Stockbridge, GA 
J.P. Moseley Park Share
Uploaded By: sfeather Hole #11
3 / 187ft.   3 / 263ft.   3 / 308ft.   3 / 308ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
South of ATL? Gotta play this one.

1    8/16/2014   10/23/2014
Review By: kasonmoody
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - The longest course I've ever played. Super fun, get ready to rip it.
- Has some very challenging short holes as well.
- Great example of the Georgia countryside, many low lying branches you have to avoid.
- Great design, well manicured.
Cons: - OLD signage, needs updated.
Other Thoughts: A classic Atlanta disc golf course. A MUST on anyone's list of courses to visit while in ATL. This course is super challenging, and will challenge even the best players. It's a great place to play if you'd like to air some throws out.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good mix on scenic land

2-4    8/9/2014   8/9/2014
Review By: rphancock1
Played: 26  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
One concrete tee pad per hole, mostly clear and accurate signage, bathroom available nearby (at the playground), and most importantly some solid golf holes both long and short.

Scenic and very representative of the Georgia landscape for visitors from other regions... One of my favorite aspects of disc golf is that good courses immerse you in the regional landscape, giving you a sense of the area in a way that visiting a city in a car can't do. JP Mosely, like nearby Redan and the excellent Perkerson Park, is beautiful and typical of Georgia countryside. Where JP Moseley edges out other top courses is in the sense of being out in the country. It's a different sort of beauty than a city park, enhanced by the fact that I had the massive course mostly to myself early on a Friday morning.

The course starts with a long downhill par 4 that starts open and finishes in the woods, with a specific landing zone you need to hit to set up a birdie approach shot. It's a great beginning to the course, and sets the tone from the start. Most holes on this course have either specific lines (on the -300 foot wooded holes) or highly advantageous landing zones (on the par 5's) which will set up either the birdie putt or put you in the right spot for your next drive and give you a shot at birdie. There are still plenty of choices to make, even on short technical holes, which is refreshing.

The course requires a nice variety of shot, with some holes practically demanding a shot you may not use often. I drove with a forehand on one hole (and definitely could've on others if my forehand were stronger) and a backhand sky roller on another, neither of which I use often off the tee.

The roller was on hole 7, which was a standout for me in its simplicity and difficulty. At the end of a +-400' gradual open downhill, the basket is tucked under the long reach of mature hardwood trees to the right of the fairway. The branches protect the basket from a forehand hyzer bomb, and the basket is too deep for a backhand turnover to reach it under the very low ceiling.. The only way I could figure to get in there was with a roller, and it worked beautifully but felt somewhat lucky considering I never throw that shot... It was nice to be "encouraged" to try something different by the course.

I played the course from whichever tee had the concrete tee pad, which was a bit confusing.. Sometimes it was the blue, gold, or black. I had intended to play the black, but it was early morning and the dew made the grass slippery, so I played the "concrete" layout as I called it. I scored under par both rounds I played, but didn't feel the course was too easy. I think it definitely is the type of course to reward multiple rounds over time, as there are lots of different ways to play the course and score well.

The course takes you through various types of landscape, from tight pine forest, to rolling hills, and back into more sparsely forested holes. The beauty of this is that each landscape requires a different type of shot.
Cons: Only one concrete tee per hole; signs are sometimes in odd places and at times have inaccurate distances. The course is definitely good enough to warrant a concrete pad for each position. Also, the single pad fluctuated as to which position it was on which was strange. I would expect it to be always on gold, but this wasn't the case. The signs were at times on one tee position but reflected the distance of another position, notably on hole 11. His is an island type hole in an open field, throwing uphill. The sign claims a distance of 263', but as the sign is on the gold tee, it should actually be 303'. This hole being open and without anything clear to gauge the distance by eye is deceiving, and that distance difference is a key one for most intermediate players who can reach 260' on an easy hyzer but would have to change shots and discs entirely to reach 300' uphill. The following hole also has the same problem.. Sign claims 500', but unless I gained super powers right before that hole and lost them right after, it's closer to 375'.

Some holes, notably 11, 12, and 18 are open holes with no obstacles. 11 is an island type hole, basically a putting circle around a basket in an open field that is all OB, 12 a slight downhill, and 18 an uphill shot with a steep decline behind the basket. The rest if the holes are good enough that it's not a huge detractor, but the property is so massive I feel there could be some other solution. Especially for 18.. The course deserves a stellar finish (like at Perkerson) and instead you get blah blah uphill.

Also, some of the tees in the back 9 are just a spray painted line on the walking path that winds through the back part if the course.. Though it is concrete, again, the course deserves better than a spray painted line on a track. It would also help to separate the other uses of the park from the disc golfers to have tees that aren't in the path of joggers.
Other Thoughts: The course can be extremely hot in the summer, as much of it is in open fields. Prepare accordingly or play early or late. Bring plenty of water; the only supply I found was in the sink at the playground bathroom (ugh). Also, be aware that the closest you come to returning to the parking lot is hole 7.. After that you're committed to a long walk. There are so many covered benches available that this isn't a con, just something to be prepared for.

The rough is mostly playable in the wooded portion of the course, and not so much in the open portion. There are many places where a badly thrown disc is just eaten by the jungle, and I'd say they are mostly avoidable, but wind and over throwing on the long holes can easily make for some errant shots into the woods. If you do wander in after a disc, you'll wish you hadn't worn shorts because of the frequent briars and poison ivy.

Overall, this course is just behind Perkerson Park to me in ranking Atlanta area courses, but absolutely worth the short drive out of the city for a visitor who wants to experience Georgia disc golf. It's near the top of my list to play every time I'm here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    11/30/2013   12/7/2013
Review By: smierzy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Great mix of long and short holes , nice bench setup at every tee , not a strenuous walk .
Cons: Pedestrian path comes into play on a couple of holes - not really a big deal .
Other Thoughts: Fantastic course to test your ability .

