Oklahoma City, OK 
Will Rogers Park Share
Uploaded By: Robert Scott Hole #5
3 / 212ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Beautiful Course

1    9/5/2016   9/7/2016
Review By: nhcb
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course! There is a good range in distance and terrain. Most holes are very open and friendly to beginners. Everyone that we ran into was very friendly.
Cons: As out of town visitors we played once on a Sunday and wanted to play once more before leaving on Monday. We were pretty surprised after we went to our lies to discover that two different baskets were moved overnight. Be sure to keep an eye out for this.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/17/2016   6/18/2016
Review By: JShaner
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great use of elevation variances
-Good blend of hole distances
-OB is clearly marked
-Easy to follow the course
-Course is usually well-maintained
Cons: -Needs a trash can at every tee
-Signs are either unreadable or non-existent
-Some pins and tees are close together, so you have to watch the group ahead of you

Other Thoughts: Overall a decent course, especially for beginners. This is where I take my daughters (14 and 11) when they wanna play. Good short holes, none of them are really long. The sun can be brutal, as there isn't much shade, so throw a couple bottles of water in your bag.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Short game work

2-4    1/30/2016   2/1/2016
Review By: AeroPurt
Played: 33  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/14/2016
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Easy to follow
- Nice baskets
- Good elevation changes
- Fairly clean park
Cons: - Course grows teeth on windy days
- Definitely in need of new tee signs
- Holes 11 and 12's fairways are next to each other so you have to be careful throwing on 11 if there is a group on 12's tee pad. The same goes for 17/18 but there are quite a bit of trees guarding 18's tee pad.
- Hole 13's basket is only about 30 feet from 14's tee so you need to be extra careful to avoid hitting the group in front of you.
Other Thoughts: This course is great for working on your short game. I primarily threw fairways and midranges. The course is wide open with a few trees scattered here and there - this makes playing on windy days very tough. All in all, this is a great course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Will Do

2-4    8/7/2015   8/8/2015
Review By: hotstang
Played: 159  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice quick 18 hole course.
Fun for all ages and skill sets.
Great history in this course.
Great for Midrange and putter practice.
Good flow.
Easy to navigate.
Great use of the elevation provided.
Cons: Course needs TLC.
Needs some baskets replaced.
Needs new signs.
Other Thoughts: Has playground and water park if out with the family.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beginner-Friendly Course in OKC

5+    1/30/2015   5/6/2015
Review By: Rob G
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/1/2016
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: TL;DR - Old-school public park course designed by the father of disc golf.

- Several highly enjoyable elevated tee shots
- Some parts of the park are really beautiful
- Mature trees offer shade and force interesting lines
- Fun course for beginners with several memorable holes
- Great course for putter or "one disc only" rounds
Cons: TL;DR - Course feels worn-down and the water hazards smell funny.

- Tee signs destroyed or unreadable due to graffiti
- Water hazards smell strongly of human feces
- Fairly short course with only a few holes over 330'
- Shady characters sometimes hang out in parking lot
- Some areas feel very worn down, garbage abounds
- Tends to be very crowded on nice days and weekends
Other Thoughts: I enjoy practicing on this course, and some of the holes are really beautiful. But the course is in a rougher part of town and feels pretty worn down.

Update: this course was saved from destruction by the local disc golf community. New teepads have been put in, some baskets have been upgraded, and the course seems much cleaner lately. The new teepads and pin positions make a few holes easier, but I'd much rather have easier holes than no course!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Short but challenging

1    8/30/2014   8/30/2014
Review By: thite
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fair opportunities for a few birdies and just as many longer holes that challenge you for par. Easy to follow despite some missing signs at tee boxes.
Cons: A few missing signs at tee boxes.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Nice

2-4    6/3/2014   6/4/2014
Review By: Jcrunchy
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Short to medium rangle holes. Easy to navigate, many ace run holes and chances or birdies.
Cons: Muddy around baskets.
Other Thoughts: Love playing this course. It is always a lot of fun and not too challenging, but not so easy that you feel like you dont have to earn your score. I recommend this course to people of all skill levels. Usually really polite people out playing too.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Will Rogers was a great guy. This course - not so much.

1    3/15/2013   3/16/2013
Review By: TylerM
Played: 31  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I like the fact that there is a store with a good selection of discs right across the street. The course was easy to play and would be a great place to practice with your mids and putter.

The obstacles present a small challenge with water hazards, scattered trees, and great use of elevation.
Cons: The course is run down and dirty. The pads and baskets are showing age. Supposedly, a couple homeless guys live at hole 11(?).

Obviously, this course used to be much better before the trees were removed. Now it is little more than a decent pitch and putt.
Other Thoughts: Thanks to the OKCDGA for all they're doing in OKC. I know many of you have worked hard at Will Rogers and maybe the issues there can be fixed. Until then, when I'm in OKC, I'll be at Dolese.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Not Spectacular But Fun

1    11/13/2012   12/18/2012
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 52  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good concrete tees
Good baskets
Pretty easy navigation
Plenty of parking
Well kept
Pretty clean
A few benches
Good use of elevation (what little there is)
Great chance to work on accuracy
Good use of available land
Good to take family or newbies to
Nice park area
Good use of the storm drainage ditch on a few holes
A little risk/reward (not much)
Not crowded
Convenient stop between 12-13 at Fred's to get discs, drinks, snacks
Great place for beginners through intermediate to improve your all around game
Just plain fun
Favorite Hole(s):#5, #8, #15
Cons: Needs good tee signs
Needs more trees
Water on 13 looks and smells stanknasty
Most holes were a little short (not for me but just in general)
Need more trash cans
Need more benches
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course in the heart of OKC. Stop by and play if you need a quick round or to work on your game. Not a spectacular course like some others in the area but fun anyway. I stopped here and was not dissappointed with the fun factor. I will be back but I wouldn't make the trip just for Will Rogers. Make a day of it and play several courses in the area.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 OK in OK

2-4    5/9/2012   3/19/2012
Review By: kcautoguy
Played: 18  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2012
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very Good looking course with a good mix of shots.
Fun to play with a fair amount of difficulty. Pretty nice tee pads and easy to navigate. Water in play on several holes. Wind has been a factor every time I've played in Oklahoma and it howls on this course.
Cons: Holes are pretty short, I think I used my driver twice. Tee-box signs are horrible and so are the baskets. When its busy you better watch your back, some holes overlap pretty close.
Other Thoughts: This course could be much better but its still fun to throw. Great place to play in the summer when you don't want deep rough and ticks to deal with. There is a disc golf shop right across the street in case you loose your disc in the water.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.