Kansas City, MO 
Water Works Park Share
Uploaded By: Robert Scott Hole #6 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / 302ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee

Reviews: 87
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Home course

5+    12/2/2012   12/2/2012
Review By: StevenFoster
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: This is the course where I learned to play, and base all other courses on. But every other course I play doesn't compare because I've been spoiled by the best course around. Either the elevation changes are not there, or there are worse pin placements, it all comes back to this being the best course in the state. Pins are great and multiple placements, the crowd is great, tee pads are great, lots of hyzer shots and anny shots. Perfect course.
Cons: People need to stop throwing their trash on the course. Tee signs have been vandalized and some not readable but I know the course already and don't need them.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 My 50th Course!

1    12/2/2012   12/2/2012
Review By: the bogey monster
Played: 63  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.6 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Where to start... Multiple pin placements on every hole, massive elevation changes, benches on every hole, every hole is fair, beautiful views of the city, challenging greens, nice baskets, good tee signs. Everything you could ask for in a world class course
Cons: Trash on the course, that's the only thing I can think of. Other than that the only cons where with my play.
Other Thoughts: I wish I lived next door so I could play this course every day. It would make me a much better player. Don't get me wrong, it's tough as nails, but it's worth it. Deuces are out there but you have to work for them. I wouldn't go to this course to try and shoot a hot round, go if you want to get better. Great choice for a memorable 50th course to play.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

2-4    10/10/2012   10/14/2012
Review By: blowers04
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.7 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
-Good tee pads.
-Nice variety of holes.
-Pretty well marked holes.
-Multiple extra baskets for practicing.
-Very hilly/rough.
-Difficult course when windy due to lots of elevation change.
-Signs at holes are starting to fade.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course. One of the best, if not the best in Kansas City. Very hilly, which is a plus or minus depending on your physical abilities. There is a good mixture of holes, allowing different play styles. Good views of down town.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    8/27/2012   8/27/2012
Review By: powerplantthom
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Fun fun fun! Lots of trees yet very open. Up and down makes for fun shots. Nicely maintained!
Cons: Even though there are trash cans at every hole there was trash all over the place. I picked up a handful of cans, bottles, porn mags, wrappers or a combo of such at every hole. I noticed trash all over this city.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good, but...

1    8/19/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: austinpetz
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 45.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2012
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation change.
Tons of Hyzer and Anhyzer lines.
Many wooded shots.
Good combination of long and short holes.
Benches on every hole.
Signs on every hole.
Very easy to follow.
Cons: Lots of elevation change.
Many wooded shots.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I liked this course. However, I don't think that I really loved it (maybe the hype was a bit too big for this course). It was fun because it had a ton of downhill and valley shots, and the scenery was beautiful throughout the course. It was, however, quite tough.

My thoughts are that this would be an amazing course for pro-level disc golfers that can really drive a 500 foot hole consistently, but the intermediate player might have a rough day.

I don't think I would recommend this course for intermediate players. If you don't live close to this course (and you're an intermediate player), you shouldn't go out to this course. I would recommend going to Swope or Rosedale. Those courses are just a bit easier to play than Water Works and would suit an intermediate player much better.

Let me make this perfectly clear: This is an amazing course; I'm the one that can't play it very well.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Home Course

5+    8/4/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: todo_school
Played: 41  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: I love this course, it is where I learned to play. The elevation change makes this course very fun but also very demanding. A lot of open fairways with a good combination of tight tree lined fairways.
Cons: If you late/early release on a couple holes it is very easy to lose a disc and never see it again.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.


1    8/6/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: attik34
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent course. Super fun, very much a step above anything I could have expected. For me, the best thing about it was that it was challenging in a great way. Distance isn't huge on this course, so things feel attainable. Aside from a few exceptions, you aren't going to be losing a bunch of discs here either assuming you are willing to get off the beaten path if needed. Benches at each hole are very nice, considering both times I was there this weekend it was pretty packed, so waiting was a must, and having something to sit on was AWESOME.

