Yadkinville, NC
Yadkin County Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #2 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 198ft.   3 / 259ft.   3 / 259ft.   3 / 259ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket (B Position)



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Worthwhile Stop off US421

1    10/25/2012   10/28/2012
Review By: der Turkey Vulture
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easily accessed from US421.
Dedicated DG area, set apart from the rest of the park.
Solid mix of open and wooded holes.
Elevation plays a role.
With up to 4 pin locations on most holes, it can be a different experience often.
Minor water hazzards.
Well laid out course.
Cons: Would like to see some tee cards available.
Some really long holes for mere par 3.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Rec to Int.Course

1    3/31/2012   4/2/2012
Review By: KniceZ
Played: 47  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice pads
- wide and long enough for most run-ups
- #6 was short but it was limited by terrain.
Very good signs
- good detail on trees & pins
- indicator for current pin location
Great mix of shots
- open / wooded, up / down,
Nice use of terrain and small stream
- Good to have some OB & water hazard without risk of loosing a disc
Cons: Probably not difficult enough to keep advanced players interested. There are a lot of birdie opportunities.

Only one tee location

#3 is just an open field bore. Not even very long, just slightly up hill.

There's some issues with errosion at some pin locations. Some mulch or ground cover inside the circle and some terracing would really bump this course up a notch.
Other Thoughts: This course is located on a very nice local park yet the other park activities really don't interfere much.

While this course may not be difficult enough for some, I found it enjoyable and would be happy to have it as my local course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/29/2011   6/11/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 185  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Yadkin, located in a spacious public park (replete with a tank!), is an older course with some newer updates that help the course provide a solid 18 holes full of variety and challenge. Multiple pin positions change up the feel of each hole, sometimes significantly. The course begins and ends in the open rolling terrain while the meat of the course works its way in and out of the North Carolina pine forests. A small creek comes into play nicely on a couple of holes. Several technical wooded shots compliment the more open "bomber" holes.
- Great use of elevation throughout.
- Good concrete tee pads, each with the hole number inlayed in tile upon the pad. Benches at nearly every hole. Scattered trashcans. Restrooms on site by #4. Bridges as needed.
Cons: - The tee pads, while mostly perfect, have two minor flaws. Firstly, several tees are reinforced (due to erosion I'd imagine) with rounded 4 x 4 timber in front of the pad, causing a tripping and/or toe-stubbing hazard. Secondly, the numbered tiles inlayed in the concrete tees are a bit slick, especially when wet. Both of these issues are minor and might be avoided; however, they will cause some players issues.
- No tee signs, which makes things a bit tricky in one or two places, especially with the multiple pins. The lack of signs is greatly mitigated by the tiled hole numbers located on the concrete pads.
Other Thoughts: - Yadkin has a peaceful, awesome vibe to it that makes discing there a rewarding experience, regardless of score. Its minor flaws do nothing to diminish a well-designed and fun course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/1/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: ckDiscItUp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
This review was updated on 6/4/2011
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course. Quite a few holes a little challenging, not one hole is very easy, great for practice of all discs
Cons: first few holes are boring, on one hole, the basket is hidden and another basket is straight ahead a couple hundred feet but its a completely different hole. its not till after your fisrt throw u realize u wer aiming at the wrong hole. no directions to tees other than a couple arrows on trees. no significant con, overall this is a very good course.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course... Needs a Work Day (or two)

2-4    8/24/2010   8/27/2010
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 244  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/3/2010
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- A Few Great Holes. There were a few really great holes, with one being World Class (Hole 9). The rest of the holes were well done - purposeful. There were only a few "transitional" Holes. Otherwise, it was a really fun course (I had to go around a second time).
- Beautiful Tees. They have recently added some of the most beautiful concrete tee-pads I have ever seen. 12' long, the prefect amount of texture, nice tile number, etc... they're immaculate.
- Well Mixed. Open vs. Wooded (10/8). Short vs. Medium vs. Long (8/5/5)*. Lefty vs. Straight vs. Righty (6/7/5)*. Uphill vs. Flat vs. Downhill (5/5/8). (* = depending on pin position layout). I also like how the course goes from Open to Wooded every 3 or 4 holes, as opposed to having an Open front 9 and a Wooded back 9.
- Multiple Pin Positions. Not only did I see other sleeves, but as I passed a group of locals they commented on how the course "was set up long today". So, that must mean they move the baskets... Which is not only good to keep the course fresh, but it also helps with the…
Cons:
- Erosion! The locals are going to have to install some water bars to try to keep the course from washing away. Most of the wooded holes had exposed roots and soil with no ground cover to hold anything in place.
- Trashed LITTER-ally. Why do people continue to throw things in trash cans that are full? Every trash can was overflowing… to the point of having water bottles stacked up 2' out of the can and spilling onto the ground. Every disc golf course has a bum who recycles for extra cash, right? Apparently Yadkinville doesn't.
- No Signage. The course doesn't really need fancy signs, but Hole numbers, distances and Pars would be helpful. (If someone was to round up all the recycling, they could probably get enough money to pay for the signs).
Other Thoughts:
- Old Course. I could tell this course was OLD due to the amount of exposed tree roots… then I found an old tone-pole… and started noticing old tee-pad markers. Glad to see this old course still alive.
- Overall… I thought it was a really fun course. It started out a little boring, but once it moved into the woods, it started picking up, climaxed in the middle (8, 9, 12, 13), and finished strong. This would be a great home course. Long power/technical short, forced flicks/anny's/hyzers/straight, up/down… everything. Rollers. Good job… now just fix it up a little.
- My Score: -4

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging and Rewarding

1    5/29/2010   5/29/2010
Review By: axl_rose
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 15.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wonderful course in a quiet park. We had a good time on this course even though it was the last on our on stop for the day. The first three holes are very reminiscent of Cedarock in Burlington, NC and they somewhat lull you into what you think is going to be a casual round. The real fun starts on hole 6, which is where the first major elevation change comes into play. I loved six with it's long downhill, across a little creek and then an uphill approach to the basket with a slight bend to the left.

