Kansas City, MO
Water Works Park Share
Uploaded By: Robert Scott Hole #1 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / 338ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 80
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Almost as good as KC's BBQ

1    7/11/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - True world caliber course with the local players to back it up
-Close to KC with nice skyline views.
- fantastic signage, teepads, benches, garbage cans on many holes, and all of that stuff
- WIDE range of uphill and downhill shots. Most of the course, actually, utilizes elevation in one way or another. Steep uphill require a strong arm; steep downhill drives require accuracy and discipline.
- Can be very challenging depending on tee placements. Each hole has 4 possible pin locations, and many holes require
- Favorite holes: 6 (a very long and tight tunnel shot with a well guarded basket) and 14 (an open bomb that sits dangerously close to the OB road--a nice change of pace for the course's general wooded and elevated holes.

The course itself just kind of looks majestic--kind of what one might envision a disc golf heaven to look like. Lush green rolling hills, beautiful trees, and the tees, signs, and everything else helps, too. This heavenly feeling is intensified by a drive across a steep ravine with views of Kansas City in the background. While I really enjoyed myself, I realized after awhile that this definitely isn't disc golf heaven (i.e. a 5 disc course). See cons below:
Cons: - Since there are 4 possible pin placements, a first-timer like myself had to do some scouting for every hole to see where the basket was. Not really a big issue for me, and I'm sure the locals know where each basket is.
- Would have liked to see some more wooded and technical holes that require really precise shots. Hole 6 is the only real example in the course.
- No super-duper long holes. Some were in the 400s, but a 600-800 foot hole or two would have been nice.
- It's called Water Works Park but there are no water hazards?
Other Thoughts: It's easy to see why this was the premiere course of last year's PDGA World Championships. While it may not be the best course on DGCR, it certainly is worthy of the presence of Climo, Jenkins, Doss, etc., and seeing everyone play would have been entertaining during the tourney. I know this is a good course, because I was having a blast despite braving the 99 degree temperatures and brutal humidity during my round. Bring your a-game and a nice diverse bag, because you're going to need it! Kansas City local disc golfers are lucky: Water Works Park AND Arthur Bryant's BBQ? I'd be in heaven.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Watter Works DGC

1    7/15/2011   7/15/2011
Review By: DiscGolfer947
Played: 23  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) hills, even though very tiering, are used very well
2) great signage
3) great tee pads
4) benches at every hole
5) easy to navigate, arrows on the pins pointing to next basket
6) has a good mix of holes, left, right, and straight.
7) some well protected pins
Cons: 1) doesn't give current pin placements
2) could not find pin 18
3) no really long holes, but it's not much a con due to the grueling hike up and down the hills
Other Thoughts: a very very nice course all around. played on my vist to KC to see my aunt and uncle. if im every in the area again i would surely play the course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Everything an NT course should be

1    7/11/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: Dirt4dinner
Played: 72  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: TOUGH! Tight tech shots, some wide open bombers, great signage, lots of benches, loops back to the parking lot mid-round, grassy and well maintained.
Cons: TOUGH! "don't get left" "don't get right"...was all I heard from my guides.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 KC Masterpiece

5+    12/4/2010   5/21/2011
Review By: KvnBchr
Played: 51  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.6 Years
2 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Great workout. The terrain is both scenic and abundant. I travel a lot and everytime I get to KC, I HAVE to play WaterWorks.
Other Thoughts: Drink a Gatorade, not a High Life, it will drag you down.

Lost: Discraft: Avenger, ESP, Rainbow colored.

2 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 New Favorite

1    5/21/2011   5/21/2011
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 75  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 5 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The first thing I heard as I approach the first tee at water works. Is a story of someone who fell playing and was bit by a snake. Needless to say, I was a bit worried starting. However, this course is now my favorite course I have ever played. The course has every conceivable type of shot. Left hand, right hand, uphill, downhill, short, long, tunnel shot, and open. The lengths are perfect and there was not one speck of litter when I was there. It is a very picturesque course.
Cons: The only real negative of this course was the mud. Being so close to the Missouri, it was muddy. It made driving tough on a couple of the pads that have accumulated mud, but this is likely a seasonal problem considering the rain the area has had. The biggest negative is that it had to end.
Other Thoughts: I encourage everyone to come here. There is some nasty woods that you can throw into, but it worked well into the course. Unlikely to lose discs, and very likely to be challenged. Wherever you are, go!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 By a Florida golfer

2-4    4/24/2011   4/24/2011
Review By: badams
Played: 56  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 23.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/25/2011
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Excellent array of shots needed.
great use of elevation
Risk reward came into play on lengthy puts!
beautiful scenery
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: I am florida golfer 95% of the time so it was a real treat to play this course that I have read and heard about for the past 20 years.
I got a taste of the risk/reward aspect of putting that applies here right off the bat by hitting the chains on a thirty foot birdie put on hole 1. It didn't stay in and came out and down the hill for a 75 foot third shot.This type of risk reward putting came into play on many holes and added an ingredient to the game I usually do not see in Florida. If you have not played here before, a second round is a must, I shot 57 the first round and 51 the second round. Your score can really be affected by your puts rolling away so it is very important to weigh the risk of going for the risky put.

