Kansas City, MO 
Water Works Park Share
Uploaded By: jace Hole #5 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 283ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 83
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Good, but...

1    8/19/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: austinpetz
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 44.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2012
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation change.
Tons of Hyzer and Anhyzer lines.
Many wooded shots.
Good combination of long and short holes.
Benches on every hole.
Signs on every hole.
Very easy to follow.
Cons: Lots of elevation change.
Many wooded shots.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I liked this course. However, I don't think that I really loved it (maybe the hype was a bit too big for this course). It was fun because it had a ton of downhill and valley shots, and the scenery was beautiful throughout the course. It was, however, quite tough.

My thoughts are that this would be an amazing course for pro-level disc golfers that can really drive a 500 foot hole consistently, but the intermediate player might have a rough day.

I don't think I would recommend this course for intermediate players. If you don't live close to this course (and you're an intermediate player), you shouldn't go out to this course. I would recommend going to Swope or Rosedale. Those courses are just a bit easier to play than Water Works and would suit an intermediate player much better.

Let me make this perfectly clear: This is an amazing course; I'm the one that can't play it very well.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Home Course

5+    8/4/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: todo_school
Played: 41  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: I love this course, it is where I learned to play. The elevation change makes this course very fun but also very demanding. A lot of open fairways with a good combination of tight tree lined fairways.
Cons: If you late/early release on a couple holes it is very easy to lose a disc and never see it again.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Wow

1    8/6/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: attik34
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent course. Super fun, very much a step above anything I could have expected. For me, the best thing about it was that it was challenging in a great way. Distance isn't huge on this course, so things feel attainable. Aside from a few exceptions, you aren't going to be losing a bunch of discs here either assuming you are willing to get off the beaten path if needed. Benches at each hole are very nice, considering both times I was there this weekend it was pretty packed, so waiting was a must, and having something to sit on was AWESOME.

As far as the layout goes, its very direct, easy to follow, and just simply right for alot of levels. I'm not good by any means, but I didn't feel overpowered by the course. If i made good shots, 3's werent hard, if i made bad ones, they were. That simple. Distance wise I tee'd off with a Buzz ALOT and didnt regret it very often. Alot of shot variation and some creatively done things that made me really appreciate being there.

The difficulty comes in the hills of the course for sure. One shot of mine comes to mind. I was putting from like...30-40 ish and missed long and soft. It hit a treeroot past the hole and kind of popped up on its side, I thought nothing of it. Picked up my bag and started walking up only to realize my disc was rolling at me, somehow. I was warned about this and its no joke, your disc can roll for ever, so be warned :).
Cons: The course is crowded from what I could tell, take that for what its worth. When you play at the best course in Missouri I'd expect it to be a little busy but maybe not everyone would :).

there were a few holes that had trash GUSHING from the trash cans which really took away from the well manicured everything else, but word on the streets is thats not a common thing.

also, its way to far from hannibal, MO
Other Thoughts: Loved the course, cant wait til life moves me back to KCMO so I can play this weekly :).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 World Class

2-4    7/19/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a world-class course, period.

It's got a challenging mix of hyzer and anhyzer lines, tons of elevation change, and periodic winds that keep you on your toes. This is not a course where you can shift your mind into neutral - you will need to think about placements, the risk of roll-aways, and the need to avoid certain rough patches that are just too horrible to contemplate (I'm thinking about what's on the left side of fairways 3 and 4 here).

You'll also be in for a workout, since a lot of the ground you'll be walking over is nowhere near level. Bring water, or at least an empty bottle you can refill from the spigot by tee #1, and wear good sturdy shoes.

The course itself is in excellent shape, with 3 or 4 pin positions for each hole and benches and bag-hangers at each tee. Many of the pin placements can't be seen from the tees, but markers for the unused positions make it easy to figure out where you're going without having to walk the course.

Excellent signage, including a course map at the kiosk, make getting lost between holes pretty difficult. Throw in a practice basket and great views as others have mentioned and you have a pretty good idea of what to expect here.
Cons: The only con I can think of is that the trash cans are almost all completely full and spilling out over the surrounding areas. With a course so obviously popular and well-used, whoever's responsible for maintaining these should step up and schedule more frequent service.
Other Thoughts: If you're a noodle arm (like me), this course will hand your @ss to you but in such a way that you'll say, "Thank you, sir" and come back the next day for another round. Water Works is a total destination course and people who live within 50 miles can rightly go around with a smug grin on their faces just because they have such a fabulous resource in their back yards.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 All Around Great!

