Kansas City, MO 
Water Works Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #8 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Looking back down the hill from Hole #8's long pin position. Tee is at top of the next hill.

Reviews: 87
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Great Course

1    5/15/2010   5/15/2010
Review By: Justsendit
Played: 43  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course, excellent use of elevation. Great placements, and beautiul lines. Alot of birdies out there and easy to navigate. Great risk reward shots and beautiful land. I can easily see why this course is rated so high and also why alot of folks consider the best in KC. The league was a bunch of awesome guys and the night I went 1 awesome woman. The winning round was -10 and that is a great score at anywyhere and very hard to hold on to at this course.
Cons: Getting "water worked" legendarily vicious tournament rolls. Didn't happen to me but I saw a few really nasty ones (90t+) in the few rounds I played there.
Other Thoughts: This is my second favorited course in KC so far, with WYCO, Cliff drive, Blue Valley and swope under my belt this time around (and subsequently nearly no family visited ;)
A must play in the KC area.
The course in currently under construction and there are two permanent placements that are gone but are replaced two challenging temp holes.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Mouth Watering Scrum-deli-icious

1    3/25/2010   4/4/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 223  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 28.7 Years
19 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is one of the best courses I have played. This place has tunnel shots, risk/ reward, elevation, wide-open, moderate woods, OB, great pin placements, and beautiful scenery. Actually this place has just about everything except water. It is called Water Works, because of the water treatment plant just down the slope from the park. The view of the city from this park is very nice. The old trees immediately give you the feel that you are playing some place special. The big rolling hills are a real elevation enjoyment.

There are no filler holes here; I enjoyed every hole. The multiple pin placements are great. I had a great local guide, Fred Smith, play with me and show me all the pin placements that we did not get to play. They were just as good as the ones we did play. I just want to mention a few of the highlights that stuck in my mind. Starting the course off with a long down hill shot is a great way to open the first hole. The risk/reward of having a disc go left on #4 and possible going off the edge down the slope to the Water Treatment Plant was a real thrill. It looked really steep and scary; I just loved it! The tunnel #6 was a great run to the basket with sloping danger on the right. The old tree woods feel of #7 was so cool. I actually took a little bit of time to really take in the many different routes that could be taken from there. OK, now that I started, this course obviously has a ton of great holes. I won't bore you with too much of a hole by hole reviews. I will say I also loved the little bit of everything that #18 had. I really hope they never remove the old fallen down tree that is near one of the pins here, because it really added to the hole.

This park looked well maintained and was in beautiful shape considering it has rained here the 2 days prior. The message board was great with maps and scorecards available. The tee signs were a real treat. They had everything you really needed on them. The cement tee pads were fantastic and that entire area had lots of attention paid to it on each hole. I found there to be adequate parking and good use of trashcans as the park was very clean.
Cons: There were no bathrooms. Umm, I'm done.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor was as good as it gets. As soon as we finished, all I wanted to do was to play it again. I wanted to throw multiple drives on every hole. The greens were fun to putt at considering the surroundings. I can honestly say, this is a must play course that you should find time to get to in your lifetime.

19 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Water Works Park KC

1    3/23/2010   3/24/2010
Review By: scootertrash
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course! My wife and I played this yesterday and we loved every min. of it! Like previous reviews said it is hilly! We are from St. Louis and the course reminds me of Sioux Passage but with a few more trees. Everybody we ran into was very friendly and helpful.
Cons: The only con is that there are no bathrooms. We did not see any not even a Jonny on the Spot.
Other Thoughts: Bring plenty of water since you will get a great workout walking up and down all of the hills!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course

2-4    2/6/2010   2/6/2010
Review By: DriveCrusher2
Played: 33  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Great distance from tees to pin, good obstacles with trees and hills a course you will want to go back and play again. Parking right next to hole one, flags on pins so you don't have to search for them easy to navigate.
Cons: HILLS! A lot of walking up and down steep grades, other than that nothing bad about it.
Other Thoughts: If you have trouble walking not the course for you.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 WOW for Water Works!

5+    7/29/2009   1/31/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 323  Reviewed: 171  Exp: 14.5 Years
20 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Water Works is absolutely awesome. If I could pick 1 course to play every day this is the one. This is a must play. This course gets a top score for fun factor.

There is plenty of parking near the tee to #1. There is a huge course map and score cards near the tee to #1. There is a practice basket as well.

This course has a wide variety of shot selection, distance, and terrain. Every hole has a minimum of 2 pin positions and many with 3 to 4. Elevation comes into play for the majority of holes. There are nice large trees with a few tighter wooded holes. They add challenge but you won't spend all day looking for discs.

The tee signs are great. There is a picture of the hole with distances for all the pin postions. The pin positions not in use have large PVC pipes so you can tell what position the basket is in.

The tee pads are nice and long. All have benches and nice landscaping around them. There is a bag holder at each tee. There were garbage cans all over and the course was very clean.

The course flow is superb. I did not get lost one time. There were no real long walks but the holes had plenty of room between them to avoid conflicts. Holes # 7, 8, 10, 11, & 12 give you an opportunity to stop by the parking lot.

This is not the most difficult course in the world but it is fun for all skill level players. The road comes into play on several holes adding a challenge of out of bounds.

There are several putting greens that are very challenging. If you run a putt and miss you have a chance at blowing by or rolling down a steep hill. This course will test your shot selection and nerves.
Cons: I have no cons for this course. It is a blast to play and I feel the designers utilized the land to it's fullest. Although this course lacks true par 4's the fun factor still warrants a 5 rating IMO.
Other Thoughts: Check out the links to the course walk through. The pictures on playdg.com are awesome.

