Kansas City, MO 
Water Works Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #9 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 283ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 91
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Up and Down

1    7/25/2016   7/25/2016
Review By: Balzac
Played: 33  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Tons of elevation, utilized well: some holes play downhill only, some play uphill only, some play both
- Concrete tee pads in good condition
- Multiple pin positions
- Benches and trash cans at every hole
- Views of the downtown KC skyline from a few spots on the course
- Flows well, usually easy to find next tee
Cons: - While there is no water in play, there are several steep drop offs where it would be very easy to lose a disc
- A new walking trail is being put in that is a little too close for comfort on a couple holes
- No map of entire course at the park
- Can get crowded on weekends
Other Thoughts: It cannot be emphasized enough that this is an extremely hilly course. While this definitely adds to the course, be prepared for an exhausting round. Bring plenty of water, especially on hot days.

The views of the skyline are a nice bonus. This course is also close to the downtown airport, so there a frequently private jets and smaller planes buzzing the course.

Definitely one of the top courses in the KC area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Water Works KC

1    7/4/2016   7/22/2016
Review By: jvbh792
Played: 11  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 0.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great terrain, signage, use of woods and elevation, and locals are friendly. Great mix of left and right shots. One of my favorite courses I've ever played. Coming from St. Louis, it was fun to play a course with more dramatic terrain, compared to the many rolling hill public park courses in the STL area.
Cons: Not many long holes
Other Thoughts: I'll be back 100%

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Really nice course

1    12/30/2015   2/16/2016
Review By: Treehousebob
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation.
Multiple baskets.
Great mix of technical and long holes.
Cons: There was about 3 inches of snow on the ground when I went which made the hills very slippery. I should have brought a sled, it would have been awesome. Pesky snowboarders and children on sleds kept moving just as my discs where about to hit them.

None of these things are meant to be negative about the course, just my experience.
Other Thoughts: Great course, I had a great time even with the snow.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Just play it

1    1/2/2016   1/2/2016
Review By: 30disc
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There aren't many courses in Missouri or Kansas that match up to this one. The hills are enormous but not too tiresome. The air you can get on some holes is incredible. What I really liked about this course was that it has several large holes fit into a relatively small park area, and even on a busy day it doesn't feel too cluttered. The course design is fit together very well and is easy to read. There are trashcans and benches at every tee, as well as a hole map. Each pin has a flag on top. The KC skyline view is icing on the cake. I even thought the water treatment facility for which the park is eponymously named was a rather interesting site, and perhaps a nice juxtaposition. This course is worth a drive even if you are within the Lawrence or Topeka area. The land chosen for this park inherently agrees with the spirit of disc golf. It's designers didn't have to look far for inspiration, it's a natural spot for this game.
Cons: There are many great shots on this course. Each hole was fun and unique. However, there weren't a great deal of "around the bend" shots, or many technically challenging throws (it had a few, don't get me wrong.) Most pins sat at a 12 o'clock position from the tee. It felt a little predictable. Some of the pins could be more inconspicuously located. Generally hard to complain. There wasn't much that could detract from really enjoying this course thoroughly. If you are in the area, play this course.
Other Thoughts: Overall I enjoy this course tremendously. Based in eastern Kansas, I intend to pay regular visits to this course. The hills and trees are just too great to pass up. If you enjoy disc golf, this course will put a smile on your face.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Challenging Course Which Can Be Enjoyed By All Levels Of Players!

1    10/20/2015   10/23/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 994  Reviewed: 941  Exp: 38.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2015
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My best analogy for Water Works DGC would be this: What if the best looking girl in your high school was happy and content going out with the most average Joe in your class? That's what is so amazing about Water Works! Here is this awesome, super challenging course set on a piece of rugged hilly terrain that wears out recreational runners AND yet, the average recreational disc golfer can play here and have himself a wonderful time. The course is so lovely and enjoyable, that while she is wearing you out, you're having such a grand time, you're not thinking about how beat down you're are. Not many of the top courses can so entertain and compliment such a range of disc golfers as Water Works can.