1    7/8/2012   7/8/2012
Review By: kutz167
Played: 101  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is fairly hilly, so it provides a lot of elevation changes coupled with lines requiring all types of shots. This combines to make a fun but challenging round for players of any skill level. The course is very well maintained, and the locals were very friendly and willing to help with navigation. Locals were also very conscientious and considerate. The course was very busy, but we had to wait very little during out round. Despite being in the middle of the city, the large amount of foliage and trees made it feel like a rural setting.
Cons: Due to the amount of traffic this park receives, the trash cans were overflowing. Navigation between some of the holes was difficult at times, but a quick picture of the course map and locals made it easy to navigate. The only thing I can really see this course missing is water hazards, as I didn't see a single one during my round.
Other Thoughts: I was told that while in Kansas City if I was going to play any course it had to be this one, and I would have to agree. I definitely will be stopping at this course on any future trips to the area. The views of the downtown skyline are breath-taking. If playing this course for the first time, make sure to bring along a camera!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best Around Town

5+    6/18/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: Clumsy Fumbles
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of hills and trees but in just the right places to make some great technical shots. It also has a great variety of short and long holes with most holes having 4 possible chain spots. grass is always nice and mowed. Every hole has pictures on poles telling where the possible chain spots will be and how many feet to them. Most holes have benches.
Cons: Big hills make this both a Pro and a Con all depending on how physically fit you are. Signs on poles telling where chain spots are and how many feet they are are getting old and faded but still readable. Maybe a few more trash can spots throughout park.
Other Thoughts: I would definitely bring water or gatorade when playing this course. This is my favorite course around Kansas City.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/9/2012   4/9/2012
Review By: xcrunner134life
Played: 71  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Multiply Pins (3-4 per hole)
Signs at each tee box that list the possible pins (with maps and distances)
Markers on the posts to point you to the next tee box.
benches at every hole
posts to hang your bag at every hole
Beautiful course!!!
Cons: Bring water! It's a hike! (this isn't a con, but it might be a reason not to play.)
The course could use some new baskets. Something that's easy to see from the tees if you've never played there.
Maps at the tee signs are starting to fade from the sun, but at this point I'm just trying to think of things that would make this course even better.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. It is my favorite on all time. If I could only play one course the rest of my life, this would be it. It has distance and elevation. It is difficult. I play this course every time I come home to see the parents.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for EVERYONE

1    12/29/2011   2/13/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 418  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large park that has lots of hills and a good amount of trees. There are a few spots near some other park equipment, but there shouldn't be any interference.
- Best feature of this course are the big hills around every corner. The first hole takes the cake with a big downhill shot to a sloping fairway, big punishment if the disc hyzers/flips left down the hill. #2 is a big uphill with a blind basket placement, it takes a big arm to get over the hump here. Numerous other holes have slopes to some degree, like the ups on #7, #13, and #18. A good downhill on #16, and some gentler ones on #14 and #3. Lots of slopes by baskets because of the terrain as well.
- Pretty good mix of open and wooded holes, or at least holes with a good amount of trees in the fairway. The more wooded areas are in the front, with some forgiving "tunnel" shots from #3 to #7, with #7 being pretty darn low, uphill no less. Other holes have numerous trees to contend with, like #9, #10, and #18. There are plenty of lines available, but plenty of ways to get caught up also.
- Some holes here have some interesting lines, like the tight uphill on #7, and a decent tunnel on #6. Other holes have some serious punishment for inaccurate shots; going too far left on #3 through #5 can be death, serious death. Two levels of hills to contend with, with nasty woods. Fairly warned be thee, says I. Some other spots are by the park road, for some OB challenge.
- Great teepads, signs, and baskets. Navigation is pretty easy, shouldn't be an issue. Lots of various pin positions as well, which can change the course up in a big way, distance-wise.
Cons: - A lot of the holes here are pretty wide open, with only a few trees to worry about. That includes #1, #2, #14, probably #16, and #17. At worst, it's a pretty clear RHBH hyzer route on these. The elevation changes help to keep things interesting, but it really comes down to how far the pin is more than anything else.
Other Thoughts: - Well, that's it for the cons! Fun factor at this course is off the charts, thanks to the big sloping hills, and variety in woods and trees. As an older course, though, the difficulty factor isn't that high, distance will usually trump accuracy from start to finish. People who don't have big enough arms will be playing a lot of par 3 golf, and dealing with some wide open upshots. Others with enough distance might find a lot of routine shots without much challenge.
- Still, a fantastic course that is a blast to play. True beginners might want to watch out for some of the nasty punishment, and more advanced players will be able to tear the course up, but that's okay. Well worth it.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/17/2012   1/17/2012
Review By: astomps
Played: 53  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2012
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Tee pads are very long
-Signs are full color, list distances and pin locations
-Very nice City Park course
-Tons of elevation changes
-Benches and trash cans at every hole
-Great scenic view of KC and River
-Not many disc eating spots
-Great Local club backing the course and maintaining it
-DG only park for the most part
-Front 9 varies greatly from back 9
-Paths are well worn in woods; makes for easy disc finding and retrieval
-Rocks put up on cliff sides to prevent rolling
-nice man made steps
Cons: -Some tees are somewhat in other hole's fairways
-Road traffic through course
Other Thoughts: Definitely not for the faint of knees. Plays on State Park caliber hills. Good but not World Class.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Water Works is a gem

5+    10/18/2011   12/6/2011
Review By: mindoveryou
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Well designed course with thoughtful use of elevation and natural elements to provide unique challenges throughout the course. Every hole is memorable. Great course for pros; tough on beginners. The views of the city are worth the visit by themselves.
Cons: Rains will make the lower portions of the course, and the bottom of every hill, a mess. Errant throws will get the "waterworks roll" and likely end up on another hole and cost you a 1 throw or more.
Other Thoughts: If youre in Kansas CIty, and only play one course, this should be it. If #1 is busy, start on #11 or #12 just across the parking lot. Water is at the pump on teepad #1.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.