Rowlett, TX 
Springfield Park Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #6 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 496ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Worst course I've ever played

1    4/19/2015   9/11/2015
Review By: Tommy2am
Played: 33  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/12/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There's not a lot of people at this course (with good reason). Beginner friendly. Tough to lose discs. In fact...I have no clue how you could lose a disc here.
Cons: Everything else. The tees are grass/mud. The signage is bad. It is wide open with no shot selection differential necessary. There are no elevation changes. I always hold 9 hole courses in lower esteem...but this one doesn't even have 9. It has 8!! The ninth basket is gone! There is one strip of trees that are only on two of the holes. A bit tough to find the course.
Other Thoughts: This course needs to be revamped. Now. I wouldn't even play it if it were right across the street from me. It is definitely the worst course I have ever played, which is sad because it is a nice park otherwise, in a good neighborhood, and with a beautiful pond. This course needs to make use of the pond and woods around it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Decent Little 9 Hole

1    10/28/2014   10/29/2014
Review By: mark996
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Small, quiet course. Holes are clearly marked, all baskets are currently in tact and present, however from past reviews the epidemic of missing baskets may strike out here at any time. For a beginner, just trying to not hyzer every drive or throw in to a tree, this course is actually not too shabby. It's I'd say 70% wide open field with a grassy tee box (not clearly marked) with a straight fairway, with all but 2 (if I remember correctly) baskets in plain sight. From previous reviews, they've started mowing here more frequently, the rough is mowed down, and the fairways are mowed even more down to keep things short.
Cons: Poor drainage on the back 2 holes. 8 and 9, where I'm guessing the heavy mowing equipment turns around when mowing the area, have left some sizable ruts creating poor drainage. Also near the tree line you have to throw through on 8, there's a small creek like area with standing water. I swatted about 15 healthy mosquitoes off of me on that hole alone, use bug spray!
Other Thoughts: For more experienced players, this course is going to leave a lot to desire. It's short, compact, easy par 3 course. I've only been playing about 5 days now and thought this course was on par for someone just starting out. If you're looking for a place to go throw in the field, and then play a quick and pretty easy 9 holes, it's not too bad. If you're looking for a challenging course, this is not it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Avoid this course

1    8/9/2014   8/10/2014
Review By: toph112
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Signs at each hole
Course flow is generally ok
Cons: Non-mowed fairway
2-3 ft. tall rough
Very boring holes
Generally not kept up
Other Thoughts: The holes are all Par 3 and short. With the exception of two holes, they are pretty boring and straight on.
If you get your disc in the 3 ft. rough FULL of bugs, then you can kiss it goodbye!
Don't let the pictures sway you. It is not anywhere kept up like the pictures show.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 nice course when maintained

1    6/22/2012   11/18/2012
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 225  Reviewed: 167  Exp: 8.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -baskets in good condition, all 9 are there
-signs are sufficient, show next tee also
-lots of long open holes, great for practicing drives
-a few holes have some tree obstacles that force a certain shot or accurate placement
-natural tees are in decent condition, not rutted
-nice bathrooms and water fountain near the park entrance
Cons: -holes are pretty boring; 2,5,7,8 have some trees at least to work around
-mostly flat and low-lying, i imagine it holds a lot of water after the rain
-your enjoyment of this course directly correlates to how long the grass is. it's not worth having to search for your disc every throw if the grass is overgrown.
Other Thoughts: I played this course over the summer when it was dry and the grass was freshly mowed. Under those conditions I enjoyed my round but the holes are pretty vanilla. Raw distance is the main factor but there are a few lines of trees here and there. Hole 2 is a left to right around some trees, holes 5 and 7 throw through a line of trees with gaps to hit. Everything else is pretty much wide open.

A decent park to practice your drives or get in 9 holes if you live nearby but only if the grass is cut. I have no idea how often it gets cut these days but it was great the day I played. Not worth the trouble for most people given the wealth of better options around Dallas though. Locals and course baggers only.

