Disc Golf Store
Kansas City, MO
Water Works Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #15 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 286ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 80
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next >
 One of KC's best

5+    4/15/2009   5/7/2009
Review By: KSLAWDAWG
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.9 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great mixuture of open and wooded holes. Excellent scenery. Nice tee pads. One of my favorite courses!
Cons: Difficult course for novice players.
Other Thoughts: I have lived in KC and have played this course many times. Absolutely love the course and is my favorite in the area.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Kansas City Showcase

1    3/14/2009   3/14/2009
Review By: jace
Played: 38  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 6.2 Years
9 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is simply put the best course in Kansas City.

The terrain is pretty spectacular. The hole variety is exceptional. Each hole has a photographic map indicating basket options. It could be a little tough to find some of the baskets, but you knew where to look based on the tee signage. Tee signs also included distances to baskets. Each teebox also had a bag hanger and a bench.

Park was exceptionally clean and well taken care of. Pleanty of parking at first tee.

Terrain can cause alot of trouble for "rollers". Players will be rewarded heavily for accurate throws, and punished only slightly during winter months on a couple holes for poor throws. I thought the basket placement was incredible. Many tight tree shots mixed very well with a few open holes, and a couple locations right behind trees. Really encouraged us to think about our approach shot.

Putting area next to first tee.
Cons: No facilities.
Just be prepared to hike due to the great terrain.
Other Thoughts: Print the course map from this site to help navigate - some holes were a little tough to figure out the first time out.

There is a playground near the first tee.

Favorite holes were:
#1 - great way to start with a beautiful view of Kansas City and a long downhill drive.

#5 - basket placement at the furthest location created for a great tree allee that was beautiful.

I'm sure this course is even more beautiful when the leaves come in and the penalty will be worse on errant shots!

9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Best course I've played

1    2/18/2009   2/20/2009
Review By: Robert Scott
Played: 52  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 17.9 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is the best course I have played.
I seen that there was some elevation on the course but I under estimted the degree of change before I played the course. I like the elevation, very easy for your disc to roll away, a long ways away.
Easy to find and get to. Well mowed and kept park. A large map of the course at the first hole. a practice basket just east of tee #1. Every hole had a sign with all four (on most holes) pin placements located on them. The tees are concrete and long/wide. Every tee area had a bag pole and a bench. The bag poles are nice but much easier to just set your bag on the bench.

The course layout is great nothing to short and nothing real long, No 800 to 1000ft holes. The pin placements are on slopes, over hills, across a valley or through trees. It is also easy to follow and find your way to the next tee. When we played all the pins were placed in a different mix of placement (not all in the short but not all in the long either). There is a playground near the parking area but it looks like the park is for disc golf mostly.
Cons: Nothing big, but the color of the pins on the signs did not match up all the time. On one hole the blue one would be the long one, but on the next hole the blue may be the short one. The slopse were slick from being muddy.
Other Thoughts: Great course, with cool views of downtown KC and the area south of the course.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Epic Course

1    7/28/2008   10/28/2008
Review By: Brokensaint
Played: 140  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/4/2009
3 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: What a beautiful course! Massive spaces, rolling hills and dense tree-lined woods provide a wide variety of challenge. You have to be able to throw a variety of shots well to score here. The landscape will send errant shots rolling madly away. Tees and signage were quite nice.
Cons: None that I can speak of
Other Thoughts: Easily one of my top 5 favorite courses!

3 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic Terrain

1    10/17/2008   10/23/2008
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 91  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 15.9 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: *Fantastic elevation changes & aesthetics make this a must play course
*beautiful land - old, mature trees; signs of history in overgrown stairs & old train tracks *has character - cool stone shelter with 'terrapin station' sign hung
*very well maintained - no invasives, grass cut short, limbs pruned
*great signage & kiosk info, easy to navigate solo & w/out map
*4 pins/1pad per hole
Cons: *only one teepad per hole. i played in the shorts & wished it were longer as many holes played like a 3.5...not gonna 2, not gonna 4
*seemed like it would play with minimal scoring variation, or maybe that's just me playing the short tees, but only 1 or 2 challenging pars
*little risk/reward -- i only took one 4 in 1.5 rds....with plenty of bad shots that went unpunished
*some drab holes that were nothing special and would blend in on an ordinary course but stand out here due to the quality of some of the other holes
*some holes with luck lines off the tee
Other Thoughts: I'd give this a 4.25 if there was such an option. I like this course better than any other i've rated 4, if for no other reason than the terrain is awesome.

