Oklahoma City, OK 
Will Rogers Park Share
Uploaded By: Robert Scott Hole #5
3 / 212ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Beginner friendly, not too overwhelming

1    7/16/2011   7/16/2011
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 369  Reviewed: 172  Exp: 6.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great beginners course. The distances on the holes aren't super long and
most of the holes are wide open. There are elevated tee pads and a few obstacles later on in the course. Many uphill and downhill shots. Water really only comes into play behind and to the right of #13's basket. Here are my observations as of my visit:
#1 Has an elevated tee pad to start the round off, and there is a drainage ditch on the left.
#2 has a couple of trees at the bucket to contend with but nothing too overwhelming.
#3-9, with the exception of #4, work their way back and forth across a draw and vary in length. #4 is on top of the hill and works its way from north to south along the road.
#8 is the longest hole of the front 9, and allows you a chance to get in a good rip.
#10 was a nice hole playing downhill around some trees, very short hole.
#11-#12 are straight away shots.
#13 is a good little hole playing downhill.
#14 plays uphill, just be sure not to kill your drive and put it in the picnic area.
#15 has some trees off the box, nothing too intimidating.
#16 pretty much a straight shot
#17 Cedars to the left of the box, and pool to the right. Make it past the cedars and you'll be fine.
#18 finishes up with the second longest hole of the course and has a drainage ditch to the left. On a windy day this could be a factor.
Cons: There are no tee signs here, this takes this course down a bit. Also there is virtually no shade here, in the hot summer months this can be brutal. #3's tee pad is super short so be aware. On a windy day, which happens too often in Oklahoma, this course would play a lot tougher. The baskets aren't the greatest either and could use some repairing, and a number on them would also be nice.
I was not a fan of backtracking between the basket on #11 and the tee pad for #12, but it is what it is.
Other Thoughts: I would have loved to play this course when the trees were still in place. I feel it would have spiced things up a bit, especially on the front 9. If you are just getting into disc golf this would be a great course to learn on. Intermediate players will also like this one as well, because they will score well. Advanced players will leave feeling underwhelmed. As has been stated in other reviews this would make a good warm up course before playing another OKC course. I would suggest warming up here then heading to Dolese Youth Park a few miles up the road. With some improvements this course could be a lot better, still it is a decent course for what it is.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Good Beginner Course

5+    4/30/2011   5/18/2011
Review By: Apoth
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course for anyone just getting into the sport. It consists of mostly open shots with just a few obstacles to make things interesting. A new player isn't going to spend an entire round hacking it out from one treeline to the other as you might do at Tye F. Cunningham, but you'll still have to navigate around a few trees and other obstacles.

The course is a quick play and a good warm-up for any of the other courses in the Oklahoma City metro area. It's also a good course if you're wanting to play "putter only" or "mid only" rounds as the length is almost never too far for a mid to reach.

Hole 12 is also right across the street from one of the larger disc golf suppliers in the area (Fred's) and its always easy to stop in and grab a few discs or a drink mid-round
Cons: The first con, and most obvious for anyone who's played this course over the last few years, is the recent removal of virtually all of the trees on the course. Apparently those trees contracted a parasite and, as a result, had to be removed. Unfortunately, this removed virtually all of the difficulty from what was already a fairly easy course. Specifically, holes 2, 4, 9, 12, 13, and 14 were affected.

The course has several other problems as well. First, its in desperate need of new tee-signs. They're virtually non-existent on the course. Second, several of the baskets are old and worn. In fact, one is actually held together by wire. Third, like many public courses, this one is prone to littering despite the presence of many trash cans. Finally, despite the reduction in difficulty, this course can be packed and, unfortunately, it's not always with the best people. I've personally witnessed a few drunken fights on this course and am not sure I would feel particularly comfortable bringing my children to this course as a result.
Other Thoughts: Despite its problems, this course still has things to offer. Almost without fail, this is the course that beginners prefer and its a nice quick round for more advanced players.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 First course I ever played

2-4    4/8/2011   4/21/2011
Review By: kc135golfer
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course in my opinion was great for learning the game and getting a little variety. You get a series of throws from elevated tee boxes and tees below the baskets. There are only a couple of holes where you have a chance to get wet, but even then you can retrieve your disc easily enough as the water is shallow. Course is very open.
Cons: Now back to the water hazards...The water is usually very dirty and smells of sewage. Advisable to have some kind of sanitizer should you have to go in to get a disc. One basket sits rather close to the road and if you are still learning the game and your throws you can easily end up throwing into traffic.
Other Thoughts: As this was the first course I have ever played it will always have a good memory. The course is fun and quick to play. If you are looking for a course technically sound then you should look elsewhere. If you want a quick fun round with some friend then I reccommend this course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good warm up course

