Greenville, NC 
West Meadowbrook Park Share
Uploaded By: MichaelWebster Hole #8 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 134ft.   3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 White Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Meadowbrook

5+    9/18/2014   9/19/2014
Review By: bigmikegervasi
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great technical shots.
Not to many long holes.
Great for forearm and back hand.
Cons: Lots of trash on the course!
Restroom hard to find.
Wish hole 9 was close to holes 1.
Other Thoughts: Over all a great course. My favorite in Greenville.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

ecudg

1    4/7/2014   4/7/2014
Review By: Rmldchi
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very good flow. You always know its a great course when all the hippies show up. White and blue tee boxes are set up for two different experiences.
Cons: Holes 2, 3 and 4 can't be played if a group is playing soccer. Summer time the wooded areas are filled with thorns and poison ivy. But noting negative with the course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mixed Feelings

1    7/31/2013   7/31/2013
Review By: New013
Played: 136  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout: This is one of those courses that has a lot going for it but then has all these little issues that kinda drag it down.

Overall it's a well balanced course that'll make you work the disc over varying lengths. There's an okay mixture of hole types. Most of the course is wider fairway to open although there are some pretty technical defined fairway shots.

There's two sets of tees (I only played the longs) and some holes have an alternate pin.

There's one true par 4 which is a great hole and some of the long pad to long pin holes pretty much play out as par 4's for most people.

The course does a good job of setting up solid tee and basket locations to give the more open holes some variety and difficulty. You often have to work the disc to hit a gap early or late.

I like the layout of the course overall given what is there. It flows pretty well and is reasonably intuitive.

Equipment - Older tee signs with basic hole layouts and distance shown. Benches on most holes. Baskets are aging but seemed to catch well.

Atmosphere - The park looks like it could be gorgeous and in some ways it still is. There's a few really nice looking holes. You do get a pretty secluded feeling in the back part of the course.

Cons: Layout - I don't have any huge problems with the layout. There's some uninspiring holes mixed in. Some holes that seem a bit overbearing mixed in with some that are to easy. The blues don't seem to be designed with one skill level in mind; although the alternate pins may have something to do with that.

A huge problem I see with this course is that where there are trees/woodlines it's complete jail full of briar, vines and little skinny trees. I can see a huge lost disc potential out there. In some cases this stuff is within the circle, certainly not something I'm a fan of.

Some of the holes seemed to be in a real tweener distance for most people, creating par 4's for those who don't have the length and skill to hit shots over 350'.

The course is flat, always a con in my book.

Equipment - The pads are mostly concrete (some are rubber) but small and often sandy. I think the signs need an updating.

Atmosphere - The course is not in the best part of town, I'm not saying to be scared but to be cautious and observant. We think we also ran in to an undercover who may or may not have had a fake beard.

It's one of those parks that you think man if they just put some love in it would be so beautiful. Like I said the wooded areas are being overgrown with vines and briars plus there is trash and glass everywhere.

This rundown element to the park is bad enough that I'm taking off points for it; and I haven't even gotten to the bugs yet. The bugs aren't part of the score but they're bad.
Other Thoughts: I was kind of let down by this course considering it's rating. It was my 100th course played and wish I would of hit 100 somewhere else.

Beyond that though I think the layout is well done and is still a good course that you should play at least once to see for yourself.

For me it's a 3.25 and I'm rounding down due to the cons I mentioned.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorites

5+    5/10/2013   7/27/2013
Review By: DaileyL10
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has a great variety of shots, tees, and pin locations that keeps you interested even after many rounds. The shot distances from hole to hole are well balanced, back 9 has a little bit more distance. The course is fairly close to downtown, great place to play a casual round with friends or a quick solo playthrough. Nice practice basket at the beginning as well.
Cons: Course has hardly any elevation change, only holes with change are 16 and 17, both are downhill. In the summer months vegetation can get ridiculous, especially on 11/12 and 15. Lost a few discs on separate occasions so try to throw highly visible colors.
Other Thoughts: The course is on the edge of the ghetto, but there's not too much action so it's not a big deal. The course is beautiful Spring-Fall.

