Kansas City, MO 
Water Works Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #14 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 449ft. Par / Distance:
View of Kansas City skyline from Hole #14's fairway.



Reviews: 83
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Disc golf and mountain hiking all in one.

5+    10/20/2008   6/23/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 317  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.5 Years
16 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Quite possibly the best mixture of scenery, challenge, and variation out there. Varied pin positions make the course a fun experience that might be different from the last time you played it.

Water Works is my favorite course in the entire world. It seems like you're in a forest, while in the middle of the city. There are numerous birdie opportunities, yet numerous opportunities for disaster. Shooting for birdie here can end in a parked putt, or your disc rolling down a hill into another fairway, through it, and into the abyss.

This is the course that taught me elevation disc golf and the need to start throwing a forearm shot. A trip to KC is simply not complete without a trip to Water Works. Yes, its that addicting. For a big city course, I've never seen it overly crowded here.
Cons: Kansas City's Parks and Rec have been having budgetary problems and the park is not always maintained at the level it should. Depending on when you play here, you may end up playing a scruffy course and end up looking for your disc awhile in plain ol' grass. Parking is a bit less to be desired. No bathrooms. Not for people with weak knees or who get short of breath easily.
Other Thoughts: Installed more than ten years ago, Water Works has kept up with the time, and is still one of the most revered courses in the Kansas City family despite the fact that its been surpassed in length by the newer Wyco and Blue Valley courses. Despite its shorter length, even advanced/pro level players enjoy challenging the hills here as less arm and more finesse is what will get you to score well. Less experienced players will find a sense of challenge without it being overwhelming.

16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Sets the bar for Disc Golf courses

1    6/20/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: rlangton
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is absolutely stunning. You can tell when you pull into the park going straight up a huge winding hill you are in for a treat. Hole 1 starts the course off with a spectacular view and serious downhill.

The course layout if varied nicely with no 2 holes the same. Some wide open shots on serious uphill/downhill elevations, some nice doglegs, big mature trees couldn't have been planted in better spots to make for varied obstacles, several challenging corridor shots. The layout is very well done, with a clear path from each disc-catcher to the next tee pad. This course is very easy to navigate.

The park is very well maintained with nice benches, trash recepticles, disc bag holders, and multiple signs at each tee box. The landscaping is superb, with nice use of bushes, flower beds, and well-groomed grass. The sound of trains and planes make for an interesting industrial sounding environment out in a pristine forest. It's really something just to take in.
Cons: If you don't like hills you're going to have a rough time on this course. It can also be pretty unforgiving to beginners (though not terrible as the "roughs" really aren't rough enough to lose discs easily).
Other Thoughts: Of all the courses I've played so far, this one is by far the best. If you find yourself within 100 miles of KC , do yourself a favor and visit Water Works park.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

5+    5/18/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.9 Years
13 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful Park
Easy to navigate...very intuitive
Multiple basket placements
Incredible use of elevation
Great signage
Good cement tee pads
Great variety of holes....open big arm holes, tight technical holes, huge elevation changes, extreme risk/reward shots, strategic use of out of bounds shots
Never crowded on week days
Forces you to use a variety of shots
Benches and bag holders at tees
Very well maintained and clean
Cons: No real cons
Can be very windy in the afternoon...playing early is best
If you are a beginner or really out of shape, this course can be very unforgiving...be prepared for a good hike
Other Thoughts: I play this course every single time I go to KC
It is one of the best all around courses I've played (279 to date) and is worth the road trip to play--plus there are a number of other awesome courses in the area, so KC can be that special DG road trip you have been looking for

Water Works has been a good litmus test for me to see how much my game has progressed over the years...when I first played this course it was brutal...I got my butt kick so bad but the course is so epic I kept going back...now, even though I don't "own the course", I no longer am afraid of certain holes and par ones that were guaranteed double bogeys

13 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 One of KC's best

5+    4/15/2009   5/7/2009
Review By: KSLAWDAWG
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.6 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Great mixuture of open and wooded holes. Excellent scenery. Nice tee pads. One of my favorite courses!
Cons: Difficult course for novice players.
Other Thoughts: I have lived in KC and have played this course many times. Absolutely love the course and is my favorite in the area.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Kansas City Showcase

1    3/14/2009   3/14/2009
Review By: jace
Played: 42  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 6.9 Years
10 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is simply put the best course in Kansas City.

The terrain is pretty spectacular. The hole variety is exceptional. Each hole has a photographic map indicating basket options. It could be a little tough to find some of the baskets, but you knew where to look based on the tee signage. Tee signs also included distances to baskets. Each teebox also had a bag hanger and a bench.

Park was exceptionally clean and well taken care of. Pleanty of parking at first tee.

Terrain can cause alot of trouble for "rollers". Players will be rewarded heavily for accurate throws, and punished only slightly during winter months on a couple holes for poor throws. I thought the basket placement was incredible. Many tight tree shots mixed very well with a few open holes, and a couple locations right behind trees. Really encouraged us to think about our approach shot.

Putting area next to first tee.
Cons: No facilities.
Just be prepared to hike due to the great terrain.
Other Thoughts: Print the course map from this site to help navigate - some holes were a little tough to figure out the first time out.

There is a playground near the first tee.

Favorite holes were:
#1 - great way to start with a beautiful view of Kansas City and a long downhill drive.

#5 - basket placement at the furthest location created for a great tree allee that was beautiful.

I'm sure this course is even more beautiful when the leaves come in and the penalty will be worse on errant shots!

