Dallas, TX 
B. B. Owen Park Share
Uploaded By: MacGyver214 Hole #17 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 241ft. Par / Distance:
Tee #17



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun playing Course

1    6/28/2014   7/14/2014
Review By: snunnone
Played: 28  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open holes. Good obstacles on some. Easy play course.
Cons: A little crowded. Some tee boxes and baskets a little hard to find. But not a big issue.
Other Thoughts: Great course to just go and have some fun. Love the hole that plays by the road and an anny shot over the creek. Some tunnels to play into. Good mix of open and treed shots.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    8/31/2007   6/3/2011
Review By: ezyrider
Played: 41  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 22.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good course for working mid distance drives with accuracy. This was my home course for six years while living in Dallas.
Cons: Course is heavily played. Afternoon rounds can be slow.
Other Thoughts: Fun course that can be played quickly if pressed for time.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Finally played this course

2-4    8/7/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: johnwangg
Played: 130  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Course is designed to make the best use of the park it sits on (but at a cost, see cons below)

2. There is plenty of parking and pretty easy to get to. Its almost right off 635.

3. There are a few intimidating shots (if you do not trust your throw).

4. Has some good holes to put up some aces (every course should have 1 or 2)
Cons: 1. Layout is very arkward, hard to navigate. Has too much Zig Zagging.

2. Can get over crowded. Everytime I have gone here it was filled. (But then again I have gone here twice).

3. Besides the couple of the more difficult holes, the rest are plain simple (simple is not a good word, these holes are more forgiving should you have some bad tosses).

4. Its in the middle of the city, so you have some street hazards with heaving amount of cars passing.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent course, should you have some free time. This is one of the faster flowing courses should you be short on time. The people that play here are very friendly, so should you need help, they are more than eager to assist.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Snug by the Shrub

1    8/17/2009   10/13/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course runs along the edges of a slightly wooded creek eve if it rarely ventures into it. The course has some really good pin placements that make you throw a variety of shots. If you are a left-handed backhand dominant thrower, then this is one of those few courses you might refer to as "friendly". There are enough holes that provide a challenge that it will leave you wanting to throw more than one tee shot. This place does have cement tee pads and the sign do have maps on them. They have lots of trashcans. There is a message board for the course at the parking lots edge.
Cons: A bunch of holes are slammed in tight and if the course gets busy, this will become an issue. It's mostly flat and the baskets are not the greatest. The signs have lots of graffiti on them and some of them are even missing. Not all the footage is accurate on the signs nor are all the pin placements. The layout does not flow simply, so a map may be helpful. There were no restrooms at the park, but there are places very close by.
Other Thoughts: The fun factor for this course was decent. There were as many holes that were really fun to throw at, as there were plain ones. If you live close by this will surely be good place to play. This is a place that I intend to play again..

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Quick and challenging

5+    7/20/2009   7/29/2009
Review By: rocnroll
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This park flows very nicely. Good combination of big arm and tecnical shots that keep me coming back for more. Always a good golf experience-even for those who have never thrown.
Cons: Sometimes there can be lots of traffic on the course. Go early. Especially on the weekends. There are two busy streets near the course.
Other Thoughts: I love playing here. The minis are run very well and the payouts are great. The course is challenging for almost any skill level. Combine that with the friendly crowd and it's always worth coming back to.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Agnes Moffitt of Dallas

1    4/16/2009   4/17/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Practice basket and info board at the main parking lot. Good sized concrete tee pads on all holes. Double chain baskets with numbers on top still in playable shape but showing their age. Decent elevation changes, some of which are even noted on the tee signs. No significant water in which to lose a disc. There are a lot of birdie opportunities if you can throw well off the tee. Relatively compact course allows for quick play. Navigation of the course with a map is very easy.
Cons:
Poor balance of shots. This is a big time lefty friendly course. For a RHBH player almost every hole either straight or an anyhzer shot; the only real RHBH hyzers are #12 and #17. Several tee signs were missing and most had been vandalized to the point of almost being unreadable. They look like they used to be nice. Some of the quoted distances on the tee signs are no longer accurate. The multiple pins have no indicator on the tee sign to let you know which position is active. The off-fairway brambles are very thick and sharp. Poison ivy is present. The Mando on #9 could be clarified with the word "Mando" printed on the marker. The transitions from #7 to #8 to #9 are not obvious, #15 to #16 might be a little tricky.
Other Thoughts:
This looks to be a pretty popular course as most holes were filled with players when I was there. However, as dusk approached the course emptied really fast giving me the feeling this was not a course to be at when the sun was setting. I read that the pins change frequently; that can be a pro or con depending on your preference. #9 was the signature hole in my opinion. I suggest parking in the side lot (by #9/#10); that way you can start your round on the short #10 and finish on the really cool #9.

