Stockbridge, GA 
J.P. Moseley Park Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #3 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 234ft.   3 / 298ft.   3 / 298ft.   3 / 298ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Tight and Open!

2-4    7/26/2013   7/26/2013
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 25  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First let me thank Adam, Joe and Stephen for showing me the course and allowing me to win ;-) I gave the course a 4.0 'cause a 3.5 was too low. I think this place is a solid 3.75, maybe close to 4.0. But nonetheless, a very fun course.

The first few holes are misleading. After playing 1, you enter a series of tight, technical holes that make you think it's going to be this way all the way through. But that changes when you hit the back-to-back holes 6-8 where you GRIP and RIP! Then it opens up for while on a series of sub-300 foot open holes. That's until hole 13 and it's 1000+ fairway. If your arm ain't taxed by now, it will be!

Then's it's back through the pines until 18 where you have another 400+ uphill toss.
Cons: Very minor, but some of the signage distance was really off, especially hole 11. Sign says 263, but it's waaay more.

Other Thoughts: Grass was really high when I played, so it made the ground very wet and hard to find your disc. Might want to keep this in mind when you play

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    3/15/2013   4/15/2013
Review By: zjones9
Played: 47  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Extremely well maintained course. Lots of distance and a good variety of wooded and open holes. Nice use of mandos on several holes, and the "island" hole is a nice touch.
Cons: Holes tend to be very heavily wooded or completely barren fields...would be nice to see a few more lightly wooded holes mixed in.
Other Thoughts: That Georgia summer sun can get HOTTT

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun

1    3/24/2013   3/25/2013
Review By: SystemTramp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A very fun and challenging coarse. Islands of trees in throwing lanes and Long par 5's make it worth playing.
Cons: A little tough to follow. if your playing yellow tees (use to be black) i would recommend downloading the coarse map to your your phone.
Other Thoughts: plan to play way more!!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice course with some distance

1    3/24/2013   3/25/2013
Review By: morbidfm
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.1 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This was my third course ever played. I'm a local stockbridge resident, and was excited to have a course so close to home. This is a fairly spacious course with some extra long par 5's. The layout can be tricky, which encourages me to get out there and play more often. The area is nice and quite and very relaxing.
Cons: My only con was that it had rained earlier in the day and due to the amount of rain in a short period of time, there were a few slightly flooded areas. Other than that this place is awesome!
Other Thoughts: If your ever in the area and would like to play a round, give me a shout!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great multi level course

1    11/22/2012   12/13/2012
Review By: Bencybul
Played: 37  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/20/2012
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a great course. It definitely offers a great deal of length and playability options for all skill levels. This was one of the first courses that offered distinct challenge to me while obviously showing how many options can be made available to the DG community to level the playing field for all involved.
There are a wealth of benches throughout the course to rest from the long walks down the fairways.
Cons: Some of the tee signs could use replacing. This can make things confusing for a newer player. However these cons are greatly outshined by the pros
Other Thoughts: Black tees are thrown in, so if you are playing the "really long" track look out for 1 and 13.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


2-4    10/27/2012   10/31/2012
Review By: codyroberts18
Played: 74  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is one of the better courses in Georgia. It has mown grass, nice baskets, great tee signs, and very nice tee pads. This course offers a great mix of open and wooded holes and utilizes the land provided to make an awesome layout. I played this course from the gold(playing hole 13's black) and the mixture of par 3,4 and 5 and open/wooded makes for an exciting round. There are flags on top of each basket. Also, one of the best features are the benches which are on almost every hole. This makes for an enjoyable round since the walk is pretty long considering the course is long.
Cons: There are a few improvements that could be done with this course. The design, although a good one, could be vamped up a little to make it more of a true gold course. Also, the baskets are a little hard to see when playing in the woods. Maybe some brighter colored flags, or some type of markers to indicate the basket location. Also, there were hardly an garbage cans on the course, which could pose problems with trash build up. Although the course was fairly clean, I can see where it could get messy quickly.

