Greenville, NC 
West Meadowbrook Park Share
Uploaded By: MichaelWebster Hole #17 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 186ft.   3 / 216ft. Par / Distance:
Hole # 17 Basket



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  West Meadowbrook Park

5+    3/29/2011   3/31/2011
Review By: MulliganMike
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Wide variety of challenging holes. Multiple pin and tee locations. Two practice pins.
Cons: Trash everywhere. Lately there's been construction right in the middle of hole 10. Some holes partial to flooding when there's heavy rain.
Other Thoughts: I've been playing this course since I moved to Greenville almost a year ago and it's been improving. Even with multiple trash bins, there is still alot of trash around which is ridiculous. Some efforts have been made to clean it up, and many of the holes are sponsored by local businesses. Overall, a challenging course that is both fun and enjoyable.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Meadow is a must play.

5+    1/4/2011   1/6/2011
Review By: thux_ecu
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.7 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Solid mix of open and wooded holes. Woods aren't too thick mst of the time, and from ams there isn't a hole over 400. Pros tees are tougher , but not overwhelming. Allows a variety of throws. Not too hard to score under par from Ams if you're an experienced player. Tee pads are easy to find, and the course is usually in good shape. This course offers pro and am tees and the pins change based on the season, so its a variety of scores you can get. Concrete pads and good baskets. Numerous aceable holes. Possibility of losing discs isn't too high except for some heavy shrub on a few holes, especially in the summer, and there are no water hazards if you have trouble with those types of holes. Has a 19th hole that can played at the end, and can be used for putting practice.
Cons: A few holes can be flooded, and 8 could have more trash pick up. When the weather is nice, the players come out, so sometimes they're might be a wait. Sometimes people will play soccer on hole 2 later in the day, so be aware of that.
Other Thoughts: I'm not originally from Greenville, but attend school at ECU, so I consider this course a hometown course since I've played it many times. Arguably my most favorite course, and my most favorite to play. Have to at least play this once.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 meadow

5+    9/16/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: shane8002
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 9/20/2010
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: good course the wooded part is not bad about brush since this dg course is always packed. Good mix of shots, hole 2 lets you rip it, the dg guys around here seem to really get involved in help making the course better.
Cons: a little hard to navigate for first time players, overcrowded as the only dg course in a college town, bad neighborhood so be aware if you play here, its not the people that use this park its the area its in which is a ghetto.
Other Thoughts: this is my home course I like it, hole 10 has 4 diffrent teepads now which is good one is really hard, long tees are not kept up as good no benches or trash cans etc. good course though

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 good course

2-4    8/21/2010   8/24/2010
Review By: totkst1
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2010
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: mostly easy par holes for me as a fairly inconsistant player. good course to build confidence for newer players and players who are inconsistant at other courses. i dont play often enough to be really good at the game but courses like this with a nice mix of shorter holes with multiple tees help build my confidence for tougher corses.
Cons: fire ants were all around the park and one of the holes had wasps under the bench. this is just me being picky to put something in the cons section.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/27/2010   2/27/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 105  Exp: 6.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -It's not hard to find your way around
-Concrete Tee Pads
-Benches and Garbage Cans at most holes
-Tee Signs are extra helpful
-Variety of shots to use
-Clean and Safe Park
Cons: -Hole 8 was completely submerged in water (up to the seat of the benches)
-Tee Pads are shorter than I'm used too
-Sometimes the following tee is right behind the basket so you may need to wait until the group ahead of you tees off
Other Thoughts: While I was there a tournament was starting up. Like I said hole 8 was submerged along with # 9's tee. They set up an alternate tee for # 9 and had a # 19 to make up for hole #8.
There is an airport across the street but I only saw a small (really cool looking) plane pass by while I was there, no loud noise. Glad I played there!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Blast to Play

