Stockbridge, GA 
J.P. Moseley Park Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #4 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 142ft.   3 / 181ft.   3 / 276ft.   3 / 276ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Blue Tee



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 

5+    4/16/2011   9/17/2008
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/20/2011
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are nice concrete tee pads and tee signs on every hole, with benches and trash cans on most every hole. Some of these benches have a very nicely built canopy as an added bonus. It is a very fun and challenging course to play. Navigation is fairly intuitive and it flows nicely.

There is a good mixture of hole design, with some technical shots and some open bombs and a lot more variety in between. There are lots of unique shots and decent elevation that made the course a lot of fun to play. Played in the longs, it is a legit par 61 course.
Cons: This can be a tough course for newer players or those who can not throw very far. Georgia summers can be hot on the open holes, but the few wooded holes and the built canopies will help. The course does not loop back around at the half way point.
Other Thoughts: I finally got a chance to play this course again since my last review 3 years ago. Every negative that I mentioned in that original review has been worked on and the course is looking very nice.

I played it before and during the 2011 Atlanta Open, so the course was likely in its best shape. However, with that said, it is obvious that a lot of work has been put into this course in since it was designed and they have succeeded in making this a championship caliber course. I highly recommend it to anybody who likes challenging courses.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Not a Beginners Course

6/19/2008   6/19/2008
Review By: sfeather
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The DGA baskets are in great shape.
At the time of this review, the fairway grass was well trimmed.

Three tee placements, Par, Basic, and Short allow for multiple levels of play.

Paths through the woods from basket to next tee are often edged with fallen trees to make it easier to find your way.

The mix of left and right hooks make it a challenging course.

The elevation changes were also a pleasant aspect of this course. The designer used the lay of the land effectively.

Score sheets were available.
Cons: Baskets are soft grey in color and very difficult to see through the trees or against a brightly lit backdrop.

Tee signs were at each hole, but many were confusing.

Even if playing the short tees, you will need to walk nearly the entire course. Children will most likely be tired after the front 9.

Get off the beaten path, and the briers and thorns will have a field day with your shins.

Holes #8 and #13 are just ridiciously long.
Other Thoughts: Porta-Johns abound, but are all up near the parking lot. There is a playground for the kids and a paved walking path that weaves through the middle portion of the course for those that don't want to play.

I played with an Innova Cobra, Wolf, and Avier and came in 9 over par from the Pros. The Cobra just didn't have the reach for 740+ par 4s.

Bring water and some bug spray. Water to stay cool and bug spray to ward off the Georgia ticks.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Starting to make a challenge for best in area!

5+    6/2/2008   6/2/2008
Review By: Bornabuckeye
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2013
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: May 26th, 2009 - Update -

After gaining some experience and seeing the changes this course has taken on, JP Moseley right now is the best golf course in the Atlanta area.

New pins and some changes plus a tournament layout has made this course a strong challenge for golfers at all levels of play. Though distance will give you an advantage, shot making is at an all time high and can keep you in the game. Most of us that hit the Moze have welcomed our thorns and the "battle scars" that come with them. Penalty for missing the fairway. Jokes aside though, this course has changed so much in the last 2 years. Dan and Wade are the ones to thank most with the help of a few others as well. Amazing what can be accomplished by such a small group. This course is now the best in Atlanta in my opinion and a def must play.

-----------------------------------------------------------


What a great layout if your looking to be challenged. Requires some different throws, but not all. Very long and definitely a big arms course. A great challenge and a "championship" type of a course.

Those who can really pull a disc will separate from those of average length. Power is the key here on most holes, get as close as you can and try and get a birdie.

Holes 2-6 are really fun and technical. The woods holes set up for many a different golfer as they demand an anhyzer, hyzer, possible thumber, and a good sidearm.
Cons: Black 17 :)
Other Thoughts: I love this course as this is my home course, if ya ever want a guide, id be more than happy donniekreece@gmail.com

The better i get at this game the more I appreciate this course and the shots it allows you to throw. I believe this course is the most democratic in that it gives you choices on every hole and never really eliminates any shot.

A challenge, but fair test of golf

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Long Course

5+    5/15/2008   5/20/2008
Review By: blang
Played: 44  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/27/2008
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great challenge for an advanced player
-Pro tees.
-Great community that seems to take pride in improvement
-Nice elevation changes
-Long holes
-Practice Basket at number one tee
Cons: -Too challenging for a beginner
-Hard to find baskets.
- Dirt tee pads
-Difficult to read signs
-Watch out for ticks
-No Womens restroom but plenty of mens rooms behind every tree
Other Thoughts: First let me say that this is a challenging course. If you are a recreational player do not even look at par because you are not getting it. I believe that this course has the longest hole in Georgia (over 900 feet) so it can be a test of your arm. I disagree with the first review in that this is a good course for a beginner. As a beginner this was the most frustrating course I have ever played because of its length and complexity. Open holes will often close into wooded holes and if you get off track the woods is very thick and thorny. With so many 5000 to 6000 feet courses around this area it is good to have an 8000+ feet course, but it is just not for me at this point in my game. You can tell that the designers are working to make this course better and not just abandoning it after the initial design. They have spray painted directions in some of the harder to find tees and they have created limb paths to guide you to some of the wooded tees.
The biggest problem I had with the course is the baskets. DGA baskets seem to blend in with the southern pines. Without playing the course before it will be hard to find the baskets. I often struggled finding the basket within 50 feet. It is also possible to drive down the wrong open area because you do not know where the basket is located. You do not want to walk 600 feet just to know where to throw.
I do not want to discourage anyone from trying out this course if you have experience playing the game. You might just find a top course for your level. But in all honesty, if a beginner were to learn about disc golf on this course, they will not be as entertained as much as some of the other 5000 foot courses in the Atlanta Area.
This course seems to be balanced for lefties and righties.
**My score reflects my opinion at my current level. I might re-review next year to see if my thoughts change. **

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Great course - totally revamped

5+    1/8/2008   1/8/2008
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 92  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 16.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/18/2008
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course has been completely redesigned as of 12/2007 and is now a top-10 course in GA. A must play if you're coming to ATL. Length is pushing 8,000' -- mix of technical wooded holes and looong grip & rip it. Two holes over 900'; wind, elevation OB & tight fairways come into play. As of 5/8/08, they have added several new pin placements and black teepads; two of the holes are now legit par 5's. Hole #6 - downhill, par 5, 900'+ is one of my favorite holes in GA.

Updating my review as of 8.18 -- the course now has great cement teepads as well as benches & trashcans on most holes. Played it during the Hotlanta tournament & the course is a great tournament course -- I overheard some out-of-towners saying they liked this course better than Redan.
Cons: Signage -- but hey, this course just opened in December '07.
Several holes are set in a young and fast growing pine forest; not sure that they'll grow in very well unless major trimming takes place.
Several holes seem identical in length & layout ; may be that they really stick out when compared to the great holes on this course.
Other Thoughts: Keep expanding this course, there is a ton of beautiful available land at the park!
Course is in a constant state of improvement and will keep getting better & better

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.