Sheer beauty. From the views of downtown Kansas City from # 1 and also the incredible views from the box on # 14, this course has to possess some of the most scenic views of any Mid-Western course.

The elevation and creative ways in which it was used here. The park sits on the top of a mountain overlooking KC and there's doesn't seem to be a level piece of ground in the whole park.

The amenities are all great, not over the top, take your breath away, like Bryant Park in Minneapolis, but just very serviceable. There are three or four basket positions on each hole. I don't know how often they're changed but I'm sure it's often enough to keep everyone interested. Nice course map at the beginning along with a kiosk, disc return box, 5 or 6 picnic tables, league and tourney information, etc.

# 1 was an incredible hole to start off your round with, 309' and a big downhill but with plenty of trees in your way. My local playing partner claimed # 14 is well known as the prettiest golf hole in Missouri. It's a long gradually sloping downhill (550' ?) with a prevailing headwind that helps to keep your disc flying. The large water tower looms in the background. It is a lovely hole.



Cons: We weren't always sure what position the pin was in on this particular day. Could use a system.

A few next tee signs would be helpful for us new to the course.

A few holes do play close to park roads. Take a look for cars, pedestrians before throwing.


Other Thoughts: I was so happy for the chance to finally get to play the famous Water Works. I was not one bit disappointed. She met or exceeded all my expectations. It was a wonderful to play a 4.5 rated course where a 64 year old recreational player such as myself could enjoy his round so much, not only golf wise but also physically. It's definitely a hike but it's not one of those killer courses like I played this summer in New Hampshire where you're totally spent after playing it one time.

If you ever get to Kansas City, experience Water Works!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great, well maintained course

1    9/6/2015   9/8/2015
Review By: ryyedogg
Played: 46  Reviewed: 34
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This was a big bonus on my trip for a wedding. The course sits at a high point in the area, so there are awesome views of the city. Every hole presents a challenge with all the trees and elevation differences. You will see tunnel, uphill, downhill, over and around hills, and dogleg shots throughout the round. Nice tee pads and great signage make this course easy to play and follow. Many pin placements for each hole provides a good variety of shots needed for success. As technical as it can be, the course will still be fun for beginners.
Cons: Not really too much to complain except with a name like "waterworks", I thought it should have some water hazards.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses now. It has mostly everything I expect in a good course. The random guy I played with was so nice and helpful, giving me a good excuse to come back to play this and many other great courses in the area.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Course with a Great View

5+    8/29/2015   9/1/2015
Review By: SirDreward
Played: 28  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1 - Lots of elevation changes!
2 - Benches at each basket.
3 - Lost disc return.
4 - Well signed.
5 - Area the course is in is dedicated to the course.
Cons: 1 - Nicely maintained course.
2 - Nice park overall.
3 - Some great chances to lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: A great course that has holes that play towards the strengths of the distance players and some holes that play towards the the strengths of the technical players. On a few holes if you get into the woods get ready to scramble up and down steep inclines and through some well established undergrowth. Take some time to check out the KC downtown skyline while at the practice basket.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

