Kansas City, MO 
Water Works Park Share
Uploaded By: Robert Scott Hole #4 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / 306ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Reviews: 82
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great Course

2-4    10/10/2012   10/14/2012
Review By: blowers04
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
-Good tee pads.
-Nice variety of holes.
-Pretty well marked holes.
-Multiple extra baskets for practicing.
Cons:
-Very hilly/rough.
-Difficult course when windy due to lots of elevation change.
-Signs at holes are starting to fade.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course. One of the best, if not the best in Kansas City. Very hilly, which is a plus or minus depending on your physical abilities. There is a good mixture of holes, allowing different play styles. Good views of down town.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Powerplantthom

1    8/27/2012   8/27/2012
Review By: powerplantthom
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Fun fun fun! Lots of trees yet very open. Up and down makes for fun shots. Nicely maintained!
Cons: Even though there are trash cans at every hole there was trash all over the place. I picked up a handful of cans, bottles, porn mags, wrappers or a combo of such at every hole. I noticed trash all over this city.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good, but...

1    8/19/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: austinpetz
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 44.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2012
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation change.
Tons of Hyzer and Anhyzer lines.
Many wooded shots.
Good combination of long and short holes.
Benches on every hole.
Signs on every hole.
Very easy to follow.
Cons: Lots of elevation change.
Many wooded shots.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I liked this course. However, I don't think that I really loved it (maybe the hype was a bit too big for this course). It was fun because it had a ton of downhill and valley shots, and the scenery was beautiful throughout the course. It was, however, quite tough.

My thoughts are that this would be an amazing course for pro-level disc golfers that can really drive a 500 foot hole consistently, but the intermediate player might have a rough day.

I don't think I would recommend this course for intermediate players. If you don't live close to this course (and you're an intermediate player), you shouldn't go out to this course. I would recommend going to Swope or Rosedale. Those courses are just a bit easier to play than Water Works and would suit an intermediate player much better.

Let me make this perfectly clear: This is an amazing course; I'm the one that can't play it very well.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for EVERYONE

1    12/29/2011   2/13/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 417  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large park that has lots of hills and a good amount of trees. There are a few spots near some other park equipment, but there shouldn't be any interference.
- Best feature of this course are the big hills around every corner. The first hole takes the cake with a big downhill shot to a sloping fairway, big punishment if the disc hyzers/flips left down the hill. #2 is a big uphill with a blind basket placement, it takes a big arm to get over the hump here. Numerous other holes have slopes to some degree, like the ups on #7, #13, and #18. A good downhill on #16, and some gentler ones on #14 and #3. Lots of slopes by baskets because of the terrain as well.
- Pretty good mix of open and wooded holes, or at least holes with a good amount of trees in the fairway. The more wooded areas are in the front, with some forgiving "tunnel" shots from #3 to #7, with #7 being pretty darn low, uphill no less. Other holes have numerous trees to contend with, like #9, #10, and #18. There are plenty of lines available, but plenty of ways to get caught up also.
- Some holes here have some interesting lines, like the tight uphill on #7, and a decent tunnel on #6. Other holes have some serious punishment for inaccurate shots; going too far left on #3 through #5 can be death, serious death. Two levels of hills to contend with, with nasty woods. Fairly warned be thee, says I. Some other spots are by the park road, for some OB challenge.
- Great teepads, signs, and baskets. Navigation is pretty easy, shouldn't be an issue. Lots of various pin positions as well, which can change the course up in a big way, distance-wise.
Cons: - A lot of the holes here are pretty wide open, with only a few trees to worry about. That includes #1, #2, #14, probably #16, and #17. At worst, it's a pretty clear RHBH hyzer route on these. The elevation changes help to keep things interesting, but it really comes down to how far the pin is more than anything else.
Other Thoughts: - Well, that's it for the cons! Fun factor at this course is off the charts, thanks to the big sloping hills, and variety in woods and trees. As an older course, though, the difficulty factor isn't that high, distance will usually trump accuracy from start to finish. People who don't have big enough arms will be playing a lot of par 3 golf, and dealing with some wide open upshots. Others with enough distance might find a lot of routine shots without much challenge.
- Still, a fantastic course that is a blast to play. True beginners might want to watch out for some of the nasty punishment, and more advanced players will be able to tear the course up, but that's okay. Well worth it.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/17/2012   1/17/2012
Review By: astomps
Played: 53  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2012
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Tee pads are very long
-Signs are full color, list distances and pin locations
-Very nice City Park course
-Tons of elevation changes
-Benches and trash cans at every hole
-Great scenic view of KC and River
-Not many disc eating spots
-Great Local club backing the course and maintaining it
-DG only park for the most part
-Front 9 varies greatly from back 9
-Paths are well worn in woods; makes for easy disc finding and retrieval
-Rocks put up on cliff sides to prevent rolling
-nice man made steps
Cons: -Some tees are somewhat in other hole's fairways
-Road traffic through course
Other Thoughts: Definitely not for the faint of knees. Plays on State Park caliber hills. Good but not World Class.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 That's the good stuff.

