Oklahoma City, OK 
Woodson Park Share
Uploaded By: Chained Evil Hole #5 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 293ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Zig zag confusion

2-4    5/16/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: jjlevasseur
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.2 Years
Pros: The course is very open and allows you to work on your disc flight patterns. I like to try BH and FH throws to see the outcome while playing. Very forgiving throughout.
Cons: No signs, delapitated, no trash cans so trash is left on the course, needs major tlc.
Other Thoughts: This course is never busy so its great for practice. The first time played, I'm glad there were players that knew it will. The course is very confusing and layout overlaps, players don't know where to go because of a lack of sinage and map.

 pretty okay

1    3/22/2012   3/28/2012
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 195  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 7.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -concrete tees, decent baskets, used to be signs
-lots of longer holes, longest course in the city
-grass was cut and there was less trash than i expected for a city park in a bad neighborhood
-starts and finishes next to the parking lot, plenty of parking
Cons: -very open, very windy, very few obstacles
-not much shot variety, moderate length variety
-not the best neighborhood but not unsafe
-difficult to navigate, you will need a map
-signs are mostly broken and/or graffiti-covered
-could easily throw a disc onto I-44 on the back 9, a few holes are very close to the highway on the right and you're throwing into a headwind
Other Thoughts: This course was not as bad as I thought it would be from reading the reviews. Being built it 1981, the course is obviously from a different era and it hasn't held up so well. That said, a little TLC could bring this course a long way. Plenty of room to plant some trees or add other obstacles too.

The concrete tees are okay, a little narrow, and the baskets are in good enough condition. The holes that play near the creek on the front 9 were the best part of the course. There are more trees near there and more to think about on the tee box. The signage is bad and a map is necessary. Flow is not obvious and there are many pins in sight from the box.

There was a bit of trash around on the course and much of it was near the tees so obviously left by golfers; pretty disappointing. Not a lot of trash cans out on the course but there are some back at the parking lot and around the buildings.

Overall this course is worth playing if you've already checked out the other local courses but don't let this be the one course you play in OKC. If you have the time, the courses down in Norman are much better golf.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Getting a 'little' better, still needs improvement

2-4    9/17/2010   9/17/2010
Review By: OKC444
Played: 20  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As stated in other reviews this is the longest of the OKC courses. It is well mowed and really pretty clean minus the creek. Saw live fish so it can't be that bad... right? Someone has put 3" black and white mailbox numbers on most of the baskets. That is a big help. Has a reasonably good mix of left and right/long and short. Course was empty and only took 1:45 for first round (had 2 find everything) and 1:15 for second round with three golfers. Three over both rounds... :(
Cons: Needs trash cans to be utilized by Parks Dept not piled up in their fenced in area. Although there wasn't THAT MUCH trash around compared to other courses I've seen. Needs to be remarked at a min. with paint on the tee boxes (most are marked with black spray paint and stencils, but very faded)
Other Thoughts: ManOnTheDoor has included a nice google map that made it easier to follow than City provided map... much thanks! I would agree that I would be very alert if I were to play this course at night, but in the daylight I felt perfectly at ease here. Stay clear during Cross-Country events as this park is used by local HS track teams and the course they run mirrors over half of the disc golf course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Throw 'em long

5+    6/25/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: ManOnTheDoor
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: **UPDATED FEB 2011 - There have been many trees removed along the west boundary of the course. This makes these holes much easier and that isn't necessarily a good thing. **

This is a very wide open course save for 2-3 holes. This is an excellent opportunity to practice your long drives, walk to your disk and get another long drive in. The baskets are all intact and the tee boxes are OK. Only one hole with water in play other than little creeks.
Cons: Not necessarily the best part of town as stated before, but we've had no problems or ever felt uncomfortable when we play there.

The swimming pool is pretty popular and (obviously) noisy, but when it's open you don't have to jump the fence to get a grip locked disc back. If you do get into the water I described above, kiss the disc good bye. Steep banks and, uh, questionable water cleanliness will keep you from wanting to put it back in your bag even if you get it back.

We couldn't actually find the tee box for #11, and I think we played hole #11 from #10's tee. Signage is gone or vandalized to where it's unreadable. Pins do not have clear markers on them do know which is which. *UPDATE - With some more familiarity to the course, we found all pins and pads. I uploaded a better course map and someone has cleaned even that up a bit.*

There is a real possibility of throwing onto I-44 on a few holes, but the fence has been beat up enough that you can get through it to retrieve the disc - provided it's only close to and not actually on the highway.

Wide open in Oklahoma obviously means strong southerly wind. There is a good mix of holes across, into, and with the wind.

Discs lost into the maintenance yard on the north east side of the park are gone forever.
Other Thoughts: Although I said it above and others have as well, the part of town really isn't the best, but don't let this scare you off. There are no free roaming gangs or people waiting to shoot you. The houses close by are a bit run down and there is some graffiti on some of the buildings, that's true. But we have had -no- interaction with anyone there that would make us want to not come back.

This is a fun course, but it does take a bit of scouting to find the proper pins - or just have your group vote on throwing to the one you can see. Never too crowded, this is a fast course for it's length.

With a little bit of love, this could be a much better course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for a mixup

5+    10/21/2009   12/11/2009
Review By: lschrock
Played: 38  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 13.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A few nice long anhyzer shots, longest play in Oklahoma City. There are a few shots that you can throw really nice lines. Course is out in the open, scattered trees, but is a pretty fun course to play if you know it. Good course for a change up in the city. Can be a good challenge, a lot of the holes have some decent distance on them. Great practice in the Oklahoma wind. Course is completely flat, without any elevation change.
Cons: Extremely tough to follow unless you've played it a couple of times. Has a pretty dirty feel to it, as it's bordered by a river/sewer things that is pretty gross. Lose your disc in there and risk hepatitis to get it back. Frequented by the homeless who use the corner of hole 3 next to the building as an outdoor toilet. In a bad area, too. I wouldn't play in the dark.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 long, open, windy?, bad neighborhood

1    9/9/2008   9/9/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained, fresh mowed grass allows rollers. The front 9 and back 9 are distinctly different, the front is shorter with less trees and much easier. Satisfying for a big arm to let 'em rip often, which is also a con for some. Unlike some unmarked woods courses, this one can eventually be figured out because it's in a confined open area it takes perseverance. Supposedly often windy- good for wind practice.
Cons: Definitely does seem like a bad neighborhood, there were 2 sketchy guys chillin' under a tree on the far side of the course. If I was a woman, had a kid with me, a fancy car or valuables in it I wouldn't bother with this one. It is somewhat isolated from the neighborhood though.
VERY HARD to navigate, it's be re-done over and over it seems, so it's not marked well and can take over an hour just to find the holes and you can't be 100% sure you played it right, though I think I did...
Tee pads are great pads, but some raised too high and can't run up from behind or follow through off the front.
A few holes along the fence could mean a car on the highway getting hit by a disc, and have no clear/clean design, forcing luck or roller.
The map I found online was not at all accurate or very helpful.
Other Thoughts: Though you don't need a disc-spotter, you probably should have someone watch over the cars. And GET A GUIDE.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.