**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Snake in the Grass? Maybe.

1    5/19/2010   5/19/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 223  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 28.7 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is not busy and there are few people out where the course is played at. The tee signs are decent and show you where the next holes is, so navigation is not an issue. There are a couple of holes that have some trees as obstacles. One has an archway of trees to shoot through or just throw over the entire row of trees. Another hole allows you to throw around a group of trees on either side to reveal the basket behind them. The grass tees are in perfect shape.
Cons: This place has tall grass roughs and that is nothing but a pain and something to slow play down with. However, at this place it really bothers me even more. Because of the area, it would be an easy place for snakes to hide and I would hate to see a kid having to deal with that. Basket #2 was missing at the time of this review. Most of these holes are just straight shots with "out in the open" baskets. This place holds water and mud rather well. Hole number 9 is a 2-hole walk back to #1. There are no bathrooms or trashcans on the course.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here is without fun. This was boring and kind of irritating. I hate having to look through tall grass for a disc that missed a narrow fairway. Even the protected pins were not worth playing again. It is sad, but this is just not worth stopping at, even if in the area.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


1    4/15/2010   4/16/2010
Review By:
Played: 28  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 20.5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: holes 1-3 are decent. the rest of the course you are throwing through overgrown fields. easy to find, and the rest of the park is awesome. even a remote control airport on property.
Cons: waste of 9 baskets. not maintained. no challenge except throwing for distance, and that is not a challenge here.
Other Thoughts: i wish i found this site prior to playing this course, i would have headed to Autobahn.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Why, why , why here?

1    8/11/2003   12/18/2009
Review By: eegor
Played: 107  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 19.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/29/2011
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Five baskets. Nice park to bring your family to as you waste your time playing this course. Really nice restroom at the first parking lot at the entrance of the park.
Cons: This is not good land for a disc golf course. It's a flat, muddy field with tall grass. It's not fun at all. If it has rained in the last three months, the place is a swamp. If the wind is coming from the south, it smells like a sewer.

UPDATE: 9/29/11 - baskets 2,3,8 and 9 are gone. May those that took theses baskets suffer the wrath of bad shots forever.
Other Thoughts: There are better places in Rowlett for these nine baskets. I haven't visited all of the parks in Rowlett, but I know they would be better in the Nature Trail off of Miller Road and Rowlett creek. Maybe the south southwest part of Community Park? (outside the walking trail). Please, please move them somewhere else...

This is not worth playing if your in the parking lot, discs in hand and you are itching to play. I'd rather throw on a football field.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.


1    8/26/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: jackson
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There is a dg course here.
Cons: You don't want to play this course.
Other Thoughts: Too open, no trees or elevation changes, not well maintained (high grass), and if it has rained recently it is a swamp. Go to Harry Myers in Rockwall. HM is a top notch course and is only a few minutes away. If you are a beginner just getting started, then go to Porter in Mesquite.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/13/2009   8/13/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 129  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 14.4 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ok course for what it is. Its pretty much a soccer field with some baskets sprinkled in. The baskets are about the only other positive. Wide open with very few trees and even less obsticles. This course is not very long for more advanced players so it is easy for the newer players but doesnt have any attraction factor for the pro/adv players. Pretty easy to follow as well.
Cons: No shade therefore its hot. It can get windy so you can practice your wind game. Not mowed for the most part which makes for bugs and for a place to lose plastic if your not careful. Basically in a swamp so it stays muddy FOREVER!!!!!
Other Thoughts: Go down the street to Rockwall or to Audobon and play much better courses. Watch out for the dog on 1 if you throw over the fence.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Good Practice Course

2-4    8/10/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: 4cryNoutLOUD
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a good course for beginners. Its wide open for those out of control drives to the left. Basket #2 has been replaced brand new. Every hole has been marked with a sign now.
Cons: This course stays muddy and holds water on several holes after a good rain. The grass gets pretty high surrounding the fairway so keep an eye on your disc.
Other Thoughts: This is a short 9 hole course, it's worth playing if your bored with other courses in the area. Try playing it twice to make it an eighteen hole game.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.