Oklahoma City, OK 
Will Rogers Park Share
Uploaded By: Robert Scott Hole #11
3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Lots of Fun

5+    8/28/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: KAMEPOH
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/26/2010
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I give this course 4/5 because it is just plain fun! It is not difficult, but it gives you opportunities to test out throws and discs and practice some shots that are still plaguing you.
You play several rounds quickly because it is short.
Cons: It's too short, and thus it does not require a whole lot of skill.
Because it is not an extremely technical course, there are a lot of beginners that can really slow play down. Just find an opportunity to ask to play through, they usually don't mind.

UPDATE: 100 trees were chopped down, so what little challenge there was is now completely removed.
Other Thoughts: Baskets have been well maintained/replaced when needed. Hole signs are not usable.

rating went from 4.0 to 1.5 - I hope that they add trees soon.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Will Rogers

5+    8/10/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: Brinks
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.7 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is pretty open and the pins remain in the same placement year round. Lots of wide open areas. Easy course, old baskets, good layout.
Cons: One long hole, 17, is right next to a public swimming pool and on the other side of the fairway is a creek full of the funkiest water around.
Other Thoughts: Stay out of the water.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Good Quick Round

5+    8/9/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: Daveharvey83
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I very easy course, not alot of technicals and a decent variety of throws and distances. I find this course the better of the courses in the area to play if you are looking for a quick round. There are not alot of places to loose a disc with two exceptions. Stays clean most of the time and all 18 baskets are installed.
Cons: This place is very busy. Between fellow golfers and the vehicle traffic it can get frustrating. Beware of the creek in the back 9. This creek will eat discs not because of the depth but because the mysterious smell comming from it will make you weigh your options on if it's worth getting wet. The other problem that this course has when it's not very cold or hot are the kids/homeless that hang out on the benches but I have never had any issues with them. They just make me uneasy.
Other Thoughts: There are some holes on this course that make for easy birdies to get your confidence up!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Rated to high

1    8/3/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: kidsrap
Played: 59  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 26.6 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: You park close to the 1st and last hole
Cons: Bad Signs, hard to follow, you cross too many roads. Baskets were old held together with wire
Other Thoughts: Would say that the rating of 3 disks for this course is very high. I woul dgive it a 1.5

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Loviní Every Minute Of It!

1    6/7/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As only 2 holes are showing just barely over 300 and everything else is less than that, I will review and rate this course as a pitch & putt type course. There is some great use of elevation, water, OB, mandos, and trees here. The use of the hills here is great. Firing downward, upward or even straight over a little valley and trying to hit aces is a blast. There is just enough creek and OB to add the risk reward factor to this place. Most of the holes do have a few tree here and there, but they still give you a multitude of routes to the hole. As these are mostly ace runs, I must say they were all different shots. So there wasn't the repetitiveness that some pitch & putt courses sometimes get. The baskets and concrete tee pads are in decent shape for this small course. Bathrooms and thrash cans are available as well as the pubic pool. These holes are lot of fun!
Cons: The tee signs are in bad shape and are almost illegible. The ones that do have info need their footage and maps updated. This place is very busy and used by lots of disc golfers and pedestrians alike. Navigation was a little confusing at some spots, but too bad.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here was pretty cool. This is not normally my cup of tea, but I really had a good time here. I really think that if I had limited time to play a course while in the Oklahoma City area, this is certainly one that I would consider making the stop at again.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Short(er) and Sweet

5+    5/8/2010   6/8/2010
Review By: MiketheGoalie
Played: 35  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of shots in and out of the Oklahoma wind for the beginning player. Water is in play on about 5 holes (not counting the little creeks) and provides a little bit of a challenge, but wet discs are retrievable for the most part. Easy to navigate with plenty of birdie opportunities. Only a handful of holes that really allow you to air it out. LOTS of elevation changes and out-of-bounds roads to keep you honest. Not heavily wooded but still plenty of trees in play.
Cons: Busy. In a busy park and appears to be a fairly popular course. Large groups like to play the holes near the parking lot and hold up play of those playing through.

Plays pretty fast and not necessarily in the best part of town.

Has had a bunch of trees removed due to parasite infection. As a result, this course has been simplified to a large amount. Almost half of the holes were affected and those that had a fairly unique assortment of available lines are now almost entirely wide open. My original rating for this course was a 3, but it's now a 2.5 tops.
Other Thoughts: Like others have said, not a bad course per say, just not a great one either. Lots of variety, but the course is more beginner level and serves as a good warm up for anybody who knows what they are doing.

UPDATE: Plays even quicker than before, but still almost always crowded. Still a good beginner course or a excellent warm-up or short disc course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/15/2010   5/20/2010
Review By: Basoos1
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Is a good course for beginers and novice players.
not enough vegitation to lose a disc
course allows a variety of shots to be used (fore, back, hawk, etc)
Cons: Course can get busy (espically with large groups 5+)

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Plays fast

1    5/7/2010   5/12/2010
Review By: bigghigg
Played: 40  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Played very fast (not crowded when I was there). It was challenging, but not overwhelming to me. Concrete tee boxes
Cons: Course needs a lot of maintenance. Signs are missing, damaged, or illegible. A couple of baskets are missing. Could be made more interesting by utilizing the drainage ditch running through the park, but some bridges would need to be built to make that more feasible.
Other Thoughts: The directions on the front page are bad. They'll get you there, but it's difficult to make any sense of them, especially using the mobile version. I ended up starting on 14 because I was in a hurry to catch a flight and didn't have time to drive in circles looking for the hole 1.

From I-44 and NW 36th, take N Grand Blvd south to the second park entrance. Parking will be on the right.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Sooner Man

1    3/4/2010   4/27/2010
Review By: jco2jco
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 20.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very family friendly, Very Nice Course For All Kinds Of Players. Lots Of Different Style Holes.
Cons: Gets Crowded, many multi-player groups. (5-8 players) SLOW at times
Other Thoughts: My uncle never played in his life and he shot a 9 over after the round, good for everyone at this course

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Needing repairs

5+    4/11/2010   4/11/2010
Review By: tripower67vette
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great overall course for beginners as well as seasoned players. Few technical spots to get around or through trees.Played a few times in less than an hour on lunch break.
Cons: Missing 2 baskets,people leaving beer cans everywhere.Lack of trash cans and benches.
Other Thoughts: Been playing here fro 15 yrs. Nice mix of friendly locals.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.