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course!!

5+    8/10/2010   4/1/2011
Review By: ZNCram1
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: This a beautiful course with great elevation changes and views of downtown Kansas City.
There are not many hole that are teribly long or short and are all fairly challanging. Well maintained
Cons: Lack of bathrooms except for porta potty at 1st tee.

2 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 one of the best I have played

5+    10/10/2010   10/22/2010
Review By: buzzz killington
Played: 36  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: Elevation in the midwest!!!!!
Scenic
good for ams or pros
makes you throw every shot, anny, hyzer, straight, ect.
kansas city's best most beautiful course... one of the best in America!
don't have to be 500 off the tee to enjoy this course.
Cons: only 18 holes
Other Thoughts: in better neighborhood than blue valley or cliff drive....

2 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Wooded, hilly, challenge!

1    9/21/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6 Years
16 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: All concrete tee pads, plenty of length and great texture. Tee signs are nothing short of AWESOME, with full-color, framed, accurate maps of the hole, and multiple bag hooks. Baskets are Mach 3 and in great condition, with multiple hole locations on most holes. A color coded flag (matched to the tee sign) aid great in locating the pin position from the tee. One great thing that I noticed is that usually on a challenging course you have a lot of blind holes. That is not the case here, but that took nothing away from the experience at all. Every hole also has at least one bench if I recall correctly.

Parking is available right at the first hole, but not a lot. If the park is busy you might have to park a little further away and walk. Port-o-john available at the first tee. Map on kiosk at first tee is very helpful, and noted that holes 2 and 3 were currently OOP due to construction, but told how to play the two alternates to make a full 18.

This course had to be designed by a DG'er for DG'ers. Course layout is superb. The park has lots of elevation change and the course makes great use of that, as well as drop-off threats, tunnel shots, multiple uphills, peninsula shots, etc. There is nothing better than playing a course that has such balance and challenge.

My memorable holes:
1 - It's not often that right off the bat you have a great hole. The terrain drops down significantly right after the tee, then the basket on the hill sloping up from left to right, just lower than the tee. This looked fairly straightforward, but when you actually walk the hole, the hill looks completely different, might be better to walk this one the first time.
5 - Not too long of a hole, but the basket is protected by low trees, and if you try to go high and hyzer out, you could go down the STEEP hill covered with trees and mud.
7 - Uphill and off to the left. Cross the small ravine and back up a small rise, trees protecting on all sides, tough to drive!
13 - Basket is a good amount higher than the tee, and you have to throw over a dip in the land then uphill. Can't get a good hyzer angle due to trees on the right, very tough shot.
14 - The peninsula shot. Long and straight, and drops off left onto 17's fairway, so you have to keep it pretty straight, as well as long.
15 - Throw from the open into a stand of trees, and the basket was up a hill on the right protected by a LOT of trees. You could go big hyzer way left and drop in on the basket, but this is not advised as you would be crossing 14's fairway. There is no mando preventing this, but I would not recommend it. I felt lucky to take a 5 on this one..
Cons: Not much. I would definitely suggest adding some "next tee" signs on the basket. I know this can be difficult with multiple pin positions, but you could do like Rankin Lake Park in Shelby, NC. They have multiple arrows on the bottom of the pin that, depending on what position the basket is located, point the correct way to the next tee.

The only other cons I can think of are:
-Not much parking close to the first tee.
-No formal restrooms or water fountains that I saw.
-Sometimes you play close to a road and have to watch for cars
-There is not much variance in length, great variety of type, but most are around 300.
Other Thoughts: My rating of a 4 shows the great challenge and fun that this course provides. I love wooded technical holes as well as more open city-park-style holes. This course delivers that and then some. It does fall a little short in that there are not a lot of holes much over 300 feet, the hole lengths on here lists only 4 holes more than 325 feet, and most of the other 14 are less than 300.

If you are somewhat out of shape like I am, this course will give you one heck of a workout. It is almost all hilly, and some climbs are a little steep and sustained, many holes play uphill.

If you are in KC, this is a definite must play. With the exception of my being winded by the terrain, this is the most fun I've had on a DG course in LONG time.

16 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 best course around

5+    9/18/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: PuttsMcGee
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: this course provides a great variety of shots. i've played it with baskets in several different locations and its always a challenge, no matter what. there are only a couple of long holes for higher level players, so you'll need to use more mids and control drivers than anything else. i throw a buzzz on about 7 of the holes, just to give you an idea, but they are VERY technical holes. errant throws are usually punished and good throws rewarded. there are some very scenic looks throughout the course, so its visually appealing too. benches on every hole. water fountain and spigot on hole #1. porta-potty near hole #1 too. plenty of parking. park is for disc golf only, so very few pedestrians to watch for.
Cons: i will occasionally have a roll-away with a missed putt, because of the hills. really, i should just learn to make putts. sometimes the course gets muddy, but not often.
Other Thoughts: restating.... bring good shoes and plenty of water. the hills can be daunting and if the course is very wet there are some risks of slipping. still, this course is epic. take note, course designers.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.