Kansas City, MO 
Water Works Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #8 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Looking back down the hill from Hole #8's long pin position. Tee is at top of the next hill.

Reviews: 87
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

5+    4/9/2012   4/9/2012
Review By: xcrunner134life
Played: 75  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Multiply Pins (3-4 per hole)
Signs at each tee box that list the possible pins (with maps and distances)
Markers on the posts to point you to the next tee box.
benches at every hole
posts to hang your bag at every hole
Beautiful course!!!
Cons: Bring water! It's a hike! (this isn't a con, but it might be a reason not to play.)
The course could use some new baskets. Something that's easy to see from the tees if you've never played there.
Maps at the tee signs are starting to fade from the sun, but at this point I'm just trying to think of things that would make this course even better.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. It is my favorite on all time. If I could only play one course the rest of my life, this would be it. It has distance and elevation. It is difficult. I play this course every time I come home to see the parents.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    12/29/2011   2/13/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 446  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 12.3 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large park that has lots of hills and a good amount of trees. There are a few spots near some other park equipment, but there shouldn't be any interference.
- Best feature of this course are the big hills around every corner. The first hole takes the cake with a big downhill shot to a sloping fairway, big punishment if the disc hyzers/flips left down the hill. #2 is a big uphill with a blind basket placement, it takes a big arm to get over the hump here. Numerous other holes have slopes to some degree, like the ups on #7, #13, and #18. A good downhill on #16, and some gentler ones on #14 and #3. Lots of slopes by baskets because of the terrain as well.
- Pretty good mix of open and wooded holes, or at least holes with a good amount of trees in the fairway. The more wooded areas are in the front, with some forgiving "tunnel" shots from #3 to #7, with #7 being pretty darn low, uphill no less. Other holes have numerous trees to contend with, like #9, #10, and #18. There are plenty of lines available, but plenty of ways to get caught up also.
- Some holes here have some interesting lines, like the tight uphill on #7, and a decent tunnel on #6. Other holes have some serious punishment for inaccurate shots; going too far left on #3 through #5 can be death, serious death. Two levels of hills to contend with, with nasty woods. Fairly warned be thee, says I. Some other spots are by the park road, for some OB challenge.
- Great teepads, signs, and baskets. Navigation is pretty easy, shouldn't be an issue. Lots of various pin positions as well, which can change the course up in a big way, distance-wise.
Cons: - A lot of the holes here are pretty wide open, with only a few trees to worry about. That includes #1, #2, #14, probably #16, and #17. At worst, it's a pretty clear RHBH hyzer route on these. The elevation changes help to keep things interesting, but it really comes down to how far the pin is more than anything else.
Other Thoughts: - Well, that's it for the cons! Fun factor at this course is off the charts, thanks to the big sloping hills, and variety in woods and trees. As an older course, though, the difficulty factor isn't that high, distance will usually trump accuracy from start to finish. People who don't have big enough arms will be playing a lot of par 3 golf, and dealing with some wide open upshots. Others with enough distance might find a lot of routine shots without much challenge.
- Still, a fantastic course that is a blast to play. True beginners might want to watch out for some of the nasty punishment, and more advanced players will be able to tear the course up, but that's okay. Well worth it.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.


2-4    1/17/2012   1/17/2012
Review By: astomps
Played: 58  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2012
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Tee pads are very long
-Signs are full color, list distances and pin locations
-Very nice City Park course
-Tons of elevation changes
-Benches and trash cans at every hole
-Great scenic view of KC and River
-Not many disc eating spots
-Great Local club backing the course and maintaining it
-DG only park for the most part
-Front 9 varies greatly from back 9
-Paths are well worn in woods; makes for easy disc finding and retrieval
-Rocks put up on cliff sides to prevent rolling
-nice man made steps
Cons: -Some tees are somewhat in other hole's fairways
-Road traffic through course
Other Thoughts: Definitely not for the faint of knees. Plays on State Park caliber hills. Good but not World Class.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Water Works is a gem

5+    10/18/2011   12/6/2011
Review By: mindoveryou
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Well designed course with thoughtful use of elevation and natural elements to provide unique challenges throughout the course. Every hole is memorable. Great course for pros; tough on beginners. The views of the city are worth the visit by themselves.
Cons: Rains will make the lower portions of the course, and the bottom of every hill, a mess. Errant throws will get the "waterworks roll" and likely end up on another hole and cost you a 1 throw or more.
Other Thoughts: If youre in Kansas CIty, and only play one course, this should be it. If #1 is busy, start on #11 or #12 just across the parking lot. Water is at the pump on teepad #1.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 That's the good stuff.

1    11/25/2011   11/27/2011
Review By: stubborn puppet
Played: 48  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 4.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: .
> Scenic, clean and well maintained.
> Fantastic place for a DG course and you couldn't ask for better topography.
> Clever and thoughtful hole layout and pin placements.
> Pretty decent tee signs with a good view of the fairway and all possible placements.
> Big, level, clean concrete tees.
> Navigation was made easier by a neat little yellow pointer at the base of each basket.
> Multiple pin positions obviously provide excellent shot variety.
> Many holes had the opportunity for multiple approach paths right from the tee.
> Good combination of distance shots and technicals.
> The course is not too long and not too short... ahh, just right!
> Good benches at all tees.
> Trash cans at every tee.
Cons: .
> Plenty of opportunity for multiple tees to be implemented.
> The baskets could really use some paint as they are hard to see.
> Tee signs need something to tell you what position the basket is in as many are hidden or protected.
> Trash cans were bursting at the rims (but park was mostly clean)
> A couple of holes really should have had Mando trees or O.B. marked, because there were many tempting shots that took discs into play areas or onto roadways.
> The homeless disc golf coach... please get your own discs and leave us alone.
> Needs a little more parking for sure.
Other Thoughts: .
I've rarely been so entirely satisfied by a disc golf course. Almost everything I'd ever want was here in some way and I'm pretty sure I pulled out every disc in my bag at some point (I carry 13). I don't know if it's a norm at Water Works Park, but it was windy and the wind was totally unpredictable - probably due to the wild topography. It made me wish I had a mulligan for every hole, because no matter what you thought the wind was doing, that's only what it was doing at the tee. After the disc travelled over the first hill/valley/treeline, a differnt current would make it do something unpredictable... and away goes your disc on an adventure through the rolling hills.