1    3/20/2011   3/20/2011
Review By: Lorider680
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -Great elevation valleys to throw over
-quick turnaround time.(2 people, 1 hour)
-easy access from highway
-bast bang for buck
Cons: -Tress are all gone
-no shade at all!!!
-Willbilly's
Other Thoughts: This course is a shodaw of its old self. They removed trees to make it nothing more than a warm up course for Dolese. It is sill best for buck though, navigating is easy and fast,and Freds Mart across the street has all your disc golf needs.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Sad Situation

5+    10/16/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: chuckbob
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Cons: Unfortunately, they have cut down a number of large trees that added some challenge to the course. It is an older course, so, is relatively short. Many of the holes were kept challenging because of the restricted flight paths that many of the now missing trees provided. Holes 4, 9, 11, 14, & 15 are now so wide open that you can throw almost any shot your heart desires without any fear of hitting a tree and being penalized. This used to be a fun, little course but has been rendered almost completely boring by the changes.
Other Thoughts: As well as losing some of the difficulty of the course, the loss of trees also makes the course look almost ugly. There is also the loss of shade that is sometimes needed in the hot Oklahoma summer. It's just too sad for words.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Lots of Fun

5+    8/28/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: KAMEPOH
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/26/2010
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I give this course 4/5 because it is just plain fun! It is not difficult, but it gives you opportunities to test out throws and discs and practice some shots that are still plaguing you.
You play several rounds quickly because it is short.
Cons: It's too short, and thus it does not require a whole lot of skill.
Because it is not an extremely technical course, there are a lot of beginners that can really slow play down. Just find an opportunity to ask to play through, they usually don't mind.

UPDATE: 100 trees were chopped down, so what little challenge there was is now completely removed.
Other Thoughts: Baskets have been well maintained/replaced when needed. Hole signs are not usable.

rating went from 4.0 to 1.5 - I hope that they add trees soon.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Will Rogers

5+    8/10/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: Brinks
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15.5 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is pretty open and the pins remain in the same placement year round. Lots of wide open areas. Easy course, old baskets, good layout.
Cons: One long hole, 17, is right next to a public swimming pool and on the other side of the fairway is a creek full of the funkiest water around.
Other Thoughts: Stay out of the water.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Good Quick Round

5+    8/9/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: Daveharvey83
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I very easy course, not alot of technicals and a decent variety of throws and distances. I find this course the better of the courses in the area to play if you are looking for a quick round. There are not alot of places to loose a disc with two exceptions. Stays clean most of the time and all 18 baskets are installed.
Cons: This place is very busy. Between fellow golfers and the vehicle traffic it can get frustrating. Beware of the creek in the back 9. This creek will eat discs not because of the depth but because the mysterious smell comming from it will make you weigh your options on if it's worth getting wet. The other problem that this course has when it's not very cold or hot are the kids/homeless that hang out on the benches but I have never had any issues with them. They just make me uneasy.
Other Thoughts: There are some holes on this course that make for easy birdies to get your confidence up!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Rated to high

1    8/3/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: kidsrap
Played: 60  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 28.3 Years
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: You park close to the 1st and last hole
Cons: Bad Signs, hard to follow, you cross too many roads. Baskets were old held together with wire
Other Thoughts: Would say that the rating of 3 disks for this course is very high. I woul dgive it a 1.5

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Loviní Every Minute Of It!

1    6/7/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 235  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 29.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As only 2 holes are showing just barely over 300 and everything else is less than that, I will review and rate this course as a pitch & putt type course. There is some great use of elevation, water, OB, mandos, and trees here. The use of the hills here is great. Firing downward, upward or even straight over a little valley and trying to hit aces is a blast. There is just enough creek and OB to add the risk reward factor to this place. Most of the holes do have a few tree here and there, but they still give you a multitude of routes to the hole. As these are mostly ace runs, I must say they were all different shots. So there wasn't the repetitiveness that some pitch & putt courses sometimes get. The baskets and concrete tee pads are in decent shape for this small course. Bathrooms and thrash cans are available as well as the pubic pool. These holes are lot of fun!
Cons: The tee signs are in bad shape and are almost illegible. The ones that do have info need their footage and maps updated. This place is very busy and used by lots of disc golfers and pedestrians alike. Navigation was a little confusing at some spots, but too bad.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here was pretty cool. This is not normally my cup of tea, but I really had a good time here. I really think that if I had limited time to play a course while in the Oklahoma City area, this is certainly one that I would consider making the stop at again.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.