I enjoyed my round at this course a lot and as Steve says it compares well to Agnes Moffitt in Houston. Not very difficult but still a fun course to play and filled with lots of locals. I would definitely play this course again.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A Staple

1    4/10/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: Unlearn
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I think most people that live around the northern part of Dallas know this course, whether you play or not. I just started playing a few months ago but this was probably the only course in Dallas I knew of. When I played it, it was different than I expected, the play was comfortable and challenging. It is not in the greatest neighborhood but, I didn't feel any danger. There were even some car keys that had been lost on the course hanging on the board. Hole 1 starts out cool with a creek crossing and a tunnel of trees that lead into the open.
Cons: Most of the signs were very aged and hard or impossible to read. I will agree with a previous review that the distances felt off. The traffic can be a problem, I felt very timid to grip it and rip it on the holes next to the road because of that.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good well maintained older course, and if you live in Dallas and play, and have never played this course, you have to re-evaluate what you are doing:) Great fun, Check it out!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good for a fun-n-fast round

5+    8/17/2008   10/31/2008
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 10.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well-maintained park - mowed regularly, trash cans emptied often, 2 port-o-johns near the well-lit parking lot.

The course is 75% open and offers a lot of slight elevation changes, with a few steep spots around the baskets to add some difficulty. For the most part, it isn't a very challenging course...but there is a good amount of variety in type of shot and distance. Most of the holes are easily birdieable, but there are few long ones for the big arms. Looking at the park itself, you wouldn't think it could house an interesting disc golf course, but whoever designed it did a good job of using the available land. Holes 1 and 9 (long pin position) are both pretty interesting - Hole 1 has a low/tight ceiling you have to clear right off the tee, and Hole 9 has a mando tree on the left, thick woods on the right, and a basket set downhill inside the edge of the woods. Also, hole 16 plays over a large concrete drainage ditch to a basket perched below a large tree...not the most aesthetically pleasing hole, but fun nonetheless. The locals are good about moving the basket locations every few weeks to keep things interesting.

There are always plenty of people playing, so if you like playing impromptu doubles matches or cash rounds...this is the place to go. I used to stop by every night on my way home from work, and 90% of the time I could find a group fo 5 or more to play a ca$h round with.
Cons: All of the holes have concrete tees and signs, but they could use some regular upkeep. Some of the tee pads are cracking and the signs have a little grafitti.

The biggest complaint I hear about BB Owens is the neighborhood it's in. The course is bordered by 3 pretty busy streets with well-lit parking lots all around...so safety really isn't an issue, but sometimes you'll see a few shady looking guys hanging out in the parking lot. I used to play night golf here a lot and never had a single problem, but some people might feel a bit uncomfortable.

Also, this isnt' really a con in my books, but people should be aware: a homeless gentleman lives under the bridge between 8 and 9. He typically keeps to himself, but you might have to wait on him while he crosses your fairway.
Other Thoughts: This course gets a bad rap around the DFW...mainly because there are so many other courses that are of a higher caliber that none of the "big guys" in the metroplex really play BB Owen. Personally, I find it very fun, it's centrally located (right off the highway), and you can always find people to play with.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nice park on a hot day...

1    8/9/2008   8/11/2008
Review By: Profesor Bato
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: quick, enclosed park; some fun holes over a creek, with a couple on the edge of a creek bed. Easily accessible in the northern part of Dallas; baskets on good shape
Cons: some of the tees are beginning to show their wear and age; some signs missing, particularly on the latter holes

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.