Some video of parts of the course.

Hole #8 green.

My Illinois Top 10.

20 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 Magnificent! One of my Top 10 Favorites!

2-4    10/2/2009   1/25/2010
Review By: Olorin
Played: 340  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 36.5 Years
26 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is my favorite course in the Kansas City area!
*Layout variety- Multiple basket placements on every hole. 3 or 4 on every hole provide tremendous variety.
*Terrain- the rolling hills with scattered old growth trees are magnificent. The holes have a varying mixture of nice grass and scattered trees, but there's only one true woods holes. There are many side sloping shots with some toward OB and danger for added risk.
*Elevation variety- there are tons of up, down, cross valley, and side hill shots. Be prepared for some hiking.
*Beauty- some nice views of the Kansas City skyline in the background
*Hole 1 is a classic starting holes.

*Tee signs are amazing with photo maps and hole layouts marked.
*Tees- very good, long and concrete

Amenities abound-
*There's a large course map at the course, a map online, score cards online, a warm up basket, a message board, as well as tons of benches and trash cans.
* Extra touches include:
-Large numbered flags on top of every basket for extra visibility
-Bag holders at every tee
-PVC pipes in the unused basket placements to make it easier to tell which layout you're playing to
-With so many basket placements it would really help to have a system on each hole to designate which layout is being used. You can tell by the tee sign, but it can take some work.
-It's hard to be really sure of the hole lengths for each basket position. Since they just had the '09 Worlds there I used the tee signs, but online sources had other information that didn't match this.
-Navigation- tee 17 could be hard find and it's a bit of a walk. Tee 18 is also a little hard to spot.
-The DGA baskets are getting a little old and worn.
Other Thoughts: Course Level = Blue (most suited for Advanced players rated 925-975)

*I may be in a minority, but I'd like to see the course occasionally set up with all the baskets in the same color layout, like all Orange or all Blue. I would enjoy the purity of playing all the same layout. It seems that the baskets are always mixed between the various layouts.
*This was one of the courses used for the 2009 PDGA Pro/Am Worlds.

Water Works is widely regarded as the crown jewel of the excellent KC disc golf scene, and that reputation is well deserved. This course is a classic that sets a standard to measure other courses by. A ton of work has been done here, and it has all of the amenities plus some special touches. Water Works is one of my Top 10 Favorites (currently #7) and a "must play" course!

NOTE: Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole evaluations, and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my reviews and rating notes at the Yahoo Group, DG Course Reviews

26 of 29 people found this review helpful.


1    8/5/2007   12/31/2009
Review By: sportsheros90
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 32.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/18/2010
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Rolling hills, challenging, very good use of space, fun to play, lots of different shot choices.
Cons: You should be in pretty good shape to play it, lots of up and down.
Other Thoughts: Course is so much fun to play. Well worth the 6 hour drive down to play.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.


2-4    11/24/2009   12/9/2009
Review By: Austin4224
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.7 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Amazing course, Lots, lots of terrain change, Beautiful course with great view. Every hole has great signs and tee pads. Also bag holders and benchs at every hole.

This course makes you play with level changes and throw diff shots. Fun course and not so hard to discourage beginner but hard enough to make you have many bogey and sometime double.
Cons: No water,
No actual long par 4 or 5 holes.
Other than that great park
Other Thoughts: On the side of cliff at the old water works department for KC.

Parking is great lots of parking
One of the best courses in United States must play along with a few other courses if you stop in KC.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    10/24/2009   10/25/2009
Review By: odysseus81
Played: 87  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 18.5 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is truly special. I am a big fan of park-like setting courses and this is by far the nicest of that style of course I have played. The course was full of some of the most beautiful and mature trees I have seen on a course. There are tremendous elevation changes that make each hole unique. I didn't feel like there was a single hole on the course that was redundant. The views were spectacular in multiple places....none better than on #1---which is the most amazing starter hole I have ever played and maybe one of my favorite holes period. The signage was phenomenal. There were two signs on each hole (one with a map and one with an actual picture standing from the tee, looking straight ahead showing you the actual basket loactions). The course flowed extremely well...it took no time to find the next tee. There are wonderful, large concrete tee pads and bag hangers.
Cons: The only thing that kept this from being a 5 was the fact that to be a 5 for me (perfect) I would have liked to have seen a couple of holes with either deeper woods or some water danger. It was just lacking diversity from that standpoint.
Other Thoughts: This is a MUST-PLAY for anyone. Period.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Water Works NKC

1    9/26/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: x3billRONIN
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course has it all. Excellent changes in elevation, a mix of wide open fairways that beg you to rip a huge drive, balanced by some nicely canopied fairways that run right next to some severe drop offs, that may cause you to second guess how you play the hole. A very challenging, but not overly-frustrating course. Nicely maintained.
Cons: This course is usually a top choice of disc golfers from all over the area, so chances are you will find yourself waiting to tee off on a few holes. Also, this is not the course for you if you're easily winded, or struggling with a bad knee or ankle. There are some severe uphill, and downhill climbs that will take their toll.
Other Thoughts: Although I am relatively new to disc golf, and I've only played this course once, I can't wait to go back. Of all the courses I've played in Kansas City, this one is by far my favorite. If you have the chance to play it, do so. You will definately find it challenging, and fun.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.