Santa Fe, NM 
Arroyo Chamisos DGC Share
Uploaded By: RocCityDiscer Hole #3 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 164ft.   3 / --   3 / 247ft.   3 / 314ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun Course

1    6/13/2014   6/13/2014
Review By: jeffboi
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 0.4 Years
Pros: This is a fun course. You won't loose too many discs playing here and you can rip drives on every hole.
Cons: It is a bit hard to find the basket on some tee boxes, but the locals are very friendly and will gladly help.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty easy, fun course with very little technical play.

The new course in SF

2-4    11/9/2013   11/23/2013
Review By: Mako8
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has some great shots over the arroyo; both of which are long and short. It requires you to use every disc in your bag. I grew up in SF and love the arroyos/washes and like even more that the city took advantage of the "unusable" land. The course flows pretty well and requires walking through the sand; a good workout and way to strengthen the feet. Great mondo shot on hole 9 (I think).
Cons: The course signage is pretty weak and not very noticable. Course path can be tough to find and tees also need to marked better. There is a walking/biking path right through the course that is frequently used; so there is some foot traffic. Watch for people running on the path as some holes require you to tee off on the path. Trails are everywhere causing you to get lost.
Other Thoughts: This course is fun and challenging but it helps to play with someone who has played there before. The course can be hard to follow and tees are hard to find. Good long shot on hole 10, hole 12 has a great elevated basket shot and hole 17 is way up one the hill on the left. This leads you to hole 18; a good long shot just watch out for people on the trail below. Enjoy!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice high desert course

2-4    9/4/2012   9/8/2012
Review By: KDFrosty
Played: 27  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Full 18 holes, each with their own basket
-No other disc golf traffic. We played at our own pace.
-Gold tees have concrete pads, and tee signs at each gold tee.
-Course offer a good variety of shots, with an good mix of hole distances.
-Baskets are in excellent condition, with signs to next tee on each baskets. Many holes have extended flags, making them easier to spot from the tees.
-There is sometimes course maps at the first gold tee on the bike path.
Cons: -The course is in a public park with a bike path running through the middle. On one or two occasions we waited for a biker or two to pass. Nothing terrible.
-The actual playground and grassy part of the park were under construction. It did interfere with the basket closest to the parking lot, which we played as 18.
-There's a fair amount of cactus throughout the course, and even on the worn in walking paths along the course.
Other Thoughts: Overall I thought it was a nice course offering various challenges. Also nice because it's easy to access from the freeway.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 9-Hole Review

2-4    6/9/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: bayouace
Played: 38  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 22.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/30/2012
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a review of the 9 hole configuration, Holes 1-5 and 15-18 only. I played on vacation with my wife and we had time for 9 holes on two occasions. RHBH average player.

I played the Rec tees with her once and the Am tees once. There are also Pro tees. This is a nice park and with a map on DGCR the course is easy to follow. Metal fence posts painted red or blue mark the rec and Am tee boxes. Pros are easy to find with the map 1 crosses the now-dry arroyo to a basket shielded by a 8 foot desert bush. 2 crosses a dry pond. 3 comes back across the arroyo to a basket surrounded by trees on an incline of the bank. 4 is entirely back across the arroyo to the tee. 5 is also on this side of the arroyo. 15 goes uphill. 16 goes back really downhill for a big elevation change to a basket on the bank of the arroyo. 17 heads back up, and 18 finishes with a tight OB between the arroyo and the park area. This was a fun course. Locals are friendly. Walkers were not a problem. The 9 hole distances were fair. Tees are concrete or rubber pad.
Cons: I think there are water and restrooms in the activity center but there is none on the course or in the park. Bring water.
Other Thoughts: The fun holes for me were 3, 15, and 16. I thoroughly enjoyed the course and highly recommend you play it if in Santa Fe. It is easy to get to with a map of Santa Fe, right off Rodeo Drive, which is a major road in South Santa Fe. Paved parking lot.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Desert course

1    3/31/2010   4/2/2010
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/9/2010
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A course in the city park with easy parking right next to the first hole. A variety of trees and shrubs coume into play on many of the holes. Some baskets are tucked away into the trees, adding to the challenge. The baskets are in awesome shape. They are painted a nice shiny blue with metallic sparkles, just beautiful. The last few holes on the course had some decent elevation that comes into play.
Cons: Huge navigation issues here. I brough a map and still had plenty of issues. Some baskets are close to each other and difficult to know which one you are throwing at. Trash on some areas. A walking trail goes throughout the course and lots of use on that so you have to wait a lot. Some of the teepads are on that trail as well.
Other Thoughts: Overall a decent course. Dry and dusty. As someone else mentioned, bring your brightly colored discs as they can be very difficult to find any other color discs on this course. Enough variety on this course. Hole 11 I believe is super long, like a half mile away, or so it looks like. Enough of a challenge here that I would consider to play again.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  High Desert DG

7/28/2008   7/28/2008
Review By: dlueck
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.7 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Three tee pads and atleast two pin placements for every hole. Cool lay out along a dried up river bed, back and forth and across, and along a bike path. Good fairways through around trees and a few tight alleys. A good mix of distance, very long to ultra short. The map/scorecards at hole one helped me guide through.
Cons: Very flat, along the river there is no way for elevation change. All shots must be thrown up, cactus and shrubery litter the fairways and there is no way to drive them low. You must look around when throwing, people on the bike path have right of way.
Other Thoughts: 9 is a beaut, the only low throw. It must be dead on through a tight alley and fast. It's a mando under a rope about 12 feet up. Big bomb on 10 right after. Lizards run amuck and jeans are a must. It's a fun course and a must play if your in the area.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.