Santa Fe, NM 
Arroyo Chamisos DGC Share
Uploaded By: gregwil2 Hole #18 (Taken 6/2012)
4 / 380ft.   4 / --   4 / 467ft.   4 / 600ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun desert course

2-4    7/29/2014   8/6/2014
Review By: davidrboy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
Pros: Desert landscape making good use ofthe arroyo and the available space.

Three sets of tees:
Shorts for putter only ace run rounds
Mids for when you've never played it before and want a look at the layout and a decent challenge
Pros for a better challenge

Layout was pretty easy to figure out, which is good because

It was empty three days in a row duringmy vacation
Cons: Bike paths cross the course

No shade and no water


Other Thoughts: Worth the stop if you're in Santa Fe. You won't need many discs to play it well (I played 3 under from the pros with Volt, Inspire, Roc, Envy.) And the short tees provide a quick putter-only walkthrough to get a good lay of the land.

 Best for the terrain

1    6/28/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: gregwil2
Played: 55  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The DGA Mach V with blue powder coating were all in excellent condition. All the baskets had an arrow pointing you to the next tee which helped for navigation. There also seemed to be 2-3 basket locations for each hole.
With three (or more) tee's per hole this course has great reply value. Especially since the short and medium have rubber mats and the long tees use either the walking path or have a stand alone concrete pads. The shortest tee is good for beginners or experience players working on their short/medium game (with ace runs). Medium tees provide more of a challenge and also a different look and route. The long tees are obviously the longest and hardest but none are too ridiculous that you need to be a Pro to hit par.
There were tee signs on every hole for the long tees, but the short tees had some sort of marker colored with the appropriate tee color.
The layout goes back and forth one side of the Arroyo then for the last few it crosses back and forth. It was decent to follow with the next tee signs on the baskets, but the baskets were sometimes hard to find.
The course takes advantage of all the landscape that was provided. Using trees to block baskets and to throw around/through. Hole 9 especially uses this with the tight initial fairway opening up to the basket.
Cons: Even though there were tee signs that had directions, some were pretty beat up or written on. It would be nice to have distances for the different basket locations and maybe some sort of indication of which placement they were in.
There was some trash in certain areas, but it wasn't too bad.
Being used to playing on grass, the sand/gravel was annoying at times but that's what you get in NM.
Other Thoughts: Would be nice to have 10' flags on each basket to show where to throw. Also if the tee signs were in pristine shape it would defaintly increase the rating for this course.
I was just visiting the area and played a few in the ABQ area and this was defaintly worth the drive to play. The only problem was the high winds, but I'm not sure if this is common here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Course of Enchantment

1    7/30/2011   8/17/2011
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent signage and "next tee signs," which comes in handy because you're gonna need them! (I'll explain later)
- Multiple tees every hole
- Variety of shot selection despite having little elevation (hyzers, anhyzers, overhand shots, blind shots, one wooded technical hole, etc.)
- Good use of OB boundaries, mandos, and the wash that goes through the park
- Quasi-water hazards (the washes didn't have any water, but I treated them as water hazards)
- Nice distance on some tees. I recall about 2 that required all I could throw and then some!
- Love the desert terrain and how it's interspersed with a small forest on hole 9.
Cons: - Navigation is very switchy on the front 9 (especially holes #1-6). Moreover, navigation is erratic due to the nature of the course. Think of the park as a football field (very long and kind of slender). As such, you have to go up and down the course to fit 18 holes in here. Fortunately the signs tell you where to go.

- Potential to hit park-goers on many holes (especially the blind ones), so watch your shots. There were quite a number of people when I played here, and I'm not sure how typical this is of the course traffic.
- Vandalism on some signs
- Can get pretty gusty with wind; bring some overstables!
Other Thoughts: Santa Fe is a fantastic city and I really enjoyed my stay; this park is consistent with that! While it doesn't have any particularly steep elevation changes and is more or less open and flat, you will have to think about your shots. Love the desert/Southwest feel to the course and it's very authentic to the area. My only issues are with navigation, and that's remedied by the signage. Not sure how this ranks compared to the other courses in the city, but this one is definitely worth the trip!

Signature holes:
#9 - Utilizes a tree mando and required you to throw through a very tight and technical grove of trees to get to the basket. Definitely the most unique hole of the course, considering the rest is in a desert!
#12 - Throws over the wash and up the hill. Some tree overhang poses a hazard to your throw.
#15 - Downhill drive that has some elevation; with the gusty wind, it makes you think about how you're going to park it by the basket accurately!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Thanks For All The Navigational Help!

