Kansas City, MO 
Water Works Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #14 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 485ft. Par / Distance:
View of Kansas City skyline from Hole #14's fairway.

Reviews: 86
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    6/29/2013   8/20/2013
Review By: Broll
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: this is must for any disc tosser. if you are passing through or staying here and you like to play courses then this your place. great view nice t pads, information signs and plenty of space and hills!
Cons: it's not located close enough to play once a week.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite Course by Far

5+    6/8/2013   6/27/2013
Review By: bigreddog
Played: 61  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2013
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a ton of elevation here and the holes have a great mix of slopes including sideslopes. Also, most holes have multiple elevation elements (not just straight downhill or uphill) 10/10

Plenty of trees for obstacles and they are huge. This helps make them more fair because you're mainly avoiding trunks and large branches instead of praying you get through leaves. The hills also make for obstacles that most courses don't have the luxury of adding. 10/10

There is a large variety of openness on shots, with several pretty wooded holes, the most of which is hole 6. There are also some pretty wide open holes, 14 comes to mind here, and everything in between. 10/10

Every hole has at least three possible pin positions and many of them have a large effect on the hole, significantly changing the angle, distance, or both. 10/10

Benches on every hole and lots of shade from the large trees. Bathrooms and a water fountain at the start of the course, and the 7th and 11th holes return back to near this area. This also allows you to cut the round short if you're short on time. 10/10 on comfort

Baskets are perfect and there are large concrete tees 10/10

The course requires players to throw every type of shot to score well. This also changes with the pin positions, but 4, 9, 11, 16, and 18 generally require right to left while 5, 12, and 15 generally require left to right. 10/10

Decisionmaking is required on many holes as the trees allow for many different ways to play most of the holes. 9/10

The holes have a great variety of distance, especially when counting in alternative pin positions. Hole 8 alone can be either 200 or 400ft. 9/10

Course is regularly mowed and benches, tee signs, trash cans are in good condition. Trashcans are sometimes full because of the amount of people that play this course. course maintenance 9/10

Navigation of the holes is generally a breeze thanks to the tee signs which show the hole more from the view the player sees. The only times there is a problem is when there are blind shots like on hole 2 or hole 8 where there are multiple positions that can't be seen from the tee, but most of these don't affect the drive. 9/10

Discs are pretty easy to find on most holes. 3-5 and 13 are the only places you could really lose one. 3-5 have a pretty steep dropoff on the left if you throw it over there and you could potentially roll deep into the trees. Overall 8/10

This course isn't great for people who have never played before, but it's not like you need to be an advanced player to enjoy this course. The first time I played it I had been playing for 3 months and threw around 230ft and it was immediately my favorite course (and still is). I've also brought friends that were fairly new to the game (this was the second course they played) and they enjoyed it as well. 7/10 on challenging all levels without being impossible

Navigation between holes is pretty good thanks to a map at the start and also markers at the base of the baskets. In addition, because this course is usually pretty busy you can just follow other players. There are a couple of tricky spots after holes 1, 9 and 14
Cons: Be prepared to take your time and enjoy the round as this course can be pretty busy. This is also a testament to how great this course is.

You can sometimes get frustrating rolls if you hit a basket and get up on an edge but at this point I'm digging for something negative to say.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty challenging course, nothing like Blue Valley or the front nine at Kessler, but it's still 8/10

Great scenery and views of Kansas City.

I've played just about every course within 40 miles of Olathe, KS (a total of 28 currently) and this is by far my favorite.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


1    5/27/2013   5/28/2013
Review By: Tclarencebrown
Played: 41  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Great course. This course offers beautiful lines and great changes in elevation. Ever hole has multiple tee pads. The signage is great too. This course was on my wish list for years. It was definitely worth the wait.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Wow, what a course!!

