Kansas City, MO 
Water Works Park Share
Uploaded By: Greg Layton Hole #2
3 / 378ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 83
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 one of the best I have played

5+    10/10/2010   10/22/2010
Review By: buzzz killington
Played: 36  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: Elevation in the midwest!!!!!
Scenic
good for ams or pros
makes you throw every shot, anny, hyzer, straight, ect.
kansas city's best most beautiful course... one of the best in America!
don't have to be 500 off the tee to enjoy this course.
Cons: only 18 holes
Other Thoughts: in better neighborhood than blue valley or cliff drive....

2 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Wooded, hilly, challenge!

1    9/21/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.7 Years
16 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: All concrete tee pads, plenty of length and great texture. Tee signs are nothing short of AWESOME, with full-color, framed, accurate maps of the hole, and multiple bag hooks. Baskets are Mach 3 and in great condition, with multiple hole locations on most holes. A color coded flag (matched to the tee sign) aid great in locating the pin position from the tee. One great thing that I noticed is that usually on a challenging course you have a lot of blind holes. That is not the case here, but that took nothing away from the experience at all. Every hole also has at least one bench if I recall correctly.

Parking is available right at the first hole, but not a lot. If the park is busy you might have to park a little further away and walk. Port-o-john available at the first tee. Map on kiosk at first tee is very helpful, and noted that holes 2 and 3 were currently OOP due to construction, but told how to play the two alternates to make a full 18.

This course had to be designed by a DG'er for DG'ers. Course layout is superb. The park has lots of elevation change and the course makes great use of that, as well as drop-off threats, tunnel shots, multiple uphills, peninsula shots, etc. There is nothing better than playing a course that has such balance and challenge.

My memorable holes:
1 - It's not often that right off the bat you have a great hole. The terrain drops down significantly right after the tee, then the basket on the hill sloping up from left to right, just lower than the tee. This looked fairly straightforward, but when you actually walk the hole, the hill looks completely different, might be better to walk this one the first time.
5 - Not too long of a hole, but the basket is protected by low trees, and if you try to go high and hyzer out, you could go down the STEEP hill covered with trees and mud.
7 - Uphill and off to the left. Cross the small ravine and back up a small rise, trees protecting on all sides, tough to drive!
13 - Basket is a good amount higher than the tee, and you have to throw over a dip in the land then uphill. Can't get a good hyzer angle due to trees on the right, very tough shot.
14 - The peninsula shot. Long and straight, and drops off left onto 17's fairway, so you have to keep it pretty straight, as well as long.
15 - Throw from the open into a stand of trees, and the basket was up a hill on the right protected by a LOT of trees. You could go big hyzer way left and drop in on the basket, but this is not advised as you would be crossing 14's fairway. There is no mando preventing this, but I would not recommend it. I felt lucky to take a 5 on this one..
Cons: Not much. I would definitely suggest adding some "next tee" signs on the basket. I know this can be difficult with multiple pin positions, but you could do like Rankin Lake Park in Shelby, NC. They have multiple arrows on the bottom of the pin that, depending on what position the basket is located, point the correct way to the next tee.

The only other cons I can think of are:
-Not much parking close to the first tee.
-No formal restrooms or water fountains that I saw.
-Sometimes you play close to a road and have to watch for cars
-There is not much variance in length, great variety of type, but most are around 300.
Other Thoughts: My rating of a 4 shows the great challenge and fun that this course provides. I love wooded technical holes as well as more open city-park-style holes. This course delivers that and then some. It does fall a little short in that there are not a lot of holes much over 300 feet, the hole lengths on here lists only 4 holes more than 325 feet, and most of the other 14 are less than 300.

If you are somewhat out of shape like I am, this course will give you one heck of a workout. It is almost all hilly, and some climbs are a little steep and sustained, many holes play uphill.

If you are in KC, this is a definite must play. With the exception of my being winded by the terrain, this is the most fun I've had on a DG course in LONG time.

