Kansas City, MO
Water Works Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #14 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 397ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 80
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 One of Midwests finest.

1    9/16/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: Daffron24
Played: 147  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: An amazing course on the outskirts of Kansas City. This world class course offers a great challenge to all who play. This course flows through rolling hills and wooded terrain allowing for a complex and challenging course that allows every level player have a challenge. The teepads are concrete with newer tee signs that show exactly where to shoot and where the pin position is. The course is maintained very well, although there is some construction going on and holes 2,3 to be closed off. Each hole offers a bench and a trashcan which is nice to take a rest after walking through this hilly course or waiting for the group in front of you.
Water works offers a great use of elevation shooting up and down hills as well as trees throughout the course which adds to the difficulty. The overall difficulty of the course is 4.5/5. There are any specific holes that one would deem epic, but each hole is very fun. Most holes are around 300 feet which doesn't give the opportunity of the big throwers to really air it out, but the technical aspect of the course makes up for that. This course which test all of the shots in your book as well as allow you to go for the risk/reward shot.
There is parking and a porter potty at hole 1. The course wasn't too crowded in the middle of the week. The locals that we met were very friendly and helpful of what to expect from the course.
Cons: One of the cons for me was that 2 and 3 wasn't there, but that will be fixed soon. Also there were a few holes with garbage and graffiti which took away from the experience. As for the actually layout and difficulty of the course I maybe would have liked to see more open holes.
Other Thoughts: This beautiful course offers views of downtown KC. Waterworks is a top-tier course that offers a great challenge for everyone. Good shot variety as well as a great variety of shots required. One of the midwests best courses in terms of difficulty, fun, and overall. If you are in the KC area play this course and enjoy some KC BBQit's amazing.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Best in KC!

2-4    8/18/2010   8/22/2010
Review By: crimsonsation
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is great. There is a ton of elevation change and you will definitely get a workout on this course. Hole 1 sets the stage for this course, you have to throw from the top of one hill to the top of another hill or even over it. There are a couple of open holes on this course, but most require a nice controlled shot. There are around 3 hole locations on each hole too so this course can definitely bring some nice variety. This was the first course I had played where there was a tunnel shot and I definitely like those now. The tee signs are nice. All around, this is a nice course. Very well kept. A lot of people play it so you can meet some nice people.
Cons: This is not exactly a beginner friendly course, but definitely an exciting course for beginners to come to and watch. There has been some construction going on as well which has eliminated the original holes 2 and 3. They have temporary holes up on number 8 and 12, but they aren't marked very well. The terrain at this course can be pretty rough. I twisted my ankle walking down the huge hill at 8 when I stepped in a small hole, but if you take it carefully, you should be fine.
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely the best course in the KC area. If you have a chance to play it, don't think twice, just go. You won't be disappointed.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Best use of elevation

5+    8/10/2010   8/13/2010
Review By: jayhawker737
Played: 46  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2012
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation.
Trees are present, but only in the way if you have a bad shot.
Great views of Downtown KC.
Multiple pins that are moved frequently.
A good place to play with a good group of people.
Cons: Watch out for roll-aways. You must keep your disc flat.
Other Thoughts: The use of elevation here is awesome.
Be careful if you go off to the side as it might have rolled all the way down to the water plant!!
This course is amazing and is in my top 5.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Water Works...

2-4    8/4/2010   8/5/2010
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/24/2011
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located in an extremely hilly park in the northern part of Kansas City. The park is the most beautiful park I've ever seen. The course utilizes the hills like no other course I've been to. There's every kind of shot here. Downhill, Uphill, even over a valley to another hill. Somehow they even got a couple flat holes here! There's straight shots, dogleg left, dogleg right, everything you can imagine and more! Most of the holes were very wooded, but there were still a few open holes (14, 11). Most of the holes are between 200 and 400 ft., but all the elevation changes make up for that. Concrete Tee pads were big and perfectly flat. Signs were very detailed and accurate, clearly showing all O.B. and where the pin is. Trash Cans are at most tees, and benches are at every tee. Most tees even had two benches. (hole 7 had a bench on top of a bench!) The posts the tee signs were on had bag holders, which I've only seen at one other course. The grass was cut the trees weren't overgrown and the course was maintained well in every way! Hole 10's basket was near the parking lot, so you can stop if you're to tired. 18 also ended near the parking lot. There was plenty of parking, and there was a practice basket in the island where the parking was. (there was also a putting game printed on the basket sign) Hole 14 had a nice view of the Kansas City downtown area. Everyone in the course was nice. So even if you have to wait, you're talking with really nice people. I've been here twice, and the pin positions were changed around. It looks like they change them regularly.
Cons: Cons? No water hazards, but the hills make up for that. No bathrooms. Ummm...that's it.
Other Thoughts: I was able to play 2 and 3 while I was there, but the fairways were covered in hay. You might have to wait to throw, but the people around you make it an enjoyable experience. It would be nice if you could somehow see which pin position was in play, but usually they're visible from the hole.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Good course but not the best for beginners

1    7/4/2010   7/31/2010
Review By: c0ntagion
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 20 Not
Pros: 18 holes, concrete tee pads, well marked course, utilizes several different shots.
Cons: Located in a very wooded area, it's easy to throw your disc off the fairway and into the woods and trees. This is a hard course for beginners.
Other Thoughts: You'll also get a workout trekking through here, as you will have to navigate up and down hills. I enjoyed this course overall, and I look forward to playing it again in the future once I've improved my technique.