1    5/26/2013   5/26/2013
Review By: bball7273
Played: 57  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Tons of variety in the holes. There were wooded and tight holes all the way to 500 foot wide open bombs! This course will make you throw every skill you have out onto the course.
- Elevation, elevation, elevation! This course is very hilly and has lots of elevation which makes it more challenging. I cant remember one hole that didnt have a hill or two on it.
- Risk/Reward shots all over the place, especially putting.
- Multiple pin placements were awesome. I believe every hole had at least 3 different placements that will make the course a different expirience every time you play it!
- Concrete tee pads are top-notch! Long and wide for even the longest run-ups.
- Every hole has a bench and a trash can which is great for a relaxing round.
- Tee signs are very descriptive and helpful.
- Mach 2 baskets are in great condition.
- Beautiful views of downtown KC.
- Navigation was great for the most part.
- Hardwood trees gave this course a old tyme feel and were beautiful
- Very, very challenging on each and every hole!
- At the bottom of the pin was a little piece of yellow plastic that pointed to the next tee which could be helpful to a newbie on the course.
Cons: - Being as popular as it is, this course is VERY busy! We got stuck behind some big groups. I would recommend not playing if you are stressed for time.
- Some holes run along the street which gives a danger for cars.
- Sometimes we had to run up to find out where the basket was.
- The Mach 2 baskets were hard to see in the shade which was on half of the holes. Maybe a piece of orange tape around the center of the basket would help.
- The fairways could use some mowing.
Other Thoughts: This course is the best course Ive ever played! It seemed like every aspect was perfect and I loved every single throw on this gem. This course is top-notch and very fun! If your in the Kansas City area, you need to play this course! It is the best!!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Top 5 course in the country

1    7/7/2009   5/7/2013
Review By: Hockeydoc2112
Played: 16  Reviewed: 11
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Truly amazing destination course. Great elevation changes, scenery, combination of long and short holes and layout in general.
Cons: If you don't live in Kansas City....you won't get to play it nearly as much as you would probably like to!
Nothing bad to say about this course at all.
Other Thoughts: Played here in the 2009 World's. Kansas City probably has the best collection of DG courses in the world and this is the crown jewel. One of the top 5 courses in the nation IMHO.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course Even In Bad Conditions

1    5/5/2013   5/6/2013
Review By: bluedvl228
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Amazing course design with the technical shots - especially on the front 9. We played this course after some rainfall from the past couple of days but was still great to play.

Easy to find pin locations and the small markers at the base of the pin poles point to the next tee pad.

Great changes in elevation make for valley shots or uphill shots. This course will test every throw!

Benches at nearly every hole are just a great bonus to an outstanding course.
Cons: Not many complaints about the course...certainly more about my performance that day!
Other Thoughts: A definite must for any disc golfer - a great challenge for advanced players as well. I will play this course any day!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Phenomenal Course

1    4/15/2013   4/18/2013
Review By: SofaKing 442
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 35.4 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course is a LOT of fun to play! It has a good mixture of both accuracy and distance holes. Water Works Park is a well designed, well maintained course with plenty of trees and a fair amount of elevation. Great views of downtown KC on a couple of holes.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Bring a course map if it your first time playing here. We had the course completely to ourselves and found the map to be useful on a couple of holes. I only got one deuce on the day and had to work at picking up threes on most holes. We threw Tee Birds and Buzz a lot. I had a memorable and very enjoyable outing.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing course with an amazing view

5+    3/15/2013   3/22/2013
Review By: pineappletrees
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Overlooks downtown Kansas City
Wide variation of shot selection
Well manicured
Multiple pin placements
Diverse terrain
Looks great in every season
Cons: Crowded on nice days
Hills can be slippery on rainy days
Rollaways are inevitable
Not a lot of par 4s
Other Thoughts: This is the first course I played and is hands down my favorite course.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  water works

5+    11/17/2012   12/21/2012
Review By: bowenthomas
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.6 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: amazing park
the best course i have played
elevation changes
alternate tees
beautiful scenic view of the city
soo much fun
Cons: it is addictive
Other Thoughts: my favorite course i have ever played
the best course i have ever played

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Home course

5+    12/2/2012   12/2/2012
Review By: StevenFoster
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: This is the course where I learned to play, and base all other courses on. But every other course I play doesn't compare because I've been spoiled by the best course around. Either the elevation changes are not there, or there are worse pin placements, it all comes back to this being the best course in the state. Pins are great and multiple placements, the crowd is great, tee pads are great, lots of hyzer shots and anny shots. Perfect course.
Cons: People need to stop throwing their trash on the course. Tee signs have been vandalized and some not readable but I know the course already and don't need them.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.