Kansas City, MO
Water Works Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #10 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 354ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 80
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Phenomenal Course

1    4/15/2013   4/18/2013
Review By: SofaKing 442
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 33.9 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course is a LOT of fun to play! It has a good mixture of both accuracy and distance holes. Water Works Park is a well designed, well maintained course with plenty of trees and a fair amount of elevation. Great views of downtown KC on a couple of holes.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Bring a course map if it your first time playing here. We had the course completely to ourselves and found the map to be useful on a couple of holes. I only got one deuce on the day and had to work at picking up threes on most holes. We threw Tee Birds and Buzz a lot. I had a memorable and very enjoyable outing.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Amazing course with an amazing view

5+    3/15/2013   3/22/2013
Review By: pineappletrees
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Overlooks downtown Kansas City
Wide variation of shot selection
Well manicured
Multiple pin placements
Diverse terrain
Looks great in every season
Cons: Crowded on nice days
Hills can be slippery on rainy days
Rollaways are inevitable
Not a lot of par 4s
Other Thoughts: This is the first course I played and is hands down my favorite course.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 water works

5+    11/17/2012   12/21/2012
Review By: bowenthomas
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.1 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: amazing park
the best course i have played
elevation changes
mandos
alternate tees
beautiful scenic view of the city
soo much fun
Cons: it is addictive
Other Thoughts: my favorite course i have ever played
the best course i have ever played

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Home course

5+    12/2/2012   12/2/2012
Review By: StevenFoster
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: This is the course where I learned to play, and base all other courses on. But every other course I play doesn't compare because I've been spoiled by the best course around. Either the elevation changes are not there, or there are worse pin placements, it all comes back to this being the best course in the state. Pins are great and multiple placements, the crowd is great, tee pads are great, lots of hyzer shots and anny shots. Perfect course.
Cons: People need to stop throwing their trash on the course. Tee signs have been vandalized and some not readable but I know the course already and don't need them.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

My 50th Course!

1    12/2/2012   12/2/2012
Review By: the bogey monster
Played: 63  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Where to start... Multiple pin placements on every hole, massive elevation changes, benches on every hole, every hole is fair, beautiful views of the city, challenging greens, nice baskets, good tee signs. Everything you could ask for in a world class course
Cons: Trash on the course, that's the only thing I can think of. Other than that the only cons where with my play.
Other Thoughts: I wish I lived next door so I could play this course every day. It would make me a much better player. Don't get me wrong, it's tough as nails, but it's worth it. Deuces are out there but you have to work for them. I wouldn't go to this course to try and shoot a hot round, go if you want to get better. Great choice for a memorable 50th course to play.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

2-4    10/10/2012   10/14/2012
Review By: blowers04
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
-Good tee pads.
-Nice variety of holes.
-Pretty well marked holes.
-Multiple extra baskets for practicing.
Cons:
-Very hilly/rough.
-Difficult course when windy due to lots of elevation change.
-Signs at holes are starting to fade.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course. One of the best, if not the best in Kansas City. Very hilly, which is a plus or minus depending on your physical abilities. There is a good mixture of holes, allowing different play styles. Good views of down town.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Powerplantthom

1    8/27/2012   8/27/2012
Review By: powerplantthom
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Fun fun fun! Lots of trees yet very open. Up and down makes for fun shots. Nicely maintained!
Cons: Even though there are trash cans at every hole there was trash all over the place. I picked up a handful of cans, bottles, porn mags, wrappers or a combo of such at every hole. I noticed trash all over this city.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Good, but...

1    8/19/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: austinpetz
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 44.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2012
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation change.
Tons of Hyzer and Anhyzer lines.
Many wooded shots.
Good combination of long and short holes.
Benches on every hole.
Signs on every hole.
Very easy to follow.
Cons: Lots of elevation change.
Many wooded shots.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I liked this course. However, I don't think that I really loved it (maybe the hype was a bit too big for this course). It was fun because it had a ton of downhill and valley shots, and the scenery was beautiful throughout the course. It was, however, quite tough.

My thoughts are that this would be an amazing course for pro-level disc golfers that can really drive a 500 foot hole consistently, but the intermediate player might have a rough day.

I don't think I would recommend this course for intermediate players. If you don't live close to this course (and you're an intermediate player), you shouldn't go out to this course. I would recommend going to Swope or Rosedale. Those courses are just a bit easier to play than Water Works and would suit an intermediate player much better.

Let me make this perfectly clear: This is an amazing course; I'm the one that can't play it very well.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    8/4/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: todo_school
Played: 37  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: I love this course, it is where I learned to play. The elevation change makes this course very fun but also very demanding. A lot of open fairways with a good combination of tight tree lined fairways.
Cons: If you late/early release on a couple holes it is very easy to lose a disc and never see it again.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Wow

1    8/6/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: attik34
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent course. Super fun, very much a step above anything I could have expected. For me, the best thing about it was that it was challenging in a great way. Distance isn't huge on this course, so things feel attainable. Aside from a few exceptions, you aren't going to be losing a bunch of discs here either assuming you are willing to get off the beaten path if needed. Benches at each hole are very nice, considering both times I was there this weekend it was pretty packed, so waiting was a must, and having something to sit on was AWESOME.

As far as the layout goes, its very direct, easy to follow, and just simply right for alot of levels. I'm not good by any means, but I didn't feel overpowered by the course. If i made good shots, 3's werent hard, if i made bad ones, they were. That simple. Distance wise I tee'd off with a Buzz ALOT and didnt regret it very often. Alot of shot variation and some creatively done things that made me really appreciate being there.

The difficulty comes in the hills of the course for sure. One shot of mine comes to mind. I was putting from like...30-40 ish and missed long and soft. It hit a treeroot past the hole and kind of popped up on its side, I thought nothing of it. Picked up my bag and started walking up only to realize my disc was rolling at me, somehow. I was warned about this and its no joke, your disc can roll for ever, so be warned :).
Cons: The course is crowded from what I could tell, take that for what its worth. When you play at the best course in Missouri I'd expect it to be a little busy but maybe not everyone would :).

there were a few holes that had trash GUSHING from the trash cans which really took away from the well manicured everything else, but word on the streets is thats not a common thing.

also, its way to far from hannibal, MO
Other Thoughts: Loved the course, cant wait til life moves me back to KCMO so I can play this weekly :).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.