Oklahoma City, OK 
Woodson Park Share
Uploaded By: Chained Evil Hole #4 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 357ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Zig zag confusion

2-4    5/16/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: jjlevasseur
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is very open and allows you to work on your disc flight patterns. I like to try BH and FH throws to see the outcome while playing. Very forgiving throughout.
Cons: No signs, delapitated, no trash cans so trash is left on the course, needs major tlc.
Other Thoughts: This course is never busy so its great for practice. The first time played, I'm glad there were players that knew it will. The course is very confusing and layout overlaps, players don't know where to go because of a lack of sinage and map.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 great course

5+    5/13/2013   6/30/2013
Review By: Crow2012
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: open baskets, good holes to practice driving, not to open but not to many obsticals
Cons: right next to the interstate, lost a few discs to the pool to the middle of the course
Other Thoughts: great course to play excellent course to learn on.. first course I even played..

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Stretch It Out

1    11/13/2012   1/9/2013
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 51  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 4.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good concrete tees
Good baskets
A place to really rip your drivers
A ittle length variety
Decent use of the creek on several holes
Decently clean
Easy to find
Plenty of parking
Well mowed
A few trees
Not crowded
Can take a big group and not be in anyone's way
Starts and finishes near parking lot
You get to meet some "interesting" people esspecially in the evening

Favorite Hole(s): #6, #10
Cons: Tee signs are vandalized, broken, or missing altogether
Navigation is horrible. Get a guide or at least a map.
No course map on location
Not the greatest neighborhood
Flat and open in Oklahoma =very windy
Not enough trees to make it very fun
Very repetetive
Not much variety
Open and long
Feels too much like field practice

Not many cons just not enough pros for a return visit
Other Thoughts: If you need a little change up or are bored with the good courses OKC has to offer, swing by Woodson and stretch out your drivers. The front nine is not a bad stretch of holes but the back nine just feels like "let's go way over there so we can have 18 holes." When I was there the creek was pretty clean except for the leaves.

This course isn't horrible but not very much fun. My "disc rating" is weighted heavily toward the fun factor which this course didn't have much of.

PM me and let me know how I could improve my reviews or just be more "helpful."

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    4/27/2012   4/30/2012
Review By: 509inc
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The park is well maintained. Grass was mowed and there wasn't trash everywhere. Very easy to find off the high way. The course has not been busy any of the times I've been.
Cons: No course map at park.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time playing this park. If it had a course map it would have got a better rating.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 pretty okay

1    3/22/2012   3/28/2012
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 210  Reviewed: 162  Exp: 7.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -concrete tees, decent baskets, used to be signs
-lots of longer holes, longest course in the city
-grass was cut and there was less trash than i expected for a city park in a bad neighborhood
-starts and finishes next to the parking lot, plenty of parking
Cons: -very open, very windy, very few obstacles
-not much shot variety, moderate length variety
-not the best neighborhood but not unsafe
-difficult to navigate, you will need a map
-signs are mostly broken and/or graffiti-covered
-could easily throw a disc onto I-44 on the back 9, a few holes are very close to the highway on the right and you're throwing into a headwind
Other Thoughts: This course was not as bad as I thought it would be from reading the reviews. Being built it 1981, the course is obviously from a different era and it hasn't held up so well. That said, a little TLC could bring this course a long way. Plenty of room to plant some trees or add other obstacles too.

The concrete tees are okay, a little narrow, and the baskets are in good enough condition. The holes that play near the creek on the front 9 were the best part of the course. There are more trees near there and more to think about on the tee box. The signage is bad and a map is necessary. Flow is not obvious and there are many pins in sight from the box.

There was a bit of trash around on the course and much of it was near the tees so obviously left by golfers; pretty disappointing. Not a lot of trash cans out on the course but there are some back at the parking lot and around the buildings.

Overall this course is worth playing if you've already checked out the other local courses but don't let this be the one course you play in OKC. If you have the time, the courses down in Norman are much better golf.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Getting a 'little' better, still needs improvement

2-4    9/17/2010   9/17/2010
Review By: OKC444
Played: 20  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As stated in other reviews this is the longest of the OKC courses. It is well mowed and really pretty clean minus the creek. Saw live fish so it can't be that bad... right? Someone has put 3" black and white mailbox numbers on most of the baskets. That is a big help. Has a reasonably good mix of left and right/long and short. Course was empty and only took 1:45 for first round (had 2 find everything) and 1:15 for second round with three golfers. Three over both rounds... :(
Cons: Needs trash cans to be utilized by Parks Dept not piled up in their fenced in area. Although there wasn't THAT MUCH trash around compared to other courses I've seen. Needs to be remarked at a min. with paint on the tee boxes (most are marked with black spray paint and stencils, but very faded)
Other Thoughts: ManOnTheDoor has included a nice google map that made it easier to follow than City provided map... much thanks! I would agree that I would be very alert if I were to play this course at night, but in the daylight I felt perfectly at ease here. Stay clear during Cross-Country events as this park is used by local HS track teams and the course they run mirrors over half of the disc golf course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Throw 'em long

