Santa Fe, NM 
Arroyo Chamisos DGC Share
Uploaded By: gregwil2 Hole #4 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 151ft.   3 / --   3 / 217ft.   3 / 267ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Fun Course

1    6/13/2014   6/13/2014
Review By: jeffboi
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 0.2 Years
Pros: This is a fun course. You won't loose too many discs playing here and you can rip drives on every hole.
Cons: It is a bit hard to find the basket on some tee boxes, but the locals are very friendly and will gladly help.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty easy, fun course with very little technical play.

The new course in SF

2-4    11/9/2013   11/23/2013
Review By: Mako8
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has some great shots over the arroyo; both of which are long and short. It requires you to use every disc in your bag. I grew up in SF and love the arroyos/washes and like even more that the city took advantage of the "unusable" land. The course flows pretty well and requires walking through the sand; a good workout and way to strengthen the feet. Great mondo shot on hole 9 (I think).
Cons: The course signage is pretty weak and not very noticable. Course path can be tough to find and tees also need to marked better. There is a walking/biking path right through the course that is frequently used; so there is some foot traffic. Watch for people running on the path as some holes require you to tee off on the path. Trails are everywhere causing you to get lost.
Other Thoughts: This course is fun and challenging but it helps to play with someone who has played there before. The course can be hard to follow and tees are hard to find. Good long shot on hole 10, hole 12 has a great elevated basket shot and hole 17 is way up one the hill on the left. This leads you to hole 18; a good long shot just watch out for people on the trail below. Enjoy!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best Course in Santa Fe

5+    1/19/2013   1/25/2013
Review By: Dreeks505
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Every hole you get to lace bombs.
Cons: The baskets get moved randomly... or only when the gambling group has somebody hit an ace... so they have been in the same place for over 6 months
Other Thoughts: LOVE this course. Really great drives. Challenging second shots and putts.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Nice high desert course

2-4    9/4/2012   9/8/2012
Review By: KDFrosty
Played: 27  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Full 18 holes, each with their own basket
-No other disc golf traffic. We played at our own pace.
-Gold tees have concrete pads, and tee signs at each gold tee.
-Course offer a good variety of shots, with an good mix of hole distances.
-Baskets are in excellent condition, with signs to next tee on each baskets. Many holes have extended flags, making them easier to spot from the tees.
-There is sometimes course maps at the first gold tee on the bike path.
Cons: -The course is in a public park with a bike path running through the middle. On one or two occasions we waited for a biker or two to pass. Nothing terrible.
-The actual playground and grassy part of the park were under construction. It did interfere with the basket closest to the parking lot, which we played as 18.
-There's a fair amount of cactus throughout the course, and even on the worn in walking paths along the course.
Other Thoughts: Overall I thought it was a nice course offering various challenges. Also nice because it's easy to access from the freeway.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

First Ace!

1    8/24/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: lajoie24
Played: 30  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course was in great shape. Both the tee boxes (concrete/rubber pads) and the baskets were in good condition. This was my first New Mexican course, so I was captivated by the beautiful terrain and topography. When I initially saw all of the bushes/trees, I thought there might be an issue or two with missing discs. This was far from the truth. The layout of the course makes great use of the dry river bed and bike trail (often used as tee boxes). With all of the holes containing three tee boxes, the course allows players of all skill levels to come out and enjoy a round. It rained while I was out. I thought the day was lost until a local let me know how quickly the ground dries. About a half hour later the course was back to being 100% playable. This is a luxury we do not have in Texas.
Cons: This wasn't the easiest course to navigate. Even though I brought a map, a few of the baskets and tees were tough to find. I threw at the 17th basket on 15 (15's basket is well left of 17). There is no doubt the next time I play it will be quicker/easier. I think new flags for the baskets would remedy this issue. I'm not a big fan of artificial "mandos". The 9th hole has you throw under a bar about 10' up. This may be more of a "preference" than a "con"
Other Thoughts: You will encounter a cactus or two out there, so be aware of your surroundings - especially if you tend to wander after your shots. The bike path is used by many of the locals...look both ways before driving.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best for the terrain

1    6/28/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: gregwil2
Played: 55  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The DGA Mach V with blue powder coating were all in excellent condition. All the baskets had an arrow pointing you to the next tee which helped for navigation. There also seemed to be 2-3 basket locations for each hole.
With three (or more) tee's per hole this course has great reply value. Especially since the short and medium have rubber mats and the long tees use either the walking path or have a stand alone concrete pads. The shortest tee is good for beginners or experience players working on their short/medium game (with ace runs). Medium tees provide more of a challenge and also a different look and route. The long tees are obviously the longest and hardest but none are too ridiculous that you need to be a Pro to hit par.
There were tee signs on every hole for the long tees, but the short tees had some sort of marker colored with the appropriate tee color.
The layout goes back and forth one side of the Arroyo then for the last few it crosses back and forth. It was decent to follow with the next tee signs on the baskets, but the baskets were sometimes hard to find.
The course takes advantage of all the landscape that was provided. Using trees to block baskets and to throw around/through. Hole 9 especially uses this with the tight initial fairway opening up to the basket.
Cons: Even though there were tee signs that had directions, some were pretty beat up or written on. It would be nice to have distances for the different basket locations and maybe some sort of indication of which placement they were in.
There was some trash in certain areas, but it wasn't too bad.
Being used to playing on grass, the sand/gravel was annoying at times but that's what you get in NM.
Other Thoughts: Would be nice to have 10' flags on each basket to show where to throw. Also if the tee signs were in pristine shape it would defaintly increase the rating for this course.
I was just visiting the area and played a few in the ABQ area and this was defaintly worth the drive to play. The only problem was the high winds, but I'm not sure if this is common here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Course of Enchantment

