Yadkinville, NC 
Yadkin County Park Share
Uploaded By: chainmonkey Hole #12 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 243ft.   3 / 300ft.   3 / 312ft.   3 / 369ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

2-4    7/1/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: Plankeye
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -YCP is an 18 hole course where several holes have multiple pin placements. It is possible that you could play a round in the morning with the baskets in one position and a second round in the afternoon with the baskets in a different position.
-Most of the holes have some sort of elevation change with a mixture of uphill and downhill holes.
-The course plays about 50/50 with open and wooded shots. The open holes are made more difficult as baskets are strategically placed to bring trees into play. Several holes that are in the woods are even more challenging as the baskets are placed near an OB creek that runs through the course.
-The teepads are long and fairly wide. There is a tile inlay with the hole number at the back of the tee pad. While several of the tee pads are not flush with the ground, the pads are long enough where most golfers will not need to start their runup from off the pad. There are benches at most of the holes.
-The course is in the county park with a playground, "beach" volleyball courts and wide open spaces for other activities. This course is seperate from these other amenities so you shouldn't run into any issues with people using the park for other reasons.
-The course flows pretty well for the most part. There is only one or two places where it is not obvious where the next teepad is. However each basket has an arrow attached which points you in the general direction of the next teepad.
-Teesigns are now at each hole. Since most holes have multiple pin positions, there is a little clip to tell you which hole location the basket is in.
Cons: -Depending on the hole location, most of the holes can be completed in three throws or less if you can stay in the fairway. Some of the longer holes are more in the 3.5 range.
Other Thoughts: Most scenic hole is 9. The tee is at the highest point of the course with a wide open view of the southern skyline.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/29/2011   6/11/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 194  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Yadkin, located in a spacious public park (replete with a tank!), is an older course with some newer updates that help the course provide a solid 18 holes full of variety and challenge. Multiple pin positions change up the feel of each hole, sometimes significantly. The course begins and ends in the open rolling terrain while the meat of the course works its way in and out of the North Carolina pine forests. A small creek comes into play nicely on a couple of holes. Several technical wooded shots compliment the more open "bomber" holes.
- Great use of elevation throughout.
- Good concrete tee pads, each with the hole number inlayed in tile upon the pad. Benches at nearly every hole. Scattered trashcans. Restrooms on site by #4. Bridges as needed.
Cons: - The tee pads, while mostly perfect, have two minor flaws. Firstly, several tees are reinforced (due to erosion I'd imagine) with rounded 4 x 4 timber in front of the pad, causing a tripping and/or toe-stubbing hazard. Secondly, the numbered tiles inlayed in the concrete tees are a bit slick, especially when wet. Both of these issues are minor and might be avoided; however, they will cause some players issues.
- No tee signs, which makes things a bit tricky in one or two places, especially with the multiple pins. The lack of signs is greatly mitigated by the tiled hole numbers located on the concrete pads.
Other Thoughts: - Yadkin has a peaceful, awesome vibe to it that makes discing there a rewarding experience, regardless of score. Its minor flaws do nothing to diminish a well-designed and fun course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/1/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: ckDiscItUp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
This review was updated on 6/4/2011
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course. Quite a few holes a little challenging, not one hole is very easy, great for practice of all discs
Cons: first few holes are boring, on one hole, the basket is hidden and another basket is straight ahead a couple hundred feet but its a completely different hole. its not till after your fisrt throw u realize u wer aiming at the wrong hole. no directions to tees other than a couple arrows on trees. no significant con, overall this is a very good course.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Yadkin Park

2-4    3/7/2011   3/10/2011
Review By: DanielWood
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.1 Years
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Each tee has its own cemented tee box which is nice. It is a good course with not too many hills to walk and it does not exhaust me to play a few rounds. Holes both in the woods as well as out in the open so this allows for a variety of throws and strategies to playing.
Cons: Baskets are very hard to see due to dull colors and the age of the cages. I do not know what the Par for each hole is? Are they all Par 3's or what? Holes 1 and 2 are odd because you have to back track to play hole #2 after you have played hole #1.
Other Thoughts: Would like to go out and play without smelling marijuana and seeing beer bottles every where. Respect others and keep that stuff on your own property.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A great course