That said, it didn't meet my expectations as I found the course to be very un-challenging on the day I played....can't wait to try another set of tees!

After playing this my home course, perkerson in ATL, seemed flat...

Fave holes -
#1 - steeply downhill over heavily sloped & hilly land
# 17 - flat or downhill with severe L>R downhill gradient & OB right

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 The Kansas City Legend

1    8/29/2008   9/3/2008
Review By: Greg Layton
Played: 142  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2009
12 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Everything is well-marked. Signs are detailed, no graffiti, signs point the way to the next hole in a couple of places
- Each teebox consists of the following: At least one bench, a bag hanger with 4 hooks, trashcan, sign, and a larger than average teepad
- The elevation changes will challenge your stamina
- You're really punished for bad shots off the fairway. Steep dropoffs to the right and left of the hole are common.
- The most scenic course I've ever seen. The view of Kansas City from the first hole is breath taking.
- Multiple tee positions, as many as four in some cases, means that this course will always be challenging.
- A previous reviewer mentioned that there was no restroom... that situation has been rectified thanks to a port-a-potty near the first hole.
Cons: - There's a map at the beginning of the course with holders for maps/scorecards, but it was empty when I played.
- Course seems to be a little neglected. Grass wasn't mowed, there were dead tree limbs on the 5th fairway that looked like they'd been there all summer, and the staircase that takes you from the 6th to the 7th hole is falling apart. Someone needs to step in and give this course a little more of the TLC it deserves.
Other Thoughts: Just a great course overall with it's current state of disrepair being the only reason that it doesn't garner a 5 rating. The first hole not only offers a great view but it also makes you want to unload your bag several times. This is a must play if you're driving through the KC area.

Updated 7/2009: After playing a 100 courses, (I now have a better idea of what a world class course looks like) and watching the reviews to make sure no one else has brought up maintenance issues, I've deemed it necessary to bump this course up to a 5. I still lay awake at night thinking about hole #1 a year after I played it.

12 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 My new favorite

6/16/2008   6/16/2008
Review By: staugiera
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.1 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: elevation changes are amazing, tee boxes and their surrounding area are spectacular-I was a first time player on this course and I never struggled to find the pins thanks to their visuals, great variety of left-handed and right-handed holes, nice variety of long distance holes and shorter technical holes. I feel that I can get a three on any hole and at the same time I also feel that if I make a small mistake on half the holes I could easily get a five or six. Plenty of people on the course in the middle of the afternoon, but I also never felt crowded and never needed to wait on others.
Cons: I am sure that there are cons to this course, but I was not able to find them, unless you are a beginner or not in good shape at all.
Other Thoughts: I planned to never give any course a 5.0, but after playing this course I don't feel that I have any choice. This is a very challenging course, well maintained, intense elevation change, great tee boxes, and the cherry to give it the extra half disc is an amazing view. This is a must play. All previous rankings of mine must now drop a half disc due to this course!!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Better than expected.

5/14/2008   5/24/2008
Review By: GATOR FAN
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Great elevations to the course. Each hole gave me different looks and choices to throw sidearm, backhand and thumbers. Each tee marker was well identified with the photos of the pin placement and distances. First time playing this course and look forward to playing again.
Cons: Grass was tall, needed mowing.

3 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Kansas City's signature course and a must play.

2/28/2008   2/28/2008
Review By: Koronin
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.5 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging, with decent length and sweet elevation changes.

Good layout with many alternate pin locations, giving the course good variety.

Good mix of open and wooded.

The view of downtown Kansas City heading toward the 14th basket is great as are the pools of water that make up the waterworks along holes 4,5.



Cons: Elevation/Distance will be hard for novice players.

Some real nasty areas if your disc gets away from you, in some areas the chiggers will make you pay even if you don't lose a disc.

Needs a bathroom.
Other Thoughts: A must play when coming through Kansas City, you'll get the sense of elevation immediately driving into the park.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  One of the Best Courses I've Played

6/23/2007   6/28/2007
Review By: mpetre
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is hilly in a great way and has just the perfect mixture of lefty and righty holes. Tee #1 is an awesome view of North Kansas City and gives the big arms a great chance to really air a shot out. I am not one of those and I still threw a drive of almost 380 on this hole. This course is easily one of most beautiful I've ever played. You feel as though you are hundreds of miles away from the city, yet get incredible views of it.
Cons: Walking up and down the hills can be quite a workout.
Other Thoughts: This course is well worth a visit if you are ever in the KC area.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.