Dallas, TX 
B. B. Owen Park Share
Uploaded By: MacGyver214 Hole #8 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 273ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
My One Year of Playing B. B. Owen Park Review

5+    6/16/2016   6/17/2016
Review By: Jimbotten
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hole Variabilility: 3.0*. Great assortment of Shot Paths, and Difficulties. Course has Multiple Pin positions that seem to change at least once a month. Several holes have sharp turns left, while some have sharp turns right, which makes for good and fair variability.

Par Difficulty: 4* With some of the alternate Pin Positions, making par consistently can be a challenge for non-competitive players, good for private competition.

Environment: 4* Pathways in between holes are well kept, and lined with stone blocks that have been useful in muddy times. Over the year, credit to the course maintainers, I've noticed subtle updates to the course: new pin positions have been carved out in the woods, and touch-up landscaping, such as new stone blocks lining a few tee boxes. Seems like a good tournament course with a few great alternate grass tee locations.
Cons: Environment: Ant hills are everywhere, this course in particular has more than others. Signage is inconsistent (some info is faded) and needs some touching up. Only one or two walks in between holes are scenic. To me a perfect disc golf course balances wilderness with park moreso than B. B. Owen does.

Hole Variability: Not the greatest assortment of short, mid, and long holes. I judge this based on the number of different dics i use, and i use one driver on 50 percent of the holes. Only 1 threatening water hole and it isn't very scenic.
Other Thoughts: Two different parking lots allow you to decide if you want to start on hole 1/8, or start on hole 9.

Some players like this challenge and others do not, so i did not list it in the pros or cons, but: Several holes throw directly East or West, which can be blind shots directly into the sun depending on the time of day.

This is my first long review; I tend to prefer short and to the point reviews. Thus, I conclude by saying this course is easily not perfect, but it is still a solid goto course once a month for friendly competition, especially if you live within a 30 minute commute.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice intermediate level course

5+    7/8/2015   9/11/2015
Review By: Tommy2am
Played: 33  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 3.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Convenient location right off 635. Concrete teepads. Fairly hard to lose discs. Has some tight areas to throw through such as holes 1 and 17. Port-a-potties are typically well maintained. Because of the layout and type of grass, this course is ALWAYS playable, even after huge rains, ice storms, etc. This course holds up well to inclement weather. Because of the layout, you could play quickly if you are short on time. There are two or three alternate pins for almost every hole. Some elevation changes. A nice practice basket sits right by the parking lot and hole 8. There is a guy that sells new and used discs out of a truck on Tuesdays and on the weekend. There are tournaments on Tuesdays, and they do bring out some big name players. There are a couple of "secret" holes that are two of the best on the course.
Cons: There are several wide open holes. While there are some light trees about, they really present no challenge on these holes. The wind can be a factor as some of these are w-i-d-e open shots. There are a few signs torn up or missing. The fairways are close on a few, so you will have to watch where you throw. The homeless. Ahhhh, the homeless. There are several that live in the woods in the park. They are mostly harmless, but they will ask for money and they will creep up on you...so be aware of your surroundings. The streets do come into play on a couple of holes. There is an enormous amount of trash around...always. This isn't the best of neighborhoods. I suggest going in the day and being aware of what's around you. Being in a group doesn't hurt either.
Other Thoughts: If you live near the course, then it is an OK one to go to...especially since there aren't many others too close by. This was my home course for awhile, so I may see it in a better light than some. It's a decent course, but it can have a lot of traffic on it. It really missed the marked on using the great woods and creek that go through the middle of it however. The tee signs need to be repaired/replaced as well. It's worth going to, but there are certainly much better courses around.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

My Home Course

5+    1/21/2015   1/21/2015
Review By: MacEZ
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Well laid out course with multiple pin positions
-Quick playing and short holes
-Fair amount of left and right handed holes
-The only real course in Dallas Proper
-Concrete Tee boxes
-Dries quickly after rain.. usually within 2 days
Cons: -Many of the tee box signs are missing
-The front 9 can be confusing for new people
-A lot of trees to lose your discs in on the back 9
-lately, creepy forest dwellers
-crazy annoyingly busy on the weekends on nice days
Other Thoughts: This is my home course.. I've played it over 100 times easily over the last 7 years. It's a good course but usually very busy.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun playing Course

1    6/28/2014   7/14/2014
Review By: snunnone
Played: 54  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open holes. Good obstacles on some. Easy play course.
Cons: A little crowded. Some tee boxes and baskets a little hard to find. But not a big issue.
Other Thoughts: Great course to just go and have some fun. Love the hole that plays by the road and an anny shot over the creek. Some tunnels to play into. Good mix of open and treed shots.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    8/31/2007   6/3/2011
Review By: ezyrider
Played: 42  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 24.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good course for working mid distance drives with accuracy. This was my home course for six years while living in Dallas.
Cons: Course is heavily played. Afternoon rounds can be slow.
Other Thoughts: Fun course that can be played quickly if pressed for time.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Finally played this course

2-4    8/7/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: johnwangg
Played: 138  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Course is designed to make the best use of the park it sits on (but at a cost, see cons below)

2. There is plenty of parking and pretty easy to get to. Its almost right off 635.

3. There are a few intimidating shots (if you do not trust your throw).

4. Has some good holes to put up some aces (every course should have 1 or 2)
Cons: 1. Layout is very arkward, hard to navigate. Has too much Zig Zagging.

