Kansas City, MO 
Water Works Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #4 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 306ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee/Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 93
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
A Top Notch Course

1    9/10/2016   9/15/2016
Review By: dlopez916
Played: 36  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A nice mixture of shots providing some nice scenery while navigating the course. Quality sized teepads and every hole had a decent sign. Mulitple pins on almost every hole. I really liked the elevation changes, they didn't bother me much.
Cons: Tee signs are present but it is hard to tell which pin you're supposed to play. Some sort of marking on the sign would be helpful. I'd also add something to show where hole 1 starts as yo can easily drive around the course looking for the first hole.
Other Thoughts: This course was very well cared for. The grass was mowed, the course looked clean, and there was plenty of benches and garbage cans. This course will end up on my favorites list and I look forward to going back. PACK WATER!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Water Works

2-4    8/27/2016   8/28/2016
Review By: JohnDeere
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lost disc return that goes to dynamic discs KC to pick them up
Nice concrete teepads
Flags on every basket
Cool views of the plaza skyline
Variety of shots
Cons: Navigation can be tricky from basket to teepad
There's 4 pins at each hole but there's only one basket so on blind shots you have to walk up the fairway to find it
Not many long shots
Other Thoughts: PACK WATER the hills are tiring
It does get muddy after a rain
Several steep drop offs possible disc loss
Makes you pay attention on the angle your disc hits the ground

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Up and Down

1    7/25/2016   7/25/2016
Review By: Balzac
Played: 36  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Tons of elevation, utilized well: some holes play downhill only, some play uphill only, some play both
- Concrete tee pads in good condition
- Multiple pin positions
- Benches and trash cans at every hole
- Views of the downtown KC skyline from a few spots on the course
- Flows well, usually easy to find next tee
Cons: - While there is no water in play, there are several steep drop offs where it would be very easy to lose a disc
- A new walking trail is being put in that is a little too close for comfort on a couple holes
- No map of entire course at the park
- Can get crowded on weekends
Other Thoughts: It cannot be emphasized enough that this is an extremely hilly course. While this definitely adds to the course, be prepared for an exhausting round. Bring plenty of water, especially on hot days.

The views of the skyline are a nice bonus. This course is also close to the downtown airport, so there a frequently private jets and smaller planes buzzing the course.

Definitely one of the top courses in the KC area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Really nice course

1    12/30/2015   2/16/2016
Review By: Treehousebob
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation.
Multiple baskets.
Great mix of technical and long holes.
Cons: There was about 3 inches of snow on the ground when I went which made the hills very slippery. I should have brought a sled, it would have been awesome. Pesky snowboarders and children on sleds kept moving just as my discs where about to hit them.

None of these things are meant to be negative about the course, just my experience.
Other Thoughts: Great course, I had a great time even with the snow.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Just play it

1    1/2/2016   1/2/2016
Review By: 30disc
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There aren't many courses in Missouri or Kansas that match up to this one. The hills are enormous but not too tiresome. The air you can get on some holes is incredible. What I really liked about this course was that it has several large holes fit into a relatively small park area, and even on a busy day it doesn't feel too cluttered. The course design is fit together very well and is easy to read. There are trashcans and benches at every tee, as well as a hole map. Each pin has a flag on top. The KC skyline view is icing on the cake. I even thought the water treatment facility for which the park is eponymously named was a rather interesting site, and perhaps a nice juxtaposition. This course is worth a drive even if you are within the Lawrence or Topeka area. The land chosen for this park inherently agrees with the spirit of disc golf. It's designers didn't have to look far for inspiration, it's a natural spot for this game.
Cons: There are many great shots on this course. Each hole was fun and unique. However, there weren't a great deal of "around the bend" shots, or many technically challenging throws (it had a few, don't get me wrong.) Most pins sat at a 12 o'clock position from the tee. It felt a little predictable. Some of the pins could be more inconspicuously located. Generally hard to complain. There wasn't much that could detract from really enjoying this course thoroughly. If you are in the area, play this course.
Other Thoughts: Overall I enjoy this course tremendously. Based in eastern Kansas, I intend to pay regular visits to this course. The hills and trees are just too great to pass up. If you enjoy disc golf, this course will put a smile on your face.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Course with a Great View

