Oklahoma City, OK
Will Rogers Park Share
Uploaded By: Robert Scott Hole #15
3 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Will Rogers was a great guy. This course - not so much.

1    3/15/2013   3/16/2013
Review By: TylerM
Played: 31  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like the fact that there is a store with a good selection of discs right across the street. The course was easy to play and would be a great place to practice with your mids and putter.

The obstacles present a small challenge with water hazards, scattered trees, and great use of elevation.
Cons: The course is run down and dirty. The pads and baskets are showing age. Supposedly, a couple homeless guys live at hole 11(?).

Obviously, this course used to be much better before the trees were removed. Now it is little more than a decent pitch and putt.
Other Thoughts: Thanks to the OKCDGA for all they're doing in OKC. I know many of you have worked hard at Will Rogers and maybe the issues there can be fixed. Until then, when I'm in OKC, I'll be at Dolese.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not Spectacular But Fun

1    11/13/2012   12/18/2012
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 51  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good concrete tees
Good baskets
Pretty easy navigation
Plenty of parking
Well kept
Pretty clean
A few benches
Good use of elevation (what little there is)
Great chance to work on accuracy
Good use of available land
Good to take family or newbies to
Nice park area
Good use of the storm drainage ditch on a few holes
A little risk/reward (not much)
Not crowded
Convenient stop between 12-13 at Fred's to get discs, drinks, snacks
Great place for beginners through intermediate to improve your all around game
Just plain fun
Favorite Hole(s):#5, #8, #15
Cons: Needs good tee signs
Needs more trees
Water on 13 looks and smells stanknasty
Most holes were a little short (not for me but just in general)
Need more trash cans
Need more benches
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course in the heart of OKC. Stop by and play if you need a quick round or to work on your game. Not a spectacular course like some others in the area but fun anyway. I stopped here and was not dissappointed with the fun factor. I will be back but I wouldn't make the trip just for Will Rogers. Make a day of it and play several courses in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

OK in OK

2-4    5/9/2012   3/19/2012
Review By: kcautoguy
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2012
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very Good looking course with a good mix of shots.
Fun to play with a fair amount of difficulty. Pretty nice tee pads and easy to navigate. Water in play on several holes. Wind has been a factor every time I've played in Oklahoma and it howls on this course.
Cons: Holes are pretty short, I think I used my driver twice. Tee-box signs are horrible and so are the baskets. When its busy you better watch your back, some holes overlap pretty close.
Other Thoughts: This course could be much better but its still fun to throw. Great place to play in the summer when you don't want deep rough and ticks to deal with. There is a disc golf shop right across the street in case you loose your disc in the water.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner friendly, not too overwhelming

1    7/16/2011   7/16/2011
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 227  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 3.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great beginners course. The distances on the holes aren't super long and
most of the holes are wide open. There are elevated tee pads and a few obstacles later on in the course. Many uphill and downhill shots. Water really only comes into play behind and to the right of #13's basket. Here are my observations as of my visit:
#1 Has an elevated tee pad to start the round off, and there is a drainage ditch on the left.
#2 has a couple of trees at the bucket to contend with but nothing too overwhelming.
#3-9, with the exception of #4, work their way back and forth across a draw and vary in length. #4 is on top of the hill and works its way from north to south along the road.
#8 is the longest hole of the front 9, and allows you a chance to get in a good rip.
#10 was a nice hole playing downhill around some trees, very short hole.
#11-#12 are straight away shots.
#13 is a good little hole playing downhill.
#14 plays uphill, just be sure not to kill your drive and put it in the picnic area.
#15 has some trees off the box, nothing too intimidating.
#16 pretty much a straight shot
#17 Cedars to the left of the box, and pool to the right. Make it past the cedars and you'll be fine.
#18 finishes up with the second longest hole of the course and has a drainage ditch to the left. On a windy day this could be a factor.
Cons: There are no tee signs here, this takes this course down a bit. Also there is virtually no shade here, in the hot summer months this can be brutal. #3's tee pad is super short so be aware. On a windy day, which happens too often in Oklahoma, this course would play a lot tougher. The baskets aren't the greatest either and could use some repairing, and a number on them would also be nice.
I was not a fan of backtracking between the basket on #11 and the tee pad for #12, but it is what it is.
Other Thoughts: I would have loved to play this course when the trees were still in place. I feel it would have spiced things up a bit, especially on the front 9. If you are just getting into disc golf this would be a great course to learn on. Intermediate players will also like this one as well, because they will score well. Advanced players will leave feeling underwhelmed. As has been stated in other reviews this would make a good warm up course before playing another OKC course. I would suggest warming up here then heading to Dolese Youth Park a few miles up the road. With some improvements this course could be a lot better, still it is a decent course for what it is.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good Beginner Course

5+    4/30/2011   5/18/2011
Review By: Apoth
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course for anyone just getting into the sport. It consists of mostly open shots with just a few obstacles to make things interesting. A new player isn't going to spend an entire round hacking it out from one treeline to the other as you might do at Tye F. Cunningham, but you'll still have to navigate around a few trees and other obstacles.