2-4    1/14/2010   1/17/2010
Review By: DiscJunkie
Played: 36  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really liked the layout of the course. It flowed well and it was fairly easy to navigate from hole to hole, except for a stretch on the back from Hole 14 - 17. A mix of open and tight shots, but mostly open. Great tee signs, great directional signs. Two concrete pads for every hole. Long tees were a little challenging, while the short tees were good for beginners.
The hole designs were well thought-out.
Cons: It was a little wet when we played, especially Hole 8. As other reviewers have mentioned, a few of the holes play across an open field that has bleachers on it. I imagine that it can be difficult to play your throw when another game (soccer?) is in progress. I would've liked some longer Par 4 or Par 5-type holes. Sometimes it felt like a pitch and putt. No Rest Room facilities, did I miss them? Not much elevation. Some of the holes on the back are blind holes. Play the course at least twice to figure out where everything is.
Other Thoughts: BEAUTIFUL park!!! We saw two deer grazing during the evening when we were finishing up. A lot of work has gone into this park and I commend the local club. The hard work was evident.
There's a nice playground for the kiddies.
The neighborhood looks a little rough, but I didn't see any signs of problems while I was there. I've seen worse.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 great fun

5+    12/31/2009   12/31/2009
Review By: whiskeytreefrog
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: concrete tee's, good mix of short and long, open tight, left rights. lots of fun to play with shorter holes and chances for aces. there are not really any water hazards. The course has a good mix of tees and some alternate pins.
Cons: the location. playing through a mob of soccer players is not fun. course usually has trash on it. sometimes there is a wait but not often at all. not too challenging.
Other Thoughts: a good way to have relaxed day or go with beginners. its fairly easy to get a good score. no discs lost. near some good food and other stuff in greenville.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Open Course

1    12/20/2009   12/20/2009
Review By: TAKRep
Played: 36  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course had many shots that started out open, then ended in the woods. Great variation. The longest hole was about 340 ft, so you don't have to have a big arm to be able to score well here. Although most holes were fairly open, the course was surprisingly technical. There are two sets of tees for every hole, so players of any skill level can enjoy this course. Some holes have alternate pin placements. Hole 15's pin placement changes every season. Nice concrete tees, detailed tee signs, benches, and discatcher baskets.
Cons: There are too many rightward shots. RHFH and LHBH players are definitely favored at this course. I played after it had rained and the course was very muddy in some areas. The tee for hole 8 was in the middle of a 4 inch deep puddle that was about 20 ft across. I had to put a log down and walk across to get to the tee. Because most holes are open, games on windy days are really affected. Also, the course was fairly difficult to navigate in a few places (although there is a map in the links section can that be printed out).
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun course. It isn't too hard to score well so it can be a real confidence booster. I had a little trouble finding the park. Definitely use the directions on the course info tab.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 rossaroo

1    7/13/2009   8/29/2009
Review By: rossaroo
Played: 31  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: nice short shoots... Like the sand good for skip shoots. Favoite hole is the par 2 very short shoot. Bring water....................
Cons: not laid out good got lost trying to find next hole on alot of them..
Other Thoughts: cdxx

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/26/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: MichaelWebster
Played: 45  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 1/2/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of grassy fairways with holes of varying lengths and difficulties. Usually a few options for shot selection off the tee; the wide fairways often allow for straight to wide hyzer or annys. Alt. pin placements for holes 11, 12, 13, 15. Good concrete teepads and nice teesigns with a map of each hole and the pin placement. Check out the Down East Player's Cup every October, this is an excellent PDGA event that pays out very well for ams.
Cons: Part of the course is used for pickup soccer games. This course will not likely test every shot in your bag. Wish there were more risk/reward opportunities, since to score well you must go for almost everything.
Other Thoughts: Mostly open, grassy fairways. Pitch and putt from the white tees, and from the blue tees still almost all par 3s, just more challenging. Be prepared to make alot of 2s from the white tees if you expect to place well in tournament play. The white(short) tees favor lefty backhand shots while the blue(long) tees favor righty's.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.