Kansas City, MO 
Water Works Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #9 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 283ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee

Reviews: 87
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Watch the roll..

5+    2/16/2009   9/16/2009
Review By: bthoma1
Played: 37  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2010
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is a very nice course with lots of elevation changes that will challenge your game.
Variety of holes will call for a variety of shots
You have to think smart when playing this course and know when to go for it and when to hang back

Bathroom at the beginnning
practice basket
Cement pads with nice baskets
Very nice teesigns with actual pictures
Baskets moved a good amount

Cons: the only "con" about this course is how busy it is. But if you come during the right time you should be ok.
Also I don't like how my wife lost one of my wraiths..
That having been said, The REAL cons are;
only one bathroom, a good amount of trash debris while i was there.

Oh oh, I have also never been here and not seen someone "roll" down one of the hills on almost every other hole.
Other Thoughts: There are a few holes on this course that are pretty much Par at best..depending on pin placement.

Big risk and big reward on a few shots. You could be parked, or parked off of a tree to the right.
Take your time and you will do great here.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Park, fun round of disc golf

1    11/10/2008   9/11/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 199  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 17.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/6/2009
11 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The land here is awesome. Some really rolling terrain that yields awesome elevation changes. You can really air it out on some holes and watch the discs fly with relative ease. It's fun and I love the risk associated with the 'waterworks roll' - that is, most greens are risky as they are on a slope, thus if you miss a putt and your disc stands up, the roll away may result in more than one putt back. I love this type of risky challenge. You definitely get a workout playing up and down the hills. The multiple tees and multiple pin placements keep things interesting and allows you to play at various skill levels.
Cons: Lack of complete balance. Despite some holes being in the woods, most are out in the open among the huge city park trees. There are no real holes that play underneath a forested canpoy of leaves, requiring accuracy with a tunnel shot. No water hazards. Shady park area (i mean the people hanging out in the parking lot), and suffers from being right in the city, thus city noise and traffic, and the inability to truly lose yourself.
Other Thoughts: All in all, waterworks is a great course. My personal preference is for remotely located, quiet, and peaceful rounds of disc golf. I also prefer much more wooded holes, and severely tight holes that require extreme accuracy. Waterworks lacks these types of holes. Another nice feature that would bring more variety and balance would be a good water feature like a pond that truly comes into play. If you love playing on sharp elevations and like the risk of rollaways, waterworks is for you. It is worth it to play a round if you're travelling to KC. My preference in course settings and design with absolute variety keeps me from rating this higher than a 4. I think it actually lacks variety and could only be considered a rolling course (lacks flat ripper holes for the most part too), and could have rated lower due to that. But it was very fun to play and I enjoyed the challenge.

11 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Super big elevation changes! FUN!

5+    8/20/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: Michler
Played: 233  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 23.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/28/2014
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Challenging course with mostly par 3 golf. A favorite among the elite Pros on the PDGA tour. This course winds up and down steep hills which forces every player to focus on the angle their disc lands. Alot of demanding shots that are fun to throw over and over again. Some tight deuce holes with alot of trouble and some bigger holes up and down hills. Every hole makes you think. A very nice city park and a great course to play casually and competitively.

Front 9 there are 4 or 5 holes that are pretty tight and heavily wooded. All fairways here are fair though. Holes 5 and 6 are perhaps the most challenging with steep dropoffs to one side of the fairway and some heavy trees off the fairway. Hole 1 is the most aesthetically pleasing with the city in the background as you bomb down a steep hill toward a bucket 400'+. I find Hole 14 to be my favorite to throw. Its well over 400', but you'll be surprised how quickly your disc gets down there. The fairway steadily slopes downward the entire way towards the road which curves around the 'green'. Very easy to end up OB here, but hard to let up on your drive.

Again, an extremely fun course with more elevation change than you'll find just about anywhere.
Cons: I can't think of anything negative to say about this course. It didn't get the full 5 star rating for me because its just not quite as pleasing as a Ewing Park in Des Moines, but believe me this course is right there with any course you can think of. Top notch.
Other Thoughts: Who doesn't love to rip drives up and down hills?

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Home sweet home!

5+    7/12/2009   7/14/2009
Review By: Jayl3ird
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Amazing variation of scenery, level of difficulty, and interesting terrain. There are port-a-pottys now, and two signs at every tee. One photograph sign displaying basket location, and one arial view of the hole displaying distances. Benches and bag hangers at every tee. Water fountains and a nice staging area by tee #1. The course has trails that easily lead you from basket to tee pad. Also, there are 2 separated baskets for putt practice and several out-of-the-way open flats to practice drives. Simply the best KC has to offer.
Cons: This course will not be easy on that bum leg or knee that you may have. Almost every hole has large hills to accend/decend. Most of the trails are dirt, so after a rain, it will be sloppy, but not too bad even after huge rains.
Other Thoughts: Don't throw your green or camo discs at this park. The never-ending forests will claim them.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Disc golf and mountain hiking all in one.

5+    10/20/2008   6/23/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 330  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 12.4 Years
16 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Quite possibly the best mixture of scenery, challenge, and variation out there. Varied pin positions make the course a fun experience that might be different from the last time you played it.

Water Works is my favorite course in the entire world. It seems like you're in a forest, while in the middle of the city. There are numerous birdie opportunities, yet numerous opportunities for disaster. Shooting for birdie here can end in a parked putt, or your disc rolling down a hill into another fairway, through it, and into the abyss.

