Dallas, TX 
B. B. Owen Park Share
Uploaded By: MacGyver214 Hole #14 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Tee #14

Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Finally played this course

2-4    8/7/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: johnwangg
Played: 132  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Course is designed to make the best use of the park it sits on (but at a cost, see cons below)

2. There is plenty of parking and pretty easy to get to. Its almost right off 635.

3. There are a few intimidating shots (if you do not trust your throw).

4. Has some good holes to put up some aces (every course should have 1 or 2)
Cons: 1. Layout is very arkward, hard to navigate. Has too much Zig Zagging.

2. Can get over crowded. Everytime I have gone here it was filled. (But then again I have gone here twice).

3. Besides the couple of the more difficult holes, the rest are plain simple (simple is not a good word, these holes are more forgiving should you have some bad tosses).

4. Its in the middle of the city, so you have some street hazards with heaving amount of cars passing.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent course, should you have some free time. This is one of the faster flowing courses should you be short on time. The people that play here are very friendly, so should you need help, they are more than eager to assist.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Claustrophobia? Decent Course, nothing Amazing

1    11/29/2009   12/2/2009
Review By: jasondguy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Few Ace Runs, open course, good for beginners, challenging Anhyzer must shots for RHBH (3-4). Good use of Uphill and Downhill shots. Course close to home and frequent minis and regulars.
Cons: Graffiti on signs, old baskets, short course with bad placement of tees and baskets on holes 2-7, where teeing off could be a hazard because of incoming shots at the basket next to the tees. Too open. They have a creek that runs through the course and don't use it, just navigate around it. Some shots, if shanked will end up on road in traffic.
Other Thoughts: Went on very very windy day, strong gusts and such. We heard "Heads Up!" and Fooouurrr! quite a bit if we weren't saying it ourselves. I would like to go back on non windy day and give it another try.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Snug by the Shrub

1    8/17/2009   10/13/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 223  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 28.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course runs along the edges of a slightly wooded creek eve if it rarely ventures into it. The course has some really good pin placements that make you throw a variety of shots. If you are a left-handed backhand dominant thrower, then this is one of those few courses you might refer to as "friendly". There are enough holes that provide a challenge that it will leave you wanting to throw more than one tee shot. This place does have cement tee pads and the sign do have maps on them. They have lots of trashcans. There is a message board for the course at the parking lots edge.
Cons: A bunch of holes are slammed in tight and if the course gets busy, this will become an issue. It's mostly flat and the baskets are not the greatest. The signs have lots of graffiti on them and some of them are even missing. Not all the footage is accurate on the signs nor are all the pin placements. The layout does not flow simply, so a map may be helpful. There were no restrooms at the park, but there are places very close by.
Other Thoughts: The fun factor for this course was decent. There were as many holes that were really fun to throw at, as there were plain ones. If you live close by this will surely be good place to play. This is a place that I intend to play again..

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 My Favorite

5+    9/8/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: HoboMaster
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well planned out course with a wide range of anny and hyzer shots as well as long shots and precision shots around obstacles. There are a couple holes that run the edge of the woods, but if you're careful, you shouldn't lose a disc.
Cons: My only complaint is how close together some of the holes are. The shots tend to run back and forth across a relatively cramped area, and there are several holes that run a risk of hitting someone with an errant shot, especially on #17.
Other Thoughts: My favorite course in Dallas, despite its problems. There are several very memorable holes, and is great fun for both experienced and new players.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Quick and challenging

5+    7/20/2009   7/29/2009
Review By: rocnroll
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This park flows very nicely. Good combination of big arm and tecnical shots that keep me coming back for more. Always a good golf experience-even for those who have never thrown.
Cons: Sometimes there can be lots of traffic on the course. Go early. Especially on the weekends. There are two busy streets near the course.
Other Thoughts: I love playing here. The minis are run very well and the payouts are great. The course is challenging for almost any skill level. Combine that with the friendly crowd and it's always worth coming back to.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Ole BB