Number nine is a long bomb to the pin with it concealed by some small pines in an open grassy field. Ten is similar and eleven has little creek crossing. Thirteen was a cool little hole that if not careful you will be chipping in from the bottom of the creek as the basket sits right on the edge of the creek and it is elevated. Course was memorable and we are looking forward to playing it again. The course board at the start has a load of information about all the various tourneys and other courses in the area. You can also post your lost disc there.
Cons: The lack of tee markers was the biggest detractor for me. Also, When playing hole eleven it is possible to get basket thirteen confused as the basket to aim for since the basket for eleven is actually across the creek. There was an abundance of empty beer cans and beer bottles when we played and I am not sure if this is norm or not but, it is kind of unsightly.
Other Thoughts: This would be a great course to combine with one of the awesome homegrowns or Horizons Park in the vicinity for a great day of disc golfing.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/26/2009   12/1/2009
Review By: airforcechck
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Spread out and has some good challenges. There was a box that was supposed to have maps but I assume they were just out. No real water sources to lose your disc in, just a really small creek. The had flags at most of the tee locations. The park is well maintained. It starts out sort tees, some of the shots are a bit longer. You do get to play in and out of the woods. There was one hole that if you don't throw right it could go down a hill next to a soccer field.
Cons: You can easily miss the little arrows they put on some of the trees directing you to the next tee. Then there was one hole that you couldn't fully tell which catcher you were aiming for since there was two fairly close but for separate holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/23/2009   5/29/2009
Review By: JD Heel
Played: 71  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 7.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - As others have said, this course gets better as it goes. By about hole #6 on, the course started growing on me.

- I really enjoyed the wooded holes. There was a lot of variety to those, and the creek running through many of those added a nice touch.

- My favorite wooded hole was #12, which seems to have a little of everything. It brings some elevation and water into play (in the form of the creek), and it really challenges you to throw a smart, accurate shot.

- The course had some great elevation changes and utilized those nicely, I think.

- Benches are a plus for a course that works you out as much as this one, so I definitely appreciated that.

- This is coming from someone who's used to trashier courses in the Charlotte area, but I appreciated the cleanliness of this course. You can tell that the locals really take care of it, as do much of the patrons.

- Easily accessible off Highway 421, which definitely makes me more likely to play it again if I'm ever traveling that way.
Cons: - I'll echo the sentiments about the dirt tee pads. It's a small thing, but any little thing is a distraction when you're trying to tee off. I've gotten picky and perhaps a little spoiled by some good tee pads in my home courses because I notice any little thing now.

- Navigation was a bit of a hassle. A few holes at the beginning of the round had flags at the tee with the hole # on them, but then those magically disappeared a few holes later (when you really needed them). Many holes in the middle of the course seemed to crisscross each other, and that made tee location a bit of an adventure. To be fair, I get the impression that it gets a lot easier to navigate the course the more you play it.

- Also mentioned before was the fact that you sometimes can't tell where the basket is from the tee. That's another bonus to signs because some courses give you a map of the hole and/or the distance. Here, we had no clue where we were throwing, and we had to take a few minutes to hunt down the basket a few times. That gets to be a little frustrating.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I enjoyed this course. The main problems I had are issues that go away after you play it a couple of times. With some better tee pads, this course could really become top-notch.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Yadkin

5+    9/11/2008   1/21/2009
Review By: _.-Dut-._
Played: 50  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 15.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Great use of elevation
-Multiple pin locations
-Beautiful park
-Great variety of shots
-Challenging OB lines next to creek
-Great locals
Cons:
-Some of the teepads are worn
-First time can be tricky to navigate
Other Thoughts: This course offers a great selection of open air to tight technical wooded shots. Lots of elevation thru the course and is very well taken care of and clean. Great course with great locals, a must play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Pit Stop...

1    1/8/2009   1/9/2009
Review By: tomschillin
Played: 137  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 18.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of the land provided, while there is plenty more land surrounding to expand, the use of the creek on 10-14, the up and down hills throughout, the tunnel shots both right and left turns...it's a really fun little technical course. It's kinda short, which is good for my short arm. There are lots of benches to relax on and nice DisCatcher baskets. I really enjoyed 6 (tight down-hill through thick woods with a creek in play behind the basket). Although it is a short course, there are a few (maybe 3) holes that you can really rip it (5 & 18 for sure). 18 especially is a nice way to finish off the round, starts on the top of a hill and follows the wood line down to the creek finishing maybe 400 feet from tee with about a 40-50 elevation drop...not a lot of traffic to this course it seems, which i definitely consider a pro...and course navigation was relatively easy for us first-timers, it's a kind of double loop type layout...kinda...
Cons: The tee pads sucked, there was one concrete and the rest were some asphalty gravel mix that had been raked or maintained at all. THERE ARE NO SIGNS, at all...not even one at the beginning of the course letting you know that the course is there. I didn't notice any facilities at the park, although I'm sure there were somewhere, just not near the course.
Other Thoughts: It's 90 seconds off the highway, literally, and it's almost the halfway point between Raleigh and Boone, so it's a great way to stretch out the legs while driving to the slopes! If this course added some tee pads and signs i would definitely rate it a 4...my short arm and I had a blast...

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.