1    11/25/2011   11/27/2011
Review By: stubborn puppet
Played: 43  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 3.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: .
> Scenic, clean and well maintained.
> Fantastic place for a DG course and you couldn't ask for better topography.
> Clever and thoughtful hole layout and pin placements.
> Pretty decent tee signs with a good view of the fairway and all possible placements.
> Big, level, clean concrete tees.
> Navigation was made easier by a neat little yellow pointer at the base of each basket.
> Multiple pin positions obviously provide excellent shot variety.
> Many holes had the opportunity for multiple approach paths right from the tee.
> Good combination of distance shots and technicals.
> The course is not too long and not too short... ahh, just right!
> Good benches at all tees.
> Trash cans at every tee.
.
Cons: .
> Plenty of opportunity for multiple tees to be implemented.
> The baskets could really use some paint as they are hard to see.
> Tee signs need something to tell you what position the basket is in as many are hidden or protected.
> Trash cans were bursting at the rims (but park was mostly clean)
> A couple of holes really should have had Mando trees or O.B. marked, because there were many tempting shots that took discs into play areas or onto roadways.
> The homeless disc golf coach... please get your own discs and leave us alone.
> Needs a little more parking for sure.
.
Other Thoughts: .
I've rarely been so entirely satisfied by a disc golf course. Almost everything I'd ever want was here in some way and I'm pretty sure I pulled out every disc in my bag at some point (I carry 13). I don't know if it's a norm at Water Works Park, but it was windy and the wind was totally unpredictable - probably due to the wild topography. It made me wish I had a mulligan for every hole, because no matter what you thought the wind was doing, that's only what it was doing at the tee. After the disc travelled over the first hill/valley/treeline, a differnt current would make it do something unpredictable... and away goes your disc on an adventure through the rolling hills.

This is an athletic course to walk, so be prepared... which makes me think the course could use a few steps in places where the hill to the next tee was too steep to traverse, especially with the fall leaves on the ground.

I can't wait until my next visit here to see how it goes.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Home Sweet Home

5+    9/16/2011   9/16/2011
Review By: KCDISCDOG
Played: 43  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: IMO This course has a good mix of everything you want in Disc Golf.. Huge elevation changes, tight woods, huge rips, and some holes you can get your accuracy on, with tough basket placements..
There are 2 practice baskets where you can warm up with friends, or get the jump on others while waiting for your crew to join up. Benches, trash cans, and concrete T pads at every hole.
The course is pretty easy to navigate with pointers towards the next T at the bottom of every basket.
I think most every Disc Golfer at any level will find things that challenge them, or feel doable at this course. Definitely check it out if your in the KC area
Cons: If your not in good shape you may feel it at this course, lots of uphill and downhill hiking.. Although this can be a good thing if your looking to get in shape or use it against your opponents.. Just thought I would mention it if you had a health issue..
Sometimes there is lots of traffic running up and down the road in their cars, not sure what their doing but some seem a little freakish. They seem to ignore you when you step out with your DG bag just so they know what team your playing for, if you get my drift...
Other Thoughts: I'm sorta new at DG, I have been playing Frisbee with my dogs for years. Took up DG to advance my distance skills, and throws for Disc Dog Competitions.. I consider this my home course and after 2 months of playing twice a week here they had new basket placements today which made for a great challenge for me today, I was getting comfortable with the last ones.. Course was mowed, limbs are getting picked up better after every mowing since the storms a couple of months ago... Go play have fun !!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Almost as good as KC's BBQ

1    7/11/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - True world caliber course with the local players to back it up
-Close to KC with nice skyline views.
- fantastic signage, teepads, benches, garbage cans on many holes, and all of that stuff
- WIDE range of uphill and downhill shots. Most of the course, actually, utilizes elevation in one way or another. Steep uphill require a strong arm; steep downhill drives require accuracy and discipline.
- Can be very challenging depending on tee placements. Each hole has 4 possible pin locations, and many holes require
- Favorite holes: 6 (a very long and tight tunnel shot with a well guarded basket) and 14 (an open bomb that sits dangerously close to the OB road--a nice change of pace for the course's general wooded and elevated holes.

The course itself just kind of looks majestic--kind of what one might envision a disc golf heaven to look like. Lush green rolling hills, beautiful trees, and the tees, signs, and everything else helps, too. This heavenly feeling is intensified by a drive across a steep ravine with views of Kansas City in the background. While I really enjoyed myself, I realized after awhile that this definitely isn't disc golf heaven (i.e. a 5 disc course). See cons below:
Cons: - Since there are 4 possible pin placements, a first-timer like myself had to do some scouting for every hole to see where the basket was. Not really a big issue for me, and I'm sure the locals know where each basket is.
- Would have liked to see some more wooded and technical holes that require really precise shots. Hole 6 is the only real example in the course.
- No super-duper long holes. Some were in the 400s, but a 600-800 foot hole or two would have been nice.
- It's called Water Works Park but there are no water hazards?
Other Thoughts: It's easy to see why this was the premiere course of last year's PDGA World Championships. While it may not be the best course on DGCR, it certainly is worthy of the presence of Climo, Jenkins, Doss, etc., and seeing everyone play would have been entertaining during the tourney. I know this is a good course, because I was having a blast despite braving the 99 degree temperatures and brutal humidity during my round. Bring your a-game and a nice diverse bag, because you're going to need it! Kansas City local disc golfers are lucky: Water Works Park AND Arthur Bryant's BBQ? I'd be in heaven.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Wooded, hilly, challenge!