10 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Best course I've played

1    2/18/2009   2/20/2009
Review By: Robert Scott
Played: 52  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 18.6 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is the best course I have played.
I seen that there was some elevation on the course but I under estimted the degree of change before I played the course. I like the elevation, very easy for your disc to roll away, a long ways away.
Easy to find and get to. Well mowed and kept park. A large map of the course at the first hole. a practice basket just east of tee #1. Every hole had a sign with all four (on most holes) pin placements located on them. The tees are concrete and long/wide. Every tee area had a bag pole and a bench. The bag poles are nice but much easier to just set your bag on the bench.

The course layout is great nothing to short and nothing real long, No 800 to 1000ft holes. The pin placements are on slopes, over hills, across a valley or through trees. It is also easy to follow and find your way to the next tee. When we played all the pins were placed in a different mix of placement (not all in the short but not all in the long either). There is a playground near the parking area but it looks like the park is for disc golf mostly.
Cons: Nothing big, but the color of the pins on the signs did not match up all the time. On one hole the blue one would be the long one, but on the next hole the blue may be the short one. The slopse were slick from being muddy.
Other Thoughts: Great course, with cool views of downtown KC and the area south of the course.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Epic Course

1    7/28/2008   10/28/2008
Review By: Brokensaint
Played: 161  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/4/2009
3 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: What a beautiful course! Massive spaces, rolling hills and dense tree-lined woods provide a wide variety of challenge. You have to be able to throw a variety of shots well to score here. The landscape will send errant shots rolling madly away. Tees and signage were quite nice.
Cons: None that I can speak of
Other Thoughts: Easily one of my top 5 favorite courses!

3 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic Terrain

1    10/17/2008   10/23/2008
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 92  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 16.6 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: *Fantastic elevation changes & aesthetics make this a must play course
*beautiful land - old, mature trees; signs of history in overgrown stairs & old train tracks *has character - cool stone shelter with 'terrapin station' sign hung
*very well maintained - no invasives, grass cut short, limbs pruned
*great signage & kiosk info, easy to navigate solo & w/out map
*4 pins/1pad per hole
Cons: *only one teepad per hole. i played in the shorts & wished it were longer as many holes played like a 3.5...not gonna 2, not gonna 4
*seemed like it would play with minimal scoring variation, or maybe that's just me playing the short tees, but only 1 or 2 challenging pars
*little risk/reward -- i only took one 4 in 1.5 rds....with plenty of bad shots that went unpunished
*some drab holes that were nothing special and would blend in on an ordinary course but stand out here due to the quality of some of the other holes
*some holes with luck lines off the tee
Other Thoughts: I'd give this a 4.25 if there was such an option. I like this course better than any other i've rated 4, if for no other reason than the terrain is awesome.

That said, it didn't meet my expectations as I found the course to be very un-challenging on the day I played....can't wait to try another set of tees!

After playing this my home course, perkerson in ATL, seemed flat...

Fave holes -
#1 - steeply downhill over heavily sloped & hilly land
# 17 - flat or downhill with severe L>R downhill gradient & OB right

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 The Kansas City Legend

1    8/29/2008   9/3/2008
Review By: Greg Layton
Played: 143  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2009
13 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Everything is well-marked. Signs are detailed, no graffiti, signs point the way to the next hole in a couple of places
- Each teebox consists of the following: At least one bench, a bag hanger with 4 hooks, trashcan, sign, and a larger than average teepad
- The elevation changes will challenge your stamina
- You're really punished for bad shots off the fairway. Steep dropoffs to the right and left of the hole are common.
- The most scenic course I've ever seen. The view of Kansas City from the first hole is breath taking.
- Multiple tee positions, as many as four in some cases, means that this course will always be challenging.
- A previous reviewer mentioned that there was no restroom... that situation has been rectified thanks to a port-a-potty near the first hole.
Cons: - There's a map at the beginning of the course with holders for maps/scorecards, but it was empty when I played.
- Course seems to be a little neglected. Grass wasn't mowed, there were dead tree limbs on the 5th fairway that looked like they'd been there all summer, and the staircase that takes you from the 6th to the 7th hole is falling apart. Someone needs to step in and give this course a little more of the TLC it deserves.
Other Thoughts: Just a great course overall with it's current state of disrepair being the only reason that it doesn't garner a 5 rating. The first hole not only offers a great view but it also makes you want to unload your bag several times. This is a must play if you're driving through the KC area.

Updated 7/2009: After playing a 100 courses, (I now have a better idea of what a world class course looks like) and watching the reviews to make sure no one else has brought up maintenance issues, I've deemed it necessary to bump this course up to a 5. I still lay awake at night thinking about hole #1 a year after I played it.

13 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 My new favorite

6/16/2008   6/16/2008
Review By: staugiera
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.7 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: elevation changes are amazing, tee boxes and their surrounding area are spectacular-I was a first time player on this course and I never struggled to find the pins thanks to their visuals, great variety of left-handed and right-handed holes, nice variety of long distance holes and shorter technical holes. I feel that I can get a three on any hole and at the same time I also feel that if I make a small mistake on half the holes I could easily get a five or six. Plenty of people on the course in the middle of the afternoon, but I also never felt crowded and never needed to wait on others.
Cons: I am sure that there are cons to this course, but I was not able to find them, unless you are a beginner or not in good shape at all.
Other Thoughts: I planned to never give any course a 5.0, but after playing this course I don't feel that I have any choice. This is a very challenging course, well maintained, intense elevation change, great tee boxes, and the cherry to give it the extra half disc is an amazing view. This is a must play. All previous rankings of mine must now drop a half disc due to this course!!

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.