As far as design goes, I feel as if some of the holes were "tweeners" and could be tweaked a little to make for a more challenging course. The hole that comes to mind most is hole 15. This is a par 3, but it is impossible to reach in 1 shot when in the long. Maybe this hole could be lengthened a little more and made a true par 4. Also holes 1 and 12 could be lengthened a little to make them a little more challenging. It is almost as if they reward a good shot too much, while a bad shot is still rewarded. I feel as if on a true gold level course, a good shot on a par 4 should still leave you with a little work, but still have some reward. Not too easy, but not too hard. Hole 12 is a par 3, but could be lengthened a little to make for a tough par 3 that really rewards a good shot, but a bad shot has more work to do. Although these are minor, I just saw the possibility of making things a little more gold caliber.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course. I have played here multiple times and will definitely play here again when I'm in the area. If you were by yourself and never played this course, I think it would be easy to navigate. This is a must play if you are in the area!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Meandering Moseley through the park

1    1/30/2012   2/7/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 704  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) There is a kiosk at the first hole with rules of the game and such. There also is a practice basket available right in the same area which is always a nice touch.

2) 3 tees per hole (plus some fourth PRO tees extend an already long course) on most holes with some duplication. 1 of the tees is concrete on every hole and sometimes covers two tee locations. Colored posts mark where the tees are, Red is the forward tee, Blue is the middle tee, Gold is the back tee, and Black is the extreme PRO tee . . . only used on a couple of holes.

3) Risers have been inserted into the tops of the baskets to make them more visible. This is really helpful when the baskets are tucked behind some shrubs or tucked around corners.

4) Excellent property for disc golf because it is so diverse. There are plenty of tight wooded holes, a handful of mostly open holes with a few key obstacles to avoid, and then a couple of just bomber type holes where the more distance you can get the better.

5) You need to be able to work your disc in all directions, while the hyzer is the primary shot on your drive you will most likely need to throw a few recovery anhyzers. I actually had to throw 5 short turnover recovery shots with my Stingray on 5 of the first 6 holes and I got up and down everytime for par. There are still a couple of turnover drives but it is more hyzer friendly.

6) Nice tee signs with Hole #, Par, Distance, and a map of the hole.

7) Helpful directionals in the woods to direct you to your next hole.

8) Plenty of benches and garbage cans available on the course and they have taken it a step further to put those benches under a rain shelter of sorts. While it is not much bigger than the bench it should do the trick unless the rain is coming down sideways.

9) Skull Island is just a unique idea . . . making a manufactured Out of Bounds, that actually is a benefit to the course and a very unique hole. I am not sure where the Pirate thought comes from as Atlanta is well inland from the ocean, but just go with it I guess.

10) Fairways and walkways to the next hole are lined with logs, which really helps with navigation.

11) Legitimate Par 4's and Par 5's on this course which is just awesome to see. I know most of the longer holes are fairly open, but there still are obstacles to create some fun shots.

12) Any course that allows me to throw a couple of rollers instantly becomes a decent course . . . well not truly, but rollers are a lot of fun to throw so I always enjoy it when a course allows it.

13) Mando's used effectively to create and define fairways and shot shaping.

14) Excellent distance variation allowing for all types of shots required to play well out here. I always appreciate it when I end up needing to use just about everything in my bag.

15) Easy navigation through this course with a really natural layout and feel to the routing.

16) Shorter tees basically seem to be in line with making the course playable for different skill sets. Red would be a good recreational or novice players, blue I good for intermediate and advanced, Gold is good for advanced and lower level pros and black is really only viable for the biggest throwers in the game.

17) Ultimate in distance variation with the biggest variety I have ever seen.
Cons: 1) Overgrowth was not too bad in most spots but there were a few really punishing areas alongside of the fairways.

2) There seemed to be lots of trippers underneath all of the fallen leaves. While I didn't have a problem finding my disc in the wooded holes, I could imagine playing right after leaf drop would be tough to find discs that could easily slide underneath the leaves.

3) I would personally enjoy more obstacles on the longer open holes, but I know this was part of a large tourney with a lot of the big pros and they want to see more aired out shots, so I can understand why it has been laid out the way it has.

4) The wooded holes are pretty tight but I can imagine finding more lines after playing this course more than once.

5) The two forward sets of tees are grass/dirt or natural teepads. It would be nice to see that the beginners playing the course get the same treatment.

