Santa Fe, NM 
Arroyo Chamisos DGC Share
Uploaded By: gregwil2 Hole #10 (Taken 6/2012)
4 / 390ft.   4 / 627ft.   4 / 756ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Yellow Tee

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Thanks For All The Navigational Help!

1    4/1/2011   4/5/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 831  Reviewed: 782  Exp: 37.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/20/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow, I loved all the helpful navigational aids! Now, can you do something about the wind? Possibly, the best marked course I've played as far as helping the first time player. Each basket has a metal arrow pointing to the next teepad and sometimes giving even more info such "Next tee on bike path." Each basket had the number on it. The tees on the bike pads were clearly marked. The shorter, alternate pads had helpful colorful poles making them easy to locate. This course is located in a true desert terrain. Other New Mexico desert courses I've played have often felt more like grubby vacant lots. I thought it's a great idea to extend the run-up across the bike path by laying down rubber mating on the back side. The course would be challenging to players of all skill levels. The winds made it even more difficult. The baskets that were set into thick undergrowth often had flags on them to help players locate them. All in all, much though went into making this an enjoyable place in which to enjoy a round of disc golf.

My own personal signature hole today was # 16 in the pin position it was in. It was in the short 202" position and just the top of the basket was visible. Just a very nice liitle ACE run. And I think there would be some great basket positions in the cluster of trees on this hole.
Cons: I did almost get mowed down by a bike rider as I was scanning the brush looking for a basket but I guess that was probably my fault. I didn't encounter any blizzards. The wind was bordering on brutal. I suspose one could spend a fair amount of time hunting for discs in underbrush here.
Other Thoughts: This course definitely receives a generous amount of support from the local disc community. That's wonderful to see but I wonder why when I played the other two courses in Santa Fe, Ashbaugh Park and St. Johns, they had been so neglected. How about a little support for those two courses? Sanya Fe is a big enough city to support more than one course, isn't it? And it seems like the dry sunny climate would be wonderful for some serious disc golf.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Blizzard round

1    12/30/2010   1/11/2011
Review By: cubby96
Played: 42  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: We played the Pro tees, but there are 3 tee locations on each hole for different ability levels. Great variety and length of holes. Several holes are pretty long from the Pro tees. A couple of mandos that make for challenging shots (was it #9 that had the long tunnel shot with a mando below a bar, killing hammer/thumbers?).

Really interesting locally native terrain and flora, that is definitely a part of the experience. I like the local rule about playing behind the plants, so as to leave the area as natural as possible.

No course maps in the box, but we could figure out the layout pretty well due to good signage and logical layout, despite the weather conditions (see below).
Cons: Not the course's fault, but the day we could play, it was whiteout conditions, with driving snow and several inches of accumulation. My buddy forgot his discs and bought a few in ABQ on the way there. Over the course of the day, he literally emptied his bag into the driven snow and lost every one of them, plus one of mine. The one with a name/number (mine) got a call from a helpful local who found it a week or so later (this is a pro, not a con).

I wonder if the course is playable when the arroyo gets flooded, probably not, given the layout.

Watch your hands, so you don't accidentally swing into a cactus!
Other Thoughts: Would like to play this again in the heat of the summer, for a contrast. Overall, it's a really nice course, that is well cared for and offers a challenge to high-level golfers as well as opportunities for beginners and average players to still enjoy and improve.

Be careful if you usually play near sea level, the elevation here is ~7000 feet, so things will fly differently.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A fun sandy course

5+    6/22/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: ryan ranes
Played: 48  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: one of my favorite courses it has alot of diffrent shots diffrent teepads for diffrent skill levels and some fun 650 par 4 holes there are not to many people who play there so it doesnt get crowded either there are cement and rubber teepads and signs on every hole
Cons: it does get windy so go early in the morning there are alot of people walking around so watch out
Other Thoughts: the best holes to me are 9 and 16
if your here for a while play here ashbaugh park and st johns park

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 9-Hole Review

2-4    6/9/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: bayouace
Played: 41  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 23.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/30/2012
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a review of the 9 hole configuration, Holes 1-5 and 15-18 only. I played on vacation with my wife and we had time for 9 holes on two occasions. RHBH average player.

I played the Rec tees with her once and the Am tees once. There are also Pro tees. This is a nice park and with a map on DGCR the course is easy to follow. Metal fence posts painted red or blue mark the rec and Am tee boxes. Pros are easy to find with the map 1 crosses the now-dry arroyo to a basket shielded by a 8 foot desert bush. 2 crosses a dry pond. 3 comes back across the arroyo to a basket surrounded by trees on an incline of the bank. 4 is entirely back across the arroyo to the tee. 5 is also on this side of the arroyo. 15 goes uphill. 16 goes back really downhill for a big elevation change to a basket on the bank of the arroyo. 17 heads back up, and 18 finishes with a tight OB between the arroyo and the park area. This was a fun course. Locals are friendly. Walkers were not a problem. The 9 hole distances were fair. Tees are concrete or rubber pad.
Cons: I think there are water and restrooms in the activity center but there is none on the course or in the park. Bring water.
Other Thoughts: The fun holes for me were 3, 15, and 16. I thoroughly enjoyed the course and highly recommend you play it if in Santa Fe. It is easy to get to with a map of Santa Fe, right off Rodeo Drive, which is a major road in South Santa Fe. Paved parking lot.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Juniper Laden Desert Golf