This is an athletic course to walk, so be prepared... which makes me think the course could use a few steps in places where the hill to the next tee was too steep to traverse, especially with the fall leaves on the ground.

I can't wait until my next visit here to see how it goes.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Home Sweet Home

5+    9/16/2011   9/16/2011
Played: 59  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: IMO This course has a good mix of everything you want in Disc Golf.. Huge elevation changes, tight woods, huge rips, and some holes you can get your accuracy on, with tough basket placements..
There are 2 practice baskets where you can warm up with friends, or get the jump on others while waiting for your crew to join up. Benches, trash cans, and concrete T pads at every hole.
The course is pretty easy to navigate with pointers towards the next T at the bottom of every basket.
I think most every Disc Golfer at any level will find things that challenge them, or feel doable at this course. Definitely check it out if your in the KC area
Cons: If your not in good shape you may feel it at this course, lots of uphill and downhill hiking.. Although this can be a good thing if your looking to get in shape or use it against your opponents.. Just thought I would mention it if you had a health issue..
Sometimes there is lots of traffic running up and down the road in their cars, not sure what their doing but some seem a little freakish. They seem to ignore you when you step out with your DG bag just so they know what team your playing for, if you get my drift...
Other Thoughts: I'm sorta new at DG, I have been playing Frisbee with my dogs for years. Took up DG to advance my distance skills, and throws for Disc Dog Competitions.. I consider this my home course and after 2 months of playing twice a week here they had new basket placements today which made for a great challenge for me today, I was getting comfortable with the last ones.. Course was mowed, limbs are getting picked up better after every mowing since the storms a couple of months ago... Go play have fun !!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 my first

5+    8/17/2011   8/18/2011
Review By: JohnnyD
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2011
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: really dont have much experience to compare courses. i love getting out there and traversing the hills and undulations. great work out here. easy to navigate. from the other reviews ive read i may have been spoiled eary in my dg hobby undertaking.
Cons: really wish there was some par 4s or 5s. seems to me that some par 3s are long enough to be par 4s. however this would make them easy in relation to par.
Other Thoughts: sure enough, i have played a couple of others since posting first review. changed my rating from a four and a half to a five.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Almost as good as KC's BBQ

1    7/11/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - True world caliber course with the local players to back it up
-Close to KC with nice skyline views.
- fantastic signage, teepads, benches, garbage cans on many holes, and all of that stuff
- WIDE range of uphill and downhill shots. Most of the course, actually, utilizes elevation in one way or another. Steep uphill require a strong arm; steep downhill drives require accuracy and discipline.
- Can be very challenging depending on tee placements. Each hole has 4 possible pin locations, and many holes require
- Favorite holes: 6 (a very long and tight tunnel shot with a well guarded basket) and 14 (an open bomb that sits dangerously close to the OB road--a nice change of pace for the course's general wooded and elevated holes.

The course itself just kind of looks majestic--kind of what one might envision a disc golf heaven to look like. Lush green rolling hills, beautiful trees, and the tees, signs, and everything else helps, too. This heavenly feeling is intensified by a drive across a steep ravine with views of Kansas City in the background. While I really enjoyed myself, I realized after awhile that this definitely isn't disc golf heaven (i.e. a 5 disc course). See cons below:
Cons: - Since there are 4 possible pin placements, a first-timer like myself had to do some scouting for every hole to see where the basket was. Not really a big issue for me, and I'm sure the locals know where each basket is.
- Would have liked to see some more wooded and technical holes that require really precise shots. Hole 6 is the only real example in the course.
- No super-duper long holes. Some were in the 400s, but a 600-800 foot hole or two would have been nice.
- It's called Water Works Park but there are no water hazards?
Other Thoughts: It's easy to see why this was the premiere course of last year's PDGA World Championships. While it may not be the best course on DGCR, it certainly is worthy of the presence of Climo, Jenkins, Doss, etc., and seeing everyone play would have been entertaining during the tourney. I know this is a good course, because I was having a blast despite braving the 99 degree temperatures and brutal humidity during my round. Bring your a-game and a nice diverse bag, because you're going to need it! Kansas City local disc golfers are lucky: Water Works Park AND Arthur Bryant's BBQ? I'd be in heaven.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Watter Works DGC

1    7/15/2011   7/15/2011
Review By: DiscGolfer947
Played: 37  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) hills, even though very tiering, are used very well
2) great signage
3) great tee pads
4) benches at every hole
5) easy to navigate, arrows on the pins pointing to next basket
6) has a good mix of holes, left, right, and straight.
7) some well protected pins
Cons: 1) doesn't give current pin placements
2) could not find pin 18
3) no really long holes, but it's not much a con due to the grueling hike up and down the hills
Other Thoughts: a very very nice course all around. played on my vist to KC to see my aunt and uncle. if im every in the area again i would surely play the course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Everything an NT course should be

1    7/11/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: Dirt4dinner
Played: 72  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.9 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: TOUGH! Tight tech shots, some wide open bombers, great signage, lots of benches, loops back to the parking lot mid-round, grassy and well maintained.
Cons: TOUGH! "don't get left" "don't get right"...was all I heard from my guides.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.