6) The pedestrian path gets in play a few times on the middle of the course but otherwise the course is completely on its own property from other activities. Because the path is in the mostly wide open portion of the course there are really no worries about hitting people MOST of the time.
Other Thoughts: Apparently there is an interesting regional difference because in the Atlanta area they apparently refer to their circular traffic dispersers as "Traffic Circles" while in Wisconsin and other places they call them "Roundabouts". I bet they probably call their individual water dispersers as "Water fountains" while we refer to them as "Bubblers". Apparently Georgia is more of the realist and pragmatist types while us northerners are more artistic.
Another interesting thing to note is this course is basically bisected a couple times by a sewage or storm-water easement. It actually makes for some nicely defined fairways that run right up these lines.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Challenges every aspect of your game...

5+    8/21/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: BmaEngnr92
Played: 17  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.7 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Large, concrete tee pads on all holes; I haven't found any to be slick either, which can be an issue if the conrete is finished to finely.
- Multiple tee pads; it should be noted that many of the AM pads are natural, but providing that option is nice, nonetheless.
- Great mix of holes; there are some shorter holes were ace runs are possible, and then there are some longer holes, where you really have to let it fly. However, the long holes still require accuracy, which is what many "long" courses miss.
- Good mix of shots required; anny, hyzer, straight, etc. You can get pretty creative on how you want to shape your shots. Just be sure you hit your lines. The longer holes may look open, but watch out for those mando's and OB lines.
- Multiple pin placements; I always prefer for a course to either have multiple pads or multiple pin placements. This course has both. Really adds the option for a variety of looks.
- Great park setting; the park seems nice and pretty well maintained. Everyone I've met at the park (disc golfer's or not) have been cordial and most will even say hello. The park is in a safe area as well.
- Benches on many holes, and several even have structures (i.e. roof) that provide much needed shade.
Cons: I really don't have many cons for the course, as it's one of the better layouts I've played. However, a couple of things do come to mind; namely:
-Sometimes the grass can get long on a few of the open holes. I realize it's a very large park, and mowing it often is a chore and costs money. However, it's not necessarily fun to walk through shin high grass when you drove it in the fairway.
- Natural tee pads; I don't have a problem with earth pads, as long as they are in good condition. I've noticed that some of the AM pads are in pretty rough shape. I personally prefer the gold tees, but having concrete pads on all tees would make that option more desirable.
- No water out here. I must admit, I've yet to play a course that does provide water stations, but it gets hot out there during the summer, and holes 8-14 are a long way from the start. Therefore, carry with you any water/drinks you think you'll need.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is one of the better courses I've ever played. The cons are merely trivial things that don't really detract from the quality of the course and the shots it requires. The layout is demanding, but very fair, and good shots will be rewarded. There aren't any holes where you have to hope to get lucky to close. If you put good moves on it, you'll shoot well. If your shot is errant, be prepared to take a stroke, maybe two or more (those OB's can get you).

Many longer courses tend to favor those with bigger arms, and while those who can throw it far might have a slight advantage, here a premium is put on placement. The designer(s) did very well incorporating many different factors of the park into the course. There are lots of good lines and hazards to keep you thinking. Hole 11, for instance, could have been quite an average hole, but they implemented an "island" green that really makes the hole special.

Great course. This is now officially one of my favorites.

Favorite Holes: 1, 6, 8, 9, 11, 16

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  8-5-11

1    8/6/2011   8/6/2011
Review By: Georgia thrower
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Solid 4. Awesome long holes. This is a safe area and the people are friendly. You can get a membership at the rec center and shower after the game.
Cons: Grass needs cut more often. There are copperhead snakes in the stream around hole 11-12.
Other Thoughts: contact Kenny Moris Parks Dept if grass needs cut - 770-288-7300.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 JP Moseley First Timer

1    7/18/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: TheJackalope
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was immense. I have only played 3 courses in my day, and Moseley was not only bigger, it dwarfed the other two combined. The layout was very intuitive, I never missed a hole. Good blend of technical and all out disc chucking opportunities, sometimes on the same hole. Lotta benches and nice spots to distract you from your game. Couple really nice trails, and chill spots. Mostly secluded from other park activities, and it's as free as laying in the sun. Multiple launch pads was an awesome feature as well. Almost every hole had 2 or more.
Cons: There were some times when I had to wait for Pedestrians to walk by so that I could throw. Bring ample water with you. No water on the course (though I have never been to a course that DID have water stations) combined with it's sheer mass, can get thirsty.
Other Thoughts: This course rocked. It fully deserves a 4 star rating. If it had water, I would have given it a possible 5 star rating. The quality of the holes is choice. JP Moseley is an Excellent choice.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.