5+    8/9/2010   11/15/2010
Review By: mcleanclan
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great course. A great variation. Straight. Turns. Left. Right. Long. Short. Open. Tight. It's a great game builder. I learned to play for the first time here and have played it lots and lots. Now that there are concrete tees... wow! I haven't even played it yet, but I can't wait. Great job on the tees, Yadkinville Club (and Grigg)! I am very proud to have Yadkin as my second home course.
Cons: Age has worn some fairways, but to be 14 years old, she's in great shape. Not having a set pin placement, who knows what course you are ever going to play, but that could be a challenge to the course in itself. No other cons.
Other Thoughts: Love the course. Moreso love the great players and friends that keep it up and play it daily. It's a great group of guys. The guys who welcomed me into the course the first day I ever played and invited back to a tourney. Jamie Arnold and Ben Porter were there that day.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 What a sweet course!!!

5+    10/13/2010   10/14/2010
Review By: Taka
Played: 54  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brand new concrete 12x5 tee pads!!
Easy to navigate now since Jeff put in red arrows on baskets leading you to next tee pad.
Great variety of shots required to score well.
Very fair course layout whether you are righty, lefty, backhand, forehand etc.
Lots of elevation change!!
Many different pin positions on every hole!!
Not crowded, at least until the word gets out about how sweet this place is!!
There is now a bench on every hole except hole 14 (thanx again Jeff!!)
Cons: Parking can be a major pain in the ass on the weekends fall/spring/summer due to soccer and softball games/tourneys.
During the fall, the local high school has cross country track practice/races occaionally and runs through holes 12, 17, 16, 7, 8, 9 and 11. Very rare to have a round disrupted by this however.
Could use tee signs on a couple of holes (#5, 8, 9, 11 as it may take a beginner or a complete moron to find certain pin placements not immediately visable from the tee pad.

Other Thoughts: This course has always had a sweet layout on some great terrain. In the past month, with lots of the local boys pitching in and with Yadkinville Disc Golf Club funding, the course has all new concrete tee pads, directional arrows and benches on 17 out of 18 holes!!! The only thing missing, for those who feel the neccessity, are tee signs with yardage markers for the different tee placements. Really though, once you get to the newly concreted and numbered tee pads, there should be no problem locating the basket to throw at. (exception is hole 11. The tee pad on this hole lines you up for the hole 13 basket unless hole 11 is in the short) This is the only public course out of 4 courses in Yadkin County (the others are private) and is now officially the best public course within miles!!!! Go get you some!!!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course... Needs a Work Day (or two)

