Rogersville, AL 
Joe Wheeler State Park Share
Uploaded By: KC4KAA Hole #13
3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Over the hill and through the woods

2-4    3/19/2017   3/20/2017
Review By: wericsson
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some serious challenge, mostly in the form of tight wooded fairways, often with elevation changes. Well laid out, with a broad mixture of shots required. Now has tee signs, which are straightforward and accurate. Black plastic on each basket points to next tee.
Cons: Roads run through fairways 1 and 18, and 11 can but needn't be played wide over the road. That said, traffic is minimal. A couple holes run alongside or over hiking trails, on which traffic is not infrequent.
Other Thoughts: In general, don't be afraid to play shorter but clean - the forest can be pretty serious. Lake Wheeler is not really in play at all, unless you really mess up (I almost did). Hole 16 is a beast. Yes, that tee sign really does show the actual shape of the fairway, and no, you can't really cut the chicane. I'm a bit curious about whether the soccer field next to 10 is actually used, and when, but I wasn't readily able to find out.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Challenging course thru the woods

1    1/29/2017   1/29/2017
Review By: GMcAtee
Played: 369  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every hole is different.
Plenty of shade in the summer.
Easy to navigate - plastic piping on basket pointing to next hole.
Good signage.
Challenging course that makes you think.
Located in a beautiful state park with other activities for the family.
Great Monkey Trap baskets.
No long walks between holes.
Cons: 17 tightly wooded holes can be a con to some.
No water shots.
Carpet tee pads.
1 & 18 throw across park roads. 11 has a hyzer route across a park road. Park road is not busy though.
Other Thoughts: I thoroughly enjoy playing this course every time I get the chance. Birdies are available if you throw a perfect drive. If not, you need a good up shot to save par. This course will punish the high speed driver thrower. Disc down! Play it smart. Some of the longer holes require placement.

First time I played this course, I got lost after hole two and walked up the park road thinking it would be a great place for some holes. There are some open areas using the road as OB that remind me of a few holes at Mt. Airy Forest. With that being said, I believe this course has potential to be #1 in northern Alabama if there was 6 holes added: a 3 hole loop after hole 2 with the area I mentioned, and a 3 hole loop after hole 11 incorporating a water shot or two. There are currently no long walks between holes. So, if a long walk came about by adding some signature holes, it wouldn't be a big deal.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Course

1    12/30/2016   12/31/2016
Review By: RollTideRikard
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is well layed out , with a little bit of everything (uphill,downhill,tightly wooded, more open holes) You definitely benefit from playing it smart and trying to play along the fairway. Also has some great views along the course.
Cons: At the time I played there wasn't any tee pads signs, I'm sure since it's a newer course it's something they are planning to add .
Other Thoughts: Overall a awesome Course that is very well layed out . If your in the surrounding areas you should definitely try this course out .

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding

2-4    11/20/2016   12/5/2016
Review By: AUfantastic
Played: 124  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 16.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great area for a course. The designers did a wonderful job of giving you some of everything. There is up, down, left, right and straight. This is a great course for those who enjoy woods and some elevation changes. Course is new, clean and easy to maneuver. Hats off to all who had a part in putting this together.
Cons: None at this time. Will have to see how the course holds up in the wet months. Should be fine though.
Other Thoughts: Congratulations to the State of Alabama Parks department for allowing this course to be built. Camping and disc golf go together. This is a match for all of us who do so. Thanks again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice New Course

2-4    8/23/2016   8/26/2016
Review By: KC4KAA
Played: 35  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New baskets, long and short holes, all wooded, requires mostly straight and skilled shots
Cons: Heavily wooded, if you want a nice easy course this isn't it
Other Thoughts: The upkeep seems to be great, with it being in a State Park, probably will stay in great shape

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.