pin was), but they let me play through. One specifically, 16 I believe, is a downhill, over a creek and then back up. I read the pin placement as straight to slightly right, when it was actually dogleg left. I know, I I would had walked the course. I would have seen it, buti didn't. Just a nitpick.
- for being a park, unfortunately the amenities (restrooms, water?) we're not close to the DGC.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course. I had a few extra minutes, so I trekked the 45 minutes out of the way to play. It's a little out of the way - don't know if I would plan a stop or hit it up regularly, but if the opportunity presented itself, I would definitely play again. I know someone didn't like hole 3 - I did. On that course, where there are no other "open field shots" (at least in the config I played) it was a refreshing "ace-run" ) who am I kidding......, a birdie opportunity! The course is well worn. I think playing it in the winter would it down on my minor quibble about fields being overgrown. To rate it higher, I would like to see a little more length. I played in the mostly long position and shot a +3. (my RHBH ~250, thumber ~275').

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 awesome play

5+    5/4/2012   5/5/2012
Review By: Pancarfan
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 5/13/2012
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This is a great course, well maintained, varying hole styles. It is very challenging and fun to play on. We attempt to play as often as possible. It has signs at every tee box and a large sign with a layout of the whole course on it at the beginning. Best course in Yadkin or Wilkes County by far.
Cons: Tight fairways and could use more markers and parking. Too many beer cans and trash thrown on ground and dope heads need to keep there drugs at home.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play course if you are ever in the area.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Rec to Int.Course

1    3/31/2012   4/2/2012
Review By: KniceZ
Played: 47  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice pads
- wide and long enough for most run-ups
- #6 was short but it was limited by terrain.
Very good signs
- good detail on trees & pins
- indicator for current pin location
Great mix of shots
- open / wooded, up / down,
Nice use of terrain and small stream
- Good to have some OB & water hazard without risk of loosing a disc
Cons: Probably not difficult enough to keep advanced players interested. There are a lot of birdie opportunities.

Only one tee location

#3 is just an open field bore. Not even very long, just slightly up hill.

There's some issues with errosion at some pin locations. Some mulch or ground cover inside the circle and some terracing would really bump this course up a notch.
Other Thoughts: This course is located on a very nice local park yet the other park activities really don't interfere much.

While this course may not be difficult enough for some, I found it enjoyable and would be happy to have it as my local course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    7/1/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: Plankeye
Played: 38  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -YCP is an 18 hole course where several holes have multiple pin placements. It is possible that you could play a round in the morning with the baskets in one position and a second round in the afternoon with the baskets in a different position.
-Most of the holes have some sort of elevation change with a mixture of uphill and downhill holes.
-The course plays about 50/50 with open and wooded shots. The open holes are made more difficult as baskets are strategically placed to bring trees into play. Several holes that are in the woods are even more challenging as the baskets are placed near an OB creek that runs through the course.
-The teepads are long and fairly wide. There is a tile inlay with the hole number at the back of the tee pad. While several of the tee pads are not flush with the ground, the pads are long enough where most golfers will not need to start their runup from off the pad. There are benches at most of the holes.
-The course is in the county park with a playground, "beach" volleyball courts and wide open spaces for other activities. This course is seperate from these other amenities so you shouldn't run into any issues with people using the park for other reasons.
-The course flows pretty well for the most part. There is only one or two places where it is not obvious where the next teepad is. However each basket has an arrow attached which points you in the general direction of the next teepad.
-Teesigns are now at each hole. Since most holes have multiple pin positions, there is a little clip to tell you which hole location the basket is in.
Cons: -Depending on the hole location, most of the holes can be completed in three throws or less if you can stay in the fairway. Some of the longer holes are more in the 3.5 range.
Other Thoughts: Most scenic hole is 9. The tee is at the highest point of the course with a wide open view of the southern skyline.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/29/2011   6/11/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 185  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Yadkin, located in a spacious public park (replete with a tank!), is an older course with some newer updates that help the course provide a solid 18 holes full of variety and challenge. Multiple pin positions change up the feel of each hole, sometimes significantly. The course begins and ends in the open rolling terrain while the meat of the course works its way in and out of the North Carolina pine forests. A small creek comes into play nicely on a couple of holes. Several technical wooded shots compliment the more open "bomber" holes.
- Great use of elevation throughout.
- Good concrete tee pads, each with the hole number inlayed in tile upon the pad. Benches at nearly every hole. Scattered trashcans. Restrooms on site by #4. Bridges as needed.
Cons: - The tee pads, while mostly perfect, have two minor flaws. Firstly, several tees are reinforced (due to erosion I'd imagine) with rounded 4 x 4 timber in front of the pad, causing a tripping and/or toe-stubbing hazard. Secondly, the numbered tiles inlayed in the concrete tees are a bit slick, especially when wet. Both of these issues are minor and might be avoided; however, they will cause some players issues.
- No tee signs, which makes things a bit tricky in one or two places, especially with the multiple pins. The lack of signs is greatly mitigated by the tiled hole numbers located on the concrete pads.
Other Thoughts: - Yadkin has a peaceful, awesome vibe to it that makes discing there a rewarding experience, regardless of score. Its minor flaws do nothing to diminish a well-designed and fun course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.