Dallas, TX 
B. B. Owen Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #18 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee: Basket far and off to the right (not visible)

Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
BB Owens

1    10/7/2015   10/7/2015
Review By: reezyF
Played: 63  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.1 Years
Pros: My three pros:

-Concrete tee pads throughout
-Decent use of minimal trees and elevation
-Many of the holes seem to favor forehand throws which is my preference
Cons: My three cons:

-Even with a map I still got a little confused with so many baskets and tees close together
-Several somewhat lame holes including a super short #4
-Even on a wednesday morning there were a couple other groups out there so I could imagine how busy and crowded it could get at peak times
Other Thoughts: After reading the reviews before playing I couldnt help but keep looking in the woods for someone sketchy to pop out, but i saw no homeless folks or other nefarious characters about. In fact some of the woods looked really cool to check out but i was a little weary about going off in the woods after what others had posted.
I might have liked the course more if not for the terrible round i was playing which included no birdies even though several holes are easy 2's... I might like it more if i had a better round, but there's nothing special that would really make me want to go out of my way to try it again.

My original fave

5+    9/9/2015   10/5/2015
Review By: DonJuanDeLaNooch
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Plays quick and has been around forever.
Some really talented players frequent this course
If you like to air it out this is the course for you.
Multiple pin locations and some really fun shots. You can ace here. You can also lose discs, pretty tough to lose discs though.
Disc golf culture lives at this course.
Cons: its been around forever and as such it's always crowded. It could use some spiffing up here and there. Overall tough for me to find a real con. This course is popular for a reason.
Other Thoughts: If you are from the Dallas area you should add this to your list of courses played. This is one of the original joints for the area. Still good. It's been around since disc golf was Frisbee golf. Just like me.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice intermediate level course

5+    7/8/2015   9/11/2015
Review By: Tommy2am
Played: 33  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 2.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Convenient location right off 635. Concrete teepads. Fairly hard to lose discs. Has some tight areas to throw through such as holes 1 and 17. Port-a-potties are typically well maintained. Because of the layout and type of grass, this course is ALWAYS playable, even after huge rains, ice storms, etc. This course holds up well to inclement weather. Because of the layout, you could play quickly if you are short on time. There are two or three alternate pins for almost every hole. Some elevation changes. A nice practice basket sits right by the parking lot and hole 8. There is a guy that sells new and used discs out of a truck on Tuesdays and on the weekend. There are tournaments on Tuesdays, and they do bring out some big name players. There are a couple of "secret" holes that are two of the best on the course.
Cons: There are several wide open holes. While there are some light trees about, they really present no challenge on these holes. The wind can be a factor as some of these are w-i-d-e open shots. There are a few signs torn up or missing. The fairways are close on a few, so you will have to watch where you throw. The homeless. Ahhhh, the homeless. There are several that live in the woods in the park. They are mostly harmless, but they will ask for money and they will creep up on you...so be aware of your surroundings. The streets do come into play on a couple of holes. There is an enormous amount of trash around...always. This isn't the best of neighborhoods. I suggest going in the day and being aware of what's around you. Being in a group doesn't hurt either.
Other Thoughts: If you live near the course, then it is an OK one to go to...especially since there aren't many others too close by. This was my home course for awhile, so I may see it in a better light than some. It's a decent course, but it can have a lot of traffic on it. It really missed the marked on using the great woods and creek that go through the middle of it however. The tee signs need to be repaired/replaced as well. It's worth going to, but there are certainly much better courses around.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

My Home Course

5+    1/21/2015   1/21/2015
Review By: MacEZ
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Well laid out course with multiple pin positions
-Quick playing and short holes
-Fair amount of left and right handed holes
-The only real course in Dallas Proper
-Concrete Tee boxes
-Dries quickly after rain.. usually within 2 days
Cons: -Many of the tee box signs are missing
-The front 9 can be confusing for new people
-A lot of trees to lose your discs in on the back 9
-lately, creepy forest dwellers
-crazy annoyingly busy on the weekends on nice days
Other Thoughts: This is my home course.. I've played it over 100 times easily over the last 7 years. It's a good course but usually very busy.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun playing Course

1    6/28/2014   7/14/2014
Review By: snunnone
Played: 46  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open holes. Good obstacles on some. Easy play course.
Cons: A little crowded. Some tee boxes and baskets a little hard to find. But not a big issue.
Other Thoughts: Great course to just go and have some fun. Love the hole that plays by the road and an anny shot over the creek. Some tunnels to play into. Good mix of open and treed shots.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Quick Course

5+    1/22/2014   1/22/2014
Review By: ohskidohski
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Quick course nice set up easy to find driving boxes little hazards to lose disc. Good course to play and run. Not a lot of people in the way no jogging
Cons: It's all goodjust don't aim for the cars on hole 3

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great practice course.

5+    1/17/2014   1/18/2014
Review By: Don Juan
Played: 44  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Open straight forward shots, little to no hazards. Hole 1 is a very low ceiling shot and it is one of the trickiest of the whole course. You have to keep your disc low and still get it to go 300ft. There is little to no danger of losing a disc at this course, you may throw into the road on a few holes if you're not careful. Stay out of the trees and there's no problem of losing a disc. The elevation of the park is used very well, all holes are birdie-able, depending on the pin placements. Holes 1, 2, 8, 9, 11, 12, 17, and 18 have two alternate pin locations that they change out seasonally. Hole 15 has three different pin locations, check to see where it is before throwing.

