Dallas, TX 
B. B. Owen Park Share
Uploaded By: MacGyver214 Hole #17 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 241ft. Par / Distance:
Fairway #17



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    3/15/2011   8/15/2011
Review By: gregbrowning
Played: 44  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Fun enough with lots of open holes. Discs that find their way off the fairway are usually easy to find, as the shule is not terribly thick or deep in most places.
Cons: Not a big challenge for most players. It is mostly a pitch & putt course except for a couple of holes.

Definitely shows its age, which is not surprising, as this course gets tons of traffic, and can be very busy at times.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/17/2011   7/17/2011
Review By: JezCat
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Alternate basket placements which makes the course more challenging by adding a little distance and a couple holes with the baskets on a steep slope within the trees.
Hole #9 is one of these that benefits from the change and is my personal favorite despite the parking lot on the left side of the fairway that diminishes the aesthetics of the course a bit.
Lots of birdie chances.
Hole #8 sits beside #1 so you can play 8-18 first and finish 1-7 to avoid possible crowding plus there is a port-a-potty there too in case a pit stop is needed.
Cons: More poison ivy than I remembered so stay out of the trees if you can help it. There was no wind today which made it a sweat box once it got around 9:00 a.m. Other times there is too much wind so it seems this course is never just right weather-wise.
Other Thoughts: This course may zig-zag a bit but it's unavoidable due to the limited space which also makes this inner-city spot a quick and fun 18. Every disc golfer in the DFW area should play this course IMO.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Variety

5+    7/13/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: pfluegel
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tees, Variety of holes, some good for the forehand throwers and some good for the back hand throwers. As well as some nice opportunities for birdies.
Cons: They some times move the holes, When they do you can't always see them and the set up shots get risky as there is a creek that runs behind most of the moved holes. It also makes it harder to track my progress. when the holes are moved it can add as many as 6 strokes if your still new.
Other Thoughts: Over all this is a really nice course to learn on. You can really open up your drives on a number of holes with out risk of losing a disc. It will just take a better approach shot to make up for it. Plays well, Just remember that hole 2's tee pad is back by the basketball courts and otherwise it navigates fairly easily.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    8/31/2007   6/3/2011
Review By: ezyrider
Played: 41  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 22.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good course for working mid distance drives with accuracy. This was my home course for six years while living in Dallas.
Cons: Course is heavily played. Afternoon rounds can be slow.
Other Thoughts: Fun course that can be played quickly if pressed for time.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Home Sweet Home

5+    5/1/2011   5/11/2011
Review By: ClayParrot
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my home course and it is very close to my home. It plays quickly ~1.25 hours at a leisurely pace. There are multiple pin placements at holes 1, 2, 8, 9, 11, 12, 15 (1 short, 2 long), 17, & 18. Usually the pin placements are a mix of long and short. This is a well maintained mix use public park, but it is predominately a park for disc golf. A good mix of open/semi-open holes, long and short, and many baskets are well protected tucked into the edge of woods (or even deeper in long positions). If I could give this course a 3.75 I would, but it gets the higher tick because it is my home course. (UPDATE, after playing numerous other courses, I have downgraded my rating to 3.5, though I still love the course).

Great course for beginners thru advanced intermediate, but I suspect that true pros wouldn't care to much for it.
Cons: Wind can be a real problem on the front 7 (& 16) due to it's mostly open nature. Can be a bit crowded due to its popularity, but that is also a good thing, isn't it? Too many people litter (I'm always picking up quite a bit of trash) even though there are plenty of rubbish bins.

Like others have mentioned before me, busy streets to the south (Walnut Hill) and west (Plano Rd).
Other Thoughts: A very friendly regular crowd plays here often, discs are sold pretty regularly on weekends, I have had a disc returned by someone that found it a day later (always put your name and number on your disk!).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/17/2011   2/21/2011
Review By: coolpooky7
Played: 32  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good small course. I aced hole 8 with my TeeRex. So I will be remembering this course. It has a good mix of long and short holes. One of the best courses I have played in such an urban environment.
Cons: There are a lot of people that play the course. I felt rushed and slowed at the same time. It is kinda hard to find the flow of the baskets toward the last 4 or 5.
Other Thoughts: Overall it is a good course to play if you are nearby.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Finally played this course

2-4    8/7/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: johnwangg
Played: 130  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Course is designed to make the best use of the park it sits on (but at a cost, see cons below)

2. There is plenty of parking and pretty easy to get to. Its almost right off 635.

3. There are a few intimidating shots (if you do not trust your throw).

4. Has some good holes to put up some aces (every course should have 1 or 2)
Cons: 1. Layout is very arkward, hard to navigate. Has too much Zig Zagging.

2. Can get over crowded. Everytime I have gone here it was filled. (But then again I have gone here twice).

3. Besides the couple of the more difficult holes, the rest are plain simple (simple is not a good word, these holes are more forgiving should you have some bad tosses).

4. Its in the middle of the city, so you have some street hazards with heaving amount of cars passing.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent course, should you have some free time. This is one of the faster flowing courses should you be short on time. The people that play here are very friendly, so should you need help, they are more than eager to assist.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Claustrophobia? Decent Course, nothing Amazing

1    11/29/2009   12/2/2009
Review By: jasondguy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Few Ace Runs, open course, good for beginners, challenging Anhyzer must shots for RHBH (3-4). Good use of Uphill and Downhill shots. Course close to home and frequent minis and regulars.
Cons: Graffiti on signs, old baskets, short course with bad placement of tees and baskets on holes 2-7, where teeing off could be a hazard because of incoming shots at the basket next to the tees. Too open. They have a creek that runs through the course and don't use it, just navigate around it. Some shots, if shanked will end up on road in traffic.
Other Thoughts: Went on very very windy day, strong gusts and such. We heard "Heads Up!" and Fooouurrr! quite a bit if we weren't saying it ourselves. I would like to go back on non windy day and give it another try.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Snug by the Shrub

1    8/17/2009   10/13/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course runs along the edges of a slightly wooded creek eve if it rarely ventures into it. The course has some really good pin placements that make you throw a variety of shots. If you are a left-handed backhand dominant thrower, then this is one of those few courses you might refer to as "friendly". There are enough holes that provide a challenge that it will leave you wanting to throw more than one tee shot. This place does have cement tee pads and the sign do have maps on them. They have lots of trashcans. There is a message board for the course at the parking lots edge.
Cons: A bunch of holes are slammed in tight and if the course gets busy, this will become an issue. It's mostly flat and the baskets are not the greatest. The signs have lots of graffiti on them and some of them are even missing. Not all the footage is accurate on the signs nor are all the pin placements. The layout does not flow simply, so a map may be helpful. There were no restrooms at the park, but there are places very close by.
Other Thoughts: The fun factor for this course was decent. There were as many holes that were really fun to throw at, as there were plain ones. If you live close by this will surely be good place to play. This is a place that I intend to play again..

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 My Favorite

5+    9/8/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: HoboMaster
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well planned out course with a wide range of anny and hyzer shots as well as long shots and precision shots around obstacles. There are a couple holes that run the edge of the woods, but if you're careful, you shouldn't lose a disc.
Cons: My only complaint is how close together some of the holes are. The shots tend to run back and forth across a relatively cramped area, and there are several holes that run a risk of hitting someone with an errant shot, especially on #17.
Other Thoughts: My favorite course in Dallas, despite its problems. There are several very memorable holes, and is great fun for both experienced and new players.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.