16 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 best course around

5+    9/18/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: PuttsMcGee
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: this course provides a great variety of shots. i've played it with baskets in several different locations and its always a challenge, no matter what. there are only a couple of long holes for higher level players, so you'll need to use more mids and control drivers than anything else. i throw a buzzz on about 7 of the holes, just to give you an idea, but they are VERY technical holes. errant throws are usually punished and good throws rewarded. there are some very scenic looks throughout the course, so its visually appealing too. benches on every hole. water fountain and spigot on hole #1. porta-potty near hole #1 too. plenty of parking. park is for disc golf only, so very few pedestrians to watch for.
Cons: i will occasionally have a roll-away with a missed putt, because of the hills. really, i should just learn to make putts. sometimes the course gets muddy, but not often.
Other Thoughts: restating.... bring good shoes and plenty of water. the hills can be daunting and if the course is very wet there are some risks of slipping. still, this course is epic. take note, course designers.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of Midwests finest.

1    9/16/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: Daffron24
Played: 153  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: An amazing course on the outskirts of Kansas City. This world class course offers a great challenge to all who play. This course flows through rolling hills and wooded terrain allowing for a complex and challenging course that allows every level player have a challenge. The teepads are concrete with newer tee signs that show exactly where to shoot and where the pin position is. The course is maintained very well, although there is some construction going on and holes 2,3 to be closed off. Each hole offers a bench and a trashcan which is nice to take a rest after walking through this hilly course or waiting for the group in front of you.
Water works offers a great use of elevation shooting up and down hills as well as trees throughout the course which adds to the difficulty. The overall difficulty of the course is 4.5/5. There are any specific holes that one would deem epic, but each hole is very fun. Most holes are around 300 feet which doesn't give the opportunity of the big throwers to really air it out, but the technical aspect of the course makes up for that. This course which test all of the shots in your book as well as allow you to go for the risk/reward shot.
There is parking and a porter potty at hole 1. The course wasn't too crowded in the middle of the week. The locals that we met were very friendly and helpful of what to expect from the course.
Cons: One of the cons for me was that 2 and 3 wasn't there, but that will be fixed soon. Also there were a few holes with garbage and graffiti which took away from the experience. As for the actually layout and difficulty of the course I maybe would have liked to see more open holes.
Other Thoughts: This beautiful course offers views of downtown KC. Waterworks is a top-tier course that offers a great challenge for everyone. Good shot variety as well as a great variety of shots required. One of the midwests best courses in terms of difficulty, fun, and overall. If you are in the KC area play this course and enjoy some KC BBQit's amazing.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Best in KC!

2-4    8/18/2010   8/22/2010
Review By: crimsonsation
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is great. There is a ton of elevation change and you will definitely get a workout on this course. Hole 1 sets the stage for this course, you have to throw from the top of one hill to the top of another hill or even over it. There are a couple of open holes on this course, but most require a nice controlled shot. There are around 3 hole locations on each hole too so this course can definitely bring some nice variety. This was the first course I had played where there was a tunnel shot and I definitely like those now. The tee signs are nice. All around, this is a nice course. Very well kept. A lot of people play it so you can meet some nice people.
Cons: This is not exactly a beginner friendly course, but definitely an exciting course for beginners to come to and watch. There has been some construction going on as well which has eliminated the original holes 2 and 3. They have temporary holes up on number 8 and 12, but they aren't marked very well. The terrain at this course can be pretty rough. I twisted my ankle walking down the huge hill at 8 when I stepped in a small hole, but if you take it carefully, you should be fine.
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely the best course in the KC area. If you have a chance to play it, don't think twice, just go. You won't be disappointed.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best use of elevation

5+    8/10/2010   8/13/2010
Review By: jayhawker737
Played: 48  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2012
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation.
Trees are present, but only in the way if you have a bad shot.
Great views of Downtown KC.
Multiple pins that are moved frequently.
A good place to play with a good group of people.
Cons: Watch out for roll-aways. You must keep your disc flat.
Other Thoughts: The use of elevation here is awesome.
Be careful if you go off to the side as it might have rolled all the way down to the water plant!!
This course is amazing and is in my top 5.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Water Works...