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Tight and Open!

2-4    7/26/2013   7/26/2013
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 47  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 5.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First let me thank Adam, Joe and Stephen for showing me the course and allowing me to win ;-) I gave the course a 4.0 'cause a 3.5 was too low. I think this place is a solid 3.75, maybe close to 4.0. But nonetheless, a very fun course.

The first few holes are misleading. After playing 1, you enter a series of tight, technical holes that make you think it's going to be this way all the way through. But that changes when you hit the back-to-back holes 6-8 where you GRIP and RIP! Then it opens up for while on a series of sub-300 foot open holes. That's until hole 13 and it's 1000+ fairway. If your arm ain't taxed by now, it will be!

Then's it's back through the pines until 18 where you have another 400+ uphill toss.
Cons: Very minor, but some of the signage distance was really off, especially hole 11. Sign says 263, but it's waaay more.

Other Thoughts: Grass was really high when I played, so it made the ground very wet and hard to find your disc. Might want to keep this in mind when you play

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    3/15/2013   4/15/2013
Review By: zjones9
Played: 47  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.8 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Extremely well maintained course. Lots of distance and a good variety of wooded and open holes. Nice use of mandos on several holes, and the "island" hole is a nice touch.
Cons: Holes tend to be very heavily wooded or completely barren fields...would be nice to see a few more lightly wooded holes mixed in.
Other Thoughts: That Georgia summer sun can get HOTTT

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun

1    3/24/2013   3/25/2013
Review By: SystemTramp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A very fun and challenging coarse. Islands of trees in throwing lanes and Long par 5's make it worth playing.
Cons: A little tough to follow. if your playing yellow tees (use to be black) i would recommend downloading the coarse map to your your phone.
Other Thoughts: plan to play way more!!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice course with some distance

1    3/24/2013   3/25/2013
Review By: morbidfm
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This was my third course ever played. I'm a local stockbridge resident, and was excited to have a course so close to home. This is a fairly spacious course with some extra long par 5's. The layout can be tricky, which encourages me to get out there and play more often. The area is nice and quite and very relaxing.
Cons: My only con was that it had rained earlier in the day and due to the amount of rain in a short period of time, there were a few slightly flooded areas. Other than that this place is awesome!
Other Thoughts: If your ever in the area and would like to play a round, give me a shout!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great multi level course

1    11/22/2012   12/13/2012
Review By: Bencybul
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/20/2012
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a great course. It definitely offers a great deal of length and playability options for all skill levels. This was one of the first courses that offered distinct challenge to me while obviously showing how many options can be made available to the DG community to level the playing field for all involved.
There are a wealth of benches throughout the course to rest from the long walks down the fairways.
Cons: Some of the tee signs could use replacing. This can make things confusing for a newer player. However these cons are greatly outshined by the pros
Other Thoughts: Black tees are thrown in, so if you are playing the "really long" track look out for 1 and 13.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/27/2012   10/31/2012
Review By: codyroberts18
Played: 76  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is one of the better courses in Georgia. It has mown grass, nice baskets, great tee signs, and very nice tee pads. This course offers a great mix of open and wooded holes and utilizes the land provided to make an awesome layout. I played this course from the gold(playing hole 13's black) and the mixture of par 3,4 and 5 and open/wooded makes for an exciting round. There are flags on top of each basket. Also, one of the best features are the benches which are on almost every hole. This makes for an enjoyable round since the walk is pretty long considering the course is long.
Cons: There are a few improvements that could be done with this course. The design, although a good one, could be vamped up a little to make it more of a true gold course. Also, the baskets are a little hard to see when playing in the woods. Maybe some brighter colored flags, or some type of markers to indicate the basket location. Also, there were hardly an garbage cans on the course, which could pose problems with trash build up. Although the course was fairly clean, I can see where it could get messy quickly.

As far as design goes, I feel as if some of the holes were "tweeners" and could be tweaked a little to make for a more challenging course. The hole that comes to mind most is hole 15. This is a par 3, but it is impossible to reach in 1 shot when in the long. Maybe this hole could be lengthened a little more and made a true par 4. Also holes 1 and 12 could be lengthened a little to make them a little more challenging. It is almost as if they reward a good shot too much, while a bad shot is still rewarded. I feel as if on a true gold level course, a good shot on a par 4 should still leave you with a little work, but still have some reward. Not too easy, but not too hard. Hole 12 is a par 3, but could be lengthened a little to make for a tough par 3 that really rewards a good shot, but a bad shot has more work to do. Although these are minor, I just saw the possibility of making things a little more gold caliber.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course. I have played here multiple times and will definitely play here again when I'm in the area. If you were by yourself and never played this course, I think it would be easy to navigate. This is a must play if you are in the area!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Field of Dreams

5+    5/17/2012   5/19/2012
Review By: JakeHeayn
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: JP has a great variety of holes. All tee pads are concrete and good sized. The course flows well from hole to hole and is easy to navigate even for a first timer. Park is very clean and most holes have a covered bench at the tee pads. Holes 1, 7, 8, 9, &13 are long open holes that are really fun for players with power. Holes 2-6 are tight wooded holes that really demand a clean shot. Mandos are used well on several holes. Baskets are visible from most tee pads. Course is marked well and each hole has a sign.
Cons: Sometime the grass gets a little out of control. Holes 8 and 17 can steal your disc with the quickness. There is poison ivy in some areas and lately I have seen alot of snakes.
Other Thoughts: My favorite course yet. This is the course that I learned to play on. I love that it gives you the opportunity to throw a lot of different shots. If you haven't played it yet you need to.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.