5+    8/29/2015   9/1/2015
Review By: SirDreward
Played: 31  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 1 - Lots of elevation changes!
2 - Benches at each basket.
3 - Lost disc return.
4 - Well signed.
5 - Area the course is in is dedicated to the course.
Cons: 1 - Nicely maintained course.
2 - Nice park overall.
3 - Some great chances to lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: A great course that has holes that play towards the strengths of the distance players and some holes that play towards the the strengths of the technical players. On a few holes if you get into the woods get ready to scramble up and down steep inclines and through some well established undergrowth. Take some time to check out the KC downtown skyline while at the practice basket.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

2-4    10/10/2012   10/14/2012
Review By: blowers04
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
-Good tee pads.
-Nice variety of holes.
-Pretty well marked holes.
-Multiple extra baskets for practicing.
Cons:
-Very hilly/rough.
-Difficult course when windy due to lots of elevation change.
-Signs at holes are starting to fade.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course. One of the best, if not the best in Kansas City. Very hilly, which is a plus or minus depending on your physical abilities. There is a good mixture of holes, allowing different play styles. Good views of down town.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Powerplantthom

1    8/27/2012   8/27/2012
Review By: powerplantthom
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Fun fun fun! Lots of trees yet very open. Up and down makes for fun shots. Nicely maintained!
Cons: Even though there are trash cans at every hole there was trash all over the place. I picked up a handful of cans, bottles, porn mags, wrappers or a combo of such at every hole. I noticed trash all over this city.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good, but...

1    8/19/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: austinpetz
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 47 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2012
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation change.
Tons of Hyzer and Anhyzer lines.
Many wooded shots.
Good combination of long and short holes.
Benches on every hole.
Signs on every hole.
Very easy to follow.
Cons: Lots of elevation change.
Many wooded shots.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I liked this course. However, I don't think that I really loved it (maybe the hype was a bit too big for this course). It was fun because it had a ton of downhill and valley shots, and the scenery was beautiful throughout the course. It was, however, quite tough.

My thoughts are that this would be an amazing course for pro-level disc golfers that can really drive a 500 foot hole consistently, but the intermediate player might have a rough day.

I don't think I would recommend this course for intermediate players. If you don't live close to this course (and you're an intermediate player), you shouldn't go out to this course. I would recommend going to Swope or Rosedale. Those courses are just a bit easier to play than Water Works and would suit an intermediate player much better.

Let me make this perfectly clear: This is an amazing course; I'm the one that can't play it very well.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for EVERYONE

1    12/29/2011   2/13/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 462  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 13.4 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large park that has lots of hills and a good amount of trees. There are a few spots near some other park equipment, but there shouldn't be any interference.
- Best feature of this course are the big hills around every corner. The first hole takes the cake with a big downhill shot to a sloping fairway, big punishment if the disc hyzers/flips left down the hill. #2 is a big uphill with a blind basket placement, it takes a big arm to get over the hump here. Numerous other holes have slopes to some degree, like the ups on #7, #13, and #18. A good downhill on #16, and some gentler ones on #14 and #3. Lots of slopes by baskets because of the terrain as well.
- Pretty good mix of open and wooded holes, or at least holes with a good amount of trees in the fairway. The more wooded areas are in the front, with some forgiving "tunnel" shots from #3 to #7, with #7 being pretty darn low, uphill no less. Other holes have numerous trees to contend with, like #9, #10, and #18. There are plenty of lines available, but plenty of ways to get caught up also.
- Some holes here have some interesting lines, like the tight uphill on #7, and a decent tunnel on #6. Other holes have some serious punishment for inaccurate shots; going too far left on #3 through #5 can be death, serious death. Two levels of hills to contend with, with nasty woods. Fairly warned be thee, says I. Some other spots are by the park road, for some OB challenge.
- Great teepads, signs, and baskets. Navigation is pretty easy, shouldn't be an issue. Lots of various pin positions as well, which can change the course up in a big way, distance-wise.
Cons: - A lot of the holes here are pretty wide open, with only a few trees to worry about. That includes #1, #2, #14, probably #16, and #17. At worst, it's a pretty clear RHBH hyzer route on these. The elevation changes help to keep things interesting, but it really comes down to how far the pin is more than anything else.
Other Thoughts: - Well, that's it for the cons! Fun factor at this course is off the charts, thanks to the big sloping hills, and variety in woods and trees. As an older course, though, the difficulty factor isn't that high, distance will usually trump accuracy from start to finish. People who don't have big enough arms will be playing a lot of par 3 golf, and dealing with some wide open upshots. Others with enough distance might find a lot of routine shots without much challenge.
- Still, a fantastic course that is a blast to play. True beginners might want to watch out for some of the nasty punishment, and more advanced players will be able to tear the course up, but that's okay. Well worth it.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center