1 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 5-star quality

1    6/4/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: progolfer33
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.8 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I can't believe I'm one of a few people to give this course a 5-star rating recently. I have played many beautiful mountain courses in Colorado (Including Beaver Ranch), and Water Works Park blew them all away.

The best thing about this course is the hilly terrain. Hole number 1 is an immaculate downhill shot that sets the tone for the rest of the round. The hills and varying distances create a nice mixture of required shots for the round. I'm pretty sure that in the whole round, I did not have the same shot twice. If someone wants to shoot well here, they must have a mastery of nearly every shot in the game; no specific type of throwing is favored here. Finally, the course is really well maintained. Every hole has a nice yardage sign with bag hooks and a bench.
Cons: The current construction has put a damper on the course. I did not lower my rating for this because the course has no control over this. Even with the construction, it is still the best course I've played.
Other Thoughts: The hilly terrain could also mean a tough hike for some folks. Bring good shoes and plenty of water. The shade is nice to keep away the heat, but it was still real hot when I played.

I would recommend this course to anyone and everyone. Many of the shots are tough, but there is enough scenery and enough easier holes to keep everyone happy.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Play This Course!

2-4    6/25/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: Jason Daves
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 20.1 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Lots of different types of shots. Tunnel shots, elevation changes. Wonderful course. There are several courses in the Kansas City area, don't miss this one.
Cons: Some missing baskets were a little bit of a drag, but alternates had been set up.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Arguably a top 5 course

5+    11/26/2009   7/12/2010
Review By: DrRyan
Played: 66  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is THE course many people will talk about in the Kansas City area. I would have a hard time putting any of the others in the area above it. Many people will consider this a top 5 course period. The elevation change, variety of shots required and scoring variance on most every hole are what make this such a great course. Hole 1 in the long position is one of my favorite DG holes on any course. When stretched long this course has some serious teeth and will punish errant shots while good shots will be rewarded. Hole 6 long is also a signature two shot hole that I have witnessed a deuce a couple of times on. The view back downtown over the river on hole 14 is an excellent back drop as well.
Cons: Being that there is so much elevation change battling erosion is one of the only things I can find for the "con" side of the coin.
Other Thoughts: If you are within a short day trip to this course, you must make the trip to play it. Do not miss playing this course if you are in the area. When stretched long this course has some serious teeth and will punish errant shots while good shots will be rewarded

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course!

1    7/12/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: bschmidt006
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) TONS of elevation change! I just played YMCA of the Rockies last week and this course has the elevation change I was expecting (and didn't find) there!
2) Very beautiful park, huge trees to provide shade on most holes.
3) Good signage, except for the construction the only place I got lost from 5-6, which is actually pretty well marked, I'm just blind!
4) Good variety of shots, all the other reviews are spot on, you'll need a good selection of shots on this course!
5) This is a disc golf "course", and not a park, there aren't any sidewalks/pavilions/park benches... etc to attract other people to fairways.
Cons: 1) One reviewer said bring your good shoes, I'd say bring shoes you don't mind getting muddy! It looks like this place can get and stay pretty wet due to shade.
2) There isn't any real danger of losing your disc on this course, I guess that's also a pro, but there aren't any shots that really have to be perfect.
3) Could use a few longer holes. I'm no long-arm by any means, but were only 2 or 3 holes I really needed to rip it on. This could have just been due to pin placement when I played though.
Other Thoughts: Be ready to use your legs! This is MUCH more than a casual course! I'd put this in the top 3 courses I've played so far! If you have a long-arm, be ready to work on your short game (200-300ft).

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fabulous course

1    6/28/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: FriedOkra
Played: 118  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Easily my favorite course played to date. Almost every hole was different than any other on the course. Up hills, down hills, doglegs, tunnel shots, long shots, short shots. A ton of fun.
Cons: The construction lowered my rating this time. It would have been at least a 4 otherwise.
Other Thoughts: I planned on playing this course on a Thursday evening as I drove from the Lake of the Ozarks. On arriving at the park at 6:30 p.m. I counted 26 people standing in line at hole 1. May have been league night. I played this on my return trip at 11 a.m. on Monday morning and only had to wait for two groups to tee off. I'd play this course over and over again. The construction will be over soon.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.