Rowlett, TX 
Springfield Park Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #7 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 347ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Avoid this course

1    8/9/2014   8/10/2014
Review By: toph112
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Signs at each hole
Course flow is generally ok
Cons: Non-mowed fairway
2-3 ft. tall rough
Very boring holes
Generally not kept up
Other Thoughts: The holes are all Par 3 and short. With the exception of two holes, they are pretty boring and straight on.
If you get your disc in the 3 ft. rough FULL of bugs, then you can kiss it goodbye!
Don't let the pictures sway you. It is not anywhere kept up like the pictures show.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

nice course when maintained

1    6/22/2012   11/18/2012
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 210  Reviewed: 162  Exp: 7.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -baskets in good condition, all 9 are there
-signs are sufficient, show next tee also
-lots of long open holes, great for practicing drives
-a few holes have some tree obstacles that force a certain shot or accurate placement
-natural tees are in decent condition, not rutted
-nice bathrooms and water fountain near the park entrance
Cons: -holes are pretty boring; 2,5,7,8 have some trees at least to work around
-mostly flat and low-lying, i imagine it holds a lot of water after the rain
-your enjoyment of this course directly correlates to how long the grass is. it's not worth having to search for your disc every throw if the grass is overgrown.
Other Thoughts: I played this course over the summer when it was dry and the grass was freshly mowed. Under those conditions I enjoyed my round but the holes are pretty vanilla. Raw distance is the main factor but there are a few lines of trees here and there. Hole 2 is a left to right around some trees, holes 5 and 7 throw through a line of trees with gaps to hit. Everything else is pretty much wide open.

A decent park to practice your drives or get in 9 holes if you live nearby but only if the grass is cut. I have no idea how often it gets cut these days but it was great the day I played. Not worth the trouble for most people given the wealth of better options around Dallas though. Locals and course baggers only.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Snake in the Grass? Maybe.

1    5/19/2010   5/19/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is not busy and there are few people out where the course is played at. The tee signs are decent and show you where the next holes is, so navigation is not an issue. There are a couple of holes that have some trees as obstacles. One has an archway of trees to shoot through or just throw over the entire row of trees. Another hole allows you to throw around a group of trees on either side to reveal the basket behind them. The grass tees are in perfect shape.
Cons: This place has tall grass roughs and that is nothing but a pain and something to slow play down with. However, at this place it really bothers me even more. Because of the area, it would be an easy place for snakes to hide and I would hate to see a kid having to deal with that. Basket #2 was missing at the time of this review. Most of these holes are just straight shots with "out in the open" baskets. This place holds water and mud rather well. Hole number 9 is a 2-hole walk back to #1. There are no bathrooms or trashcans on the course.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here is without fun. This was boring and kind of irritating. I hate having to look through tall grass for a disc that missed a narrow fairway. Even the protected pins were not worth playing again. It is sad, but this is just not worth stopping at, even if in the area.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/15/2010   4/16/2010
Review By: razorsmith.com
Played: 28  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 19.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: holes 1-3 are decent. the rest of the course you are throwing through overgrown fields. easy to find, and the rest of the park is awesome. even a remote control airport on property.
Cons: waste of 9 baskets. not maintained. no challenge except throwing for distance, and that is not a challenge here.
Other Thoughts: i wish i found this site prior to playing this course, i would have headed to Autobahn.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Why, why , why here?

1    8/11/2003   12/18/2009
Review By: eegor
Played: 92  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 18.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/29/2011
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Five baskets. Nice park to bring your family to as you waste your time playing this course. Really nice restroom at the first parking lot at the entrance of the park.
Cons: This is not good land for a disc golf course. It's a flat, muddy field with tall grass. It's not fun at all. If it has rained in the last three months, the place is a swamp. If the wind is coming from the south, it smells like a sewer.

UPDATE: 9/29/11 - baskets 2,3,8 and 9 are gone. May those that took theses baskets suffer the wrath of bad shots forever.
Other Thoughts: There are better places in Rowlett for these nine baskets. I haven't visited all of the parks in Rowlett, but I know they would be better in the Nature Trail off of Miller Road and Rowlett creek. Maybe the south southwest part of Community Park? (outside the walking trail). Please, please move them somewhere else...

This is not worth playing if your in the parking lot, discs in hand and you are itching to play. I'd rather throw on a football field.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/26/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: jackson
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is a dg course here.
Cons: You don't want to play this course.
Other Thoughts: Too open, no trees or elevation changes, not well maintained (high grass), and if it has rained recently it is a swamp. Go to Harry Myers in Rockwall. HM is a top notch course and is only a few minutes away. If you are a beginner just getting started, then go to Porter in Mesquite.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Rowlett

5+    8/13/2009   8/13/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ok course for what it is. Its pretty much a soccer field with some baskets sprinkled in. The baskets are about the only other positive. Wide open with very few trees and even less obsticles. This course is not very long for more advanced players so it is easy for the newer players but doesnt have any attraction factor for the pro/adv players. Pretty easy to follow as well.
Cons: No shade therefore its hot. It can get windy so you can practice your wind game. Not mowed for the most part which makes for bugs and for a place to lose plastic if your not careful. Basically in a swamp so it stays muddy FOREVER!!!!!
Other Thoughts: Go down the street to Rockwall or to Audobon and play much better courses. Watch out for the dog on 1 if you throw over the fence.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good Practice Course

2-4    8/10/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: 4cryNoutLOUD
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good course for beginners. Its wide open for those out of control drives to the left. Basket #2 has been replaced brand new. Every hole has been marked with a sign now.
Cons: This course stays muddy and holds water on several holes after a good rain. The grass gets pretty high surrounding the fairway so keep an eye on your disc.
Other Thoughts: This is a short 9 hole course, it's worth playing if your bored with other courses in the area. Try playing it twice to make it an eighteen hole game.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 What a waste

1    6/1/2008   7/3/2009
Review By: Chunks
Played: 25  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *There are 8 disc golf baskets...aside from that I'm not sure what there is to like about this course.
Cons: *A wide open field, VERY few trees, NO elevation changes, NO water to make holes play tougher and absolutely nothing to contribute to the fun-factor
*Complete waste of 9 baskets (the 8 remaining and the one that is missing)
*The only thing worse than a wide open field is a wide open field that isn't mowed, which is how I found it.
Other Thoughts: This course is a complete waste- of your time, the land it is on and the baskets used. You would be better of driving right on down the road to Harry Myers in Rockwall. The city would be better off saving the money they spend on "maintaing the park" and the baskets would be better off on a piece of land that would make for a decent golf course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Decent

1    12/24/2008   1/13/2009
Review By: zwturner
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good beginner course which is the level i am at right now. Just started and took my new discs out to this part to test them out. Easy, easy course. Does have a path mowed out for the player though.
Cons: Not kept up with at all, no markings really, Hole #2 doesn't exist at all anymore. No obstacles practically and Hole #1 is too close to housing backyards and i threw one back in someones property.
Other Thoughts: Need a park to play at its fine, but not recommended for groups to play at together.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.