2-4    5/29/2010   5/29/2010
Review By: DrDipsomania
Played: 52  Reviewed: 12
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wonderful scenery. Multiple tee pads (most have 3 different levels: Pro, Amateur/Mid-Level, and Recreational) and multiple pin locations. All the Pro tees are either concrete slabs or off of the concrete/pavement bike path, the Amateur and Recreational are a rubber/plastic composite. Great signage, with detailed descriptions of various mandatory shots, distances, out of bounds areas, and different pin locations, including a notation of which pin is currently in. Very easy to navigate; each pin has an arrow pointing you in the direction of the next tee. Well laid-out and well designed with a good shot variety. Moderately challenging, more so (obviously) from the Pro tees. Relatively trash-free (probably due to the fact that it's in a well-trafficked public park) and well maintained. The baskets are in excellent shape. Not a ton of elevation change (due to the relatively flat terrain), but the design makes use of what's available.
Cons: The walking trail / bike path that bisects the course can pose problems: people on the path have the right of way, so you might have to wait for them to clear out before you throw. Hole 18 is right next to the park (which is OB), which can pose as a potential hazard with a combination of a crowd and an errant throw. Some holes are blind, which is normally an okay thing, but when the pedestrians/bikers are taken into account, it can be a bit of a negative. Most of the Pro tees are simply longer than the Amateur, instead of offering a more challenging angle/line. Low, dense brush has a knack for disc disappearances.
Other Thoughts: Several of the tees have brooms available for sweeping off the tee boxes/pads. I didn't need them because the tee boxes/pads were all clean, but it's still a great addition.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Desert course

1    3/31/2010   4/2/2010
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/9/2010
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A course in the city park with easy parking right next to the first hole. A variety of trees and shrubs coume into play on many of the holes. Some baskets are tucked away into the trees, adding to the challenge. The baskets are in awesome shape. They are painted a nice shiny blue with metallic sparkles, just beautiful. The last few holes on the course had some decent elevation that comes into play.
Cons: Huge navigation issues here. I brough a map and still had plenty of issues. Some baskets are close to each other and difficult to know which one you are throwing at. Trash on some areas. A walking trail goes throughout the course and lots of use on that so you have to wait a lot. Some of the teepads are on that trail as well.
Other Thoughts: Overall a decent course. Dry and dusty. As someone else mentioned, bring your brightly colored discs as they can be very difficult to find any other color discs on this course. Enough variety on this course. Hole 11 I believe is super long, like a half mile away, or so it looks like. Enough of a challenge here that I would consider to play again.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Viva el Arroyo Chamisos!!

1    9/16/2009   10/30/2009
Review By: HeiserSöze
Played: 59  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Multiple tee positions. A lot of long holes if you use the pro tees. Well maintained and easy to navigate. Met some cool people from other states there too and played doubles. All in all, a positive experience.
Cons: Other than the bike path, which is a minor inconvenience, and the fact that desert terrain eats up cheaper plastic, I have nothing negative to say about this place.
Other Thoughts: Definitely play here if you are just passing through.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable Course

1    5/29/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: RocCityDiscer
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2009
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well maintained and marked. Three tee locations and two pin locations for every hole keep this course fresh. Good use of the larger juniper bushes to provide cover around baskets and obstructions from off the tee.

A bit of distance variation as well, although the course is pretty long from the pro tees. Great use of what elevation change is available. Hole 10 is perched on a ridge of sand, and the last 3 or 4 holes play up and down a 75' or so hill.
Cons: Course plays along a bike path and some of the tee boxes are just spray painted into the bike path. Bikers have the right of way according to the course bulletin board so play can be slowed up at times but not too bad.
Other Thoughts: I am from the east coast and was really excited to play in some new terrain and this course has it for sure. An arroyo is the Spanish word for dried up river bed. And this is the main topographical feature of this course. Really cool !!

Course is well kept up and marked. Would recommend wearing pants no matter what time of year due to all of the low brush and prickley juniper bushes.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  High Desert DG

7/28/2008   7/28/2008
Review By: dlueck
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.9 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Three tee pads and atleast two pin placements for every hole. Cool lay out along a dried up river bed, back and forth and across, and along a bike path. Good fairways through around trees and a few tight alleys. A good mix of distance, very long to ultra short. The map/scorecards at hole one helped me guide through.
Cons: Very flat, along the river there is no way for elevation change. All shots must be thrown up, cactus and shrubery litter the fairways and there is no way to drive them low. You must look around when throwing, people on the bike path have right of way.
Other Thoughts: 9 is a beaut, the only low throw. It must be dead on through a tight alley and fast. It's a mando under a rope about 12 feet up. Big bomb on 10 right after. Lizards run amuck and jeans are a must. It's a fun course and a must play if your in the area.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.