Dallas, TX 
B. B. Owen Park Share
Uploaded By: MacGyver214 Hole #14 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Reverse



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Fun playing Course

1    6/28/2014   7/14/2014
Review By: snunnone
Played: 35  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open holes. Good obstacles on some. Easy play course.
Cons: A little crowded. Some tee boxes and baskets a little hard to find. But not a big issue.
Other Thoughts: Great course to just go and have some fun. Love the hole that plays by the road and an anny shot over the creek. Some tunnels to play into. Good mix of open and treed shots.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Quick Course

5+    1/22/2014   1/22/2014
Review By: ohskidohski
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Quick course nice set up easy to find driving boxes little hazards to lose disc. Good course to play and run. Not a lot of people in the way no jogging
Cons: It's all goodjust don't aim for the cars on hole 3
Other Thoughts: THIS IS MY FIRST POST EVER.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great practice course.

5+    1/17/2014   1/18/2014
Review By: HellmuthBoi
Played: 39  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Open straight forward shots, little to no hazards. Hole 1 is a very low ceiling shot and it is one of the trickiest of the whole course. You have to keep your disc low and still get it to go 300ft. There is little to no danger of losing a disc at this course, you may throw into the road on a few holes if you're not careful. Stay out of the trees and there's no problem of losing a disc. The elevation of the park is used very well, all holes are birdie-able, depending on the pin placements. Holes 1, 2, 8, 9, 11, 12, 17, and 18 have two alternate pin locations that they change out seasonally. Hole 15 has three different pin locations, check to see where it is before throwing.

This is a very simple park that will allow advanced players to show off accurate shots and get very low scores. Concrete tee pads on every one of the original 18 holes. THERE IS AN ALTERNATE HOLE 17. If you walk into the woods towards the creek, alternate 17 runs along the creek to the top of a small hill, its very short. There is also an EXTRA HOLE AFTER 18. Behind hole 18's long pin location, there is a trail into the woods that will lead you to hole 19. It is also very short. Any park regular will let you know where the extra holes are.

There is a great practice basket at the front parking lot! This is a clean park with regular maintenance, and the grass mowed twice a month I would say. There are porta potties at the front parking lot, and a water fountain at the back parking lot. I personally love this course for practicing! Easy holes gives you a great score usually. The wind does affect your play because of strong Dallas winds and the hills help direct the wind. Overall a fun course to play and a great course to learn the game because of very open shots.
Cons: This course was made on a very small piece of land. Not very many long shots. There's maybe one +400ft shot. The course is very boring and squeezed so tight that a majority of the holes make you walk back and forth. Throw up a hill then throw back down the hill and repeat. Not very much creativity to the course. I would not recommend traveling a long distance just to play this course.

I will say that some holes are almost too easy. Number 4, 7, and 17 are must birdie holes. There is almost no danger of being out of bounds. This course does not challenge your game.

The pins at this course are very old. Mach 3's I believe, because most have the inner chains that run straight down. As you can see in the pictures section for this park, the baskets on the pins have small nubs or nipples that will throw your discs out, if the inner rim gets caught wrong. It is very annoying that they have nubs and allow cut throughs. I would rate this course at 4 stars if we could just get the baskets replaced.

Do not prepare to be amazed by this course, you will be disappointed! This is a very simple course.
Other Thoughts: Very cool people around, as with any disc golf course.

People do have smoke spots at this course behind hole 5 and at hole 18 tee. Thought it was worth mentioning. If you want to challenge yourself or find this course too boring, go play Audobon! Many of the course regulars and mini tournaments moved to Audobon. There is a well run mini at BB Owens, Tuesdays at 5, run by a great group of guys, VERY FUN! Join facebook group "DFW Disc Golf Minis List" for current information about mini tournaments.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Day After Christmas Round

1    12/26/2012   1/14/2013
Review By: scottgopre
Played: 29  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.8 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Mostly wide open course to try out a variety of different shots on a hole. There are tee pads for every hole, which is a big plus. There are a few holes that challenge your technical game. Many holes are reachable with a mid-range.
Cons: Some hole signs have been painted over, but are not all that nessecary. There is a creek that runs through the middle of the park, and might stand to lose a disc - like I did.
Other Thoughts: I played this course just after a white Christmas. There was snow on the ground and several of the tee pads were frozen over. Looking to play again, just not after the snow fall.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Okay Course, Poor Flow

