Greenville, NC
West Meadowbrook Park Share
Uploaded By: MichaelWebster Hole #4 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 274ft.   3 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 White Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
My home away from home

5+    7/13/2013   7/15/2013
Review By: Roc'n that Wolf
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.3 Years
Pros: -multiple tee pads on every hole.
-20 permanent holes.
-multiple line options on a lot of holes.
-three permanent tee pads on hole 8.
-four, yes 4!, permanent tee pads on hole 10
-tee signs on ever hole.
-two permanent baskets on hole 13.
-plenty of trash cans.
-good use of the land with holes varying in length and difficulty.
Cons: -pretty much assume the bathroom is never going to be unlocked.
-holes 2 and 3 become a soccer field in the afternoons.
-other than a large ditch behind the far pin placement on 17, no water comes in to play.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. It has something for every skill-level. The local club seems to always be on the course trying to make it look better. It is a great course to play if you are in North Carolina.

 meadow

5+    9/16/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: shane8002
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 9/20/2010
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: good course the wooded part is not bad about brush since this dg course is always packed. Good mix of shots, hole 2 lets you rip it, the dg guys around here seem to really get involved in help making the course better.
Cons: a little hard to navigate for first time players, overcrowded as the only dg course in a college town, bad neighborhood so be aware if you play here, its not the people that use this park its the area its in which is a ghetto.
Other Thoughts: this is my home course I like it, hole 10 has 4 diffrent teepads now which is good one is really hard, long tees are not kept up as good no benches or trash cans etc. good course though

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 good course

2-4    8/21/2010   8/24/2010
Review By: totkst1
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2010
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: mostly easy par holes for me as a fairly inconsistant player. good course to build confidence for newer players and players who are inconsistant at other courses. i dont play often enough to be really good at the game but courses like this with a nice mix of shorter holes with multiple tees help build my confidence for tougher corses.
Cons: fire ants were all around the park and one of the holes had wasps under the bench. this is just me being picky to put something in the cons section.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/27/2010   2/27/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 102  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 5.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -It's not hard to find your way around
-Concrete Tee Pads
-Benches and Garbage Cans at most holes
-Tee Signs are extra helpful
-Variety of shots to use
-Clean and Safe Park
Cons: -Hole 8 was completely submerged in water (up to the seat of the benches)
-Tee Pads are shorter than I'm used too
-Sometimes the following tee is right behind the basket so you may need to wait until the group ahead of you tees off
Other Thoughts: While I was there a tournament was starting up. Like I said hole 8 was submerged along with # 9's tee. They set up an alternate tee for # 9 and had a # 19 to make up for hole #8.
There is an airport across the street but I only saw a small (really cool looking) plane pass by while I was there, no loud noise. Glad I played there!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Blast to Play

2-4    1/14/2010   1/17/2010
Review By: DiscJunkie
Played: 32  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 5.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really liked the layout of the course. It flowed well and it was fairly easy to navigate from hole to hole, except for a stretch on the back from Hole 14 - 17. A mix of open and tight shots, but mostly open. Great tee signs, great directional signs. Two concrete pads for every hole. Long tees were a little challenging, while the short tees were good for beginners.
The hole designs were well thought-out.
Cons: It was a little wet when we played, especially Hole 8. As other reviewers have mentioned, a few of the holes play across an open field that has bleachers on it. I imagine that it can be difficult to play your throw when another game (soccer?) is in progress. I would've liked some longer Par 4 or Par 5-type holes. Sometimes it felt like a pitch and putt. No Rest Room facilities, did I miss them? Not much elevation. Some of the holes on the back are blind holes. Play the course at least twice to figure out where everything is.
Other Thoughts: BEAUTIFUL park!!! We saw two deer grazing during the evening when we were finishing up. A lot of work has gone into this park and I commend the local club. The hard work was evident.
There's a nice playground for the kiddies.
The neighborhood looks a little rough, but I didn't see any signs of problems while I was there. I've seen worse.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Open Course

1    12/20/2009   12/20/2009
Review By: TAKRep
Played: 20  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course had many shots that started out open, then ended in the woods. Great variation. The longest hole was about 340 ft, so you don't have to have a big arm to be able to score well here. Although most holes were fairly open, the course was surprisingly technical. There are two sets of tees for every hole, so players of any skill level can enjoy this course. Some holes have alternate pin placements. Hole 15's pin placement changes every season. Nice concrete tees, detailed tee signs, benches, and discatcher baskets.
Cons: There are too many rightward shots. RHFH and LHBH players are definitely favored at this course. I played after it had rained and the course was very muddy in some areas. The tee for hole 8 was in the middle of a 4 inch deep puddle that was about 20 ft across. I had to put a log down and walk across to get to the tee. Because most holes are open, games on windy days are really affected. Also, the course was fairly difficult to navigate in a few places (although there is a map in the links section can that be printed out).
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun course. It isn't too hard to score well so it can be a real confidence booster. I had a little trouble finding the park. Definitely use the directions on the course info tab.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/26/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: MichaelWebster
Played: 41  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/2/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of grassy fairways with holes of varying lengths and difficulties. Usually a few options for shot selection off the tee; the wide fairways often allow for straight to wide hyzer or annys. Alt. pin placements for holes 11, 12, 13, 15. Good concrete teepads and nice teesigns with a map of each hole and the pin placement. Check out the Down East Player's Cup every October, this is an excellent PDGA event that pays out very well for ams.
Cons: Part of the course is used for pickup soccer games. This course will not likely test every shot in your bag. Wish there were more risk/reward opportunities, since to score well you must go for almost everything.
Other Thoughts: Mostly open, grassy fairways. Pitch and putt from the white tees, and from the blue tees still almost all par 3s, just more challenging. Be prepared to make alot of 2s from the white tees if you expect to place well in tournament play. The white(short) tees favor lefty backhand shots while the blue(long) tees favor righty's.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.