As far as the layout goes, its very direct, easy to follow, and just simply right for alot of levels. I'm not good by any means, but I didn't feel overpowered by the course. If i made good shots, 3's werent hard, if i made bad ones, they were. That simple. Distance wise I tee'd off with a Buzz ALOT and didnt regret it very often. Alot of shot variation and some creatively done things that made me really appreciate being there.

The difficulty comes in the hills of the course for sure. One shot of mine comes to mind. I was putting from like...30-40 ish and missed long and soft. It hit a treeroot past the hole and kind of popped up on its side, I thought nothing of it. Picked up my bag and started walking up only to realize my disc was rolling at me, somehow. I was warned about this and its no joke, your disc can roll for ever, so be warned :).
Cons: The course is crowded from what I could tell, take that for what its worth. When you play at the best course in Missouri I'd expect it to be a little busy but maybe not everyone would :).

there were a few holes that had trash GUSHING from the trash cans which really took away from the well manicured everything else, but word on the streets is thats not a common thing.

also, its way to far from hannibal, MO
Other Thoughts: Loved the course, cant wait til life moves me back to KCMO so I can play this weekly :).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 World Class

2-4    7/19/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 15.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a world-class course, period.

It's got a challenging mix of hyzer and anhyzer lines, tons of elevation change, and periodic winds that keep you on your toes. This is not a course where you can shift your mind into neutral - you will need to think about placements, the risk of roll-aways, and the need to avoid certain rough patches that are just too horrible to contemplate (I'm thinking about what's on the left side of fairways 3 and 4 here).

You'll also be in for a workout, since a lot of the ground you'll be walking over is nowhere near level. Bring water, or at least an empty bottle you can refill from the spigot by tee #1, and wear good sturdy shoes.

The course itself is in excellent shape, with 3 or 4 pin positions for each hole and benches and bag-hangers at each tee. Many of the pin placements can't be seen from the tees, but markers for the unused positions make it easy to figure out where you're going without having to walk the course.

Excellent signage, including a course map at the kiosk, make getting lost between holes pretty difficult. Throw in a practice basket and great views as others have mentioned and you have a pretty good idea of what to expect here.
Cons: The only con I can think of is that the trash cans are almost all completely full and spilling out over the surrounding areas. With a course so obviously popular and well-used, whoever's responsible for maintaining these should step up and schedule more frequent service.
Other Thoughts: If you're a noodle arm (like me), this course will hand your @ss to you but in such a way that you'll say, "Thank you, sir" and come back the next day for another round. Water Works is a total destination course and people who live within 50 miles can rightly go around with a smug grin on their faces just because they have such a fabulous resource in their back yards.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 All Around Great!

1    7/8/2012   7/8/2012
Review By: kutz167
Played: 119  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is fairly hilly, so it provides a lot of elevation changes coupled with lines requiring all types of shots. This combines to make a fun but challenging round for players of any skill level. The course is very well maintained, and the locals were very friendly and willing to help with navigation. Locals were also very conscientious and considerate. The course was very busy, but we had to wait very little during out round. Despite being in the middle of the city, the large amount of foliage and trees made it feel like a rural setting.
Cons: Due to the amount of traffic this park receives, the trash cans were overflowing. Navigation between some of the holes was difficult at times, but a quick picture of the course map and locals made it easy to navigate. The only thing I can really see this course missing is water hazards, as I didn't see a single one during my round.
Other Thoughts: I was told that while in Kansas City if I was going to play any course it had to be this one, and I would have to agree. I definitely will be stopping at this course on any future trips to the area. The views of the downtown skyline are breath-taking. If playing this course for the first time, make sure to bring along a camera!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best Around Town

5+    6/18/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: Clumsy Fumbles
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of hills and trees but in just the right places to make some great technical shots. It also has a great variety of short and long holes with most holes having 4 possible chain spots. grass is always nice and mowed. Every hole has pictures on poles telling where the possible chain spots will be and how many feet to them. Most holes have benches.
Cons: Big hills make this both a Pro and a Con all depending on how physically fit you are. Signs on poles telling where chain spots are and how many feet they are are getting old and faded but still readable. Maybe a few more trash can spots throughout park.
Other Thoughts: I would definitely bring water or gatorade when playing this course. This is my favorite course around Kansas City.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.