2-4    8/24/2010   8/27/2010
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 294  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/3/2010
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- A Few Great Holes. There were a few really great holes, with one being World Class (Hole 9). The rest of the holes were well done - purposeful. There were only a few "transitional" Holes. Otherwise, it was a really fun course (I had to go around a second time).
- Beautiful Tees. They have recently added some of the most beautiful concrete tee-pads I have ever seen. 12' long, the prefect amount of texture, nice tile number, etc... they're immaculate.
- Well Mixed. Open vs. Wooded (10/8). Short vs. Medium vs. Long (8/5/5)*. Lefty vs. Straight vs. Righty (6/7/5)*. Uphill vs. Flat vs. Downhill (5/5/8). (* = depending on pin position layout). I also like how the course goes from Open to Wooded every 3 or 4 holes, as opposed to having an Open front 9 and a Wooded back 9.
- Multiple Pin Positions. Not only did I see other sleeves, but as I passed a group of locals they commented on how the course "was set up long today". So, that must mean they move the baskets... Which is not only good to keep the course fresh, but it also helps with the…
Cons:
- Erosion! The locals are going to have to install some water bars to try to keep the course from washing away. Most of the wooded holes had exposed roots and soil with no ground cover to hold anything in place.
- Trashed LITTER-ally. Why do people continue to throw things in trash cans that are full? Every trash can was overflowing… to the point of having water bottles stacked up 2' out of the can and spilling onto the ground. Every disc golf course has a bum who recycles for extra cash, right? Apparently Yadkinville doesn't.
- No Signage. The course doesn't really need fancy signs, but Hole numbers, distances and Pars would be helpful. (If someone was to round up all the recycling, they could probably get enough money to pay for the signs).
Other Thoughts:
- Old Course. I could tell this course was OLD due to the amount of exposed tree roots… then I found an old tone-pole… and started noticing old tee-pad markers. Glad to see this old course still alive.
- Overall… I thought it was a really fun course. It started out a little boring, but once it moved into the woods, it started picking up, climaxed in the middle (8, 9, 12, 13), and finished strong. This would be a great home course. Long power/technical short, forced flicks/anny's/hyzers/straight, up/down… everything. Rollers. Good job… now just fix it up a little.
- My Score: -4

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Not Friendly

1    6/11/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: ski daredevil
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Baskets were nicely marked. Variety of terrain to be played on.
Cons: Not meant for beginners to learn how to play. Very discouraging to play course if it was the course closes to me I would probable give up playing. No map to show the lay out of course. Tees are not market and hard to determine were they should be.
Other Thoughts: Most of the course is located in the woods that is load with poison ivy and thorn bushes. Play over a creek and down step hill in the words for hole 6. Hole 5 is along the woods some what in the clearing.

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging and Rewarding

1    5/29/2010   5/29/2010
Review By: axl_rose
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wonderful course in a quiet park. We had a good time on this course even though it was the last on our on stop for the day. The first three holes are very reminiscent of Cedarock in Burlington, NC and they somewhat lull you into what you think is going to be a casual round. The real fun starts on hole 6, which is where the first major elevation change comes into play. I loved six with it's long downhill, across a little creek and then an uphill approach to the basket with a slight bend to the left.

Number nine is a long bomb to the pin with it concealed by some small pines in an open grassy field. Ten is similar and eleven has little creek crossing. Thirteen was a cool little hole that if not careful you will be chipping in from the bottom of the creek as the basket sits right on the edge of the creek and it is elevated. Course was memorable and we are looking forward to playing it again. The course board at the start has a load of information about all the various tourneys and other courses in the area. You can also post your lost disc there.
Cons: The lack of tee markers was the biggest detractor for me. Also, When playing hole eleven it is possible to get basket thirteen confused as the basket to aim for since the basket for eleven is actually across the creek. There was an abundance of empty beer cans and beer bottles when we played and I am not sure if this is norm or not but, it is kind of unsightly.
Other Thoughts: This would be a great course to combine with one of the awesome homegrowns or Horizons Park in the vicinity for a great day of disc golfing.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 one of the best

1    4/17/2010   4/17/2010
Review By: Behindatree
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent course that presents a wide variety of challenges. Several holes(8,13,16 in particular) make you want to pick up your discs and play it again and again. Lots of elevation changes and combinations of a big up/down with a big turn. Several blind tee shots are a good challenge. Ran into some very friendly people there. I arrived just before the weekly doubles tourney was starting and there was a good crowd of players there who were all very helpful. One player even pulled a map out of his bag to give to me when I told them I it was my first time on the course. I was invited to play the tourney with them several times and I wish I would have accepted because I had a great round. This course is about an hour and a half from my house but believe me I will be back any chance I get.
Cons: If it weren't for the map it would be very hard to navigate. The first few holes aren't very challenging but does provide variety to the rest of the course. Aside from navigating the course finding the course itself is somewhat a challenge.
Other Thoughts: There were a few small bridges to cross the creek that felt a bit sketchy but since I'm 285lbs I won't list it as a con.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.