2-4    1/6/2013   1/7/2013
Review By: Badger Dan
Played: 47  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/11/2013
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of terrain here. Park is rather small but has a nice wooded river running through the middle. Decent mix of wide open and somewhat wooded holes. Course offers ample birdie ops while also testing the longer drivers with a good number of holes over 300ft. A few challenging shots with pins tucked into the woods on the right. The drop off towards the river offers some tough approach shots on the back 9. Garbage bins and small benches are well dispersed and offer shaded areas to hang out or rest between holes. Tee pads are flat, poured concrete. *course also offers alternate hole 17 for a total of 19 holes.
Cons: The flow of this course is not the best i have encountered. On the front 9 especially, you pass up few tees that go to future holes. About half of the holes on this course are very open and lack imagination crossing back and forth in an open field. And the baskets! Oh those chains are unforgiving!!! I have never in all my years had so many putts bounce off the chains and out after seemingly hitting direct center.. Stiff chains to say the least. Seems to get pretty crowded due to its location, but the location is also a positive if you live in Dallas so no deduction there. While the hole that goes over the water is unique and fun (#16), it's tee located so close to a busy road with no barriers is dangerous. A local player told me of a car that lost control and nearly hit some disc golfers a few years back and ever since he has been nervous playing that hole. Be aware.
Other Thoughts: Decent urban course but the lack of flow really takes away from what positive aspects the park brings. Seems to have a mix of experienced and beginner players so I would also add it's a good course for all levels. If you're looking for a challenge though, and want an enjoyable round in the woods, go elsewhere. A decent urban course is what this is.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Fun course in the middle of town

2-4    7/30/2012   1/7/2013
Review By: windsurf17
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Fun course, easy to get to, a decent challenge but not sadistic. Fun for my 66 year old father who plays it a little more than a bogey-per-hole and fun for me, playing it a few down. I like the variety of shots, with some OB and a couple holes with some decent trouble right behind the pin.
Cons: Some of the holes are pretty wide open but not necessarily a piece of cake. Other than that, I think this is a good, fun course that I like to play when I'm visiting my family in DFW.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Sad Little course

1    6/12/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: dbx820
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: 18 Holes. Concrete Pads.
Cons: Poorly maintained/vandalized. Holes are crammed together. Poor flow from hole to hole. Could not find a couple of holes due to no signage, confused layout. Right next to two major roads.
Other Thoughts: This is a sad little course. They tried to cram 18 holes into too small a space and it does not work. It needs some serious upkeep and upgrades. I would rather drive a few extra miles to have a better experience.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    5/6/2012   5/6/2012
Review By: btroberts011
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/7/2012
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of challenging shots
Lots of easy/wide open shots
lots of trashcans
Very easy to navigate from hole to hole
Good park location
Putt practice hole
Cons: The baskets seem kind of outdated- I hit the chains a lot and my disc didnt stay in.
Could lose a disc pretty easily if youre not carful
Other Thoughts: Really likes that the disc had plenty of room to be thrown but you had to have them end up in good places. (hole nine is a good example) Other times small windows had to be hit early in flight then it opens up. It was nice to have to make the adjustments needed for each shot.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great Place

2-4    3/23/2012   3/23/2012
Review By: Spookyspence
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
This review was updated on 1/27/2013
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Bathroom
Trashcans
Decent flow from hole to hole
Good mix of mid and long holes
Hole 17 has alt basket
Has bonus hole 19 hidden in the woods (May be missing )
Two parking lots
Very hard to lose a disc
Tees are in great shape
Good after rain
Cons: No water fountains
Some holes are too close, watch for stray discs
Very flat, could use some elevation
Can get EXTREMELY busy on weekends
Signs are vandalized
Other Thoughts: I really like this place a lot, its straight forward and easy to follow and most holes allow you to throw any line you want and its rather difficult to lose a disc. Hole 16 is a great great hole, do not be scared to throw over it! The alt holes are great but they can be a little hard to find on your first time out.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Well worth playing

2-4    12/15/2011   2/7/2012
Review By: texassidearm
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Interesting variety of long and short holes. Well maintained and cleaner than most. Challenging enough for advanced players, yet playable enough for beginners.
Cons: Located within some quite busy roads. Although it is well maintained and overall clean, it's just not the most beautiful course you'll play.
Other Thoughts: Don't be scared of #16 (or whatever the hole that plays over the rather large creek). Just let it fly and you'll be fine. This hole is one of my favorites in the DFW metroplex.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.