Disc Golf Store
Oklahoma City, OK 
Will Rogers Park Share
Uploaded By: Robert Scott Hole #9
3 / 239ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Not Spectacular But Fun

1    11/13/2012   12/18/2012
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 51  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good concrete tees
Good baskets
Pretty easy navigation
Plenty of parking
Well kept
Pretty clean
A few benches
Good use of elevation (what little there is)
Great chance to work on accuracy
Good use of available land
Good to take family or newbies to
Nice park area
Good use of the storm drainage ditch on a few holes
A little risk/reward (not much)
Not crowded
Convenient stop between 12-13 at Fred's to get discs, drinks, snacks
Great place for beginners through intermediate to improve your all around game
Just plain fun
Favorite Hole(s):#5, #8, #15
Cons: Needs good tee signs
Needs more trees
Water on 13 looks and smells stanknasty
Most holes were a little short (not for me but just in general)
Need more trash cans
Need more benches
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course in the heart of OKC. Stop by and play if you need a quick round or to work on your game. Not a spectacular course like some others in the area but fun anyway. I stopped here and was not dissappointed with the fun factor. I will be back but I wouldn't make the trip just for Will Rogers. Make a day of it and play several courses in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 OK in OK

2-4    5/9/2012   3/19/2012
Review By: kcautoguy
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2012
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very Good looking course with a good mix of shots.
Fun to play with a fair amount of difficulty. Pretty nice tee pads and easy to navigate. Water in play on several holes. Wind has been a factor every time I've played in Oklahoma and it howls on this course.
Cons: Holes are pretty short, I think I used my driver twice. Tee-box signs are horrible and so are the baskets. When its busy you better watch your back, some holes overlap pretty close.
Other Thoughts: This course could be much better but its still fun to throw. Great place to play in the summer when you don't want deep rough and ticks to deal with. There is a disc golf shop right across the street in case you loose your disc in the water.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Loviní Every Minute Of It!

1    6/7/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As only 2 holes are showing just barely over 300 and everything else is less than that, I will review and rate this course as a pitch & putt type course. There is some great use of elevation, water, OB, mandos, and trees here. The use of the hills here is great. Firing downward, upward or even straight over a little valley and trying to hit aces is a blast. There is just enough creek and OB to add the risk reward factor to this place. Most of the holes do have a few tree here and there, but they still give you a multitude of routes to the hole. As these are mostly ace runs, I must say they were all different shots. So there wasn't the repetitiveness that some pitch & putt courses sometimes get. The baskets and concrete tee pads are in decent shape for this small course. Bathrooms and thrash cans are available as well as the pubic pool. These holes are lot of fun!
Cons: The tee signs are in bad shape and are almost illegible. The ones that do have info need their footage and maps updated. This place is very busy and used by lots of disc golfers and pedestrians alike. Navigation was a little confusing at some spots, but too bad.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here was pretty cool. This is not normally my cup of tea, but I really had a good time here. I really think that if I had limited time to play a course while in the Oklahoma City area, this is certainly one that I would consider making the stop at again.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/15/2010   5/20/2010
Review By: Basoos1
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Is a good course for beginers and novice players.
not enough vegitation to lose a disc
course allows a variety of shots to be used (fore, back, hawk, etc)
Cons: Course can get busy (espically with large groups 5+)

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Needing repairs

5+    4/11/2010   4/11/2010
Review By: tripower67vette
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great overall course for beginners as well as seasoned players. Few technical spots to get around or through trees.Played a few times in less than an hour on lunch break.
Cons: Missing 2 baskets,people leaving beer cans everywhere.Lack of trash cans and benches.
Other Thoughts: Been playing here fro 15 yrs. Nice mix of friendly locals.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Noodle arms unite!

1    4/7/2007   8/7/2008
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14 Years
This review was updated on 6/10/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clean park, short grass playing surface. Good variety of shots, especially when the wind kicks up.

HOLE DETAILS:

1 - Hyzer shot across drainage ditch. Multiple lines for sidearm throwers and lefties.

2 - Pin guarded by lots of trees; again, multiple paths.

3 - Upshot across the ditch. Most adv players and above will deuce this.

4 - Parallels the road. Go too far and you'll coast down the hill.

5 - Perfect hole for an S-shot. Lots of tree roots on the green.

6 - Easy ace run here.

7 - Anhyzer uphill shot with trees to negotiate. Slope is devilishly slippery when wet.

8 - Nice 325' air shot. Bomb this one and your disc will wind up in the police station parking lot.

9 - Multiple lines, a few trees to contend with.

10 - Another short hole but because of the trees, not much of an ace run. A skip might make it.

11 - Air it out. Straight shot along a line of trees, which don't come into play unless you grip-slip.

12 - Straight alley between two lines of trees. Stop at the store after this hole if you need refreshment or more discs.

13 - Anhyzer shot downhill to the open sewer that runs around the NW corner of this course. There are people who will fish discs out of this hole, but not me.

14 - Long uphill shot. A roller works well here but watch out for crosswinds.

15 - Anhyzer over the creek. I've also seen people go through the woods here but it looks pretty dicey to me.

16 - Ace run. Don't overshoot or you'll wind up in the creek, which at this point has a tall, steep bank.

17 - Air it out here. Wide open except for the pool enclosure to the right and the trees to the left. Make it between these two obstacles (the gap is about 20 yards wide) and you've got a straight shot at the pin.

18 - RHBH best shot is over the corner of the parking lot, which is a really good place to not park your car. The creek at this point is channeled in concrete.
Cons: The creek that runs along the back nine is an open sewer.
Other Thoughts: This course is probably on the short side for people who can drive 350-400' or more but for noodle arms like me, it's just right.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

4/1/2008   4/1/2008
Review By: rwmurrow
Played: 33  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Fun course. Good for beginners. I sometimes just take a putter or a midrange and play the whole thing.
Cons: Lots of drunk people.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Will Rogers - Short and Sweet

5+    3/12/2008   3/12/2008
Review By: DG_Wizard
Played: 20  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a moderately short course. It is very skill-oriented. It is a FANTASTIC place to practice the short game, probably at least half the holes have possibilities for aces. It is not overly wooded, and it makes for fast play. I can easily get up to 3 full rounds in by noon. There are online maps, sufficient parking, and lots of friendly people. Concrete tee pads, benches, and trash cans present. It is easy to get a good score, even if you are not a pro. In the summer time, it's easy to finish 18 and go directly to the pool inside the park.
Cons: Some of the fairways are tight. Some of them practically overlap. It is not uncommon to have someone on another hole in your fairway, especially on the front 9. Signs are present, but unfortunately most of them have been around so long that the paint is worn completely off of them. The online map helps a lot for first-timers. The layout for the front nine is confusing at first. This course can get BUSY. Only good thing about it getting busy at this course is that the holes are short enough to help with wait time if it does back up. There are occaisionally people who seem to leave beer cans laying around.
Other Thoughts: There is a convenience store across the street from the park that sells discs that's fairly priced. If passing through OKC, this course is not far at ALL from the airport (maybe even doable with a long layover). Fixed the Lat/Long. of the course, the previous coordinates were WAY off.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.