Disc Golf Center
Dallas, TX 
B. B. Owen Park Share
Uploaded By: MacGyver214 Hole #16 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Fairway #16



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great practice course.

5+    1/17/2014   1/18/2014
Review By: HellmuthBoi
Played: 39  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Open straight forward shots, little to no hazards. Hole 1 is a very low ceiling shot and it is one of the trickiest of the whole course. You have to keep your disc low and still get it to go 300ft. There is little to no danger of losing a disc at this course, you may throw into the road on a few holes if you're not careful. Stay out of the trees and there's no problem of losing a disc. The elevation of the park is used very well, all holes are birdie-able, depending on the pin placements. Holes 1, 2, 8, 9, 11, 12, 17, and 18 have two alternate pin locations that they change out seasonally. Hole 15 has three different pin locations, check to see where it is before throwing.

This is a very simple park that will allow advanced players to show off accurate shots and get very low scores. Concrete tee pads on every one of the original 18 holes. THERE IS AN ALTERNATE HOLE 17. If you walk into the woods towards the creek, alternate 17 runs along the creek to the top of a small hill, its very short. There is also an EXTRA HOLE AFTER 18. Behind hole 18's long pin location, there is a trail into the woods that will lead you to hole 19. It is also very short. Any park regular will let you know where the extra holes are.

There is a great practice basket at the front parking lot! This is a clean park with regular maintenance, and the grass mowed twice a month I would say. There are porta potties at the front parking lot, and a water fountain at the back parking lot. I personally love this course for practicing! Easy holes gives you a great score usually. The wind does affect your play because of strong Dallas winds and the hills help direct the wind. Overall a fun course to play and a great course to learn the game because of very open shots.
Cons: This course was made on a very small piece of land. Not very many long shots. There's maybe one +400ft shot. The course is very boring and squeezed so tight that a majority of the holes make you walk back and forth. Throw up a hill then throw back down the hill and repeat. Not very much creativity to the course. I would not recommend traveling a long distance just to play this course.

I will say that some holes are almost too easy. Number 4, 7, and 17 are must birdie holes. There is almost no danger of being out of bounds. This course does not challenge your game.

The pins at this course are very old. Mach 3's I believe, because most have the inner chains that run straight down. As you can see in the pictures section for this park, the baskets on the pins have small nubs or nipples that will throw your discs out, if the inner rim gets caught wrong. It is very annoying that they have nubs and allow cut throughs. I would rate this course at 4 stars if we could just get the baskets replaced.

Do not prepare to be amazed by this course, you will be disappointed! This is a very simple course.
Other Thoughts: Very cool people around, as with any disc golf course.

People do have smoke spots at this course behind hole 5 and at hole 18 tee. Thought it was worth mentioning. If you want to challenge yourself or find this course too boring, go play Audobon! Many of the course regulars and mini tournaments moved to Audobon. There is a well run mini at BB Owens, Tuesdays at 5, run by a great group of guys, VERY FUN! Join facebook group "DFW Disc Golf Minis List" for current information about mini tournaments.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Day After Christmas Round

1    12/26/2012   1/14/2013
Review By: scottgopre
Played: 29  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Mostly wide open course to try out a variety of different shots on a hole. There are tee pads for every hole, which is a big plus. There are a few holes that challenge your technical game. Many holes are reachable with a mid-range.
Cons: Some hole signs have been painted over, but are not all that nessecary. There is a creek that runs through the middle of the park, and might stand to lose a disc - like I did.
Other Thoughts: I played this course just after a white Christmas. There was snow on the ground and several of the tee pads were frozen over. Looking to play again, just not after the snow fall.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fun course in the middle of town

2-4    7/30/2012   1/7/2013
Review By: windsurf17
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Fun course, easy to get to, a decent challenge but not sadistic. Fun for my 66 year old father who plays it a little more than a bogey-per-hole and fun for me, playing it a few down. I like the variety of shots, with some OB and a couple holes with some decent trouble right behind the pin.
Cons: Some of the holes are pretty wide open but not necessarily a piece of cake. Other than that, I think this is a good, fun course that I like to play when I'm visiting my family in DFW.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Place

2-4    3/23/2012   3/23/2012
Review By: Spookyspence
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
This review was updated on 1/27/2013
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Bathroom
Trashcans
Decent flow from hole to hole
Good mix of mid and long holes
Hole 17 has alt basket
Has bonus hole 19 hidden in the woods (May be missing )
Two parking lots
Very hard to lose a disc
Tees are in great shape
Good after rain
Cons: No water fountains
Some holes are too close, watch for stray discs
Very flat, could use some elevation
Can get EXTREMELY busy on weekends
Signs are vandalized
Other Thoughts: I really like this place a lot, its straight forward and easy to follow and most holes allow you to throw any line you want and its rather difficult to lose a disc. Hole 16 is a great great hole, do not be scared to throw over it! The alt holes are great but they can be a little hard to find on your first time out.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Well worth playing

