Greenville, NC 
West Meadowbrook Park Share
Uploaded By: MichaelWebster Hole #16 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 235ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 White Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Good course, but not the best in town!

1    7/4/2016   7/25/2016
Review By: pmay5
Played: 83  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 13.5 Years
Pros: Tee signs on each hole, two concrete tees on almost every hole, baskets are in good shape, but the yellow bands are starting to fade.
Most baskets have a large green around them, very few buried in the trees.
The few truly wooded holes, have the brush beaten down, so no problem finding your disc.
Most holes are in the open, so good chances to let it fly. Seemed to be a good mix of right and left shaped holes.
Moves around two ballfields with very little interaction.
Cons: All the tee pads are too short, I had to start from behind them.
Lots of trash on the course, mostly due to the adjacent neighborhood, but still detracts from the course.
#8 was underwater and unplayable the day I was there, seems to be common for that hole. #9 tee was also very wet but playable. If #8 was bypassed, would make an even longer walk from 7 to the next tee.
There is a triple mando wooden frame in front of #10 basket, the same #10 that is an elevated basket. So how do you throw 130' under the triple mando then get it to rise to the elevated basket for an possible ace? Can anyone throw an air bounce at 130'? I get the fact they don't want players throwing a big spike hyzer on that hole, but it looks like a double mando would be sufficient.
Most of the holes have clear, open fairways, but if you stray off of those, the rough gets real thick.
Not sure why 13 and 14 have two baskets each. One on each is marked as ALT, and it looks like they are there all the time. Could be confusing, guess you have to decide which one you are playing to when on the tee.
Other Thoughts: I can tell this course gets a lot of play. There is plenty of room to throw your drives on most holes, with shot shaping trees there for a challenge.
The blue tees provide a real challenge, mostly from the added distance, but also some different looks.
It was a good idea to add two extra holes, 7A and 18A. 7A is not playable if a ball game is on (which it was on the day I played) and 18A may not be playable due to the playground, but 18A served as a good substitute for the underwater #8.

Mixed Bag

1    5/15/2016   5/15/2016
Review By: Balzac
Played: 36  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.7 Years
Pros: - Nice mixed of wooded holes and open shots
- Two tee pads for each hole
- Plenty of benches
- Neat mando on hole 10
Cons: - Holes 8 and 9 (8 especially) tend to stay very muddy for along time after rain - can be bad enough that 8 is unplayable
- Small tee pads
- Could use a little better signage to help newcomers navigate the course, such as from hole 7 to 8
-A few holes are relatively close to playground and baseball fields, so need to use caution when playing on weekends especially
- No water hazards but there is some thick brush in which you could easily lose a disc
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a nice but not spectacular course through mature woods. It feels very different than the ECU course, and I waiver back and forth which I like better. They are pretty close to each other as well so if you are visiting Greenville and have the time you should check out both.

 Mixed Feelings

1    7/31/2013   7/31/2013
Review By: New013
Played: 150  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 6.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Layout: This is one of those courses that has a lot going for it but then has all these little issues that kinda drag it down.

Overall it's a well balanced course that'll make you work the disc over varying lengths. There's an okay mixture of hole types. Most of the course is wider fairway to open although there are some pretty technical defined fairway shots.

There's two sets of tees (I only played the longs) and some holes have an alternate pin.

There's one true par 4 which is a great hole and some of the long pad to long pin holes pretty much play out as par 4's for most people.

The course does a good job of setting up solid tee and basket locations to give the more open holes some variety and difficulty. You often have to work the disc to hit a gap early or late.

I like the layout of the course overall given what is there. It flows pretty well and is reasonably intuitive.

Equipment - Older tee signs with basic hole layouts and distance shown. Benches on most holes. Baskets are aging but seemed to catch well.

Atmosphere - The park looks like it could be gorgeous and in some ways it still is. There's a few really nice looking holes. You do get a pretty secluded feeling in the back part of the course.

Cons: Layout - I don't have any huge problems with the layout. There's some uninspiring holes mixed in. Some holes that seem a bit overbearing mixed in with some that are to easy. The blues don't seem to be designed with one skill level in mind; although the alternate pins may have something to do with that.

A huge problem I see with this course is that where there are trees/woodlines it's complete jail full of briar, vines and little skinny trees. I can see a huge lost disc potential out there. In some cases this stuff is within the circle, certainly not something I'm a fan of.

Some of the holes seemed to be in a real tweener distance for most people, creating par 4's for those who don't have the length and skill to hit shots over 350'.

The course is flat, always a con in my book.

Equipment - The pads are mostly concrete (some are rubber) but small and often sandy. I think the signs need an updating.

Atmosphere - The course is not in the best part of town, I'm not saying to be scared but to be cautious and observant. We think we also ran in to an undercover who may or may not have had a fake beard.

It's one of those parks that you think man if they just put some love in it would be so beautiful. Like I said the wooded areas are being overgrown with vines and briars plus there is trash and glass everywhere.

This rundown element to the park is bad enough that I'm taking off points for it; and I haven't even gotten to the bugs yet. The bugs aren't part of the score but they're bad.
Other Thoughts: I was kind of let down by this course considering it's rating. It was my 100th course played and wish I would of hit 100 somewhere else.

Beyond that though I think the layout is well done and is still a good course that you should play at least once to see for yourself.

For me it's a 3.25 and I'm rounding down due to the cons I mentioned.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 great fun

5+    12/31/2009   12/31/2009
Review By: whiskeytreefrog
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: concrete tee's, good mix of short and long, open tight, left rights. lots of fun to play with shorter holes and chances for aces. there are not really any water hazards. The course has a good mix of tees and some alternate pins.
Cons: the location. playing through a mob of soccer players is not fun. course usually has trash on it. sometimes there is a wait but not often at all. not too challenging.
Other Thoughts: a good way to have relaxed day or go with beginners. its fairly easy to get a good score. no discs lost. near some good food and other stuff in greenville.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/26/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: MichaelWebster
Played: 53  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/5/2015
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of grassy fairways with holes of varying lengths and difficulties. Usually a few options for shot selection off the tee; the wide fairways often allow for straight to wide hyzer or annys. Alt. pin placements for holes 11, 12, 13, 15. Good concrete teepads and nice teesigns with a map of each hole and the pin placement. Check out the Down East Player's Cup every October, this is an excellent PDGA event that pays out very well for ams.
Cons: Part of the course is used for pickup soccer games. This course will not likely test every shot in your bag. Wish there were more risk/reward opportunities, since to score well you must go for almost everything.
Other Thoughts: Mostly open, grassy fairways. Pitch and putt from the white tees, and from the blue tees still almost all par 3s, just more challenging. Be prepared to make alot of 2s from the white tees if you expect to place well in tournament play. The white(short) tees favor lefty backhand shots while the blue(long) tees favor righty's.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.