This is a very simple park that will allow advanced players to show off accurate shots and get very low scores. Concrete tee pads on every one of the original 18 holes. THERE IS AN ALTERNATE HOLE 17. If you walk into the woods towards the creek, alternate 17 runs along the creek to the top of a small hill, its very short. There is also an EXTRA HOLE AFTER 18. Behind hole 18's long pin location, there is a trail into the woods that will lead you to hole 19. It is also very short. Any park regular will let you know where the extra holes are.

There is a great practice basket at the front parking lot! This is a clean park with regular maintenance, and the grass mowed twice a month I would say. There are porta potties at the front parking lot, and a water fountain at the back parking lot. I personally love this course for practicing! Easy holes gives you a great score usually. The wind does affect your play because of strong Dallas winds and the hills help direct the wind. Overall a fun course to play and a great course to learn the game because of very open shots.
Cons: This course was made on a very small piece of land. Not very many long shots. There's maybe one +400ft shot. The course is very boring and squeezed so tight that a majority of the holes make you walk back and forth. Throw up a hill then throw back down the hill and repeat. Not very much creativity to the course. I would not recommend traveling a long distance just to play this course.

I will say that some holes are almost too easy. Number 4, 7, and 17 are must birdie holes. There is almost no danger of being out of bounds. This course does not challenge your game.

The pins at this course are very old. Mach 3's I believe, because most have the inner chains that run straight down. As you can see in the pictures section for this park, the baskets on the pins have small nubs or nipples that will throw your discs out, if the inner rim gets caught wrong. It is very annoying that they have nubs and allow cut throughs. I would rate this course at 4 stars if we could just get the baskets replaced.

Do not prepare to be amazed by this course, you will be disappointed! This is a very simple course.
Other Thoughts: Very cool people around, as with any disc golf course.

People do have smoke spots at this course behind hole 5 and at hole 18 tee. Thought it was worth mentioning. If you want to challenge yourself or find this course too boring, go play Audobon! Many of the course regulars and mini tournaments moved to Audobon. There is a well run mini at BB Owens, Tuesdays at 5, run by a great group of guys, VERY FUN! Join facebook group "DFW Disc Golf Minis List" for current information about mini tournaments.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Day After Christmas Round

1    12/26/2012   1/14/2013
Review By: scottgopre
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.8 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Mostly wide open course to try out a variety of different shots on a hole. There are tee pads for every hole, which is a big plus. There are a few holes that challenge your technical game. Many holes are reachable with a mid-range.
Cons: Some hole signs have been painted over, but are not all that nessecary. There is a creek that runs through the middle of the park, and might stand to lose a disc - like I did.
Other Thoughts: I played this course just after a white Christmas. There was snow on the ground and several of the tee pads were frozen over. Looking to play again, just not after the snow fall.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Okay Course, Poor Flow

2-4    1/6/2013   1/7/2013
Review By: Badger Dan
Played: 65  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/11/2013
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of terrain here. Park is rather small but has a nice wooded river running through the middle. Decent mix of wide open and somewhat wooded holes. Course offers ample birdie ops while also testing the longer drivers with a good number of holes over 300ft. A few challenging shots with pins tucked into the woods on the right. The drop off towards the river offers some tough approach shots on the back 9. Garbage bins and small benches are well dispersed and offer shaded areas to hang out or rest between holes. Tee pads are flat, poured concrete. *course also offers alternate hole 17 for a total of 19 holes.
Cons: The flow of this course is not the best i have encountered. On the front 9 especially, you pass up few tees that go to future holes. About half of the holes on this course are very open and lack imagination crossing back and forth in an open field. And the baskets! Oh those chains are unforgiving!!! I have never in all my years had so many putts bounce off the chains and out after seemingly hitting direct center.. Stiff chains to say the least. Seems to get pretty crowded due to its location, but the location is also a positive if you live in Dallas so no deduction there. While the hole that goes over the water is unique and fun (#16), it's tee located so close to a busy road with no barriers is dangerous. A local player told me of a car that lost control and nearly hit some disc golfers a few years back and ever since he has been nervous playing that hole. Be aware.
Other Thoughts: Decent urban course but the lack of flow really takes away from what positive aspects the park brings. Seems to have a mix of experienced and beginner players so I would also add it's a good course for all levels. If you're looking for a challenge though, and want an enjoyable round in the woods, go elsewhere. A decent urban course is what this is.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course in the middle of town

2-4    7/30/2012   1/7/2013
Review By: windsurf17
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Fun course, easy to get to, a decent challenge but not sadistic. Fun for my 66 year old father who plays it a little more than a bogey-per-hole and fun for me, playing it a few down. I like the variety of shots, with some OB and a couple holes with some decent trouble right behind the pin.
Cons: Some of the holes are pretty wide open but not necessarily a piece of cake. Other than that, I think this is a good, fun course that I like to play when I'm visiting my family in DFW.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.