Kansas City, MO 
Water Works Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #11 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 82
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Magnificent! One of my Top 10 Favorites!

2-4    10/2/2009   1/25/2010
Review By: Olorin
Played: 302  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.2 Years
26 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is my favorite course in the Kansas City area!
*Layout variety- Multiple basket placements on every hole. 3 or 4 on every hole provide tremendous variety.
*Terrain- the rolling hills with scattered old growth trees are magnificent. The holes have a varying mixture of nice grass and scattered trees, but there's only one true woods holes. There are many side sloping shots with some toward OB and danger for added risk.
*Elevation variety- there are tons of up, down, cross valley, and side hill shots. Be prepared for some hiking.
*Beauty- some nice views of the Kansas City skyline in the background
*Hole 1 is a classic starting holes.

Basics-
*Tee signs are amazing with photo maps and hole layouts marked.
*Tees- very good, long and concrete

Amenities abound-
*There's a large course map at the course, a map online, score cards online, a warm up basket, a message board, as well as tons of benches and trash cans.
* Extra touches include:
-Large numbered flags on top of every basket for extra visibility
-Bag holders at every tee
-PVC pipes in the unused basket placements to make it easier to tell which layout you're playing to
Cons:
-With so many basket placements it would really help to have a system on each hole to designate which layout is being used. You can tell by the tee sign, but it can take some work.
-It's hard to be really sure of the hole lengths for each basket position. Since they just had the '09 Worlds there I used the tee signs, but online sources had other information that didn't match this.
-Navigation- tee 17 could be hard find and it's a bit of a walk. Tee 18 is also a little hard to spot.
-The DGA baskets are getting a little old and worn.
Other Thoughts: Course Level = Blue (most suited for Advanced players rated 925-975)

*I may be in a minority, but I'd like to see the course occasionally set up with all the baskets in the same color layout, like all Orange or all Blue. I would enjoy the purity of playing all the same layout. It seems that the baskets are always mixed between the various layouts.
*This was one of the courses used for the 2009 PDGA Pro/Am Worlds.

Water Works is widely regarded as the crown jewel of the excellent KC disc golf scene, and that reputation is well deserved. This course is a classic that sets a standard to measure other courses by. A ton of work has been done here, and it has all of the amenities plus some special touches. Water Works is one of my Top 10 Favorites (currently #7) and a "must play" course!

NOTE: Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole evaluations, and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my reviews and rating notes at the Yahoo Group, DG Course Reviews

26 of 29 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome

1    8/5/2007   12/31/2009
Review By: sportsheros90
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 31.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/18/2010
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Rolling hills, challenging, very good use of space, fun to play, lots of different shot choices.
Cons: You should be in pretty good shape to play it, lots of up and down.
Other Thoughts: Course is so much fun to play. Well worth the 6 hour drive down to play.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing

2-4    11/24/2009   12/9/2009
Review By: Austin4224
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Amazing course, Lots, lots of terrain change, Beautiful course with great view. Every hole has great signs and tee pads. Also bag holders and benchs at every hole.

This course makes you play with level changes and throw diff shots. Fun course and not so hard to discourage beginner but hard enough to make you have many bogey and sometime double.
Cons: No water,
No actual long par 4 or 5 holes.
Other than that great park
Other Thoughts: On the side of cliff at the old water works department for KC.

Parking is great lots of parking
One of the best courses in United States must play along with a few other courses if you stop in KC.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Majestic

1    10/24/2009   10/25/2009
Review By: odysseus81
Played: 72  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 17.2 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is truly special. I am a big fan of park-like setting courses and this is by far the nicest of that style of course I have played. The course was full of some of the most beautiful and mature trees I have seen on a course. There are tremendous elevation changes that make each hole unique. I didn't feel like there was a single hole on the course that was redundant. The views were spectacular in multiple places....none better than on #1---which is the most amazing starter hole I have ever played and maybe one of my favorite holes period. The signage was phenomenal. There were two signs on each hole (one with a map and one with an actual picture standing from the tee, looking straight ahead showing you the actual basket loactions). The course flowed extremely well...it took no time to find the next tee. There are wonderful, large concrete tee pads and bag hangers.
Cons: The only thing that kept this from being a 5 was the fact that to be a 5 for me (perfect) I would have liked to have seen a couple of holes with either deeper woods or some water danger. It was just lacking diversity from that standpoint.
Other Thoughts: This is a MUST-PLAY for anyone. Period.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Water Works NKC

1    9/26/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: x3billRONIN
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course has it all. Excellent changes in elevation, a mix of wide open fairways that beg you to rip a huge drive, balanced by some nicely canopied fairways that run right next to some severe drop offs, that may cause you to second guess how you play the hole. A very challenging, but not overly-frustrating course. Nicely maintained.
Cons: This course is usually a top choice of disc golfers from all over the area, so chances are you will find yourself waiting to tee off on a few holes. Also, this is not the course for you if you're easily winded, or struggling with a bad knee or ankle. There are some severe uphill, and downhill climbs that will take their toll.
Other Thoughts: Although I am relatively new to disc golf, and I've only played this course once, I can't wait to go back. Of all the courses I've played in Kansas City, this one is by far my favorite. If you have the chance to play it, do so. You will definately find it challenging, and fun.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Watch the roll..

5+    2/16/2009   9/16/2009
Review By: bthoma1
Played: 36  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2010
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is a very nice course with lots of elevation changes that will challenge your game.
Variety of holes will call for a variety of shots
You have to think smart when playing this course and know when to go for it and when to hang back

Bathroom at the beginnning
practice basket
Cement pads with nice baskets
Very nice teesigns with actual pictures
Baskets moved a good amount

Cons: the only "con" about this course is how busy it is. But if you come during the right time you should be ok.
Also I don't like how my wife lost one of my wraiths..
That having been said, The REAL cons are;
only one bathroom, a good amount of trash debris while i was there.