1    9/21/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.5 Years
16 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: All concrete tee pads, plenty of length and great texture. Tee signs are nothing short of AWESOME, with full-color, framed, accurate maps of the hole, and multiple bag hooks. Baskets are Mach 3 and in great condition, with multiple hole locations on most holes. A color coded flag (matched to the tee sign) aid great in locating the pin position from the tee. One great thing that I noticed is that usually on a challenging course you have a lot of blind holes. That is not the case here, but that took nothing away from the experience at all. Every hole also has at least one bench if I recall correctly.

Parking is available right at the first hole, but not a lot. If the park is busy you might have to park a little further away and walk. Port-o-john available at the first tee. Map on kiosk at first tee is very helpful, and noted that holes 2 and 3 were currently OOP due to construction, but told how to play the two alternates to make a full 18.

This course had to be designed by a DG'er for DG'ers. Course layout is superb. The park has lots of elevation change and the course makes great use of that, as well as drop-off threats, tunnel shots, multiple uphills, peninsula shots, etc. There is nothing better than playing a course that has such balance and challenge.

My memorable holes:
1 - It's not often that right off the bat you have a great hole. The terrain drops down significantly right after the tee, then the basket on the hill sloping up from left to right, just lower than the tee. This looked fairly straightforward, but when you actually walk the hole, the hill looks completely different, might be better to walk this one the first time.
5 - Not too long of a hole, but the basket is protected by low trees, and if you try to go high and hyzer out, you could go down the STEEP hill covered with trees and mud.
7 - Uphill and off to the left. Cross the small ravine and back up a small rise, trees protecting on all sides, tough to drive!
13 - Basket is a good amount higher than the tee, and you have to throw over a dip in the land then uphill. Can't get a good hyzer angle due to trees on the right, very tough shot.
14 - The peninsula shot. Long and straight, and drops off left onto 17's fairway, so you have to keep it pretty straight, as well as long.
15 - Throw from the open into a stand of trees, and the basket was up a hill on the right protected by a LOT of trees. You could go big hyzer way left and drop in on the basket, but this is not advised as you would be crossing 14's fairway. There is no mando preventing this, but I would not recommend it. I felt lucky to take a 5 on this one..
Cons: Not much. I would definitely suggest adding some "next tee" signs on the basket. I know this can be difficult with multiple pin positions, but you could do like Rankin Lake Park in Shelby, NC. They have multiple arrows on the bottom of the pin that, depending on what position the basket is located, point the correct way to the next tee.

The only other cons I can think of are:
-Not much parking close to the first tee.
-No formal restrooms or water fountains that I saw.
-Sometimes you play close to a road and have to watch for cars
-There is not much variance in length, great variety of type, but most are around 300.
Other Thoughts: My rating of a 4 shows the great challenge and fun that this course provides. I love wooded technical holes as well as more open city-park-style holes. This course delivers that and then some. It does fall a little short in that there are not a lot of holes much over 300 feet, the hole lengths on here lists only 4 holes more than 325 feet, and most of the other 14 are less than 300.

If you are somewhat out of shape like I am, this course will give you one heck of a workout. It is almost all hilly, and some climbs are a little steep and sustained, many holes play uphill.

If you are in KC, this is a definite must play. With the exception of my being winded by the terrain, this is the most fun I've had on a DG course in LONG time.

16 of 19 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course!

1    7/12/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: bschmidt006
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) TONS of elevation change! I just played YMCA of the Rockies last week and this course has the elevation change I was expecting (and didn't find) there!
2) Very beautiful park, huge trees to provide shade on most holes.
3) Good signage, except for the construction the only place I got lost from 5-6, which is actually pretty well marked, I'm just blind!
4) Good variety of shots, all the other reviews are spot on, you'll need a good selection of shots on this course!
5) This is a disc golf "course", and not a park, there aren't any sidewalks/pavilions/park benches... etc to attract other people to fairways.
Cons: 1) One reviewer said bring your good shoes, I'd say bring shoes you don't mind getting muddy! It looks like this place can get and stay pretty wet due to shade.
2) There isn't any real danger of losing your disc on this course, I guess that's also a pro, but there aren't any shots that really have to be perfect.
3) Could use a few longer holes. I'm no long-arm by any means, but were only 2 or 3 holes I really needed to rip it on. This could have just been due to pin placement when I played though.
Other Thoughts: Be ready to use your legs! This is MUCH more than a casual course! I'd put this in the top 3 courses I've played so far! If you have a long-arm, be ready to work on your short game (200-300ft).

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.