2-4    12/15/2011   2/7/2012
Review By: texassidearm
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Interesting variety of long and short holes. Well maintained and cleaner than most. Challenging enough for advanced players, yet playable enough for beginners.
Cons: Located within some quite busy roads. Although it is well maintained and overall clean, it's just not the most beautiful course you'll play.
Other Thoughts: Don't be scared of #16 (or whatever the hole that plays over the rather large creek). Just let it fly and you'll be fine. This hole is one of my favorites in the DFW metroplex.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/17/2011   7/17/2011
Review By: JezCat
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Alternate basket placements which makes the course more challenging by adding a little distance and a couple holes with the baskets on a steep slope within the trees.
Hole #9 is one of these that benefits from the change and is my personal favorite despite the parking lot on the left side of the fairway that diminishes the aesthetics of the course a bit.
Lots of birdie chances.
Hole #8 sits beside #1 so you can play 8-18 first and finish 1-7 to avoid possible crowding plus there is a port-a-potty there too in case a pit stop is needed.
Cons: More poison ivy than I remembered so stay out of the trees if you can help it. There was no wind today which made it a sweat box once it got around 9:00 a.m. Other times there is too much wind so it seems this course is never just right weather-wise.
Other Thoughts: This course may zig-zag a bit but it's unavoidable due to the limited space which also makes this inner-city spot a quick and fun 18. Every disc golfer in the DFW area should play this course IMO.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Variety

5+    7/13/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: pfluegel
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tees, Variety of holes, some good for the forehand throwers and some good for the back hand throwers. As well as some nice opportunities for birdies.
Cons: They some times move the holes, When they do you can't always see them and the set up shots get risky as there is a creek that runs behind most of the moved holes. It also makes it harder to track my progress. when the holes are moved it can add as many as 6 strokes if your still new.
Other Thoughts: Over all this is a really nice course to learn on. You can really open up your drives on a number of holes with out risk of losing a disc. It will just take a better approach shot to make up for it. Plays well, Just remember that hole 2's tee pad is back by the basketball courts and otherwise it navigates fairly easily.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Home Sweet Home

5+    5/1/2011   5/11/2011
Review By: ClayParrot
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my home course and it is very close to my home. It plays quickly ~1.25 hours at a leisurely pace. There are multiple pin placements at holes 1, 2, 8, 9, 11, 12, 15 (1 short, 2 long), 17, & 18. Usually the pin placements are a mix of long and short. This is a well maintained mix use public park, but it is predominately a park for disc golf. A good mix of open/semi-open holes, long and short, and many baskets are well protected tucked into the edge of woods (or even deeper in long positions). If I could give this course a 3.75 I would, but it gets the higher tick because it is my home course. (UPDATE, after playing numerous other courses, I have downgraded my rating to 3.5, though I still love the course).

Great course for beginners thru advanced intermediate, but I suspect that true pros wouldn't care to much for it.
Cons: Wind can be a real problem on the front 7 (& 16) due to it's mostly open nature. Can be a bit crowded due to its popularity, but that is also a good thing, isn't it? Too many people litter (I'm always picking up quite a bit of trash) even though there are plenty of rubbish bins.

Like others have mentioned before me, busy streets to the south (Walnut Hill) and west (Plano Rd).
Other Thoughts: A very friendly regular crowd plays here often, discs are sold pretty regularly on weekends, I have had a disc returned by someone that found it a day later (always put your name and number on your disk!).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/17/2011   2/21/2011
Review By: coolpooky7
Played: 32  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good small course. I aced hole 8 with my TeeRex. So I will be remembering this course. It has a good mix of long and short holes. One of the best courses I have played in such an urban environment.
Cons: There are a lot of people that play the course. I felt rushed and slowed at the same time. It is kinda hard to find the flow of the baskets toward the last 4 or 5.
Other Thoughts: Overall it is a good course to play if you are nearby.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Ole BB

5+    5/28/2009   6/3/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course that challenges everyone. There are lots of different lines to most of the holes that make it fun for everyone. Not tons of trees but just enough to make you think about your shot and then execute it. The wind can get you and its always windy. There arent any really long hole but there are some that are 375ish so they make you have to test your accuracy, especially when pins are in long position. All tees are concrete and the baskets catch very well. Great course that doesnt really favor any one particular throwing style which gives anyone a chance at throwing a great round!
Cons: Some of the signs are worndown but still not too hard to follow. Can get REALLY busy on the weekends!!! Thugs comes out at night, or close to it.
Other Thoughts: Mini on the weekends, and a great "medium" course that is not too hard for rookies and not too easy for pro/adv players!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center