The course is a quick play and a good warm-up for any of the other courses in the Oklahoma City metro area. It's also a good course if you're wanting to play "putter only" or "mid only" rounds as the length is almost never too far for a mid to reach.

Hole 12 is also right across the street from one of the larger disc golf suppliers in the area (Fred's) and its always easy to stop in and grab a few discs or a drink mid-round
Cons: The first con, and most obvious for anyone who's played this course over the last few years, is the recent removal of virtually all of the trees on the course. Apparently those trees contracted a parasite and, as a result, had to be removed. Unfortunately, this removed virtually all of the difficulty from what was already a fairly easy course. Specifically, holes 2, 4, 9, 12, 13, and 14 were affected.

The course has several other problems as well. First, its in desperate need of new tee-signs. They're virtually non-existent on the course. Second, several of the baskets are old and worn. In fact, one is actually held together by wire. Third, like many public courses, this one is prone to littering despite the presence of many trash cans. Finally, despite the reduction in difficulty, this course can be packed and, unfortunately, it's not always with the best people. I've personally witnessed a few drunken fights on this course and am not sure I would feel particularly comfortable bringing my children to this course as a result.
Other Thoughts: Despite its problems, this course still has things to offer. Almost without fail, this is the course that beginners prefer and its a nice quick round for more advanced players.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 First course I ever played

2-4    4/8/2011   4/21/2011
Review By: kc135golfer
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course in my opinion was great for learning the game and getting a little variety. You get a series of throws from elevated tee boxes and tees below the baskets. There are only a couple of holes where you have a chance to get wet, but even then you can retrieve your disc easily enough as the water is shallow. Course is very open.
Cons: Now back to the water hazards...The water is usually very dirty and smells of sewage. Advisable to have some kind of sanitizer should you have to go in to get a disc. One basket sits rather close to the road and if you are still learning the game and your throws you can easily end up throwing into traffic.
Other Thoughts: As this was the first course I have ever played it will always have a good memory. The course is fun and quick to play. If you are looking for a course technically sound then you should look elsewhere. If you want a quick fun round with some friend then I reccommend this course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good warm up course

1    3/20/2011   3/20/2011
Review By: Lorider680
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -Great elevation valleys to throw over
-quick turnaround time.(2 people, 1 hour)
-easy access from highway
-bast bang for buck
Cons: -Tress are all gone
-no shade at all!!!
-Willbilly's
Other Thoughts: This course is a shodaw of its old self. They removed trees to make it nothing more than a warm up course for Dolese. It is sill best for buck though, navigating is easy and fast,and Freds Mart across the street has all your disc golf needs.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Sad Situation

5+    10/16/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: chuckbob
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Cons: Unfortunately, they have cut down a number of large trees that added some challenge to the course. It is an older course, so, is relatively short. Many of the holes were kept challenging because of the restricted flight paths that many of the now missing trees provided. Holes 4, 9, 11, 14, & 15 are now so wide open that you can throw almost any shot your heart desires without any fear of hitting a tree and being penalized. This used to be a fun, little course but has been rendered almost completely boring by the changes.
Other Thoughts: As well as losing some of the difficulty of the course, the loss of trees also makes the course look almost ugly. There is also the loss of shade that is sometimes needed in the hot Oklahoma summer. It's just too sad for words.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Lots of Fun

5+    8/28/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: KAMEPOH
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/26/2010
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I give this course 4/5 because it is just plain fun! It is not difficult, but it gives you opportunities to test out throws and discs and practice some shots that are still plaguing you.
You play several rounds quickly because it is short.
Cons: It's too short, and thus it does not require a whole lot of skill.
Because it is not an extremely technical course, there are a lot of beginners that can really slow play down. Just find an opportunity to ask to play through, they usually don't mind.

UPDATE: 100 trees were chopped down, so what little challenge there was is now completely removed.
Other Thoughts: Baskets have been well maintained/replaced when needed. Hole signs are not usable.

rating went from 4.0 to 1.5 - I hope that they add trees soon.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Will Rogers

5+    8/10/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: Brinks
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.1 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is pretty open and the pins remain in the same placement year round. Lots of wide open areas. Easy course, old baskets, good layout.
Cons: One long hole, 17, is right next to a public swimming pool and on the other side of the fairway is a creek full of the funkiest water around.
Other Thoughts: Stay out of the water.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.