There are actually 20 holes, 15 Alt tees are hard left after finishing 14, basket between two trees in the direction of hole 6 basket. Hole 19 tees are by the playground right of Hole 18 fairway. Turn around after 18 and you should see a pad at the front left corner of the playground, Blue tee is on far side.

Much prefer to the new ECU course because the distance at WMP is much more manageable to a developing player like me.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

My home away from home

5+    7/13/2013   7/15/2013
Review By: Roc'n that Wolf
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.7 Years
Pros: -multiple tee pads on every hole.
-20 permanent holes.
-multiple line options on a lot of holes.
-three permanent tee pads on hole 8.
-four, yes 4!, permanent tee pads on hole 10
-tee signs on ever hole.
-two permanent baskets on hole 13.
-plenty of trash cans.
-good use of the land with holes varying in length and difficulty.
Cons: -pretty much assume the bathroom is never going to be unlocked.
-holes 2 and 3 become a soccer field in the afternoons.
-other than a large ditch behind the far pin placement on 17, no water comes in to play.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. It has something for every skill-level. The local club seems to always be on the course trying to make it look better. It is a great course to play if you are in North Carolina.

Gem to Play

5+    4/23/2013   4/25/2013
Review By: siknastyinstalr
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent course to play...plays well for any type of player...multiple tee pads and pin locations to keep the course new every time.
Cons: This is a sports complex so soccer games can be in play while teeing off on hole #2. Baseball field can be a factor of distraction while on holes #5, 7, 9, 11, 12.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Dimond in the rough

5+    12/20/2012   12/21/2012
Review By: Dr. Bret Wickstrom
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wonderful place to play. Very well kept holes. Challenging but not ridiculous. Gives you a great balance for left or right handed. Many of the holes will even have a cleared path for both right or left handed players. Very difficult to lose a disc. There are some good holes to really grip and rip but a also a few that have some fun tights shots through some trees. Great overall variety that makes the course fun every time we come here.
Cons: The location is a bit ghetto but everyone at the park thus far has been super nice. It has been a touch crowded (although I hesitate to use that word because it wasn't bad) on a Saturday. The only problem we had was there was a group playing soccer in the field where the first few wholes are. They were very nice and we just skipped one whole. Not at all a major problem.
Other Thoughts: There are doing some construction right now so you do have a few more "hazards" in the form of bulldozers and erosion fences. But they are easy to avoid or step over (the fences not the bulldozers, you can't step over them). I'm not sure what they are building but I think it is a bike path. Hopefully and likely I believe this will add to and cause any decrease in the quality of the park. We'll see. Hopefully they'll be done by spring when it warms up.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

East bound and down!

2-4    10/21/2012   10/27/2012
Review By: 11abush11
Played: 51  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Two sets of concrete with signs.
-Multiple basket locations
-Variety of left and right; tight and open
-Very clean
-More parks near by
-The club puts on a great tournament...very accommodating.
-Risk reward
Cons: -Could use a little more distance on some of the whites and blues (more in the 300' ft-400ft range)
-Couldn't find a restroom.
Other Thoughts: -Loved the clown's mouth, sweet little hole.
-A & B holes during tournaments give it a 20 hole layout.
If your East bound and down check this gem out!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 course update

5+    7/24/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: gvdg jake
Played: 50  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: tons of lines on all holes, multiple pin locations and different tee pads. some holes have up to 4 pin locations and 3 tee pads
Cons: we need more players to help keep course clean and the sad thing is almost every hole has a trash can at it!?!?!

some afternoons they have 2-3 baseball teams practicing so it can get destracting
Other Thoughts: as of 7-24-12 they have a new pad installed on #8 which is between the whites and blues. this pad is painted purple. also #17 is currently in the process of being cleaned out and having a 2nd location for the cage which is soon to be in the woods behind the old location.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  West Meadowbrook Park

5+    5/7/2011   5/7/2011
Review By: MatthewPoole
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging course. Variety of hole difficulties. Challenging tee shots and multiple doglegs to get around. This course will test your skills.
Cons: Crowded most of the times I have played. Sometimes the baseball games on Saturday mornings can be distracting.
Other Thoughts: Challenging course. Even if you have played for multiple years like a friend of mine, there are some parts of this course that will get you.. I have only been playing for about 8 months now, but this has slowly become my favorite course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.