Oklahoma City, OK 
Will Rogers Park Share
Uploaded By: Robert Scott Hole #1
3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Beginner-Friendly Course in OKC

5+    5/5/2015   5/6/2015
Review By: Rob G
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: TL;DR - Old-school public park course designed by the father of disc golf himself. Nice elevation changes.

- Several highly enjoyable elevated tee shots
- Some parts of the park are really beautiful
- Mature trees offer shade and force interesting lines
- Fun course for beginners with several memorable holes
- Great course for putter or "one disc only" rounds
Cons: TL;DR - Course is often trashed and feels worn-down.

- Garbage everywhere, beside tees especially
- Tee signs destroyed or unreadable due to graffiti
- Water hazards all smell strongly of human feces
- Fairly short course with only a few holes over 330'
- Rain can make some holes unplayable for days due to fields of mud or slow-draining water surrounding pins
- Shady characters sometimes hang out in parking lot
- Tends to be very crowded on nice days and weekends
Other Thoughts: I enjoy practicing on this course, and some of the holes are really beautiful. But the course is in a rougher part of town, and it feels really worn-down. Older golfers tell of a better time, before blight killed off many trees on the back nine.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short but challenging

1    8/30/2014   8/30/2014
Review By: thite
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fair opportunities for a few birdies and just as many longer holes that challenge you for par. Easy to follow despite some missing signs at tee boxes.
Cons: A few missing signs at tee boxes.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice

2-4    6/3/2014   6/4/2014
Review By: Jcrunchy
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Short to medium rangle holes. Easy to navigate, many ace run holes and chances or birdies.
Cons: Muddy around baskets.
Other Thoughts: Love playing this course. It is always a lot of fun and not too challenging, but not so easy that you feel like you dont have to earn your score. I recommend this course to people of all skill levels. Usually really polite people out playing too.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Will Rogers was a great guy. This course - not so much.

1    3/15/2013   3/16/2013
Review By: TylerM
Played: 31  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like the fact that there is a store with a good selection of discs right across the street. The course was easy to play and would be a great place to practice with your mids and putter.

The obstacles present a small challenge with water hazards, scattered trees, and great use of elevation.
Cons: The course is run down and dirty. The pads and baskets are showing age. Supposedly, a couple homeless guys live at hole 11(?).

Obviously, this course used to be much better before the trees were removed. Now it is little more than a decent pitch and putt.
Other Thoughts: Thanks to the OKCDGA for all they're doing in OKC. I know many of you have worked hard at Will Rogers and maybe the issues there can be fixed. Until then, when I'm in OKC, I'll be at Dolese.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not Spectacular But Fun

1    11/13/2012   12/18/2012
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 52  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 4.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good concrete tees
Good baskets
Pretty easy navigation
Plenty of parking
Well kept
Pretty clean
A few benches
Good use of elevation (what little there is)
Great chance to work on accuracy
Good use of available land
Good to take family or newbies to
Nice park area
Good use of the storm drainage ditch on a few holes
A little risk/reward (not much)
Not crowded
Convenient stop between 12-13 at Fred's to get discs, drinks, snacks
Great place for beginners through intermediate to improve your all around game
Just plain fun
Favorite Hole(s):#5, #8, #15
Cons: Needs good tee signs
Needs more trees
Water on 13 looks and smells stanknasty
Most holes were a little short (not for me but just in general)
Need more trash cans
Need more benches
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course in the heart of OKC. Stop by and play if you need a quick round or to work on your game. Not a spectacular course like some others in the area but fun anyway. I stopped here and was not dissappointed with the fun factor. I will be back but I wouldn't make the trip just for Will Rogers. Make a day of it and play several courses in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 OK in OK

2-4    5/9/2012   3/19/2012
Review By: kcautoguy
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2012
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very Good looking course with a good mix of shots.
Fun to play with a fair amount of difficulty. Pretty nice tee pads and easy to navigate. Water in play on several holes. Wind has been a factor every time I've played in Oklahoma and it howls on this course.
Cons: Holes are pretty short, I think I used my driver twice. Tee-box signs are horrible and so are the baskets. When its busy you better watch your back, some holes overlap pretty close.
Other Thoughts: This course could be much better but its still fun to throw. Great place to play in the summer when you don't want deep rough and ticks to deal with. There is a disc golf shop right across the street in case you loose your disc in the water.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner friendly, not too overwhelming