2. Can get over crowded. Everytime I have gone here it was filled. (But then again I have gone here twice).

3. Besides the couple of the more difficult holes, the rest are plain simple (simple is not a good word, these holes are more forgiving should you have some bad tosses).

4. Its in the middle of the city, so you have some street hazards with heaving amount of cars passing.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent course, should you have some free time. This is one of the faster flowing courses should you be short on time. The people that play here are very friendly, so should you need help, they are more than eager to assist.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Snug by the Shrub

1    8/17/2009   10/13/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 235  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 29.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course runs along the edges of a slightly wooded creek eve if it rarely ventures into it. The course has some really good pin placements that make you throw a variety of shots. If you are a left-handed backhand dominant thrower, then this is one of those few courses you might refer to as "friendly". There are enough holes that provide a challenge that it will leave you wanting to throw more than one tee shot. This place does have cement tee pads and the sign do have maps on them. They have lots of trashcans. There is a message board for the course at the parking lots edge.
Cons: A bunch of holes are slammed in tight and if the course gets busy, this will become an issue. It's mostly flat and the baskets are not the greatest. The signs have lots of graffiti on them and some of them are even missing. Not all the footage is accurate on the signs nor are all the pin placements. The layout does not flow simply, so a map may be helpful. There were no restrooms at the park, but there are places very close by.
Other Thoughts: The fun factor for this course was decent. There were as many holes that were really fun to throw at, as there were plain ones. If you live close by this will surely be good place to play. This is a place that I intend to play again..

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Quick and challenging

5+    7/20/2009   7/29/2009
Review By: rocnroll
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This park flows very nicely. Good combination of big arm and tecnical shots that keep me coming back for more. Always a good golf experience-even for those who have never thrown.
Cons: Sometimes there can be lots of traffic on the course. Go early. Especially on the weekends. There are two busy streets near the course.
Other Thoughts: I love playing here. The minis are run very well and the payouts are great. The course is challenging for almost any skill level. Combine that with the friendly crowd and it's always worth coming back to.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Agnes Moffitt of Dallas

1    4/16/2009   4/17/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 211  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Practice basket and info board at the main parking lot. Good sized concrete tee pads on all holes. Double chain baskets with numbers on top still in playable shape but showing their age. Decent elevation changes, some of which are even noted on the tee signs. No significant water in which to lose a disc. There are a lot of birdie opportunities if you can throw well off the tee. Relatively compact course allows for quick play. Navigation of the course with a map is very easy.
Cons:
Poor balance of shots. This is a big time lefty friendly course. For a RHBH player almost every hole either straight or an anyhzer shot; the only real RHBH hyzers are #12 and #17. Several tee signs were missing and most had been vandalized to the point of almost being unreadable. They look like they used to be nice. Some of the quoted distances on the tee signs are no longer accurate. The multiple pins have no indicator on the tee sign to let you know which position is active. The off-fairway brambles are very thick and sharp. Poison ivy is present. The Mando on #9 could be clarified with the word "Mando" printed on the marker. The transitions from #7 to #8 to #9 are not obvious, #15 to #16 might be a little tricky.
Other Thoughts:
This looks to be a pretty popular course as most holes were filled with players when I was there. However, as dusk approached the course emptied really fast giving me the feeling this was not a course to be at when the sun was setting. I read that the pins change frequently; that can be a pro or con depending on your preference. #9 was the signature hole in my opinion. I suggest parking in the side lot (by #9/#10); that way you can start your round on the short #10 and finish on the really cool #9.

I enjoyed my round at this course a lot and as Steve says it compares well to Agnes Moffitt in Houston. Not very difficult but still a fun course to play and filled with lots of locals. I would definitely play this course again.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A Staple

1    4/10/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: Unlearn
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I think most people that live around the northern part of Dallas know this course, whether you play or not. I just started playing a few months ago but this was probably the only course in Dallas I knew of. When I played it, it was different than I expected, the play was comfortable and challenging. It is not in the greatest neighborhood but, I didn't feel any danger. There were even some car keys that had been lost on the course hanging on the board. Hole 1 starts out cool with a creek crossing and a tunnel of trees that lead into the open.
Cons: Most of the signs were very aged and hard or impossible to read. I will agree with a previous review that the distances felt off. The traffic can be a problem, I felt very timid to grip it and rip it on the holes next to the road because of that.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good well maintained older course, and if you live in Dallas and play, and have never played this course, you have to re-evaluate what you are doing:) Great fun, Check it out!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.