2-4    8/4/2010   8/5/2010
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/24/2011
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located in an extremely hilly park in the northern part of Kansas City. The park is the most beautiful park I've ever seen. The course utilizes the hills like no other course I've been to. There's every kind of shot here. Downhill, Uphill, even over a valley to another hill. Somehow they even got a couple flat holes here! There's straight shots, dogleg left, dogleg right, everything you can imagine and more! Most of the holes were very wooded, but there were still a few open holes (14, 11). Most of the holes are between 200 and 400 ft., but all the elevation changes make up for that. Concrete Tee pads were big and perfectly flat. Signs were very detailed and accurate, clearly showing all O.B. and where the pin is. Trash Cans are at most tees, and benches are at every tee. Most tees even had two benches. (hole 7 had a bench on top of a bench!) The posts the tee signs were on had bag holders, which I've only seen at one other course. The grass was cut the trees weren't overgrown and the course was maintained well in every way! Hole 10's basket was near the parking lot, so you can stop if you're to tired. 18 also ended near the parking lot. There was plenty of parking, and there was a practice basket in the island where the parking was. (there was also a putting game printed on the basket sign) Hole 14 had a nice view of the Kansas City downtown area. Everyone in the course was nice. So even if you have to wait, you're talking with really nice people. I've been here twice, and the pin positions were changed around. It looks like they change them regularly.
Cons: Cons? No water hazards, but the hills make up for that. No bathrooms. Ummm...that's it.
Other Thoughts: I was able to play 2 and 3 while I was there, but the fairways were covered in hay. You might have to wait to throw, but the people around you make it an enjoyable experience. It would be nice if you could somehow see which pin position was in play, but usually they're visible from the hole.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Good course but not the best for beginners

1    7/4/2010   7/31/2010
Review By: c0ntagion
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 20 Not
Pros: 18 holes, concrete tee pads, well marked course, utilizes several different shots.
Cons: Located in a very wooded area, it's easy to throw your disc off the fairway and into the woods and trees. This is a hard course for beginners.
Other Thoughts: You'll also get a workout trekking through here, as you will have to navigate up and down hills. I enjoyed this course overall, and I look forward to playing it again in the future once I've improved my technique.

1 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 5-star quality

1    6/4/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: progolfer33
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I can't believe I'm one of a few people to give this course a 5-star rating recently. I have played many beautiful mountain courses in Colorado (Including Beaver Ranch), and Water Works Park blew them all away.

The best thing about this course is the hilly terrain. Hole number 1 is an immaculate downhill shot that sets the tone for the rest of the round. The hills and varying distances create a nice mixture of required shots for the round. I'm pretty sure that in the whole round, I did not have the same shot twice. If someone wants to shoot well here, they must have a mastery of nearly every shot in the game; no specific type of throwing is favored here. Finally, the course is really well maintained. Every hole has a nice yardage sign with bag hooks and a bench.
Cons: The current construction has put a damper on the course. I did not lower my rating for this because the course has no control over this. Even with the construction, it is still the best course I've played.
Other Thoughts: The hilly terrain could also mean a tough hike for some folks. Bring good shoes and plenty of water. The shade is nice to keep away the heat, but it was still real hot when I played.

I would recommend this course to anyone and everyone. Many of the shots are tough, but there is enough scenery and enough easier holes to keep everyone happy.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Play This Course!

2-4    6/25/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: Jason Daves
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 20.7 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Lots of different types of shots. Tunnel shots, elevation changes. Wonderful course. There are several courses in the Kansas City area, don't miss this one.
Cons: Some missing baskets were a little bit of a drag, but alternates had been set up.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.