Stockbridge, GA 
J.P. Moseley Park Share
Uploaded By: WAS1 Hole #14
3 / 194ft.   3 / 308ft.   3 / 308ft.   3 / 308ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    11/30/2013   12/7/2013
Review By: smierzy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great mix of long and short holes , nice bench setup at every tee , not a strenuous walk .
Cons: Pedestrian path comes into play on a couple of holes - not really a big deal .
Other Thoughts: Fantastic course to test your ability .

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Field of Dreams

5+    5/17/2012   5/19/2012
Review By: JakeHeayn
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: JP has a great variety of holes. All tee pads are concrete and good sized. The course flows well from hole to hole and is easy to navigate even for a first timer. Park is very clean and most holes have a covered bench at the tee pads. Holes 1, 7, 8, 9, &13 are long open holes that are really fun for players with power. Holes 2-6 are tight wooded holes that really demand a clean shot. Mandos are used well on several holes. Baskets are visible from most tee pads. Course is marked well and each hole has a sign.
Cons: Sometime the grass gets a little out of control. Holes 8 and 17 can steal your disc with the quickness. There is poison ivy in some areas and lately I have seen alot of snakes.
Other Thoughts: My favorite course yet. This is the course that I learned to play on. I love that it gives you the opportunity to throw a lot of different shots. If you haven't played it yet you need to.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Long Arm Heaven!

1    3/24/2012   3/24/2012
Review By: chainedwraith
Played: 68  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hard to add to what the prior reviews have mentioned but if you have the long arm, this is one fun course!

- Great mix of big open drives as well as more technical wooded holes.

- Great use of the elevation to form some gorgeous fairways.

- Lots of teepad options on each hole.

- Unique "skull island" hole in which you have to make it inside a circle green that is slightly uphill and further away than it seems from the pad. ;-)

- Course seemed very clean and well maintained and there were plenty of other disc golfers out enjoying the course.

- the course flowed well. There were a lot of people out on the course but not really any backups. The sheer size of some of the holes keep the groups spread apart nicely.

- A great workout for anyone that appreciates the exercise aspect of the sport.
Cons: - If you like a course to circle back close to the parking area around hole 9, this isn't it.. From the moment you leave hole 1 teepad, you are committing to a long walk out on some gorgeous property. Hole 6 circles back just a bit, but then you head deep into the property.

- Light pedestrian traffic that can delay a few shots but you have lots of room to work with to avoid pedestrians for the most part so it didn't appear to be a major issue.
Other Thoughts: I loved this course. It was my first course played in Georgia and it definitely set the bar high for the rest of my GA trip which hopefully will include 5 or 6 more courses.

Don't miss out on this one if passing through south Atlanta area!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your drivers

1    10/22/2011   10/22/2011
Review By: Nathanbr2
Played: 50  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) An AMAZING mix of short technical holes, and longer holes.
2) Some of the best teepads i've ever seen at ANY course
3) Requires use of a variety of shots...hyzer, anhyzer, rollers, just a mix of everything
4) Some Very interesting Mando's on this course to make the already good course that much better
5)Benches at every hole, some with coverings...and trash cans at most holes
6) GREAT signage between holes
7) 4 tees on each hole (some do overlap)...playing a different tee often gives a completely new look to each hole
8) Good baskets as well. could easily pick out the basket on the 1000'+ hole from the tee
Cons: 1) As mentioned before...the "big" holes are A Long way from the parking lot. I would love to maybe see a water fountain somewhere around hole 9 (i know, wishful thinking, but i need a con)
2) if you miss the fairway, expect high grass or briars, Great, wide fairways though.
Other Thoughts: Normally i'm, not a fan of "big" holes (400'+) but this course does them very well with mandos, and forcing skillful throws rather than just bombing it out there.

A must play if you're visiting the area.


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging and Peaceful

5+    1/9/2011   1/9/2011
Review By: WAS1
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: JP Moseley is a mixed course of short heavily wooded, moderately wooded and mostly open grip and rip holes. The course has several true par four and par five holes. Every hole has a 6' x 12' concrete pad. Many of the holes have benches and trash cans. Some of the benches have bench shelters. The course is separated from other park activities.
Cons: The course can be grueling on a hot summer day.