1    7/30/2011   8/17/2011
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent signage and "next tee signs," which comes in handy because you're gonna need them! (I'll explain later)
- Multiple tees every hole
- Variety of shot selection despite having little elevation (hyzers, anhyzers, overhand shots, blind shots, one wooded technical hole, etc.)
- Good use of OB boundaries, mandos, and the wash that goes through the park
- Quasi-water hazards (the washes didn't have any water, but I treated them as water hazards)
- Nice distance on some tees. I recall about 2 that required all I could throw and then some!
- Love the desert terrain and how it's interspersed with a small forest on hole 9.
Cons: - Navigation is very switchy on the front 9 (especially holes #1-6). Moreover, navigation is erratic due to the nature of the course. Think of the park as a football field (very long and kind of slender). As such, you have to go up and down the course to fit 18 holes in here. Fortunately the signs tell you where to go.

- Potential to hit park-goers on many holes (especially the blind ones), so watch your shots. There were quite a number of people when I played here, and I'm not sure how typical this is of the course traffic.
- Vandalism on some signs
- Can get pretty gusty with wind; bring some overstables!
Other Thoughts: Santa Fe is a fantastic city and I really enjoyed my stay; this park is consistent with that! While it doesn't have any particularly steep elevation changes and is more or less open and flat, you will have to think about your shots. Love the desert/Southwest feel to the course and it's very authentic to the area. My only issues are with navigation, and that's remedied by the signage. Not sure how this ranks compared to the other courses in the city, but this one is definitely worth the trip!

Signature holes:
#9 - Utilizes a tree mando and required you to throw through a very tight and technical grove of trees to get to the basket. Definitely the most unique hole of the course, considering the rest is in a desert!
#12 - Throws over the wash and up the hill. Some tree overhang poses a hazard to your throw.
#15 - Downhill drive that has some elevation; with the gusty wind, it makes you think about how you're going to park it by the basket accurately!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Thanks For All The Navigational Help!

1    4/1/2011   4/5/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 666  Reviewed: 606  Exp: 36.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/20/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow, I loved all the helpful navigational aids! Now, can you do something about the wind? Possibly, the best marked course I've played as far as helping the first time player. Each basket has a metal arrow pointing to the next teepad and sometimes giving even more info such "Next tee on bike path." Each basket had the number on it. The tees on the bike pads were clearly marked. The shorter, alternate pads had helpful colorful poles making them easy to locate. This course is located in a true desert terrain. Other New Mexico desert courses I've played have often felt more like grubby vacant lots. I thought it's a great idea to extend the run-up across the bike path by laying down rubber mating on the back side. The course would be challenging to players of all skill levels. The winds made it even more difficult. The baskets that were set into thick undergrowth often had flags on them to help players locate them. All in all, much though went into making this an enjoyable place in which to enjoy a round of disc golf.

My own personal signature hole today was # 16 in the pin position it was in. It was in the short 202" position and just the top of the basket was visible. Just a very nice liitle ACE run. And I think there would be some great basket positions in the cluster of trees on this hole.
Cons: I did almost get mowed down by a bike rider as I was scanning the brush looking for a basket but I guess that was probably my fault. I didn't encounter any blizzards. The wind was bordering on brutal. I suspose one could spend a fair amount of time hunting for discs in underbrush here.
Other Thoughts: This course definitely receives a generous amount of support from the local disc community. That's wonderful to see but I wonder why when I played the other two courses in Santa Fe, Ashbaugh Park and St. Johns, they had been so neglected. How about a little support for those two courses? Sanya Fe is a big enough city to support more than one course, isn't it? And it seems like the dry sunny climate would be wonderful for some serious disc golf.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Blizzard round

1    12/30/2010   1/11/2011
Review By: cubby96
Played: 36  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 18.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: We played the Pro tees, but there are 3 tee locations on each hole for different ability levels. Great variety and length of holes. Several holes are pretty long from the Pro tees. A couple of mandos that make for challenging shots (was it #9 that had the long tunnel shot with a mando below a bar, killing hammer/thumbers?).

Really interesting locally native terrain and flora, that is definitely a part of the experience. I like the local rule about playing behind the plants, so as to leave the area as natural as possible.

No course maps in the box, but we could figure out the layout pretty well due to good signage and logical layout, despite the weather conditions (see below).
Cons: Not the course's fault, but the day we could play, it was whiteout conditions, with driving snow and several inches of accumulation. My buddy forgot his discs and bought a few in ABQ on the way there. Over the course of the day, he literally emptied his bag into the driven snow and lost every one of them, plus one of mine. The one with a name/number (mine) got a call from a helpful local who found it a week or so later (this is a pro, not a con).

I wonder if the course is playable when the arroyo gets flooded, probably not, given the layout.

Watch your hands, so you don't accidentally swing into a cactus!
Other Thoughts: Would like to play this again in the heat of the summer, for a contrast. Overall, it's a really nice course, that is well cared for and offers a challenge to high-level golfers as well as opportunities for beginners and average players to still enjoy and improve.

Be careful if you usually play near sea level, the elevation here is ~7000 feet, so things will fly differently.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A fun sandy course

5+    6/22/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: ryan ranes
Played: 48  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: one of my favorite courses it has alot of diffrent shots diffrent teepads for diffrent skill levels and some fun 650 par 4 holes there are not to many people who play there so it doesnt get crowded either there are cement and rubber teepads and signs on every hole
Cons: it does get windy so go early in the morning there are alot of people walking around so watch out
Other Thoughts: the best holes to me are 9 and 16
if your here for a while play here ashbaugh park and st johns park

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.