Oh oh, I have also never been here and not seen someone "roll" down one of the hills on almost every other hole.
Other Thoughts: There are a few holes on this course that are pretty much Par at best..depending on pin placement.

Big risk and big reward on a few shots. You could be parked, or parked off of a tree to the right.
Take your time and you will do great here.


0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Park, fun round of disc golf

1    11/10/2008   9/11/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 168  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/6/2009
11 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The land here is awesome. Some really rolling terrain that yields awesome elevation changes. You can really air it out on some holes and watch the discs fly with relative ease. It's fun and I love the risk associated with the 'waterworks roll' - that is, most greens are risky as they are on a slope, thus if you miss a putt and your disc stands up, the roll away may result in more than one putt back. I love this type of risky challenge. You definitely get a workout playing up and down the hills. The multiple tees and multiple pin placements keep things interesting and allows you to play at various skill levels.
Cons: Lack of complete balance. Despite some holes being in the woods, most are out in the open among the huge city park trees. There are no real holes that play underneath a forested canpoy of leaves, requiring accuracy with a tunnel shot. No water hazards. Shady park area (i mean the people hanging out in the parking lot), and suffers from being right in the city, thus city noise and traffic, and the inability to truly lose yourself.
Other Thoughts: All in all, waterworks is a great course. My personal preference is for remotely located, quiet, and peaceful rounds of disc golf. I also prefer much more wooded holes, and severely tight holes that require extreme accuracy. Waterworks lacks these types of holes. Another nice feature that would bring more variety and balance would be a good water feature like a pond that truly comes into play. If you love playing on sharp elevations and like the risk of rollaways, waterworks is for you. It is worth it to play a round if you're travelling to KC. My preference in course settings and design with absolute variety keeps me from rating this higher than a 4. I think it actually lacks variety and could only be considered a rolling course (lacks flat ripper holes for the most part too), and could have rated lower due to that. But it was very fun to play and I enjoyed the challenge.

11 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Super big elevation changes! FUN!

5+    8/20/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: Michler
Played: 230  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 22.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/28/2014
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Challenging course with mostly par 3 golf. A favorite among the elite Pros on the PDGA tour. This course winds up and down steep hills which forces every player to focus on the angle their disc lands. Alot of demanding shots that are fun to throw over and over again. Some tight deuce holes with alot of trouble and some bigger holes up and down hills. Every hole makes you think. A very nice city park and a great course to play casually and competitively.

Front 9 there are 4 or 5 holes that are pretty tight and heavily wooded. All fairways here are fair though. Holes 5 and 6 are perhaps the most challenging with steep dropoffs to one side of the fairway and some heavy trees off the fairway. Hole 1 is the most aesthetically pleasing with the city in the background as you bomb down a steep hill toward a bucket 400'+. I find Hole 14 to be my favorite to throw. Its well over 400', but you'll be surprised how quickly your disc gets down there. The fairway steadily slopes downward the entire way towards the road which curves around the 'green'. Very easy to end up OB here, but hard to let up on your drive.

Again, an extremely fun course with more elevation change than you'll find just about anywhere.
Cons: I can't think of anything negative to say about this course. It didn't get the full 5 star rating for me because its just not quite as pleasing as a Ewing Park in Des Moines, but believe me this course is right there with any course you can think of. Top notch.
Other Thoughts: Who doesn't love to rip drives up and down hills?

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Home sweet home!

5+    7/12/2009   7/14/2009
Review By: Jayl3ird
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Amazing variation of scenery, level of difficulty, and interesting terrain. There are port-a-pottys now, and two signs at every tee. One photograph sign displaying basket location, and one arial view of the hole displaying distances. Benches and bag hangers at every tee. Water fountains and a nice staging area by tee #1. The course has trails that easily lead you from basket to tee pad. Also, there are 2 separated baskets for putt practice and several out-of-the-way open flats to practice drives. Simply the best KC has to offer.
Cons: This course will not be easy on that bum leg or knee that you may have. Almost every hole has large hills to accend/decend. Most of the trails are dirt, so after a rain, it will be sloppy, but not too bad even after huge rains.
Other Thoughts: Don't throw your green or camo discs at this park. The never-ending forests will claim them.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Disc golf and mountain hiking all in one.

5+    10/20/2008   6/23/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 315  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.1 Years
16 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Quite possibly the best mixture of scenery, challenge, and variation out there. Varied pin positions make the course a fun experience that might be different from the last time you played it.

Water Works is my favorite course in the entire world. It seems like you're in a forest, while in the middle of the city. There are numerous birdie opportunities, yet numerous opportunities for disaster. Shooting for birdie here can end in a parked putt, or your disc rolling down a hill into another fairway, through it, and into the abyss.

This is the course that taught me elevation disc golf and the need to start throwing a forearm shot. A trip to KC is simply not complete without a trip to Water Works. Yes, its that addicting. For a big city course, I've never seen it overly crowded here.
Cons: Kansas City's Parks and Rec have been having budgetary problems and the park is not always maintained at the level it should. Depending on when you play here, you may end up playing a scruffy course and end up looking for your disc awhile in plain ol' grass. Parking is a bit less to be desired. No bathrooms. Not for people with weak knees or who get short of breath easily.
Other Thoughts: Installed more than ten years ago, Water Works has kept up with the time, and is still one of the most revered courses in the Kansas City family despite the fact that its been surpassed in length by the newer Wyco and Blue Valley courses. Despite its shorter length, even advanced/pro level players enjoy challenging the hills here as less arm and more finesse is what will get you to score well. Less experienced players will find a sense of challenge without it being overwhelming.

16 of 18 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.