As solid as 4.5 gets

1    5/15/2015   5/20/2015
Review By: MidwestZest
Played: 92  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 16.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - This course simply has an aura about it, with essentially no let-up when it comes to grandiose hole designs. Like all highly-rated courses, a round here is an EXPERIENCE, where the course kind of takes you by the hand to show you what it has next...and you let it without hesitation. Aside from locals who get to play this course on a regular basis, I imagine it takes a lot to keep at least a little of that feeling from returning every time you play the course.
- Challenging layout, but it's not going to kick you in the shins and take your lunch money. A very comfortable and enjoyable play.
- Good concrete tees, some with landscaping bricks around them. Tidies it up nicely.
- Three to four pin positions on each hole - none that I felt were an insult to the course.
- Great signage on each hole, letting you see exactly what you're getting into.
- Well-loved Mach baskets, but they performed fine. Flags on top of most baskets were helpful.
- Essentially secluded from all other park activities.
- Oodles of elevation here. You can count the number of 'flat' holes on one hand.
- Great mixture of a few tight wooded holes, with a few more open mixed in as well. However, even the open holes require you to navigate well-placed mature trees. #14 is about the only hole without much in the fairway. And even then, it's a nice reprieve.
- #6 - I don't know if I just made this hole harder than it needed to be or what, but man did it feel tight. Great variation early in the course.
- #9 - Really liked the look and feel of this hole, playing along a little drainage creek.
- #13 - Great valley shot with relatively narrow gaps around 200 feet out. The shorter your drive, the longer and harder (read: uphill) your approach becomes.
- #16 & 17 - particularly in the long pin positions, these are similar, scary holes with the road as OB right next to the basket. Kind of a shame that they're back to back, but I won't hold it against them.
Cons: - Erosion and compacted soil is a decently significant issue. Not really avoidable for a relatively wooded course that gets as much play as this one, but it should be noted. Played a few hours after a shower, and the course was very slick.
- Roads come into play on a number of holes.
- Some of the infrastructure has seen better days, namely some stairs that have fallen into a little disrepair. Easy on a course played this much.
- Pin markers of some sort on the sign would have been nice, but really only absolutely needed on a couple of holes.
- Looking back, holes 3, 4, and 5 seem a little 'mundane' compared to the rest of the course. Not really a con - they're far better than many holes on many other courses. Nice that they're early in the round. I will say though, you don't want to lose a disc left on these holes...it's a long way down.
Other Thoughts: - Had a great time finally getting to play this course. I can see why it's a 'must play.'
- Takes a long time to play with all the hiking, even though it's not a particularly lengthy course by hole measurement. I played mid-day during the week, so I didn't have to wait on crowds, but I'm sure it bogs down quite a bit in the evenings and on weekends.
- Make sure you don't miss the view of downtown from holes 1, 2, & 3. Simply awesome.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Hilly!

1    9/28/2014   10/1/2014
Review By: jjp016
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: It's definitely challenging...for a relative newcomer at least. Some pretty neat downhill shots. Awesome views. Flows pretty well.
Cons: Crowded. If you miss the fairway, some of them pretty narrow, then you'll be disc searching. Lots of people doing nothing but hunting for discs.
Other Thoughts: ELEVATION! The posted pics do not come anywhere close to conveying the amount of elevation change this course has. Good little workout.

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 I didn't know there were hills in KC

1    7/19/2014   7/19/2014
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 176  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 4.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was one of the more aesthetically pleasing course I have ever played. The course is on a vast piece of land that is very well manicured (I would not want to be the person that has to mow this course). Obviously the big pull to this course was the elevation, and I do not think words can describe the huge amount of elevation that this course really has. The course utilizes each hill to its max.

The course is hard but fair in my opinion. If the baskets are in the short/middle pin position, than twos are not uncommon. If the baskets are in the long position, or the monster positions that I played, than you will challenged on some holes for your par.

Hole 1 may be the most beautiful hole I have ever played with a look out to downtown KCMO with a big oak tree guarding the baskets and rolling hills. If the course had all those type of holes, than it could possible hit that lucid 5 disc rating.

I was a big fan of the flags on top of the baskets. They sometimes poked up over the hills, which made it easier to notice from the tee. The tee signs were descriptive and colorful and the tee boxes of substantial size.
Cons: It would have been nice to have a marker on the tee signs on which position the basket was in. On some holes, it was not apparent on where we were supposed to be throwing towards.

I felt some of the holes were filler and lacked any kind of excitement; Holes 6-8 come to my mind. I guess it is hard to make that many phenomenal holes on a public park.

The course is very busy, which means that there is litter strewn around the course.
Other Thoughts: This course is in my top-3. It is not my favorite, and it may not be my second favorite, but it is up there as one of the top that I have played. I do not feel like it warrants a 5-disc rating because I just thought there was room for improvement that is feasible.

I am from Houston and was absolutely winded after playing the course. Bring water and expect a lot of up and down walking. I would highly recommend this course to anyone in the area.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.