Other Thoughts: I consider JP Moseley the best public course in metro Atlanta. JPM is the second longest public course in Georgia. From a 189' heavily wooded skill shot to several 900' plus long holes will give you a wide variety disc golf holes to play. The out and back layout will separates you from the other park activates. This combination will be challenging and will give you a peaceful disc golf outing.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of ATL's best

1    3/17/2010   3/17/2010
Review By: gcrussell4
Played: 123  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I will try to stay focused this review as most of this information has already been shared, but there are some things that I wanted to highlight.

First, this course is an absolutely outstanding use of the park land that it is given. The course is very balanced and fair and the pars are accurate. When I played, based on basket locations, there was one par 4 and three par 5's. All of the par 5 holes had very distinct challenges that made them much more than just long bomb holes. Hole 8 had very clear landing spots that you needed to hit in order to set up your next shot. Hole 9 had a mando which set you up to play from the open field, to a wooden alley that framed the basket (with OB long). Hole 13 had OB along the entire length of the hole as well as just behind the basket. This made each of the long holes much more fun and challenging than some long holes I have played on other courses.

Secondly, this course has a much better balance than many of its Southern sisters. I live in Texas and we have an overabundance of long, less technical holes. This seems to lead to many of our locals having very big arms, but not the best accuracy. In the majority of Southern courses that I have played there are very few chances to really "grip and rip" a driver. Holes often have such tight, wooded lines that it takes a good deal of luck to be successful IMO. From what I have seen this leads to a bunch of players who are very adept at the technical aspect of the game, but very inept at the power aspect. The J. P. Moseley course takes the better elements of both styles and I would imagine that if this was your home course, you would develop into a very well balanced, talented player.

Third, I was very glad to find that every tee was easy to find and the course had a very good obvious flow. Every single gold (and black 13) box was concrete. There were covered benches and trash cans all over the place (the covered benches were very handy as I played on a rainy day). The baskets, unlike what some earlier reviewers said, were very good baskets that caught well and were not a problem at all. The course seems to be very well upkept, they even had the island green marked off on hole 11. Overall, an excellent facility.
Cons: I will be a bit nitpicky so that I can have some cons although I will give the disclaimer that none of these things detracted from the experience of playing.

First, could use some updating on the tee signs. A few of them were off although the scorecard I printed from this site was mostly accurate.

Second, I didn't know that 11 was an island green until I got up near the basket, this info would be helpful to know beforehand.

Third, a few classic southern, throw it towards the line and hope that it luckily sneaks through the trees so you can have a birdy putt holes. Not many, but 2, 3, 4, and kind of 6 all had a luck element to them. You could make the same very good shot that could catch a tree one day and be parked for a birdie the next.
Other Thoughts: I have played most of the Atlanta area's best courses (according to DGCR reviews) since my parents-in-law moved down here. From my outsider's perspective the rankings of what I have played goes like this:

1st (tie) JP Moseley park
1st (tie) White Oak Park (Dallas, GA)
3rd Central Park DGC (Cumming, GA)
4th Rosewood-Dekalb at Redan Park (Redan, GA)
5th East Roswell Park (Roswell, GA)

I still have a few more courses in the area to go to, but if you are in town, keep this list in mind. I think it is a good place to start when deciding how to divide your time up amongst courses.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A Challange

5+    10/12/2010   12/18/2008
Review By: dandaman
Played: 55  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 19.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/18/2010
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mach III Baskets, large concrete teepads, pretty scenery, and a diverse layout. The course is relatively free of other park activities.
Cons: In the summer months the grass grows really fast and really tall.
Other Thoughts: A varietial divese course, it is almost like playing three courses in one. After hole #1, holes 2-6 play in a tight section of old-growth woods that provides plenty of technical shots. Holes 7-13 play in mostly open spaces which allows for plenty of grip-it and rip-it types of shots. Holes 14-17 play in a new growth pine forrest and will continue to mature as the years go by. There are two par fours on the course and two par fives.

At the time of this writing the course's redesign is roughly 1 years old. The course will continue to excel as improvements continue.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.