This is the course that taught me elevation disc golf and the need to start throwing a forearm shot. A trip to KC is simply not complete without a trip to Water Works. Yes, its that addicting. For a big city course, I've never seen it overly crowded here.
Cons: Kansas City's Parks and Rec have been having budgetary problems and the park is not always maintained at the level it should. Depending on when you play here, you may end up playing a scruffy course and end up looking for your disc awhile in plain ol' grass. Parking is a bit less to be desired. No bathrooms. Not for people with weak knees or who get short of breath easily.
Other Thoughts: Installed more than ten years ago, Water Works has kept up with the time, and is still one of the most revered courses in the Kansas City family despite the fact that its been surpassed in length by the newer Wyco and Blue Valley courses. Despite its shorter length, even advanced/pro level players enjoy challenging the hills here as less arm and more finesse is what will get you to score well. Less experienced players will find a sense of challenge without it being overwhelming.

16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Sets the bar for Disc Golf courses

1    6/20/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: rlangton
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is absolutely stunning. You can tell when you pull into the park going straight up a huge winding hill you are in for a treat. Hole 1 starts the course off with a spectacular view and serious downhill.

The course layout if varied nicely with no 2 holes the same. Some wide open shots on serious uphill/downhill elevations, some nice doglegs, big mature trees couldn't have been planted in better spots to make for varied obstacles, several challenging corridor shots. The layout is very well done, with a clear path from each disc-catcher to the next tee pad. This course is very easy to navigate.

The park is very well maintained with nice benches, trash recepticles, disc bag holders, and multiple signs at each tee box. The landscaping is superb, with nice use of bushes, flower beds, and well-groomed grass. The sound of trains and planes make for an interesting industrial sounding environment out in a pristine forest. It's really something just to take in.
Cons: If you don't like hills you're going to have a rough time on this course. It can also be pretty unforgiving to beginners (though not terrible as the "roughs" really aren't rough enough to lose discs easily).
Other Thoughts: Of all the courses I've played so far, this one is by far the best. If you find yourself within 100 miles of KC , do yourself a favor and visit Water Works park.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

5+    5/18/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 26.8 Years
13 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful Park
Easy to navigate...very intuitive
Multiple basket placements
Incredible use of elevation
Great signage
Good cement tee pads
Great variety of holes....open big arm holes, tight technical holes, huge elevation changes, extreme risk/reward shots, strategic use of out of bounds shots
Never crowded on week days
Forces you to use a variety of shots
Benches and bag holders at tees
Very well maintained and clean
Cons: No real cons
Can be very windy in the afternoon...playing early is best
If you are a beginner or really out of shape, this course can be very unforgiving...be prepared for a good hike
Other Thoughts: I play this course every single time I go to KC
It is one of the best all around courses I've played (279 to date) and is worth the road trip to play--plus there are a number of other awesome courses in the area, so KC can be that special DG road trip you have been looking for

Water Works has been a good litmus test for me to see how much my game has progressed over the years...when I first played this course it was brutal...I got my butt kick so bad but the course is so epic I kept going back...now, even though I don't "own the course", I no longer am afraid of certain holes and par ones that were guaranteed double bogeys

13 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 One of KC's best

5+    4/15/2009   5/7/2009
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.5 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Great mixuture of open and wooded holes. Excellent scenery. Nice tee pads. One of my favorite courses!
Cons: Difficult course for novice players.
Other Thoughts: I have lived in KC and have played this course many times. Absolutely love the course and is my favorite in the area.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Kansas City Showcase

1    3/14/2009   3/14/2009
Review By: jace
Played: 42  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 7.8 Years
10 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is simply put the best course in Kansas City.

The terrain is pretty spectacular. The hole variety is exceptional. Each hole has a photographic map indicating basket options. It could be a little tough to find some of the baskets, but you knew where to look based on the tee signage. Tee signs also included distances to baskets. Each teebox also had a bag hanger and a bench.

Park was exceptionally clean and well taken care of. Pleanty of parking at first tee.

Terrain can cause alot of trouble for "rollers". Players will be rewarded heavily for accurate throws, and punished only slightly during winter months on a couple holes for poor throws. I thought the basket placement was incredible. Many tight tree shots mixed very well with a few open holes, and a couple locations right behind trees. Really encouraged us to think about our approach shot.

Putting area next to first tee.
Cons: No facilities.
Just be prepared to hike due to the great terrain.
Other Thoughts: Print the course map from this site to help navigate - some holes were a little tough to figure out the first time out.

There is a playground near the first tee.

Favorite holes were:
#1 - great way to start with a beautiful view of Kansas City and a long downhill drive.

#5 - basket placement at the furthest location created for a great tree allee that was beautiful.

I'm sure this course is even more beautiful when the leaves come in and the penalty will be worse on errant shots!

10 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Best course I've played

1    2/18/2009   2/20/2009
Review By: Robert Scott
Played: 52  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 19.5 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is the best course I have played.
I seen that there was some elevation on the course but I under estimted the degree of change before I played the course. I like the elevation, very easy for your disc to roll away, a long ways away.
Easy to find and get to. Well mowed and kept park. A large map of the course at the first hole. a practice basket just east of tee #1. Every hole had a sign with all four (on most holes) pin placements located on them. The tees are concrete and long/wide. Every tee area had a bag pole and a bench. The bag poles are nice but much easier to just set your bag on the bench.

The course layout is great nothing to short and nothing real long, No 800 to 1000ft holes. The pin placements are on slopes, over hills, across a valley or through trees. It is also easy to follow and find your way to the next tee. When we played all the pins were placed in a different mix of placement (not all in the short but not all in the long either). There is a playground near the parking area but it looks like the park is for disc golf mostly.
Cons: Nothing big, but the color of the pins on the signs did not match up all the time. On one hole the blue one would be the long one, but on the next hole the blue may be the short one. The slopse were slick from being muddy.
Other Thoughts: Great course, with cool views of downtown KC and the area south of the course.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.