Santa Fe, NM 
Arroyo Chamisos DGC Share
Uploaded By: gregwil2 Hole #1 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 161ft.   3 / 223ft.   3 / 307ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Yellow Tee

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    10/6/2015   11/1/2015
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 259  Reviewed: 155  Exp: 12.5 Years
Pros: Arroyo Chimasos DGC is a good course with enough challenge and variety to keep you on your toes. The course is set along either side of an arroyo behind Chavez Recreational Center. There are 18 holes with a couple of par 4's. Can play 9 hole layout by going directly from basket on hole 5 to tee for hole 15. The dessert landscape has plenty of open airspace on the fairways, featuring mostly short to medium height brush and evergreens, and a couple of taller trees. There are multiple tees, longs are concrete with signs and shorter tees are rubber mats, with a couple on the paved walking path next to the arroyo. The baskets were all numbered and in good condition, and usually point out the next tee with very helpful markings. A little bit of elevation change on a few holes. A lot of the holes are clear enough to drive over the top of any plant life, but mandos on 3 holes, some OB, and basket placement will still dictate shot shapes to add variety. The basket is not always visible from the tee. Hole three was a good one, crossing the arroyo to a basket beneath a nice tree. Hole 9 has an interesting mando, requiring a drive through a box consisting of a low line between a couple of trees. I also liked 15, which tees from the path, crossing the arroyo, then turning left at the mando and climbing the hill. 16 was a fun hole driving back down the hill. The map indicates a driving range between the tees for hole 8 and hole 14, but I didn't notice it.
Cons: While the course is fun, it doesn't really have a memorable signature hole. Some of the holes are a bit bland, making the best out of what is available to work with. There is a walking path near several holes, so other park users can come into play, but not in a very disruptive or dangerous way. Not a lot of places to escape the sun, may get burnt on hot summer days.
Other Thoughts: Arroyo Chimasos DGC is a course that I wouldn't mind playing on a regular basis. Not exactly championship caliber, but nice setting and plenty of good quality holes. 4 may be slightly overrating, but I tend to be an optimist when it comes to course reviews and I had a good time playing this one. I ended up a few shots over par, but the weather was great and I got a couple of birdies in, so I am happy.

 First Ace!

1    8/24/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: lajoie24
Played: 30  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course was in great shape. Both the tee boxes (concrete/rubber pads) and the baskets were in good condition. This was my first New Mexican course, so I was captivated by the beautiful terrain and topography. When I initially saw all of the bushes/trees, I thought there might be an issue or two with missing discs. This was far from the truth. The layout of the course makes great use of the dry river bed and bike trail (often used as tee boxes). With all of the holes containing three tee boxes, the course allows players of all skill levels to come out and enjoy a round. It rained while I was out. I thought the day was lost until a local let me know how quickly the ground dries. About a half hour later the course was back to being 100% playable. This is a luxury we do not have in Texas.
Cons: This wasn't the easiest course to navigate. Even though I brought a map, a few of the baskets and tees were tough to find. I threw at the 17th basket on 15 (15's basket is well left of 17). There is no doubt the next time I play it will be quicker/easier. I think new flags for the baskets would remedy this issue. I'm not a big fan of artificial "mandos". The 9th hole has you throw under a bar about 10' up. This may be more of a "preference" than a "con"
Other Thoughts: You will encounter a cactus or two out there, so be aware of your surroundings - especially if you tend to wander after your shots. The bike path is used by many of the locals...look both ways before driving.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Viva el Arroyo Chamisos!!

1    9/16/2009   10/30/2009
Review By: HeiserSöze
Played: 59  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Multiple tee positions. A lot of long holes if you use the pro tees. Well maintained and easy to navigate. Met some cool people from other states there too and played doubles. All in all, a positive experience.
Cons: Other than the bike path, which is a minor inconvenience, and the fact that desert terrain eats up cheaper plastic, I have nothing negative to say about this place.
Other Thoughts: Definitely play here if you are just passing through.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable Course

1    5/29/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: RocCityDiscer
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2009
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well maintained and marked. Three tee locations and two pin locations for every hole keep this course fresh. Good use of the larger juniper bushes to provide cover around baskets and obstructions from off the tee.

A bit of distance variation as well, although the course is pretty long from the pro tees. Great use of what elevation change is available. Hole 10 is perched on a ridge of sand, and the last 3 or 4 holes play up and down a 75' or so hill.
Cons: Course plays along a bike path and some of the tee boxes are just spray painted into the bike path. Bikers have the right of way according to the course bulletin board so play can be slowed up at times but not too bad.
Other Thoughts: I am from the east coast and was really excited to play in some new terrain and this course has it for sure. An arroyo is the Spanish word for dried up river bed. And this is the main topographical feature of this course. Really cool !!

Course is well kept up and marked. Would recommend wearing pants no matter what time of year due to all of the low brush and prickley juniper bushes.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.