1    4/1/2011   4/5/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/20/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow, I loved all the helpful navigational aids! Now, can you do something about the wind? Possibly, the best marked course I've played as far as helping the first time player. Each basket has a metal arrow pointing to the next teepad and sometimes giving even more info such "Next tee on bike path." Each basket had the number on it. The tees on the bike pads were clearly marked. The shorter, alternate pads had helpful colorful poles making them easy to locate. This course is located in a true desert terrain. Other New Mexico desert courses I've played have often felt more like grubby vacant lots. I thought it's a great idea to extend the run-up across the bike path by laying down rubber mating on the back side. The course would be challenging to players of all skill levels. The winds made it even more difficult. The baskets that were set into thick undergrowth often had flags on them to help players locate them. All in all, much though went into making this an enjoyable place in which to enjoy a round of disc golf.

My own personal signature hole today was # 16 in the pin position it was in. It was in the short 202" position and just the top of the basket was visible. Just a very nice liitle ACE run. And I think there would be some great basket positions in the cluster of trees on this hole.
Cons: I did almost get mowed down by a bike rider as I was scanning the brush looking for a basket but I guess that was probably my fault. I didn't encounter any blizzards. The wind was bordering on brutal. I suspose one could spend a fair amount of time hunting for discs in underbrush here.
Other Thoughts: This course definitely receives a generous amount of support from the local disc community. That's wonderful to see but I wonder why when I played the other two courses in Santa Fe, Ashbaugh Park and St. Johns, they had been so neglected. How about a little support for those two courses? Sanya Fe is a big enough city to support more than one course, isn't it? And it seems like the dry sunny climate would be wonderful for some serious disc golf.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Blizzard round

1    12/30/2010   1/11/2011
Review By: cubby96
Played: 36  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 18.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: We played the Pro tees, but there are 3 tee locations on each hole for different ability levels. Great variety and length of holes. Several holes are pretty long from the Pro tees. A couple of mandos that make for challenging shots (was it #9 that had the long tunnel shot with a mando below a bar, killing hammer/thumbers?).

Really interesting locally native terrain and flora, that is definitely a part of the experience. I like the local rule about playing behind the plants, so as to leave the area as natural as possible.

No course maps in the box, but we could figure out the layout pretty well due to good signage and logical layout, despite the weather conditions (see below).
Cons: Not the course's fault, but the day we could play, it was whiteout conditions, with driving snow and several inches of accumulation. My buddy forgot his discs and bought a few in ABQ on the way there. Over the course of the day, he literally emptied his bag into the driven snow and lost every one of them, plus one of mine. The one with a name/number (mine) got a call from a helpful local who found it a week or so later (this is a pro, not a con).

I wonder if the course is playable when the arroyo gets flooded, probably not, given the layout.

Watch your hands, so you don't accidentally swing into a cactus!
Other Thoughts: Would like to play this again in the heat of the summer, for a contrast. Overall, it's a really nice course, that is well cared for and offers a challenge to high-level golfers as well as opportunities for beginners and average players to still enjoy and improve.

Be careful if you usually play near sea level, the elevation here is ~7000 feet, so things will fly differently.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Juniper Laden Desert Golf

2-4    5/29/2010   5/29/2010
Review By: DrDipsomania
Played: 52  Reviewed: 12
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wonderful scenery. Multiple tee pads (most have 3 different levels: Pro, Amateur/Mid-Level, and Recreational) and multiple pin locations. All the Pro tees are either concrete slabs or off of the concrete/pavement bike path, the Amateur and Recreational are a rubber/plastic composite. Great signage, with detailed descriptions of various mandatory shots, distances, out of bounds areas, and different pin locations, including a notation of which pin is currently in. Very easy to navigate; each pin has an arrow pointing you in the direction of the next tee. Well laid-out and well designed with a good shot variety. Moderately challenging, more so (obviously) from the Pro tees. Relatively trash-free (probably due to the fact that it's in a well-trafficked public park) and well maintained. The baskets are in excellent shape. Not a ton of elevation change (due to the relatively flat terrain), but the design makes use of what's available.
Cons: The walking trail / bike path that bisects the course can pose problems: people on the path have the right of way, so you might have to wait for them to clear out before you throw. Hole 18 is right next to the park (which is OB), which can pose as a potential hazard with a combination of a crowd and an errant throw. Some holes are blind, which is normally an okay thing, but when the pedestrians/bikers are taken into account, it can be a bit of a negative. Most of the Pro tees are simply longer than the Amateur, instead of offering a more challenging angle/line. Low, dense brush has a knack for disc disappearances.
Other Thoughts: Several of the tees have brooms available for sweeping off the tee boxes/pads. I didn't need them because the tee boxes/pads were all clean, but it's still a great addition.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.