5+    5/28/2009   6/3/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 129  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 14.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course that challenges everyone. There are lots of different lines to most of the holes that make it fun for everyone. Not tons of trees but just enough to make you think about your shot and then execute it. The wind can get you and its always windy. There arent any really long hole but there are some that are 375ish so they make you have to test your accuracy, especially when pins are in long position. All tees are concrete and the baskets catch very well. Great course that doesnt really favor any one particular throwing style which gives anyone a chance at throwing a great round!
Cons: Some of the signs are worndown but still not too hard to follow. Can get REALLY busy on the weekends!!! Thugs comes out at night, or close to it.
Other Thoughts: Mini on the weekends, and a great "medium" course that is not too hard for rookies and not too easy for pro/adv players!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Dallas Course

5+    3/10/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: p1samuel
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the greatest varieties of holes I have ever seen on a course. Many open fairways but pin placements near trees allow you to drive with power, and then approach and putt with accuracy.
Cons: Signs are old, but don't really make it hard to find your way around the course.
Always windy. At its best it is calm, but bring your discs that do well in the wind, especially on the front nine.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses in all of Dallas. As a novice player of seven years, it always provides a challenge, but not so much that it is frustrating.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Great course! Great location!

5+    4/28/2009   5/5/2009
Review By: plitzel
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent mix of wooded and open holes. Great mix of hyzer/anhyzer shots. Not too easy to lose a disc. Hole 16 throws over a storm drain, great hole! most holes offer elevation change. PLENTY of parking on back half... which is not far from hole 1. nice shade on back half... Texas get really hot in the summer i'm sure you know.
Cons: After a rain this course becomes very muddy, I know they are working on this though (putting mulch on the really muddy holes)
Other Thoughts: 17's alternate needs to come back. I enjoy it more than the real 17!! I think the graffiti offers a nice feel to the course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Agnes Moffitt of Dallas

1    4/16/2009   4/17/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 201  Reviewed: 151  Exp: 8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Practice basket and info board at the main parking lot. Good sized concrete tee pads on all holes. Double chain baskets with numbers on top still in playable shape but showing their age. Decent elevation changes, some of which are even noted on the tee signs. No significant water in which to lose a disc. There are a lot of birdie opportunities if you can throw well off the tee. Relatively compact course allows for quick play. Navigation of the course with a map is very easy.
Poor balance of shots. This is a big time lefty friendly course. For a RHBH player almost every hole either straight or an anyhzer shot; the only real RHBH hyzers are #12 and #17. Several tee signs were missing and most had been vandalized to the point of almost being unreadable. They look like they used to be nice. Some of the quoted distances on the tee signs are no longer accurate. The multiple pins have no indicator on the tee sign to let you know which position is active. The off-fairway brambles are very thick and sharp. Poison ivy is present. The Mando on #9 could be clarified with the word "Mando" printed on the marker. The transitions from #7 to #8 to #9 are not obvious, #15 to #16 might be a little tricky.
Other Thoughts:
This looks to be a pretty popular course as most holes were filled with players when I was there. However, as dusk approached the course emptied really fast giving me the feeling this was not a course to be at when the sun was setting. I read that the pins change frequently; that can be a pro or con depending on your preference. #9 was the signature hole in my opinion. I suggest parking in the side lot (by #9/#10); that way you can start your round on the short #10 and finish on the really cool #9.

I enjoyed my round at this course a lot and as Steve says it compares well to Agnes Moffitt in Houston. Not very difficult but still a fun course to play and filled with lots of locals. I would definitely play this course again.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A Staple

1    4/10/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: Unlearn
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I think most people that live around the northern part of Dallas know this course, whether you play or not. I just started playing a few months ago but this was probably the only course in Dallas I knew of. When I played it, it was different than I expected, the play was comfortable and challenging. It is not in the greatest neighborhood but, I didn't feel any danger. There were even some car keys that had been lost on the course hanging on the board. Hole 1 starts out cool with a creek crossing and a tunnel of trees that lead into the open.
Cons: Most of the signs were very aged and hard or impossible to read. I will agree with a previous review that the distances felt off. The traffic can be a problem, I felt very timid to grip it and rip it on the holes next to the road because of that.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good well maintained older course, and if you live in Dallas and play, and have never played this course, you have to re-evaluate what you are doing:) Great fun, Check it out!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.