5+    6/25/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: ManOnTheDoor
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: **UPDATED FEB 2011 - There have been many trees removed along the west boundary of the course. This makes these holes much easier and that isn't necessarily a good thing. **

This is a very wide open course save for 2-3 holes. This is an excellent opportunity to practice your long drives, walk to your disk and get another long drive in. The baskets are all intact and the tee boxes are OK. Only one hole with water in play other than little creeks.
Cons: Not necessarily the best part of town as stated before, but we've had no problems or ever felt uncomfortable when we play there.

The swimming pool is pretty popular and (obviously) noisy, but when it's open you don't have to jump the fence to get a grip locked disc back. If you do get into the water I described above, kiss the disc good bye. Steep banks and, uh, questionable water cleanliness will keep you from wanting to put it back in your bag even if you get it back.

We couldn't actually find the tee box for #11, and I think we played hole #11 from #10's tee. Signage is gone or vandalized to where it's unreadable. Pins do not have clear markers on them do know which is which. *UPDATE - With some more familiarity to the course, we found all pins and pads. I uploaded a better course map and someone has cleaned even that up a bit.*

There is a real possibility of throwing onto I-44 on a few holes, but the fence has been beat up enough that you can get through it to retrieve the disc - provided it's only close to and not actually on the highway.

Wide open in Oklahoma obviously means strong southerly wind. There is a good mix of holes across, into, and with the wind.

Discs lost into the maintenance yard on the north east side of the park are gone forever.
Other Thoughts: Although I said it above and others have as well, the part of town really isn't the best, but don't let this scare you off. There are no free roaming gangs or people waiting to shoot you. The houses close by are a bit run down and there is some graffiti on some of the buildings, that's true. But we have had -no- interaction with anyone there that would make us want to not come back.

This is a fun course, but it does take a bit of scouting to find the proper pins - or just have your group vote on throwing to the one you can see. Never too crowded, this is a fast course for it's length.

With a little bit of love, this could be a much better course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for a mixup

5+    10/21/2009   12/11/2009
Review By: lschrock
Played: 38  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 13.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A few nice long anhyzer shots, longest play in Oklahoma City. There are a few shots that you can throw really nice lines. Course is out in the open, scattered trees, but is a pretty fun course to play if you know it. Good course for a change up in the city. Can be a good challenge, a lot of the holes have some decent distance on them. Great practice in the Oklahoma wind. Course is completely flat, without any elevation change.
Cons: Extremely tough to follow unless you've played it a couple of times. Has a pretty dirty feel to it, as it's bordered by a river/sewer things that is pretty gross. Lose your disc in there and risk hepatitis to get it back. Frequented by the homeless who use the corner of hole 3 next to the building as an outdoor toilet. In a bad area, too. I wouldn't play in the dark.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 ...In the ghetto

1    9/5/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: mikeb
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's another place to play. No crowds. Nice and open, good for working on longer drives.
Cons: Not in the greatest of areas. Little to no shade. Hard to follow (print the map off the city's website, that might make it easier). No water fountains that I could see. The creek along the east side smelled foul when the wind caught it and the steep banks leave little chance of fishing a disc out should you drop a disc in it; either wade it out into the sewer water and dig for it or leave it.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend playing this course with any less than 4 people in your group, while I didn't have any problems today I can see how there could be potential for trouble. As this course is not in the greatest of areas, I would not recommend playing it in the early morning or near dusk. Take plenty of water, you will need it. If you tend to loose discs to water hazards, take a super long handled rake because you do NOT want to go in there.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 pack heat

1    8/11/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: okiebullgod
Played: 44  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front 9 is pretty fun, and gives you opportunity to throw a lot of different shots. There is really only one chance to lose plastic (the ditch). There wasn't much traffic, and the local players showed us the course outlay and also played in our group. (safety in numbers?)
Cons: This course is on the south side of OKC, and has it's share of bums, junkies, and wanna be gangs (that marked up the signs). There are two holes on the back 9 that are challenging? Maybe impossible without chancing losing plastic toward the highway trying to hyzer around all the trees in the way. The man that showed us around told us not to be out at dusk/dark. Wonder if there are vampires there?
Other Thoughts: It was a fun change of pace. We played around 5pm and didn't have any problems.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.