1    7/16/2011   7/16/2011
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 338  Reviewed: 161  Exp: 5.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great beginners course. The distances on the holes aren't super long and
most of the holes are wide open. There are elevated tee pads and a few obstacles later on in the course. Many uphill and downhill shots. Water really only comes into play behind and to the right of #13's basket. Here are my observations as of my visit:
#1 Has an elevated tee pad to start the round off, and there is a drainage ditch on the left.
#2 has a couple of trees at the bucket to contend with but nothing too overwhelming.
#3-9, with the exception of #4, work their way back and forth across a draw and vary in length. #4 is on top of the hill and works its way from north to south along the road.
#8 is the longest hole of the front 9, and allows you a chance to get in a good rip.
#10 was a nice hole playing downhill around some trees, very short hole.
#11-#12 are straight away shots.
#13 is a good little hole playing downhill.
#14 plays uphill, just be sure not to kill your drive and put it in the picnic area.
#15 has some trees off the box, nothing too intimidating.
#16 pretty much a straight shot
#17 Cedars to the left of the box, and pool to the right. Make it past the cedars and you'll be fine.
#18 finishes up with the second longest hole of the course and has a drainage ditch to the left. On a windy day this could be a factor.
Cons: There are no tee signs here, this takes this course down a bit. Also there is virtually no shade here, in the hot summer months this can be brutal. #3's tee pad is super short so be aware. On a windy day, which happens too often in Oklahoma, this course would play a lot tougher. The baskets aren't the greatest either and could use some repairing, and a number on them would also be nice.
I was not a fan of backtracking between the basket on #11 and the tee pad for #12, but it is what it is.
Other Thoughts: I would have loved to play this course when the trees were still in place. I feel it would have spiced things up a bit, especially on the front 9. If you are just getting into disc golf this would be a great course to learn on. Intermediate players will also like this one as well, because they will score well. Advanced players will leave feeling underwhelmed. As has been stated in other reviews this would make a good warm up course before playing another OKC course. I would suggest warming up here then heading to Dolese Youth Park a few miles up the road. With some improvements this course could be a lot better, still it is a decent course for what it is.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Good Beginner Course

5+    4/30/2011   5/18/2011
Review By: Apoth
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course for anyone just getting into the sport. It consists of mostly open shots with just a few obstacles to make things interesting. A new player isn't going to spend an entire round hacking it out from one treeline to the other as you might do at Tye F. Cunningham, but you'll still have to navigate around a few trees and other obstacles.

The course is a quick play and a good warm-up for any of the other courses in the Oklahoma City metro area. It's also a good course if you're wanting to play "putter only" or "mid only" rounds as the length is almost never too far for a mid to reach.

Hole 12 is also right across the street from one of the larger disc golf suppliers in the area (Fred's) and its always easy to stop in and grab a few discs or a drink mid-round
Cons: The first con, and most obvious for anyone who's played this course over the last few years, is the recent removal of virtually all of the trees on the course. Apparently those trees contracted a parasite and, as a result, had to be removed. Unfortunately, this removed virtually all of the difficulty from what was already a fairly easy course. Specifically, holes 2, 4, 9, 12, 13, and 14 were affected.

The course has several other problems as well. First, its in desperate need of new tee-signs. They're virtually non-existent on the course. Second, several of the baskets are old and worn. In fact, one is actually held together by wire. Third, like many public courses, this one is prone to littering despite the presence of many trash cans. Finally, despite the reduction in difficulty, this course can be packed and, unfortunately, it's not always with the best people. I've personally witnessed a few drunken fights on this course and am not sure I would feel particularly comfortable bringing my children to this course as a result.
Other Thoughts: Despite its problems, this course still has things to offer. Almost without fail, this is the course that beginners prefer and its a nice quick round for more advanced players.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 First course I ever played

2-4    4/8/2011   4/21/2011
Review By: kc135golfer
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course in my opinion was great for learning the game and getting a little variety. You get a series of throws from elevated tee boxes and tees below the baskets. There are only a couple of holes where you have a chance to get wet, but even then you can retrieve your disc easily enough as the water is shallow. Course is very open.
Cons: Now back to the water hazards...The water is usually very dirty and smells of sewage. Advisable to have some kind of sanitizer should you have to go in to get a disc. One basket sits rather close to the road and if you are still learning the game and your throws you can easily end up throwing into traffic.
Other Thoughts: As this was the first course I have ever played it will always have a good memory. The course is fun and quick to play. If you are looking for a course technically sound then you should look elsewhere. If you want a quick fun round with some friend then I reccommend this course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good warm up course

1    3/20/2011   3/20/2011
Review By: Lorider680
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -Great elevation valleys to throw over
-quick turnaround time.(2 people, 1 hour)
-easy access from highway
-bast bang for buck
Cons: -Tress are all gone
-no shade at all!!!
-Willbilly's
Other Thoughts: This course is a shodaw of its old self. They removed trees to make it nothing more than a warm up course for Dolese. It is sill best for buck though, navigating is easy and fast,and Freds Mart across the street has all your disc golf needs.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.